Customer Reviews


265 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (99)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow...
Ever hear of "The Aristocrats" joke? They even made a documentary on it. It's about a family auditioning for a stage act, and it's basically an exercise in improvisation on the part of the teller to see just how offensively explicitly obscenely over the top flat out revoltingly gross that audition can be. Many have had a crack at it, some with considerable talent, and the...
Published on February 22, 2012 by Misfit5150

versus
185 of 199 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, Effective, and Without Reason
In 2010 writer/director Tom Six unveiled The Human Centipede (First Sequence), a horror film with a plot so outlandish, so vulgar that it got a lot more attention than a typical low-budget, small release horror film. Six immediately promised a sequel, divulging little detail about it except that the first film would be "My Little Pony compared with part two." The first...
Published on January 6, 2012 by Joshua Miller


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

185 of 199 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, Effective, and Without Reason, January 6, 2012
In 2010 writer/director Tom Six unveiled The Human Centipede (First Sequence), a horror film with a plot so outlandish, so vulgar that it got a lot more attention than a typical low-budget, small release horror film. Six immediately promised a sequel, divulging little detail about it except that the first film would be "My Little Pony compared with part two." The first Human Centipede, promoted as "100% medically accurate," was remarkably tame and tastefully done considering the extreme subject matter, the brunt of its cultural impact coming from the premise rather than the execution. The Human Centipede II (Full Sequence) substantially ups the ante, going so far as to promoted it as "100% medically inaccurate." With the film being banned in the UK until 32 cuts were made, Six proved himself an honest filmmaker who truly delivered on his promise. What's scary is that a third film is already planned and he has said it will make this installment look like a Disney film. Discussing a film like this is not easy, because The Human Centipede is a film you enjoy the same way you enjoy a freeway car accident. There's nothing redeeming, entertaining, or significant about it, but it's hard to take your eyes off of it. These films fall into their own niche of "shock horror," horror films that don't intend to evoke fear but shock and disgust. Despite the decided lack of artistic value, I do enjoy seeing filmmakers push the limits of a genre and make something as extreme as possible. While the fact that someone not only had this idea but actually immortalized it on film may destroy any lingering faith you have in the human race, it's an admirable effort that, despite being soulless and demoralizing, accomplishes its intended goal.

Opening with the final scene of the first film, the camera pans back to reveal it being watched on a laptop in a parking garage tollbooth. The viewer is Martin (Laurence R. Harvey), a stout, bug-eyed, asthmatic British man who watches the first film obsessively at every opportunity, has a scrapbook dedicated to it, and even has a pet centipede. His extraordinarily creepy childlike appearance and demeanor coupled with this obsession make it quite clear that Martin is mentally ill. It's revealed that Martin, who never speaks a word in the film, was sexually abused by his father as a child and lives with a mother (Vivien Bridson) who blames him for getting her beloved husband sent to prison. Frequently alone in the parking garage at night, Martin uses this solitude to start attacking and kidnapping people. After gaining access to a warehouse, he begins storing those he has kidnapped with the intention of recreating the human centipede in the film he so loves...But, there's a twist. Martin wants to create a human centipede with 12 people.

This film goes into some of the dark, unheard of places and Six's decision to pull the story into the realm of reality adds an extra level of horror to the happenings. Unfolding in stark black and white (although originally shot in color), this film is cut from a different cloth than the first. The tone and atmosphere, as well as the gratuity and fearlessness, recall the films of German director Jörg Buttgereit, particularly Nekromantik and Schramm, while the black and white imagery and haunting use of silence is reminiscent of David Lynch's Eraserhead. It's easy to dismiss artistic credibility when it's utilized within the torture porn genre, as even torture porn that attempts to be artistic is still just torture porn. While some may (and have) called it artless, Six is a capable director. There are scenes that don't involve violence or gore that are both effective and eerie, but if Six's ability is ignored it's his fault for making such a no-holds barred film. Nothing is off-limits in The Human Centipede II, with even pregnant women and newborns falling victim to the horrific violence. Six is a director gleefully free of pretense and for all of the artistic intentions it appears to have, it never takes itself too seriously. Despite how staggeringly violent it becomes, it's pretty tongue-in-cheek. When Martin actually lures Ashlynn Yennie, the actress who played 1/3 of the centipede in First Sequence, to his warehouse under the guise that she's auditioning for a Quentin Tarantino movie, it's clear that that this film, as well as being horrifically violent, is self-aware. It's easy to forget that the idea of sewing people mouth-to-anus is a rather ludicrous premise and that Six has made it the horrifying premise of two films rather and kept it from being unintentionally funny is an accomplishment in and of itself.

