Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tour de force
This book is surprisingly entertaining & yet informative at the same time. Here, we read about Gucci's humble beginning (against the myth of the family beginning as saddle makers), the personalities in the family (namely, Aldo & Rodolfo & subsequently, moving on to the younger generations, Maurizio, Paolo), the ongoing battles ensued among themselves for...
Published on August 10, 2001 by Ping Lim

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reads like a history book
The story of Gucci was interesting. In fact, reality surpassses fiction in this case.
However, I was expecting more of a narrative feel; this reads like a collection of well researched facts. Some of the other reviews say it is like a novel - I think it is more like an interesting history book. Especially at the beginning -hard to get into the first few chapters it...
Published on July 6, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tour de force, August 10, 2001
By 
Ping Lim (Christchurch) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is surprisingly entertaining & yet informative at the same time. Here, we read about Gucci's humble beginning (against the myth of the family beginning as saddle makers), the personalities in the family (namely, Aldo & Rodolfo & subsequently, moving on to the younger generations, Maurizio, Paolo), the ongoing battles ensued among themselves for business control, the loyalty of Gucci employees, the estrangment of the employees against the new team brought in by Maurizio to turn Gucci around, the murder of Maurizio Gucci, the trial which brought his estranged wife, Patrizia Gucci & her accomplice to jail, Maurizio's vision which involved Investcorp which subsequently made Gucci into a corporate name, the significance of American outsiders such as Dawn Mello, Domenico de Sole, Tom Ford which spearheaded Gucci into a new direction altogether (from bag & leather products into ready to wear apparels) & indirectly, tranformed the fashion industry forever by inspiring other fashion houses to do the same ie. listed in the sharemarket to fend off competitors and to survive in the game & attainment of synergy thru multi brands under the same umbrella, the fighting off hostile takeover bid by LMVD led by Arnault thru marriage with Pinault. The book is written in a way that we feel as if we are in the thick of incidents. B&W pictures provided were handy. There is never a dull moment in this book. Highly recommended and great effort for the first time author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, if not disturbing, chronicle, August 1, 2004
By 
Chris Salzer (Gainesville, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The House of Gucci: A Sensational Story of Murder, Madness, Glamour, and Greed (Paperback)
The House of Gucci asserts itself as a singular dichotomy of both highly bizarre personal tales of the self-destructive Gucci family as well as the equally strange goings-on of the business side of things as well. It reads not unlike an incredibly enthralling novel of deceit, selfishness, lust, greed, and underhanded connivances quite unlike any other.

What makes this even more compelling is the incredible fact that it really happened. It begins with a somewhat banal and inauspicious start as the author recounts the beginning of Gucci with its assiduous founder, Guccio Gucci. As the family history unfolds, however, we find ourselves grossly immersed in the almost unbelievable sordid tales of the inimitable Gucci clan going from Guccio's three sons and how the most industrious of them, Aldo, built the Gucci empire almost single-handedly from a local phenomenon selling primarily handbags and loafers to worldwide acclaim selling a veritable cornucopia of luxury merchandise. And that is, for all intents and purposes, where the meat of the infinitely bizarre story begins with the 3rd generation Gucci, Maurizio, whose cold-blooded murder is eerily recounted on the 1st page of the book.

Overall, I recommend this quasi-novel of nonfiction to anyone who enjoys a riveting yarn that reads like a murder mystery. Invariably, it also makes for a great read for anyone in management on how to run, as well as how NOT to run, a business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Just a Business Book, April 7, 2002
By 
This review is from: The House of Gucci: A Sensational Story of Murder, Madness, Glamour, and Greed (Paperback)
This book is a surprising fast paced book that reads more like an unauthorized tell all scandal book then one dealing with the business world. It is just a fun book to read. There is a good amount of history that does not take away from the story (as sometimes to much dull history can). The author got the mix right. It also gave me a lot of insight into the fashion world that I really was not looking for, but was interesting all the same. Keep in mind that part of the focus of this book is the business that has been built up; it is not just details of the family. A good effort by the author and one worth reading if you are interested in the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reads like a history book, July 6, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The House of Gucci: A Sensational Story of Murder, Madness, Glamour, and Greed (Paperback)
The story of Gucci was interesting. In fact, reality surpassses fiction in this case.
However, I was expecting more of a narrative feel; this reads like a collection of well researched facts. Some of the other reviews say it is like a novel - I think it is more like an interesting history book. Especially at the beginning -hard to get into the first few chapters it is written in such a factual, boring way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, October 23, 2000
By A Customer
This was a great book! It was so hard to put it down. Before reading the book, I had no idea of all the problems that existed within the Gucci family. I highly recommend this book, even if you're not a Gucci customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INTELLIGENT AND AMUSING, October 11, 2000
By A Customer
I thought that I had read more than I ever wanted to know about the Gucci family until I read this book by Sara Forden. It is fun to read but at the same time highly intelligent and perceptive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Passion for Fashion..., September 9, 2005
By 
This review is from: The House of Gucci: A Sensational Story of Murder, Madness, Glamour, and Greed (Paperback)
The House of Gucci reads like a soap opera in book form. Dramatic elements involving the fashion industry, business, and a dysfunctional family are deftly interwoven into a book that is impossible to put down. This novel is a perfect example of how power and greed can lead to the downward spiral of an outwardly- perfect family. Forden writes in a way that would keep any of a number of people riveted, including the fashionistas, the business- savvy,and those who are simply fond of the Italian culture. I have not hesitated in recommending this book to friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fabric and thread, December 21, 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The House of Gucci: A Sensational Story of Murder, Madness, Glamour, and Greed (Paperback)
And all this time I thought that fashion was just about fabric and thread! _The_House_of_Gucci_ was a terrific read because of all of the novela-style twists and turns and because of the way that it expertly documents the history of a family, an industry and an era. I suppose that one of the morals of the story is "be careful who you marry" but another is sure to be "there's always a new revenue stream." I especially appreciated the background information regarding the family members and the hired hands like Tom Ford and Domenico De Sole as this information really gave the story the sort of depth that similar accounts lack. This book is proof positive that in business, as in life, there is usually more to the story than meets the (customer's) eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have for Fashionistas, February 11, 2003
By A Customer
This book provides an insightful look into the history and development of the House of Gucci. I have learned everything about how the business started, the Gucci family turmoil, and the recent comeback and dominance of Gucci. This is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars anyone would enjoy this book, March 20, 2001
By A Customer
even if you don't care about fashion, even if business bores you, even if you know nothing about Italy, you will enjoy this book. guaranteed. the characters are great, the story is intriguing, and the writing is clear and well paced throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The House of Gucci: A Sensational Story of Murder, Madness, Glamour, and Greed
$14.99 $10.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.