Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very nice piece of horror/bizarro/psychological/action work
When Sheldon Delany was a small child, he witnessed the horrible, gruesome murder of his parents. After undergoing therapy, he returned home and vowed never to set foot outside the house again. He works as a telephone solicitor and conducts all his other interactions with the outside world via Evan, a neighborhood boy who's deaf and has no other friends. Sheldon is so...
Published on November 1, 2010 by Ray Holland

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting enough
This was my fist time reading Lamberts work so I had no idea what to expect. The story was well written and original but a bit too Sci - Fi for my taste. All in all I definitely enjoyed it enough to be worth the $.99.
Published on March 31, 2012 by HorrorJunkie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very nice piece of horror/bizarro/psychological/action work, November 1, 2010
By 
Ray Holland (Louisville, KY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Horribles (Paperback)
When Sheldon Delany was a small child, he witnessed the horrible, gruesome murder of his parents. After undergoing therapy, he returned home and vowed never to set foot outside the house again. He works as a telephone solicitor and conducts all his other interactions with the outside world via Evan, a neighborhood boy who's deaf and has no other friends. Sheldon is so afraid to step outside his door that he has Evan bring his mail in for him.

But then, everything changes when a motorcycle parade roars through town for what turns out to not to be a festive occasion, but rather a horrible day of carnage for the town. The adults are mysteriously incited to horrific acts of murderous violence, and the parade itself kidnaps the children-including Evan. And so Sheldon, having escaped the killing frenzy, must leave his house and set out to rescue his friend-all the while learning a few things about himself as well.

The book is a slim volume, weighing in at 124 pages. But it really doesn't need more than that. The story is inventive and moves right along, very confidently, without any excess baggage. The main characters are engaging--and, in fact, the focus of the story isn't on the horror elements so much as Sheldon's ability to find the courage to overcome his own fears and step out into what would be a frightening world for anyone.

Order a copy, wait for a rainy Saturday afternoon, and go off on an adventure with Sheldon Delany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Horrible At All!, July 12, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Horribles (Paperback)
When the main character, Sheldon, was young boy his parents were murdered because of this he spends his days locked up in his house. Most of his time is spent imagining that his parents are still alive and checking to make sure that his little world is secure. He has only one friend, Evan, who lives across the street and happens to be deaf.
It's when a parade comes to town that things change. This sets off a chain off events, including Evan's kidnapping, that finally get Sheldon out of the house.
The Horribles is a fast fun read. Pick this one up ASAP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book worth owning, January 1, 2011
This review is from: The Horribles (Paperback)
Nathaniel Lambert may not be an author that is familiar to you, or perhaps ever heard of; however you should! "The Horribles" is his latest offering which is a well thought out character driven story, paying careful attention in establishing character(s) that you actually care for, and then ruthlessly throws them head on into a motor parade of leather clad nightmares. By the end of the book you're wanting to know more about these mysterious even bizarre villains, and you get it slicker than slick, with a high level of viscosity! The excellent cover art by Brandon Duncan fits well the tone of the book. It deserves to be on your book shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting enough, March 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Horribles (Kindle Edition)
This was my fist time reading Lamberts work so I had no idea what to expect. The story was well written and original but a bit too Sci - Fi for my taste. All in all I definitely enjoyed it enough to be worth the $.99.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars original and worthwhile, February 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Horribles (Kindle Edition)
I'd never read Lambert's work before, but found his unique voice to be reminiscent of early Clive Barker mixed with a bit of Stephen Kings "the Regulators". This short story is lean and mean and pulls you along from the first page, rooting for Sheldon and his young friend. Some scenes are gruesome in a B horror movie kind of way, but that adds to the dark detail of the tale, dragging the reader down the macabre rabbit hole of their own imagination. Fulfilling and well worthwhile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LAMBERT'S BEST YET, April 18, 2011
This review is from: The Horribles (Paperback)
REVIEWED BY THE FUNKY WEREPIG

Nathaniel Lambert has been one of a new batch of writers over the past couple years that has toyed with various genre labels (horror, bizarro, noir etc) but is steadily building his own niche. His work is often left of center but never fails to show endless imagination and solid writing skills. I've read some of his work that has entertained me, some that had me wondering how his brain functions and some that I would call damn near brilliant.