The final 30 minutes will make you realize how conservative the first film was, with Six taking everything as far as his imagination will allow. All of the disgusting elements that were only alluded to are allowed to come to light. He holds nothing back, allowing his potent mix of the horrifying and lack of seriousness to collide when he finally allows a single color, the color brown, to enter the palette. You must recall that the procedure in the first film was performed by a surgeon, with the tools and ability to perform this procedure. Martin is no surgeon and when the time finally comes for him to make his own centipede he uses whatever tools are on hand (hammer, knife, staple gun, etc.). Needless to say, the procedure is much more crude and stomach-churning. Many scenes made me squirm and there are images that will stay with you for a long time after the film has ended; this is not a film for the faint of heart.

I regrettably confirm that this is not the most disgusting, depraved film I've ever seen, but for the average moviegoer it probably will be. How can you critique a film of this sort? It's immune to criticism as there's no way to simply point out the good and the bad. Even the most ardent fan can't ignore that this is a piece of filmmaking with no substance behind it. The Human Centipede II does not function under the façade of a metaphorical social statement in the way last year's A Serbian Film did nor does it even try to make up a reason for its existence. If you look beneath the depravity of the film you'll find only more depravity. In that sense, this is a soulless, obscene, and trashy film. Yes, the acting is solid and say what you will about the film itself, Harvey gives a chilling, effective performance. It's well-made except for some jumpy editing, sound effects that seem out of sync with what is shown onscreen (pay particularly close attention whenever Martin uses his gun on someone), and an ending that is disturbingly ambiguous but also feels like a cop out. There may not be a reason for its existence, but Six has made the film with the intention of shaking his audience. If you make a film with the sole intention of making your audience nauseous and you succeed, how can the work be dismissed solely because it offends your moral and cinematic sensibilities? Six has not made a "good film" here, but he has made a well-made one that succeeds in exactly the area it intends. Those who will be most offended by it will be those who haven't seen it and those who are forced to watch it. If you consciously embark on the journey, you know where it's going to take you.

It's rare that a film makes you feel unclean just watching it. The effects this film could have on your psychological well-being and how effectively it offends all sense of moral decency is something that can't be ignored. This film is a success when looked at in that light. This is not a movie you like or dislike; it's a movie that simply exists and it's your decision to choose how you cope with its existence, be it by watching it or ignoring it. At its most primordial level, it's effective in its desire to offend. It's certainly unforgettable. The need to assign this film a rating has pushed me into a corner, confused on how to choose something which will be looked at as indicative over whether it's a good film or a bad film. With a sigh, I give The Human Centipede II (Full Sequence) a 3/5 and throw up my hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Human Centipede II" Sickens With Artistic Vomit, January 5, 2012
This review is from: The Human Centipede 2: Full Sequence (DVD)
"The Human Centipede II" opens with the final moments of "The Human Centipede (First Sequence)", including the closing credits. The camera pulls back, to reveal that this is playing on a laptop computer, and a man in a toll booth in a parking garage is watching the film. Martin Lomax (Laurence R. Harvey) is an asthmatic, overweight, mentally ill, middle-aged, short British man. He lives in a small flat with his emotionally abusive mother (Vivien Bridson) while working as a security guard in an underground parking garage. His neighbours play Hard Dance music at high levels all night and day, and Martin often spies on the rich individuals who use the parking garage. Dr. Sebring (Bill Hutchens) suspects that Martin was sexually abused repeatedly by his father, now in prison (a suspicion confirmed when Martin has a flashback to this abuse, in which the audience hears the father [voiced by Tom Six] raping his son).

Martin is obsessed with "The Human Centipede (First Sequence)", watching it repeatedly at home and in his toll booth. At one point, he is depicted masturbating (graphically and on-screen) to the film with sandpaper wrapped around his penis. He keeps a centipede as a pet, and maintains a scrapbook on the film. When his mother destroys the scrapbook, Martin crushes her skull and then props her dead body up at the kitchen table. Martin wordlessly decides to recreate the fictional experiment he saw portrayed in The Human Centipede (First Sequence). Medically untrained, he assembles a potpourri of kitchen gadgets, woodworking tools, and assorted household items, puts them in a suitcase, and secures a dingy, dirty, dark abandoned warehouse to recreate the film's medical experiment. But Martin intends to create not just a three-person centipede, but the "full sequence" of 12 connected people.

