Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love letter to norway
Rosalind Laker says in her biography that she is married to a Norwegian and lives in an old farmhouse there. Her latest novel is a love letter to her adopted country.

When Anna, a young war widow, decides to journey to her husband's homeland, she keeps insisting that it's only going to be for a short visit. Slowly but surely, she becomes enchanted by the beauty...
Published on June 16, 2011 by Farin

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
First of all i can't believe that there is only one review for Rosalind Laker's new book. I have loved so many of her past historicals. In my bookcase I have saved her books because I always felt her books were keepers. "The Golden Tulip" , "The Venitian Mask", "Garlands of Gold", "The Sugar Pavilion" and so on. I can't believe this same woman wrote "The House By the...
Published on July 6, 2011 by LA Blackwood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, July 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The House by the Fjord (Hardcover)
First of all i can't believe that there is only one review for Rosalind Laker's new book. I have loved so many of her past historicals. In my bookcase I have saved her books because I always felt her books were keepers. "The Golden Tulip" , "The Venitian Mask", "Garlands of Gold", "The Sugar Pavilion" and so on. I can't believe this same woman wrote "The House By the Fjord". The beginning drags, then the middle introduces a sort of mystery (which never is really solved by the way) and the end is a big bore. If there is anything good about this novel, it is about the description of the life in Norway after World War Two. But by Rosalind Laker? I can't believe it. It's not going on my bookcase to sit by her other great novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love letter to norway, June 16, 2011
By 
Farin (New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The House by the Fjord (Hardcover)
Rosalind Laker says in her biography that she is married to a Norwegian and lives in an old farmhouse there. Her latest novel is a love letter to her adopted country.

When Anna, a young war widow, decides to journey to her husband's homeland, she keeps insisting that it's only going to be for a short visit. Slowly but surely, she becomes enchanted by the beauty of the Norwegian landscape and heals from the shock of widowhood. Still, she prevaricates, even when her father-in-law's lawyer, Alex Ringstad, tells her that she's inherited a house. When Anna meets her father-in-law at Christmas, he gives her the journal of the original owner of the house, Ingrid. As Anna reads the journal, she realizes she can't leave Norway without seeing the house so vividly described by the vivaceous Ingrid. The fact that she and Alex have been seeing each other also makes her stay until the spring. Once she sees the house, something finally breaks in her, and she realizes that Norway has become her home and that she's learned to love Alex, and she decides to stay in Ingrid's home.

Ms. Laker describes the landscape so vividly that you could be there, and she writes about the local customs and attitudes with endearment and respect. You can see how the environment can be healing for someone who has had a sorrow as great as Anna's.

This is not really a story with a lot of conflict; it's more about depicting daily life in Norway, with all the normal bumps in the road, so don't be surprised if you can see where this story is going from the beginning. That said, "The House by the Fjord" is a thoroughly enjoyable read, particularly under the covers on a cold night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming family story, April 4, 2014
I had trouble putting this book down, and was disapointed when it ended. This was my first b ook by Rosalind Laker, but will not be my last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars putting down roots and maintaining them, March 16, 2014
I'm an American of Norwegian descent. This was a fascinating look at the land and history of Norway during a time of great transition. Beautifully told story. I'm ready for another visit to this amazing country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Endless exposition (review is slightly spoilerish), January 21, 2012
By 
Anna met and married Norwegian pilot Johan Vartdal in a whirlwind romance while he was on leave in England. Johan didn't survive the final days of WWII and the book begins as a widowed Anna is making an extended visit to his homeland. She spends time in Oslo living with and socializing with fellow war-brides, and you will get endless descrptions of coffee parties and social gatherings that the ladies attend. About halfway through, Anna finally travels to Molde to visit her aging father-in-law who wants to deed over a cottage nearby that is always handed down to a female member of the family. Anna's plans were to return to England, but she's drawn to the diary of the woman who previously owned the cottage. We finally get to see what is in this diary about half-way through, and then we get lots and lots of descriptions of life, marriage and children. Sometimes we read directly from the diary, and sometimes it is narrated back to us. There's a love interest for Anna, plus a slight bit of tension about a male family member who has too much interest in something hidden in the cottage. When that's resolved, we get more endless exposition about Anna's happy married life and children.

Seriously, that's it. I love hearing about new places and the customs and culture of the locals, but unfortunately that's pretty much all you are going to get in this. You'll learn about the food, you'll attend plenty of tea/coffee parties and maybe a wedding or two, but there just isn't any story to keep the reader interested. Library only, then buy it if you love it. If you are interested in learning more about Norway, I do highly recommend Laker's Shining Land, This set during the German occupation.

Kindle copy obtained via library loan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, October 16, 2011
norway is a beautiful country. ms. laker effectively makes that point throughout this book. however,her writing style was suitable for young adults. the book could be part of a popular romance series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The beauty of Norway..., August 18, 2014
I enjoyed every facet of this book, Norwegian history, culture, and location. As I have traveled there, that was an added pleasure. One of my favorite older books is Kristen Lavransdottir, published in the 1920's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The House by the Fjord
The House by the Fjord by Rosalind Laker (Paperback - December 1, 2011)
$15.95 $14.36
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.