Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rob and Joyce Hill Have Made a Difference in this Dark World
I am very fortunate to have receved this book, the House of Hope by Elizabeth Gifford as a First Reads Giveaway. This is a truly inspirational book. It tells of Joyce and Robin Hill, who, at age fifty, changed their lives and made many children's lives happier and healthier by taking in sick children and starting a foster care program in their home.This project lead them...
Published on February 22, 2012 by JanBreesmom

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Touched me deeply
100% OF THE PROCEEDS OF THIS BOOK GO TO FUND THE WORK AT HOPE FOSTER HOME. HERE IS THE LINK TO THEIR SITE: [..]

The ministry of the Hills is truly remarkable and God's loving touch can be seen and felt throughout this inspiring story. I was deeply touched by this inredible story, and for that reason alone I highly recommend this book. This story has insopired...
Published on November 16, 2011 by OurBlessedChaos


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rob and Joyce Hill Have Made a Difference in this Dark World, February 22, 2012
By 
JanBreesmom "Breesmom" (MIRA LOMA, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
I am very fortunate to have receved this book, the House of Hope by Elizabeth Gifford as a First Reads Giveaway. This is a truly inspirational book. It tells of Joyce and Robin Hill, who, at age fifty, changed their lives and made many children's lives happier and healthier by taking in sick children and starting a foster care program in their home.This project lead them to expand their project to a much bigger place where many more children could be cared for.

This book shows how God can use those who will make themselves available, how he will supply their needs, It shows that there is hope. It tells story after story about poor, abandoned, sick children who were cared for through this couple's vision and how many have been placed with adoptive families.

I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to everyone. (less)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars None, May 29, 2012
This review is from: The House of Hope (Kindle Edition)
I was fortunate enough to visit this home in January of 2012. Loved reading the faith journey that led to such an amazing place. Fantastic story of such a beautiful couple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Family Can Make a Difference- Inspirational!, November 22, 2011
Everyday we hear the stories of the children left alone, children that nobody cares for because of circumstances that they were born into. Enter into the world of the Hill Family, who one day were living with all the comforts in the world and then were left heartbroken one moment while on a visit with their church. Vowing to not return until they knew how to make a difference in the children's lives they were completely unaware of the adventure God would be leading them on.

Robyn and Joyce Hill's lives were turned upside down and were introduced into a world of hurting children in search of a hug and someone to love them. The Hill's took it upon themselves to help care for the children of China and helping to find them medical care and to nurture and care for each child until they were able to be places on the adoption list and be placed with a forever family.

Gifford has put together an inspirational account of the Hill's journey and some of the kids they have met along the way who have gone on to find their forever families. The House of Hope will introduce you to an organization that is truly making a difference in the world every single day by caring for children, providing them with the lives they deserve and uniting families together. The Hill's have had the children of China places upon their hearts and have found away to really make a difference.

The House of Hope will give you a glimpse into what the Hill family is accomplishing and is a great book to read if you are considering international adoption and how all the children out there are simply looking for someone to love them.

I received this book complimentary Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars selfless love for orphans with medical needs, November 21, 2011
By 
Joan N. "bookwomanJoan" (Whidbey Island, WA USA) - See all my reviews
We know from Scripture that God loves orphans. The Hills have cared for over 1,300 of them.
In the fall of 1998, Rob's four year posting in China with Sandvik, a Swedish engineering company, was coming to an end. The Hills were planning to move from China. Rob was in senior management and there was a good retirement in his future.
The Hills heard God tell them to remain in China and take in the sick, disabled and abandoned children. Rob resigned from the company and he and Joyce decided to stay in China permanently.
They moved to a small village outside Beijing in the spring of 1999. They started caring for orphans with one cot in their dining room. They expanded. They went through the process of being able to adopt children. They expanded, started over again, saw God solve problems, expanded again, met with other organizations also helping children, met Steven Curtis and Mary Beth Chapman and received their support, then expanded again.
They work alongside several Children's Welfare Institutes in China. They have a fostor home in Beijing, and have recently built a 150-bed unit. The Hills work alongside other people and organizations that have the same vision.
Joyce tells of her own troubled childhood, her becoming a doctor, her marriage and three children, her practice in Australia, her divorce, meeting Rob, blending their family of six, then moving to Beijing in 1990.
Gifford shares many heartwarming stories of orphans coming to the attention of the Hills, their care for them and arranging for their subsequent adoption.
The Hills are continually grateful for the support of many, the acts of kindness that help change the lives of many children, one child at a time.
One hundred percent of the proceeds from the sales of this book go to help the work at Hope Foster Home.

