Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 13, 2014
I've been a subscriber to Cooks Illustrated for years now. I've always adjusted their recipes containing gluten for my Celiac husband, and avoiding their baking recipes has been disappointing. So I was thrilled to see this cookbook in my Amazon suggestions.

I've so far flipped through many recipes and reviewed the recipe for sandwich bread and pizza crust, and am looking forward to trying both out this weekend. What I love about this book is the science and testing for each recipe is recorded with the recipe so you know why certain ingredients are added or omitted. Then if you want to adjust a bit you can do so with the knowledge of why a recipe is built the way it is.

The big bonus in this book: there is a recipe for a gluten free flour mix, but weights and measurements for two other popular store bought flour mixes are provided for each recipe. If you've ever tried to buy ingredients for a gluten free flour mix in a regular grocery store you know it can be tough to find some, but easier to find pre-packaged mixes, so this is a huge bonus.

The only drawback I can see is for someone who is not a more seasoned cook/doesn't enjoy cooking, some of the recipes are advanced. The directions are always easy to follow, but the outcome can vary depending on your take on the directions. For instance, instructions are provided on how to measure flour for the gluten free flour mix. Part of the instructions include tapping or lightly packing the flour as you scoop it into the measuring cup. My tap vs my husband's tap are completely different levels of pressure, and would result in slightly different flour mixes which could vary a recipe enough to be noticeable. Luckily weights are included, which is the best way to measure baking ingredients, but there are other directions included that could be taken differently.

Really looking forward to trying many of the recipes in this book! If you have a gluten intolerance and love to cook, this is a must buy book! Or if you're fed up with the yucky pre-packaged gluten free foods, give some of the recipes in this book a try.

UPDATE: The sandwich bread recipe in this book makes THE BEST gluten free sandwich bread I've ever had. I don't have to eat gluten free, so I know what real sandwich bread taste like, and this is pretty darn close in taste. It's right on the money with texture, not gritty or dry at all, and only a bit denser with a nice, crisp crust. Plus its a really easy recipe. Most of the ingredients are easy to find even at your local supermarket. The powdered psyllium husk was the hardest to locate. Check your grocers health supplements aisle, or stop by a vitamin shop. It's used as a laxative. I ate two pieces of this bread on the same night and didn't have any issues, so don't worry about accidental laxative effects. Also, the only 4.5" x 8.5" loaf pan I had is glass, and that worked great.

UPDATE 2: I continue to try recipes in this book and haven't had a bad one yet. I haven't delved heavily into the baking section other than making several loaves of the sandwich bread (which is still amazing), but I did try the arepas recipe which was great. The Almost Hands-Free Risotto can be found in back issues of Cooks Illustrated and likely in their other cook books, and is fantastic as always.
33 comments| 299 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 29, 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A word of warning to those who have multiple food allergies/intolerances or are vegans: this cookbook relies VERY heavily on the use of dairy products. Casein (dairy protein) has a similar structure to gluten according to my daughter's doctor, so he has recommended she avoid it as well as gluten in order to avoid her body cross-reacting.

The pictures are great and the test kitchen tips are very useful. I've been cooking GF for over 2 years now and learned a bunch of new information from this cookbook.

Successes:
-Buckwheat Blueberry Pancakes (pg. 37) These were lighter than other GF buckwheat pancake recipes I've tried, probably because of whipping the egg whites. That does, however, make the recipe rather time consuming.
-Lemon-Ricotta Pancakes with Pear-Blueberry Topping (pg. 39) These were really tasty but a pain to make.
-Cranberry-Orange Pecan Muffins (pg. 49) Letting the batter sit as suggested *DOES* improve the texture of the muffins. Great tip!
-Almond Granola with Dried Fruit (pg. 61) Insanely good!
-Fusilli with Kale-Sunflower Seed Pesto (pg. 107) I was a bit dubious about this because I'm not a huge fan of kale but it was actually surprisingly tasty.

