Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
39
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 15, 2007
"In Manchester Square, in a cottage of stone,
Miss Mary Lynn MacIntosh lived all alone.
The bedroom was cozy, the kitchen was clean,
but the days were too dreary, too doggone routine."

So begins Jessica Swaim's HOUND FROM THE POUND, a delightful wag of a tale about a lonely woman who finds companionship (and LOTS of it) from Blue, the titular hound from the pound, who invites all his friends over to hang at Miss Mary's:

"Retrievers lined up at the toilet to drink.
Chihuahuas swam laps (muy bien!) in the sink.
A bloodhound got gummy bears stuck in his snout.
Shar-peis used the shower to steam wrinkles out."

Mary continues to be overrun by eager pound pups until Sam the Dog Trainer arrives just in time to save the day. The final spreads reveal a yappy ending for everyone (although Jill McElmurry's fashionista poodle bridesmaids do tend to steal the show!). Don't be surprised when kids holler AH-ROOooo and hound you for repeated readings of this fun romp!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2007
This is an adorable picture book that features a lovely, heartwarming story and beautiful illustrations. I love the rhyming, sing-songy text. I bought it for a couple who have a bassett hound and their new baby. The bassett hound holds the spotlight, but many other dog breeds appear in the story, too, including daschunds, greyhounds and bulldogs. There is quite a bit of text on each page, so I would recommend it for toddlers on the older end and up.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2010
I collect children stories about dogs because I volunteer doing pet therapy and we do a program called read to the dogs. We have children who are shy about reading out loud, read a story to our dogs. Dogs don't tease of judge so the children feel free to read out loud. The dogs just give love. I loved this book, the illustrations are great and the story is well written. I took this to our program and the children loved this story. Like the lesson that dogs from the pound that are trained can be wonderful pets. It really lets children know that a rescued dog is a treasure. Good lesson presented in a fun way.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2015
10 stars! First of all this book is full of clever rhymes, which makes reading it so much fun. Also, it's the perfect length for kids. Long enough to feel like you really read a book (unlike some baby books) but short enough to keep my 4 month old's attention. The illustration is wonderful and full of color. Also, this book is extra fun for my family because we get our basset hound to howl at the appropriate spots. Couldn't love this book more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2015
I took this book out at the library and my kids loved it so much we bought a copy. It's very cute and the illustrations are great too! The rhymes are clever and easy to read without stumbling or getting mixed up by a changing rhyme scheme. Overall it's a great book, get it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2011
This is a delightful children's book -- it's fun to read aloud and has charming illustrations. The story follows a lonely young woman named Mary who takes a trip to the pound in order to find a four legged friend -- and finds much more than she bargained for! Humorous, romantic, and silly -- it's a fun story for dog lovers of all ages.

My one-year-old son is fascinated with dogs at the moment, and he loves pointing to the many pictures of dogs in this book. It's a great book for introducing children to various dog breeds -- from bloodhounds to bedlingtons and all the ones in between.

The story is told in a wonderful lilting rhyme, which really "works" when read aloud. Only beware of the many dog related puns -- "pawsitive things" or "dogged devotion" -- they're perfect for elementary schoolers, but may cause some eye rolling from adults in the room.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2013
I bought this children's book for my adult daughter, a basset hound owner (she has two) and a rescue dog lover. This books is funny, engaging, and heartwarming. It is the tale of a basset hound and his adventures trying to get adopted. All the other dogs in the pound get involved and the illustrations are a delight. I like the bright colors, bold lines, and the general happiness of the text and pictures. I would buy it again as a gift for a child or adult. The book's appeal is not limited to children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2013
What a fun story in rhyme about a lady and her basset hound. The funny rhymes make you laugh out loud with a comical wedding scene at the end. Great illustrations, too. I'm only sad this book is now out of print. Snap up any copies you find because this one's a keeper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2013
It's a delightful story about dogs with a happy ending. What else needs to be said? It rhymes like Dr. Seus's stories, you can't put it down once you start reading it, and once you finish reading, you'll want to read it again and again. The illustrations are just as interesting as the reading. If you love kids and dogs, you must have this book, even if you don't think you love dogs, read it anyway, you may feel quite different when you're through. Judy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
Jessica Swaim has written a funny sweet rhyming book about a basset names Blue who has not learned any manners at all. Upon Miss Mary bringing Blue home from the pound and letting him roam the house, Blue becomes a bit of a problem.

Blue lets out one of his AH-ROOoos as loud as only a Basset can howl and all the dogs far away at the pound hear him and break out. Guess where they went? You guessed it, to Miss Mary's house.

Oh my goodness, the havoc they create. "Retrievers lined up at the toilet to drink....Chihuahuas swam laps in the sink!". Miss Mary was beside herself. All the shenanigans drive Miss Mary to call Sam, the dog trainer at the pound. She tells him she cannot part with all of them and yet cannot keep them the way they are.

Sam helps Miss Mary train all the dogs to be good little boy and girl doggies and all the while, the story is done in perfect rhyme. So much action is going on through the colorful illustrations that between the pictures and the rhyming, an attention getting book has been read.

Blue and his friends have gained a wonderful home and Miss Mary and Sam find true love.

I admire a children's story teller and especially one who can do justice to the rhyme. But the illustrator often does not get the accolades that are so well deserved and I say, hats off to you, Jill McElmurry for your wonderful sweet pages of dogs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.