Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Games People Play, July 4, 2001
This review is from: The Honey Pot [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a fun movie directed and written by Joseph L. Mankiewicz. Rex Harrison is excellent as Cecil Fox a reputed millionaire who lives in Venice. After attending a performance of Volpone Harrison decides to have some mischievous fun with three of his ex-mistresses. Pretending that he is dying he gets the three of them (Edie Adams, Capucine, and Susan Hayward) to come to Venice to see how they each react. Do they want to be near him or his money? The plot gets complicated as Harrison plays each one against the other two and an elaborate murder plot develops. It's a very interesting and amusing film. It also features Maggie Smith, Cliff Robertson, Adolfo Celi, and Herschel Bernardi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JOSEPH L. MANKIEWICZ, OPUS 18, January 5, 2008
By 
Daniel S. "Daniel" (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
***** 1967. Written for the screen and directed by Joseph L. Mankiewicz. The film is inspired by Ben Jonson Volpone (New Mermaids), Frederick Knott's MR. FOX OF VENICE and Thomas Sterling's The Evil of the Day. THE HONEY POT is a firework of wit and unforgettable lines and a lesson of mise-en-scene.

Strange that the actual only DVD release of this masterpiece comes from Spain. But, believe me, this DVD is worth the extra money you'll spend for it. The copy is gorgeous and comes with, apart from the dubbed Spanish versions (2.0 and 5.1), the original English version with optional English subtitles. A gallery of photos, a synopsis and a few trailers as bonus features. You can also find here VHS versions if you want : The Honey Pot and Honey Pot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational Script Intelligent Writing, March 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Honey Pot (DVD)
The sensational script by Director Joseph L. Mankiewicz in 1967 based on a play by the author of Alfred Hichkock's Dial M for Murder Frederick Knott. A rich man, expertly played by Rex Harrison invites three old girlfriends to hear his will. The three, a European Princess, elegantly played by Capucine, a Hollywood actress, played by Edie Adams with cool vivacity and another played by Susan Hayward he was involved with years ago in the Southwest and she is definitely ready to eliminate the competition. She is waited on by nurse, perfectly played by a lofty Maggie Smith. The host is assisted by an actor he hires wonderfully played by Cliff Robertson. Adolfo Celi rounds at the sensational cast and fortunately there is no overacting to ruin this perfect material. I first saw this more than forty years ago was to young then to appreciate its extreme sophistication. I will never tire of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great all round entertainment, October 4, 2012
This review is from: The Honey Pot (DVD)
Smart script, great cast, set in Venice....what more could you want? Rex Harrison is wonderful as the center piece in this film. Like a brilliant jewel he is surrounded by a worthy group of fine actors--Capucine, Edie Adams, Susan Hayward and Cliff Robertson. This is an old-fashioned, totally entertaining film. It won't keep you awake pondering it's meaning but it's good fun and totally worth watching just for Harrison's presence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ought to be a Classic, March 20, 2011
This review is from: The Honey Pot (DVD)
This one really ought to be a classic, instead of a forgotten film getting the inferior print-on-demand treatment. It's available for streaming video on Netflix, which is where I saw it. Rex Harrison is fantastic. Maggie Smith is a joy as always. I think this might be her first film role. Capucine is lovely and a commanding presence. Wish there were more movies like this one. Easily bares repeat viewing, if only for the joy of the English language Smith and Harrison provide in beautiful tones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing the big flavo(u)r, May 1, 2007
When I saw this film years ago, I was puzzled by a player who was unknown for me and your reviews do not even mention. As the plot moved on, I felt enthusiastic about this character gradually controlling the story as well as the screen. I never write reviews, but the performance of Maggie Smith, one of the best actress ever, must be acknowledged. Sorry you have not released a Region 1 version of the film; I was able to enjoy it again but most of readers are just missing it, its final...and she.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honey Pot, June 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Honey Pot is a great movie; plot, screenplay, acting, directing, and production. Anyone familiar with Rex Harrison, Cliff Robertson and the others would expect a well acted movie, if you're not familiar with them you're in for a great treat. The plot and screenplay would appeal to anyone who appreciates subtle, yet amusing, twists and a dash of irony. I especially love the ending where, once again, everything gets turned upside down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good period movie, March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Entertaining story with interesting characters. Many plot twists and somewhat unlikely happenings but still enjoyable. It's rather old now (made in 1960's) and many actors are no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fun movie, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really enjoyed watching The Honey Pot. Has a great cast with Rex Harrison and a young Maggie Smith. Would watch it again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honey Pot a real "Honey" of a Movie!, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Honey Pot (DVD)
It was years before I found this reasonably priced copy of this movie. At one time it was priced in the hundreds of dollars!.An old {1967} but qutre unique movie! Great acting jjobs by all of the stars and especially the very young Maggie Smith!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Honey Pot
The Honey Pot by Joseph L. Mankiewicz (DVD - 2010)
$19.98 $17.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.