Partial Successes
-Millet-Cherry Almond Muffins (pg. 51) Split decision on these. I thought they were tasty but did not like the crunch of the millet. My kids LOVED these.
-Millet Porridge with Maple Syrup (pg. 63) Bland as written. I added some peaches and then it was good.
-Hot Quinoa Breakfast Cereal with Raspberries and Sunflower Seeds (pg. 65) Okay, but I wasn't crazy about the taste of the sunflower seeds with the other ingredients.
-Penne with Sausage and Red Pepper Ragu (pg. 115) A little bland as written. The recipe only calls for oregano so I added some Italian seasoning and then it was really tasty.
-Blueberry-Almond Buckles (pg. 259) These were really good but it was more of a muffin than a buckle.
-Dark Chocolate Cupcakes (pg. 293) These were very rich and moist, which can be a real issue with cupcakes. I thought they were not sweet enough, but my kids thought they were (go figure!)

Failure:
-Tamale Pie (pg. 163) The dairy-free version I made for my daughter came out great. The version with cheese was a disaster as the crust never cooked properly. Even after baking it for 30 minutes longer than the recipe called for, the cornmeal topping was nothing but mush. I was starving by that point, so we ate it with the cornmeal mush (the taste was fine). I refrigerated the leftovers and the next day the mush had solidified enough for me to separate it out from the tamale filling part. I baked the crust for 20 more minutes until it started to look a little burned. However, it was still not solid. My suspicion is that the lack of an egg and only using cornmeal rather than a mix of cornmeal & GF flour was the reason why the crust never solidified. Why it worked for the dairy-free filling I'm not sure. Perhaps the crust absorbed too much liquid from the melted cheese?

Overall verdict: Recommended for those who are only avoiding gluten. Skip if you are avoiding dairy in addition to gluten.
1010 comments| 240 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2014
If you want to avoid gluten and you love white bread, you'll love this cookbook. I have non-celiac gluten sensitivity, but, even before I identified this condition, I didn't eat white bread. My husband and I love reading Cook's magazine. (We think of it as "food porn" because of the emphasis on sensory gratification in the writing of the articles.) Even so, it never occurred to me that their starting point for recipes would be an attempt to mimic the blandness of white-flour recipes. For decades GF diets relied on rice flour, but now there are so many alternatives that not only have flavor but some nutrition as well. ATK dismissed sorghum flour for "its earthy flavor that made these blends taste more like whole-wheat flour."

Okay, given this bias, did they at least come up with a decent multigrain bread for those of us who prefer this style? No, not really. The best they could do is a "multigrain sandwich bread" using their white-flour blend but adding a small amount of a hot-cereal product. It's as if they chose to ignore most of the GF product advances of the past 5-10 years. Faced with a need to add protein to their flour blend (to provide structure, not nutrition), they added milk powder or powdered egg whites. This eliminates a whole subgroup of folks who have issues with dairy as well as gluten. Why not try other flours, such as almond, coconut, millet, amaranth, etc.?

I think that some of the scientific discussions might prove useful, but when I want to make satisfying breads, I'm not going to start with white rice flour as the default. I am sorely disappointed in the narrow focus of the ATK's experiments with gluten-free cooking. Generally I prefer Carol Fenster's recent cookbooks using a sorghum flour blend, but I also look for recipes online and in other cookbooks that combine high-protein and high-fiber flours.
2222 comments| 355 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2015
*This isn't "dairy or sugar free" or aka Paleo Diet friendly book. ATK never claims it to be. So stop complaining, if you are. This is a book for people who are Gluten Free but wants maximum flavor and "gluten like foods."

I watched ATK on TV since I was in college when I first starting cooking my own meals. I love the how to chips and the science behind all the recipes. I discovered I am gluten sensitive about six months ago and I wanted some REAL TASTING bake goods. I bake often for friends and families. The thought of never baking again, was depressing. I borrowed several GF cookbooks from the library to test run some recipes before purchasing ATK's How Can It Be Gluten Free . So far, my whole family loved the bake goods from this book.

I have a few notes before I get to my favorite recipes:

1. You do have to understand you will need to make your own GF "flour mix" but the upside is, there is only ONE FORMULA for everything in this book. Another book I tried had five mixes and I haven't been able to gather all the items needed for that book.
2. You must read the intro to each recipes at least once. It gives you important information. Sometimes, you must read tips of similar recipes to get all the info. For example, under Chocolate Chip cookies, there is a tip on how to make your own frozen cookie dough.
3. If you want real tasting box pasta, read the test kitchen recommendation. IT IS SO GOOD!
4. Bread recipes need a standing mixer. Most recipes mix by hands. Some call for a blender or a food processor.