I received a copy of this book from Kregel Publications for the purpose of this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, November 19, 2011
The House of Hope is truly a love story! A love story not in the romantic sense, but in the most beautiful and perfect definition of love there is, agape love. The foundation and meaning of the Greek word agape, is in God and His love for us. As His children we are to love others with the love He has loved us with.
"A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another." John 13:34-35 ESV
"Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends." John 15:13 ESV
"Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. No one has ever seen God; if we love one another, God abides in us and his love is perfected in us." 1 John 4:11-12 ESV
To say that we love someone is wonderful to hear. But it is love expressed in action, especially for those that require us to deny ourselves, that is the real demonstration of the word love. We deny ourselves when we radically place others above our wants and even needs.

Robin and Joyce Hill and their blended family had lived in China because of Robin's job. When the company that Robin worked for was wanting to relocate him, Robin and Joyce instead made a decision that radically altered their life. Within a short period of time before the Hill's were to leave China they visited with friends a piece of land where a possible community project could be built. Joyce felt strongly that they should stay and build a home for medically needy children in China. They felt God's call on their life and they said yes.
At the time the book was written they had cared for over 1000 medically and or abandoned children.
The book shares several stories of the children that they have cared for including their medical problems. Also shared in the book are the hired women that are the hands on caregivers, the people that have adopted the children, physicians that have performed surgery on the children, and palliative care for children not expected to live.
What stands out the most in The House of Hope is the Hill's love for each individual child. They made the decision to love and care for each of the children as if they were their own. They went to any length to find help for their dearly loved children.

I loved this book! I did not love this book because it is a "feel good" book. But rather a call to me to step up to living a life radically affecting others by God's love. Am I doing all that the Lord has called me to do? Am I loving others with the love that He loves me with?

The book is about 15% biography of the Hill family, the rest is of the years spent devoted to caring the the children in China.

Thank you to Kregel, Monarch and Litfuse for my free copy for reading/reviewing.

100% of the proceeds of the book go to support the work of Hope Foster Homes (please visit their site to learn more) - buy a book for yourself and everyone you know. This book is a gift that gives a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Many Examples of Hope, November 17, 2011
In "The House of Hope" Robin and Joyce Hill's story about being entrusted by God to take care of many orphaned and medically fragile children is explained. There are many, many stories of hope about how God used them to help children in China who had been rejected and abandoned by people who didn't know how to take care of them, or didn't want them, but whom God loves very much. A special bonus to this book is a foreword by Steven Curtis Chapman and a wonderful story about how Robin and Joyce met Steven and his wife Mary Beth.

In my opinion, Robin and Joyce sound like they have a special gift of caring for the medically fragile children that are placed into their care that could only have been given to them by God. To hear the stories of how many children they took care of during a 10-year time frame is truly remarkable. There were many stories of hope about children who had arrived into their care who didn't look they were going to survive but were miraculously healed. Robin and Joyce often took care of a number of children for a certain period of time and then they were placed into the hands of permanent parents. All of the children did not get adopted but the ones who weren't were given a loving family and environment to grow up and heal with. There were also stories about children who didn't survive but had very loving good-byes with people surrounding them that loved and cared for them.

"The House of Hope" is a story that can encourage a lot of people, such as people who have a heart for and are taking care of orphaned and medically fragile children, people who have a desire to adopt children from other countries, and people who desire to work with and care for these children in the future. I love knowing that there are places in the world filled with people that are taking good care of children who have been rejected for reasons beyond their control, and this "House of Hope" sounds as if it happens to be one of those places.