How do you review a film like "Human Centipede II"? It is one of the most vile, reprehensible, and ugly horror movies that I have ever seen? You want broken teeth, crushed babies, and explosive diarrhea? It's all here. This is a film that completely succeeds in what it wants to do - gross out its small but intensive audience - and will do anything in its power to achieve it. Stylish and incredibly well made with some nice artistic touches here and there - I especially liked the "dinner table" scene. Nonetheless, none of this really adds up to very much which is a shame considering that Syx is a talented director with a lot more to offer. Overall, I can't really recommend this film but I can't recommend that you don't see it either. Does that make any sense? This film exists in its own little world and there is something kind of special about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow..., February 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Human Centipede 2: Full Sequence (DVD)
Ever hear of "The Aristocrats" joke? They even made a documentary on it. It's about a family auditioning for a stage act, and it's basically an exercise in improvisation on the part of the teller to see just how offensively explicitly obscenely over the top flat out revoltingly gross that audition can be. Many have had a crack at it, some with considerable talent, and the results have been interesting for those who can appreciate that type of thing.

The sub-genre of torture porn in horror films seems to be following a trend comparable to "The Arostocrats", and if it continues, it's probably going to burn itself out in unintentional self-parody. Some would argue that this point has already been reached, and they may be right, although it's hard to say. What people find disturbing is highly subjective. If you had asked me two months ago which film I would personally classify as "most disturbing", it would have likely been "A Serbian Film". The title holder prior to that would have been "August Underground Mordum", which held that dubious honor for seven years. Now "Human Centipede 2" comes along and slams "A Serbian Film" into the sewer a mere two months later. Horror certainly has gotten edgier these days. In any case, Tom Six is a director with some talent, and I think this one's going to be talked about for awhile. It certainly helps that the movie's villain is without a doubt the CREEPIEST character I've ever seen.

Anyway, if extreme horror is your thing, go for it. To date, I think it's the best of the lot. Or worst, considering how you look at it. 99.9% would say it's fit only for burning, and it would be difficult to argue the point. Why this type of thing appeals to me, I really can't say. But it does, and this one freaked me right the &!@# out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick stuff!, October 23, 2013
By 
Ken Piet (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Human Centipede 2: Full Sequence (DVD)
After seeing the first one as the sickest imagination of horror, out comes this one to top it! The creator of these movies must be mentally deranged! I can't wait for #3! LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shoulda been in color, November 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Human Centipede 2: Full Sequence (DVD)
Loved the film. It was disgusting and disturbing and had some great gore. My only complaint is that I wish they had put the film in color. I want to see the disgusting stuff in all it's glory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first, October 12, 2012
Sick, depraved, creepy, perverse, disgusting......

But enough about me. Onto the movie.

Awesome! God I hope there aren't people that are actually as insane as the main character. Sadly there probably could be. A thoroughly entertaining movie that would be a psychologist's dream. Great casting for the main character as he just oozed creepiness as a warped, sweaty pervert. Not really much to the story, it is pretty much a get-what-you-pay-for script. There are some holes and obviously some unbelieveablity (hey, it could be a word), but that wasn't, nor should it have been, the focal point. The purpose of this movie is to shock, disgust and entertain the audience, which I most certainly think it does! The longer the movie progresses the more you start thinking,"he won't do that" or "that's not going to happen". And the beauty is that is DOES happen.

I'm currently writing this review midway through the month of October and Halloween certainly strikes a chord when I think of this movie. So get some equally disturbed friends and gather round the TV for some laughs, groans and other stomach churning fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SICK-TASTIC!!!!!!, February 7, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Human Centipede 2: Full Sequence (DVD)
It's perverted and sick and it's very likely to offend a lot of people. The story is paper thin. The main character is disgusting and without any redeeming values, he's a creep that you cannot relate to. THE HUMAN CENTIPEDE 2 is not scary by any means, it is just repulsive and sick. It doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't.

If you are into movies like this, HUMAN CENTIPEDE 2 will not disappoint. Cruel and heartless we follow Martin, who is obsessed with the movie HUMAN CENTIPEDE (LOL) and wants to create one himself - only LARGER, so he knocks his victims unconscious with a tire iron and keeps them in a warehouse.

This movie contains similar disgusting scenes as in part 1 (people being stapled together mouth to anus, and when they got to go, well, they gotta go), but this time we also get a scene of self mutilation of genitals, a barbed wire rape scene. THE HUMAN CENTIPEDE 2 is entirely in black and white but it doesn't make it any less extreme (it was banned outright in Australia and New Zealand and heavily cut in Japan and England after originally being banned there as well. Originally it was supposed to be censored in the US as well, but thankfully the distributor IFC had a change of heart - the unrated version is totally uncut).
THE HUMAN CENTIPEDE 2 is a lot more disturbing than part 1, so beware.