I bought the book for the bake goods so those are the recipes I tried multiple times with success:

Banana Bread: My husband brought a loaf to work and they are asking for more.
Lemon Pound Cake: Brought it to a party and no one suspected.
Applesauce Snack Cakes: THE BEST and EASY RECIPE in the BOOK. My twins would eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Chocolate Chip Cookies: Moist and Chewy. Brought it to several parties and everyone love it.
Chewy Sugar Cookies: Perfect texture, maybe a bit lack in favor but my kids love it.
Classic Sandwich Bread (which I also made hamburger buns): Taste better than anything store bought but it does dry out fast.
Dinner Roll: My husband loves it with lots of butter, but it already has a lot of butter in it!
Cheddar Cheese Bread: If you miss a good cheesy bagel taste, this is a similar in flavor. The texture is slightly crumbly. Yeast Free.
Multigrain Sandwich Bread: BEST BREAD recipe that I tried so far, moist and flavorful. It kept moist for four days in an airtight glass container.

Recipe tried but need to try again:
Oatmeal Cookies: I thought they were dry. When it ran out before the chocolate chip cookies which I thought was better. So what do it know.
Blueberry Muffins: They were pasty and pale but my husband and the neighbors thought they were pretty good.
Brazilian cheese Bread Roll: They have a Asian Mochi like texture. My family did not find it appealing so I ate most of it myself.

I am yet to tried the pie crust and pizza crust recipe but soon, I hope. It will be Thanksgiving before you know it.
review image review image
11 comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was excited to try this book & had several flours on hand, yet had to go shopping for even more. Baking gluten free requires many different types of flours & products to produce tasty results. This is the first ATK cookbook I've ever owned. If you're not familiar with American Test Kitchen Cookbooks, along with recipes they provide the science behind the recipes & also discuss recipes they tested & why they chose one recipe over another. I love being armed with as much information as possible & appreciate this cookbook for that reason. As you probably know gluten free cooking requires a knowledge of several types of flours...many I never heard of before...and which flour will work best for your recipe. It's mind-boggling to me and this ATK cookbook is teaching me which flour to choose & how to alter regular recipes to make them gluten free...it's not just about the flour, much more is involved.

This cookbook has an abundance of information & tips for gluten free recipes...from thickening sauces to leavening, reducing amounts of butter & oils, how to boost browning, etc. ATK evaluates commercial flour blends, & even includes comparison photos of breads made with different flours, including a loaf made with their ATK blend. There's a section on substitutions. ATK rates sandwich breads...but my hubby likes one they don't recommend. Pasta is discussed and the reason brown rice pasta is preferred over pastas made with corn. Now I know why my corn pasta often turns out mushy..yuck! ATK discusses cooking grains too.

As anyone who has to follow a gluten free diet knows...gluten free bread is inferior to wheat bread in taste, texture & size, and usually has to be toasted to make it palatable & hold it together. For that reason, the first recipe I tried in 'The How Can It Be Gluten Free Cookbook' was Classic Sandwich Bread. You can see a picture of my finished product in Amazon's Customer Images.

(read below to see how I used psyllium fiber capsules in the Classic Sandwich Bread recipe)
ATK has developed their own flour mixture which is used as a base in their recipes. It contains white rice flour, brown rice flour, potato starch, tapioca starch and nonfat milk powder.
The Classic Sandwich Bread recipe uses this base recipe plus oat flour, psyllium husk, baking powder as well as the usual ingredients used for bread making.
I didn't have psyllium husk, but I did have a large bottle of fiber capsules (purchased at Sams Club) that contained psyllium husk. Not wanting to look all over town for it, I decided to empty the capsules until I had 3 tbsp of psyllium husk that were needed for the recipe. This took me a long time!
ATK's goal for this recipe was to produce a light-textured sandwich loaf that would be large enough to actually slice for sandwiches - we all know how squatty & brick-like gluten free bread is. Although ATK made their loaf manually, I used the 3lb, gluten free, medium crust setting on the Black and Decker B6000C Deluxe Bread Maker, 3-Pound to make mine.
Now for the results...compared to purchased gluten free bread, my loaf was larger & the perfect size for sandwiches with great texture. However, it was heavy & didn't have enough flavor. My hubby who is gluten intolerant rated it as okay; slightly better than store bought.

