Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story and illustrations will beg to be looked at again and again, September 21, 2011
This review is from: The Honeybee Man (Hardcover)
A genuine story about a man named Fred who keeps three beehives on the rooftop of his Brooklyn apartment. Beautifully told, it imparts the seasonal life of bees, how bees behave, how to care for them. Neighborhood vignettes juxtapose everyday city life with the bees' activity. Fred is tender, he calls them `Sweeties'. He cultivates the bees for their honey, tastes the local flowers from which the honey comes, and shares jars of honey with his neighbors. Kyrsten Brooker's watercolor illustrations are extraordinary in and of themselves, but also in the way they complement the story. And, ZING--some spreads startlingly include small bits of paper-cut collage! Once the reader recognizes this, there will be much flipping of pages to discover more. The plight of bees in our modern world may be in jeopardy; this excellent and enjoyable book helps to explain their importance in a faithful and gentle way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buzz Buzz, December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Honeybee Man (Hardcover)
It was a very good teaching tool for my preschool class. It helped the children get a greater understanding of the way bees make honey. Good Pictures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful way to learn about bees, August 12, 2011
This review is from: The Honeybee Man (Hardcover)
Fred lives in Brooklyn, right in the heart of the city. His apartment building is surrounded by linden trees and other tall apartment buildings. When he climbs up to the roof of his building, Fred loves that he can see the entire city spread before him. But more than that, he loves the bustling miniature city that is entirely contained on his rooftop.

Fred is a beekeeper. His bees are housed in sectioned beehives that smell like a cross between caramel and ripe peaches. Each of the three buildings is ruled by a queen bee, whom Fred has named Queen Mab, Queen Nefertiti, and Queen Boadicea. While the queens are busy laying eggs, the workers are building wax rooms, feeding babies and visiting flowers all over Brooklyn.

In the summer, Fred rises early and makes his way to the roof with his cup of tea. Settled in his rooftop lawn chair, he closes his eyes and imagine what his city would feel like as a bee, swooping through the city, wind rushing over his back. Fred greets the bees as they emerge from their hive. He knows they will gather nectar from all over Brooklyn and return to the hive to store it in beautifully constructed wax rooms. Later, Fred will carefully remove that honeycomb, harvest the honey, and share the sweet nectar with his neighbors.

Lela Nargi's inspiration for this story was two real life Brooklyn apiarists. I wonder how many of the little details are invented or based on the real apiarists? Fred has fancy names for his queen bees, but his cat's name is simply Cat. He wears slippers to the roof that match his royal blue cardigan, and a plaid newsboy cap covers his balding head. I like the details of his house: the patchwork quilt on his bed, the various wallpaper prints in each room, and the aqua webbed aluminum lawn chair that older people always seem to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Honeybee Man (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband, who is a beekeeper. Even tho it is a child's book, I figure he will enjoy reading it to our grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, May 18, 2011
This review is from: The Honeybee Man (Hardcover)
Every school should own this book ! As an elementary school teacher, I was delighted with the informative playfulness of this book. Our class used this book for our Spring theme work and the children were fascinated by this city (beehive) inside a city (Brooklyn). The collage style illustrations are capturing and the descriptive writing enticing!
Sweet inclusions of names for Fred's dog,cat, and bees provide the personal touch that appeals to children everywhere.
Wonderful balance of factual and playful !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun book, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Honeybee Man (Hardcover)
A lot of kids books these days are all over the place with one page not related to the next which i don't like at all. this book is a lot of fun and is much more calm, and stays in a single train of though through out (which makes it much more pleasant for me when I am asked to read it ten times a day!). Also, it is about bee keeping, so that makes it just that much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice intro to the world of the urban beekeeper, December 19, 2011
This review is from: The Honeybee Man (Hardcover)
Fred takes care of his bees in Brooklyn. This little picture book is filled with facts about those who care for honeybees and honeybees themselves. A nice introduction to the world of the urban beekeeper.

"Fred closes his eyes and lets his mind wander. Will Queen Mab's daughters find mint flowers as they did last year? Will Queen Boadicea's honey be dark like molasses or light and clear like amber?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEEauetiful, April 13, 2011
This review is from: The Honeybee Man (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic, from the beautiful illustrations to the masterfully written text. My niece loved this book so much that I've had to get it for 3 of her closest friends. I was also surprised at how much I learned about bees from reading this book, not to mention how much my niece has too. Even before the story begins, and what a story, there are illustration detailing bee and honey facts. There's even an additional section at the end chock full of information for your little ones, and you, to learn about bees, honey, and beekeeping. This book really puts a new spin on buzzwords.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, highly recommended!, April 2, 2011
This review is from: The Honeybee Man (Hardcover)
My 7 year old LOVES this book. It's his new favorite, he reads it all the time, and has learned some really interesting facts about bees (as have I). The lyrical writing and gorgeous illustrations make it a pleasure to read out loud, and the clear writing allows him to read it to himself, as well. We've also gotten copies for our younger nieces, as I think it will appeal to a range of ages. The author clearly did her homework, as the story gently incorporates learning into bedtime reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa808e930)

This product

The Honeybee Man
The Honeybee Man by Lela Nargi (Library Binding - March 8, 2011)
$20.99 $18.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.