I'm giving it 5 stars because it delivers what it promises: sick, shocking and disgusting "entertainment" - those who are into these kind of movies will appreciate it, those of you who aren't will hate it. It is nowhere near as disturbing as A SERBIAN FILM, though. Enjoy at your own risk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hard to handle, May 10, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Human Centipede 2: Full Sequence (DVD)
I am sort of a horror movie ultra fan starting way way back when I was just a kid,during the glorious 80's when slasher films ruled the genre. I have seen it all from the Japanese style frightfests to low budget horror to zombie flicks to the ultra violent torture themes that are so prevalent today. With that being said, I am not that easily shocked, probably the last time I was moved or nervous by a horror film was the first time I watched the Exorcist,(I'm dating myself),and in the last few years perhaps Cannibal Holocaust. This film is vile,disturbing,extremely disgusting,and when it is finished,if you make it all the way to the end,you will feel as if you immediately require a shower. If I am rating this movie solely on production value,easily 5 stars. The black and white method of shooting the film was pure genius,with director Six creating a dark and gritty patina that transferred effectively to the viewer. Character creation,another win. Martin was extremely convincing to the point that you actually wondered if they cast an actual mentally disturbed and violent recluse for the part. Then theres the actual story...more than halfway throught the film the whole thing kind of falls apart,in the first film of course you had a brilliant but demented surgeon,now we are treated to a twisted human mole with household tools,duct tape and a staple gun. The subject matter is what it is,watching this movie after having viewed the first installment you obviously have to expect it to be disturbing,but wow,it crosses lines that no other film in my memory has before,and I suppose the fact that during certain parts I cringed and almost turned completely away means the film delivered its desired effect. I cannot remember the last time I felt absolute revulsion while watching any film,let alone extreme horror,but this piece was a dandy. I think the point where I almost jumped off the Human Centipede train was as a previous reviewer pointed out that towards the climax a single color was allowed onto the pallette...brown. If you have seen the first movie,you will know what I'm getting at. All in all,and this is comoing from a severe horror movie buff,this one kind of left me wondering just how far is too far...watch if you dare my friends. And just for the record,the pregnant victim and what ultimately happens to the imminent newborn is just unneccesary. It didn't add or detract from the story,it just in my humble opinion was put in to shck. It delivered. In spades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gratuitous horror, June 14, 2014
I don't normally watch horror films, but because of this one's notoriety, I felt that I couldn't pass it up. Aside from the shock value of coprophagia, and the pointless violence the characters inflict on each other, I'm convinced that virtually the entire sequence is merely a fantasy taking place in the protagonist's mind. My reasons are:

We learn at the beginning that the first "Human Centipede" film is only a film in the context of the second one. This foreshadows the conclusion that the second one is not real, either.

Martin seems to operate in a world with no police, and few other people besides his oppressors and the people he torments. No one bothers to check up on the growning number of missing people, or what surely must have been noisy gunshots in an urban area.

No one notices the baby left in the car, in the middle of a driving lane in the parking structure, and it appears to suffer no ill effects after what must be several days with no food or water. The victims in the warehouse, despite being shot, clubbed about the head with a tire iron, and also left alone for days without food or water, are all still alive when Martin starts to connect them. At the same time, none of them escape or even change position, despite only being bound and gagged by duct tape. After he cuts the victims' knees and connects everyone together, despite being in what must be agonizing pain, they all cooperatively rise up on all fours and progress around the room for Martin's amusement, without any apparent effort on his part to make them do this. Implausibly, Martin happens to have a bottle of injectable laxative conveniently available.

Ashlynn Yennie flies to London by herself, under the impression that she is auditioning for the new Quentin Tarantino movie. How Martin arranged this is a mystery - did he forge Tarantino's studio letterhead? Is he more articulate than he appears? Surely very extensive and complex arrangements are made for this sort of thing.

At the end, Martin is cleaned up and back at work, watching his favorite movie again, with no apparent consequences from leaving the baby in the car and the body of his therapist in the garage only a few feet away, not to mention the many missing people in the warehouse, including the landlord. The therapist, by the way, shows up at a very convenient time, and doesn't display the expected reaction when Martin shoots the other man right in front of him.

The point may be that in our world, the events in this film are "just a movie." It's an irrelevant point, because we are still watching the same images, whether they are in the "real world" of the film, or the protagonist's imagination. One can only imagine the next film in the series, which is supposed to make the first two look like Ozzie and Harriet in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You won't want to watch it but you can't look away., December 16, 2013
By 
Artful weirdness. It's disgusting, it's violent, it's sad. You don't want to watch it but you can't look away. If you like this sort of stuff, watch it, but be warned, it's pretty awful in that - I'm vomiting a lot and what ever I did to get here, I wish I could undo - sort of way. When I started it I wish I never did but it's not a BAD film any more than the first was. The villain in the first one was actually a cool actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Human Centipede 2: Full Sequence
The Human Centipede 2: Full Sequence by Tom Six (DVD - 2012)
$24.98 $10.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.