Great tasting GF bread:
If you are interested in a great tasting gluten free bread...google 'gluten free prize winning bread recipe' or 'Kim's Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Whole Grain Bread'. I made this recipe last week & it was great. My hubby liked it a lot. It wasn't as pretty as the ATK Classic Sandwich Bread recipe, but it had more flavor & he doesn't have to toast it...unless he wants to. As I become more confident with gluten-free bread making, I plan on combining this recipe with ATK's recipe & possibly getting an even better loaf of bread.

I'm anxious to figure out how to use ATK's flour blend to replace gluten free Bisquick in recipes. I find GF Bisquick to be gritty.

In the days to come, I will be trying more recipes from this cookbook & will update my review with the results.
review image
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The most surprising thing in the ATK book is that they've created their own recipe for a flour blend and it uses dried milk. Why is this surprising? Well, many many people who have celiac disease also have issues with dairy (as well as sweeteners for some). Still, they redeem themselves by stating on each recipe how much of King Arthur's GF Flour Blend or Bob's Red Mill GF Flour Blend should be used. This is great because those are two of the most readily available blends, and one doesn't have to create the ATK mix to try out the recipes. (Personally, I like to use Trader Joe's GF Flour Blend and Pamela's...both work similar to King Arthur but are more affordable.)

Other than that, it's a typical ATK book--lots of recipes...usually nothing too exotic so they'll appeal to many, their thoughts on what worked and what didn't. They tell you which recipes can omit xanthem gum, and which you must include it.

My favorite part was their "Gluten Free" pantry where the test/rate a whole bunch of GF products.

For Bread, they like Udi's and Canyon Bakehouse, with so many others being not recommended.

For pasta, they like Andean Dream and Jovial...although I'm a big fan of the new Barilla GF as well as Ancient Harvest Quinoa pasta, and many GF folks swear by Tinkyada.

We're a breakfast loving family, so we tried out the banana bread, and the lemon ricotta pancakes. Both were super yummy and good. We've been cooking a lot with almond and coconut flour, so I appreciated how "real" these tasted compared to those versions. (The almond flour versions aren't bad, just different in texture.) I want to try their bread recipe (with their blend of flour), but haven't invested in all the various flours yet. So far, using my favorite Trader Joe's GF flour has worked great in all recipes. Later today, we're going to try the GF chocolate chip cookie recipe...and are planning on the tamale pie. :) I really wish they had a GF cinnamon roll recipe. I'm still searching for one that works for my family. (OK, the chocolate chip cookies were good, and they do this weird thing of hydrating the dough.)

I also like how they bring up ethnic GF alternatives like arepas and this chickpea flour bread from the South of France. I've found that naturally vegetarian (or GF) recipes are much better usually than the ones where they try to create a vegetarian or GF recipe out of one which never was.

My GF good deed for those newly diagnosed is to recommend the Betty Crocker GF Brownie mix. It is superb. Even for non GF folks. If you want to bake your own, then I highly recommend Googling David Lebovitz GF brownie recipe. It uses no special ingredients/fours and is incredible.
44 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2014
I worked my way through college as a cook and sous chef at some of the nicest restaurants in my area. I loved it, but there were few good work opportunities, and using my degree was the much better option, when I finished my degree. I love to cook as a method to de-stress, and I'm still a pretty d@#n good cook. When I found out I had wheat allergies, and a short time later, my son had celiac, I had a lot of baking, frying, sauce-making, just all kinds of stuff to re-think and learn to do in another way.

America's Test Kitchen is often used by friends (who still work in restaurants) and myself to settle arguments about the right way to make something. As we learned long ago, taste is paramount, and ATK spends an enormous amount of time developing each recipe. When they get it right, they usually kill it. They are based in the northeast, and their taste is often a bit blander than my Southern sensibilities, but their pursuit of clean, fresh flavors and honest cooking methods (only getting complicated with the preparation when it makes a significant difference in the final product) is widely respected by professionals.

I bought this as soon as I saw it on Amazon. My wife wants simple recipes she can make in the bread machine or crock pot, and this is NOT that cookbook. However, if you want gluten free recipes that rival the best 'regular' recipes you've ever had, this is the book you want. If you really want to understand what each ingredient or step in a recipe adds to the final dish, this is also the cookbook you want. We rarely eat any sort of fried food, because it wasn't a priority. When I read through the fried chicken recipe in this cookbook, I had an 'a-ha!' moment, and I made Chicken Fried Steak for the first time in two years. I thought my wife was going to cry, and both of our boys were super-excited. I don't cook out of this book all the time, because they're out to create the best recipes, not the quickest recipes (there are some that can be made in less time, but many of the recipes we like best have longer, more complex preparation).

