Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Foot Pedal or Hand Crank - No Electricity
Good overview of the history of foot pedal & hand crank devices, & what is being used again today in our times. For example, foot pedal sewing machines, lathes for cutting, emergency radios, etc. Also how to generate some of your electricity needs by foot pedal power. Borrowed this from the library & then decided to buy my own copy. Plenty of references in it for...
Published on March 25, 2009 by Book Wookie

versus
48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slick infomercial ?
The book's illustration are very poorly drawn, distorted, distracting, confusing and not to helpful. The photos are also too few and do not show enough detail. The book seems like a slick marketing tool since it keeps referring you to visit certain website for more info, and some of those website charge you a fee for the info. Then there are whole chapters devoted to off...
Published on June 11, 2012 by anonymous


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slick infomercial ?, June 11, 2012
This review is from: The Human-Powered Home: Choosing Muscles Over Motors (Paperback)
The book's illustration are very poorly drawn, distorted, distracting, confusing and not to helpful. The photos are also too few and do not show enough detail. The book seems like a slick marketing tool since it keeps referring you to visit certain website for more info, and some of those website charge you a fee for the info. Then there are whole chapters devoted to off the shelf expensive human powered tools for example $1,899 for a bike powered blender . In a few years those website may not be around providing the info - then what ? When discussing lawn care the book disregards the very practical and affordable scythe and instead devotes 3 pages to expensive reel mowers that are finicky about the height of the grass/weeds, the thickness of the grass/weeds and the lay of the land.
For example - was hoping to find plans for a pedal powered washing machine - what I found was how to take a modern style washer and convert it to bike power. But suppose you want to make a washer from scratch using drums and such - no info on that. What about the spin cycle - no luck here either. What about a human powered winnower - no plans.
I have been "green" for decades and I what is sickening is watching capitalism highjack the movement. It almost seems that if you want to be green you have to move to a "third world" country to be able to access affordable appropriate technology because in the USA it will cost you an arm and leg to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Foot Pedal or Hand Crank - No Electricity, March 25, 2009
This review is from: The Human-Powered Home: Choosing Muscles Over Motors (Paperback)
Good overview of the history of foot pedal & hand crank devices, & what is being used again today in our times. For example, foot pedal sewing machines, lathes for cutting, emergency radios, etc. Also how to generate some of your electricity needs by foot pedal power. Borrowed this from the library & then decided to buy my own copy. Plenty of references in it for further reading also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Keep ... However ..., October 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Human-Powered Home: Choosing Muscles Over Motors (Paperback)
I will definitely keep this book in my collection. I would have liked more diagrams of parts for construction of more things. The construction descriptions were great and useful. The Vitagoat is prototype #2 from the Rodale Press "Pedal Power" book from 1977. (still available from Amazon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential book..., June 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Human-Powered Home: Choosing Muscles Over Motors (Paperback)
..for anyone who wants to understand more about pedal powered and other human powered devices. I was looking for this book thirty years ago, but it hadn't been written yet!

This book is excellently written. It is both readable and complete. This year, I taught a group of middle schoolers how to adapt a bicycle to generate electricity. This book helped me to prepare my course work, and I hope to use it again to teach kids about intermediate technologies and their use in the carbon-free, nuclear-free future.

I plan to build more pedal powered devices, and this book will be my first and most essential reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aren't there more than bikes?, September 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Human-Powered Home: Choosing Muscles Over Motors (Paperback)
I loved that the book told me all about different human powered events all over the world, and the description of how electricity is made was basic enough for me to understand. However, all of the devices suggested in the book involve bicycles. Maybe it's true that it takes a pedal to make something run or make electricity, but I was thinking of other ways to power things.

The book is very well written and friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great projects!, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Human-Powered Home: Choosing Muscles Over Motors (Paperback)
This book is fun and empowering! Full of interesting history, with good clear directions and diagrams for all the projects. Living in a rural area with spotty electricity, these contraptions have saved me so much time and grief!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars eye-opening, April 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Human-Powered Home: Choosing Muscles Over Motors (Paperback)
good detailed instructions to help you decrease dependence on the grid. I am just not there yet and have little space for a bike to power some of my things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tech Talk, February 7, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really enjoyed this book because the author included plenty of technical explanations for her subjects. It helps to know how and why her projects are useful. I also like her historical references for different human powered machines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book fror Survival, December 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Human-Powered Home: Choosing Muscles Over Motors (Paperback)
Couldn't get this book from our library system, so had to have it. It's good ... it shows ways on not relying on electricity, etc. It's a good reference book ... because I can't remember all the different products they use to maintain an easier life style ... just in case there may be interruptions to our expensive utilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something enthusiastically recommended to those who want to trim the fat along with the power bill, April 10, 2009
This review is from: The Human-Powered Home: Choosing Muscles Over Motors (Paperback)
With the recent rise in concerns over energy, some are looking to alternative sources for energy - such as humanity. "The Human-Powered Home: Choosing Muscles Over Motors" is a guide to the world of pedal powered and other manual devices that could save its users hundreds every year as well as get them valuable exercise that's sadly lost to most of today's society. Exploring human-powered machines that one never would have expected to be possible, Dean brings many new and useful ideas in "The Human-Powered Home", something enthusiastically recommended to those who want to trim the fat along with the power bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Human-Powered Home: Choosing Muscles Over Motors
The Human-Powered Home: Choosing Muscles Over Motors by Tamara Dean (Paperback - November 1, 2008)
$29.95 $22.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.