Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 10, 2001
This book is surprisingly entertaining & yet informative at the same time. Here, we read about Gucci's humble beginning (against the myth of the family beginning as saddle makers), the personalities in the family (namely, Aldo & Rodolfo & subsequently, moving on to the younger generations, Maurizio, Paolo), the ongoing battles ensued among themselves for business control, the loyalty of Gucci employees, the estrangment of the employees against the new team brought in by Maurizio to turn Gucci around, the murder of Maurizio Gucci, the trial which brought his estranged wife, Patrizia Gucci & her accomplice to jail, Maurizio's vision which involved Investcorp which subsequently made Gucci into a corporate name, the significance of American outsiders such as Dawn Mello, Domenico de Sole, Tom Ford which spearheaded Gucci into a new direction altogether (from bag & leather products into ready to wear apparels) & indirectly, tranformed the fashion industry forever by inspiring other fashion houses to do the same ie. listed in the sharemarket to fend off competitors and to survive in the game & attainment of synergy thru multi brands under the same umbrella, the fighting off hostile takeover bid by LMVD led by Arnault thru marriage with Pinault. The book is written in a way that we feel as if we are in the thick of incidents. B&W pictures provided were handy. There is never a dull moment in this book. Highly recommended and great effort for the first time author.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2004
The House of Gucci asserts itself as a singular dichotomy of both highly bizarre personal tales of the self-destructive Gucci family as well as the equally strange goings-on of the business side of things as well. It reads not unlike an incredibly enthralling novel of deceit, selfishness, lust, greed, and underhanded connivances quite unlike any other.

What makes this even more compelling is the incredible fact that it really happened. It begins with a somewhat banal and inauspicious start as the author recounts the beginning of Gucci with its assiduous founder, Guccio Gucci. As the family history unfolds, however, we find ourselves grossly immersed in the almost unbelievable sordid tales of the inimitable Gucci clan going from Guccio's three sons and how the most industrious of them, Aldo, built the Gucci empire almost single-handedly from a local phenomenon selling primarily handbags and loafers to worldwide acclaim selling a veritable cornucopia of luxury merchandise. And that is, for all intents and purposes, where the meat of the infinitely bizarre story begins with the 3rd generation Gucci, Maurizio, whose cold-blooded murder is eerily recounted on the 1st page of the book.

Overall, I recommend this quasi-novel of nonfiction to anyone who enjoys a riveting yarn that reads like a murder mystery. Invariably, it also makes for a great read for anyone in management on how to run, as well as how NOT to run, a business.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2002
This book is a surprising fast paced book that reads more like an unauthorized tell all scandal book then one dealing with the business world. It is just a fun book to read. There is a good amount of history that does not take away from the story (as sometimes to much dull history can). The author got the mix right. It also gave me a lot of insight into the fashion world that I really was not looking for, but was interesting all the same. Keep in mind that part of the focus of this book is the business that has been built up; it is not just details of the family. A good effort by the author and one worth reading if you are interested in the topic.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2003
The story of Gucci was interesting. In fact, reality surpassses fiction in this case.
However, I was expecting more of a narrative feel; this reads like a collection of well researched facts. Some of the other reviews say it is like a novel - I think it is more like an interesting history book. Especially at the beginning -hard to get into the first few chapters it is written in such a factual, boring way.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2000
This was a great book! It was so hard to put it down. Before reading the book, I had no idea of all the problems that existed within the Gucci family. I highly recommend this book, even if you're not a Gucci customer.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2004
And all this time I thought that fashion was just about fabric and thread! _The_House_of_Gucci_ was a terrific read because of all of the novela-style twists and turns and because of the way that it expertly documents the history of a family, an industry and an era. I suppose that one of the morals of the story is "be careful who you marry" but another is sure to be "there's always a new revenue stream." I especially appreciated the background information regarding the family members and the hired hands like Tom Ford and Domenico De Sole as this information really gave the story the sort of depth that similar accounts lack. This book is proof positive that in business, as in life, there is usually more to the story than meets the (customer's) eye.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2005
The House of Gucci reads like a soap opera in book form. Dramatic elements involving the fashion industry, business, and a dysfunctional family are deftly interwoven into a book that is impossible to put down. This novel is a perfect example of how power and greed can lead to the downward spiral of an outwardly- perfect family. Forden writes in a way that would keep any of a number of people riveted, including the fashionistas, the business- savvy,and those who are simply fond of the Italian culture. I have not hesitated in recommending this book to friends and family.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2000
I thought that I had read more than I ever wanted to know about the Gucci family until I read this book by Sara Forden. It is fun to read but at the same time highly intelligent and perceptive.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2003
This book provides an insightful look into the history and development of the House of Gucci. I have learned everything about how the business started, the Gucci family turmoil, and the recent comeback and dominance of Gucci. This is a great read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2001
even if you don't care about fashion, even if business bores you, even if you know nothing about Italy, you will enjoy this book. guaranteed. the characters are great, the story is intriguing, and the writing is clear and well paced throughout.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.