I HIGHLY recommend this book, if you have sensitivities, allergies, or celiac-related disease and are tired of not-quite-satisfying copies of dishes you loved before discovering your health issues.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2015
This is perfect for what it is: a book for Celiac-types to enjoy the things they are used to, by Cooks Illustrated. I'll break that description down for you, so you really understand. This isn't a book for people who have chosen the gluten free lifestyle just for the health of it. The flours they use are the most basic and have the least nutrition. The blend is like a canvas you can use in many different applications, and therefore is as basic as can be. Also, if you love following CI recipes, then you will have no problem with this book. If you aren't used to the precise, fussy, almost manic nature of Cooks Illustrated recipes, then you have some adjusting to do. We like to say that CI recipes require you to stand on your head while you pour the hand expressed milk of Siberian mountain goats into a crystal bowl at just the right temperature and angle. Let's face it: the recipes can be fussy. For pancakes, you will be folding whipped egg whites into the batter. For yeast bread, you will be creating a foil collar for the pan - you'll need a stapler! For flourless chocolate cake, you must begin preparations a full day before you actually want to serve the cake. What I have found with all CI recipes is that you need a stocked kitchen. If you don't, and you want to keep using their recipes, you soon will have a stocked kitchen. What you lose in the minutiae of it all, you usually gain from a foolproof and flawless product.

I've been using this as my primary cookbook since my husband was diagnosed, for over a year now. I've used it for all of our birthday celebrations, so I've made the carrot cake, the yellow cake, the chocolate cake and the flourless. They all came out just fine, looking like celebration cakes and tasting pretty good on the first day. They really suffer from dryness the longer they exist (except the flourless). So freeze asap. I've really used the heck out of this book, and I'm just starting to branch out and use the flour blend on its own.

The flour blend is gold if you want to try a conventional recipe with a flour substitution. I've had success with every quick bread I've attempted, as long as I apply the half hour wait rule (let your batter rest a half hour to reduce grittiness). I also use the flour blend for every roux I make.

And for those who will purchase and use this book, if you want to add a "better" flour to the blend, I've had 100% success replacing the brown rice flour with sprouted sorghum as they have similar weight. Good luck. It isn't easy being clean.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
Judging from the reviews, it seems there are roughly three types of people buying this book.

1. People who are eating gluten-free for the health benefits.

Seriously? Hie thee to a nutritionist. The myth that gf versions of wheat-based products are some how "healthier" has been debunked time and time again by reputable doctors and professionals, especially when compared to whole grain versions of those same products. Which is not to say there isn't some benefit to cutting wheat from one's diet entirely -- by simply NOT EATING cake or pasta. But if you're really buying a recipe book which mainly contains things like chocolate cake and apple pie, only to be disappointed in the lack of nutritional value... I don't think you get how food works.

2. People with multiple allergies or special diet requirements, which include but are not limited to avoiding gluten.

I feel for you. (As long as this is a real deal and not one of those fad diets because you read an article claiming eggs were the spawn of the devil. Then I have no pity.) I do! Living in a body that mistakes any trace of wheat for poison is bad enough; I can't imagine having even FEWER options. But again: I'm unsure as to why you thought this book in particular would be helpful. This is mainly basic, comfort-eating American foodstuffs -- you'd be much better off adapting to the diet of countries or cultures which naturally gravitate away from the things that hurt you. (Before anyone gets smart: yes, this is exactly what I did myself following my diagnosis, because sub-par gf options were just a painful reminder of previous deliciousness.) Which is not to say there aren't specialty blogs or books with recipes for whatever you crave, or that the people at America's Test Kitchen didn't do their best to talk about substitutions. But sure, a cookbook that only claims to be free of gluten might not be the answer to your multiple dietary needs.

3. Celiacs or the gluten-intolerant, who sometimes just want a slice of bread that doesn't feel like punishment.

We've all been there. Cooked pasta that crunches like cereal, or dissolves into unspeakable gloop. Biscuits that could easily absorb the oil from tanker spills. Bread that would pass Monty Python's patented 'Is It A Witch?' test with flying colors.