But THE HORRIBLES introduced me to a whole new level for Lambert. Possibly for the first time I saw him dig deep in creating his characters, investing tons of emotion. Not that his past characters aren't realistic but here I read fully developed people who I knew and understood. Lambert centers his story on a man named Sheldon. As a child, he watched helplessly as his parents were brutally murdered by a man-creature he couldn't wrap his head around. Since that tragic day, Sheldon refuses to leave his house. He knows this `Horrible' and more like it are out there waiting for him. The claustrophobia and paranoia Lambert builds is frightening enough. But the fact is--these monsters exist.

Sheldon's only contact to the outside world is a boy named Evan, who is deaf. I have to applaud Lambert on his treatment of someone with this handicap. He obviously did his research to understand how deaf people deal with daily life but he also treats Evan as a three dimensional person and not just a sidekick gimmick.

Because Lambert invests so much into the bond between these two, THE HORRIBLES can nail what it was intended to do- scare the hell out of you. When a parade of motorcycle bad asses comes to town, Sheldon is the only one who sees them for what they are. And what they have planned is a perfect example of just how far out Lambert's imagination goes. It's terror that must have been born from one helluva nightmare.

THE HORRIBLES is a quick read, fast paced and rich in content. The book itself is of professional quality, nicely edited and formatted by a new publisher, Grindhouse Press. If they can keep grabbing stories like this one, I'll be looking for more books from them. And as far as Nathaniel Lambert, he definitely took another solid step towards being an author who deserves the respect and attention of whatever genre he chooses to write in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When THEY Came to Town..., April 9, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Horribles (Paperback)
I generally try to steer clear of literary comparisons in reviews, but I kept thinking this the whole time I was reading:

Picture "Something Wicked This Way Comes" by way of Joe R. Lansdale filtered through Torchwood's Children of Earth miniseries. You're still not halfway to what "The Horribles" will put you through.

Nathaniel Lambert's "The Horribles" is one of the most genuinely unsettling books I've read in recent years. As a person with quite a fair share of paranoia, this book struck a rather uncomfortable chord with me and made it that much more frightening. There were passages here that shook me on a fundamental level.

Mr. Lambert not only gives us two immensely likable, if flawed, lead characters, but he tops it off with a gang of highly original, infinitely horrible creatures that defy comprehension. The mystery of these "things", and the overall uneasy tone of the book will linger in your mind for some time to come. At a breakneck-paced 114 pages, there's enough tension, horror, blood and oil in this book to keep you glued to the text while checking for the eighth time to see if the door's locked. Anyone who values a good disturbing book has no reason to NOT own "The Horribles". You'll never look at the Stig the same again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grand glorious good reading materials!, April 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Horribles (Kindle Edition)
I've tried to write this review three times now, and something keeps interrupting, so I'm going to speed review this sucker before we get an earthquake or something...

OK, so Sheldon is an agoraphobe - he's afraid to go outside because of what he thinks is out there, which are these Horrible little dudes that he saw kill his parents at a young age. (Sheldon was at the young age, not his parents... that could have been explained better... Oh well! No Time! Onward!) I personally don't have phobias and struggle to even fathom what it would be like to be so scared of something that affects every aspect of your existence, but Lambert does a crack up job of getting me in Sheldon's head and making me feel as nervous and uncomfortable as Sheldon does anytime someone comes to his front door.

This is what makes this book a success and a good read. Sheldon is a good protagonist who I care about, so when a parade of these Horrible little bastards come motoring into town on their hogs and the body count shoots up, I'm rooting for Sheldon and his buddy Evan all the way. The Horribles are a unique "monster" that plays on the Terminator idea of bad machines with human tissue, and the only critique I have is that we never really find out exactly where they came from or why they're here, being all Horrible and stuff. This could have easily gone on another 124 pages.

So, good book, I suggest you check it out, and it's a good price for the Kindle if you have one of those doo-dads. Read it, dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A throwback to great B-Movie horror, January 2, 2013
This review is from: The Horribles (Kindle Edition)
The Horribles is a fast read and a well crafted study in splatter/grindhouse horror. Mr. Lambert has come up with a fairly unique monster/creature and the atmosphere he weaves with this tale is damn near stifling (in a good way). Overall, it's a very enjoyable tale.

R. Thomas Riley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The monsters within may be horrible, but the book sure isn't....., June 4, 2012
By 
Whit (Virginia Beach) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Horribles (Kindle Edition)
This book takes the reader down a road of paranoia, fear, horrible imaginative monsters and a man's struggle to overcome his debilitating fears. This quick read is filled to the brim with action and I finished it one sitting because the plot was pretty unique and I wanted to see what the author imagined up next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Horribles
The Horribles by Nathaniel Lambert (Paperback - October 31, 2010)
$10.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.