I was told by Litfuse Publicity Group that 100% of the proceeds of this book go to fund the work at Hope Foster Home.

Disclosure of material connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Litfuse Publicity Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The House of Hope, November 21, 2011
Robin and Joyce Hill and their family had a vision for taking care of sick orphans in China. Taking children into their home (in beds in the dining room) eventually turned into opening Hope Foster Home. Many of the children they took in were medically fragile and either needed someone to take care of them in the final days of their lives or until they were well enough to be adopted. To date, they have cared for over 1000 orphans.

What a great story about real people who overcame numerous obstacles to find their way to the ministry God had for them. The book begins by telling about the families that Robin and Joyce grew up in. Knowing their challenges makes you appreciate the way they have given their lives over to God even more!

I especially enjoyed the stories of the children they have cared for. Reading Katherine's story and how loved this dying little orphan-girl was was especially touching. Having worked in an orphanage myself and cared for a baby who died made this story all the more real to me.

More than just a moving story, though, this book will challenge you to examine your life and ask God what He is asking YOU to do. The Hills have an amazing testimony of faith and obedience. I can't wait to share The House of Hope with others!

An additional bonus of purchasing a copy of the book is that 100% of the proceeds goes to help fund the work at Hope Foster Home. Visit their website for more information.

I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse Publicity and Monarch Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, July 8, 2012
By 
Rebekah Innes (Ravenna, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was recommended to me after I visited Maria's Big House of Hope. It is excellent. These people are amazing and I appreciate all that they have done for the children that they are/have been involved with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Author Elisabeth Gifford Shares A Story About THE HOUSE OF HOPE, December 7, 2011
Alot of times we feel as though we have to have alot of money or be in a high position to make a difference, but in the new book by author Elisabeth Gifford we are shown otherwise. Sure the story focuses on the selfless acts of Rob and Joyce Hill who made a decision to leave the comforts of their home and move to China to help the children there, but there is a deeper meaning for all of us.

As you read the story, you see that what they were able to do is really something that all of us can do. They identified a need, created a plan to act and then moved forward in making a difference. Now maybe you won't be able to leave your home and open up a place where hundreds of children can get the best care possible. But what about looking around your neighborhood for ways to change things one person at a time. That is what the Hills did. It all began for them with one child and continued to grow.

What I love about the way that Gifford presented the story is to show that true, not all things will go according to plan or have the results you might want, but that shouldn't stop you from doing all that you can.

As we are looking around the world, trying to see how we can make a difference, this book shows that the answer begins with you. After you begin, there is no telling where the blessings will continue to come from and what the result will be.

THE HOUSE OF HOPE shows that we are all able to do something to make things a little better. We just have to be committed to act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking story of sacrifice and love, November 22, 2011
The House of Hope by Elisabeth Gifford is a moving story of one couple's decision to make a difference for the Lord. Robin and Joyce Hill were finishing their time living in Beijing, China and getting ready to move for his job when Joyce was struck with the conviction from God that they were to open a home for orphans who were too sick to be adopted and get them the care they need. A visit to an orphanage four years earlier had struck the couple's heart, but they were unsure how to help at first, but when Joyce came up with the idea for The House of Hope, Robin was quickly on board. They began by taking in one little girl into their dining room, and grew over ten years to care for over 1000 children, offering many of them the opportunity to find a "forever family" by getting them the operations they need to not just survive, but to really live. This is the story of the Hill's quest to save as many children as they can by treating each child as if he/she were their own. Gifford does a terrific job of portraying the loving and compassionate nature of the Hills by telling the story of individual children who would have died without their care. The stories are joyful, poignant, and thought provoking as readers will be compelled to consider how God could be calling them to act. Robin and Joyce Hill are my heroes, showing these children the face of God through incredible acts of sacrifice and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The House of Hope
The House of Hope by Elisabeth Gifford
$10.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.