It's not that we can't live without these things, and many of us do. But it can sometimes bewilder that, despite living in an age where we shoot people into space and pour our entire lives into our phones, there are precious few gluten-free substitutes that AREN'T actively terrible. I'm not even asking for great or indistinguishable from the "real" stuff -- it really, truly takes effort to find gluten-free versions that share any similarity of taste or texture with the food we once loved. What's the deal? Is wheat MAGIC?

... not quite, but, as the lovely, dedicated, and smart people at America's Test Kitchen explain in this book, wheat does command its own particular science. (Which might even be worse.) They take you through it in various foodstuff forms: what happens to pasta in boiling water without the protection of wheat protein, how non-wheat starches have a hard time absorbing the butter in baked goods, and why I couldn't find a decent yellow cake recipe for love or money. They tick off the usual problems with gluten-free food, even the stuff you make at home: too dry? too greasy? too dense? falls apart at the first touch? is the outside burnt to a crisp while the center remains gooey and uncooked? (I would never, ever have believed that last was possible... until the Great Cupcake Abomination of '12, in which dozens of baked goods lost their lives, and ultimately for naught.) They can tell you why and -- miracle of miracles! -- suggest how to modify your current recipes to fix it.

For me, this is why the book's a treasure. It's not just the recipes, although I've had great results so far and I'm sure will continue to do so as I work through the rest. You could even argue this book has value DESPITE the recipes, as (another thing you can easily glean from reviews) many gf peeps already have firm loyalties to a particular blog, brand, or procedure, and find ATK's to be too basic, even limited. I think it's worth noting that ATK took the most general and accessible approach possible: limiting their experiments with store-bought flour blends to two most well-known brands, and sticking to recipes that require a standard, if slightly adjusted, flour blend in the first place. (My favorite gf brownies use nothing but almond pulp.) It's very likely that, if you enjoy cooking and you've been gluten-free for a considerable length of time, you've already collected a few recipes you find preferable to the alternatives offered in "How Can It Be Gluten Free."

No, the real value of this book is its sheer thoroughness. Step by step -- misstep by misstep -- ATK walks you through their process, including a Why This Recipe Works section for each recipe and several multi-page spreads on general topics. It's an absolute treasure trove of information for those of us who DON'T have state-of-the-art kitchens and a bevvy of professionals at our disposal. It's impossible to catalogue every tidbit I took away, even on my first read-through. A good example might be the difference between their yellow cake and birthday cupcakes: no difference, except don't whip the egg whites in the latter, because it creates a dome effect which makes icing a pain. If this kind of attention to detail is not your thing -- if you're just looking for a book that tells you what to do, so you can do it and be done -- by all means, pass this one by.

However, some of us want more than good recipes. Some of us want to know WHY recipes work or fail, or why it came out beautifully that time we forgot the mixed batter on the counter because Game of Thrones was on, and it's never tasted as good since. It's the old giving a fish versus teaching how to fish -- "How Can It Be Gluten Free" puts the knowledge, and therefore power, into the hands of its reader. It's more than the recipes it offers. It's going to be my personal Rosetta Stone for any gluten-free recipes I encounter from now on, or when experimenting in making my own. I'm even planning on using its insights to adjust a few store-bought mixes, for when I've only got enough energy to turn on the oven.

So if you're in the first or second group, this book probably won't knock your socks off. But if you're my brethren of the third, and you enjoy cooking: this is an exhaustively-documented, beautifully-photographed, and near-encyclopedic tome on the ins, outs, arounds, and abouts of cooking and baking without that magical gluten ingredient.

Who needs it? We've got science on our side.
99 comments| 193 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2014
Foodie meets Gluten Free. I have been a big fan of America's Test Kitchen for several years (pre-Gluten Free) and everything comes out with the exact taste and texture described if you follow their instructions exactly. The recipes are thoroughly tested so no more experiments which is the name of the game in gluten free baking/cooking. Nothing ever works the way it should or tastes quite right. This book is the answer to being to make your pre-GF diet favorites with nearly the same texture. I have already made the Blueberry Muffins, English Muffins, and drunken noodles (a little spicy if serving kids) and they are EXCELLENT! Thank you ATK so much for doing the copious amounts of work that must have went into creating this book. It is very much appreciated
0Comment| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse