Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frighteningly sad
M. (aka David Martin, for this trip at least) is being sent on a hunt of a nearly extinct, borderline mythical, creature, the thylacine (a Tasmanian tiger). He is, above all things, a hunter. M is solitary, efficient, and ruthless; lacking the social skills to interact with his kind with ease. This is the man of whose mind we inhabit in reading this book.

As...
Published 24 months ago by Tien

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grim.
Though some critics have said that this book resonates long after they have finished it, it resonates because its message is so bleak, even hopeless. And one suspects that Leigh, an Australian author, is intentionally playing with the reader here by turning "quest fiction" on its head, as she criticizes those who make a conscious decision to sacrifice the essence of...
Published on September 12, 2005 by Mary Whipple


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grim., September 12, 2005
This review is from: The Hunter (Paperback)
Though some critics have said that this book resonates long after they have finished it, it resonates because its message is so bleak, even hopeless. And one suspects that Leigh, an Australian author, is intentionally playing with the reader here by turning "quest fiction" on its head, as she criticizes those who make a conscious decision to sacrifice the essence of humanity and compassion while despoiling Nature for profit.

"Martin David," which may or may not be a real name, is in search of the thylacine, a Tasmanian tiger which may be extinct. In no sense a "hero," Martin is being highly paid by a corporation to find the last tiger and to extract its DNA, to be used to clone it. He is so obsessed with fulfilling his mission, however, that he becomes virtually a hunting machine, referred to not by his name at all, but simply as "M." During days that he is not hunting, he stays with the Armstrong family, dysfunctional since the disappearance of the father, Jarrah Armstrong, and we see some niggling traces of humanity as M begins to respond to the two wonderful, resilient Armstrong children, desperately in need of his help.

In other "quest fiction," such as Faulkner's The Bear, the reader can easily distinguish between hunter and prey and gain some enlightenment about the role of man in the universe as the hunter's respect for his prey grows during the duration of the hunt. Here, however, the edges are blurred. Readers can never sure whether M or the thylacine is really the hunter. As our knowledge grows, so does our understanding of which is the more ruthless, and which, if either, triumphs during the hunt. Though the prose is brutally compelling and the sense of drama very high, the message here actually feels like a message, and it is very grim. Most readers will conclude the novel wishing it were the M's of the world who were becoming extinct--and that, perhaps, is the author's point. Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frighteningly sad, November 29, 2012
This review is from: The Hunter (Paperback)
M. (aka David Martin, for this trip at least) is being sent on a hunt of a nearly extinct, borderline mythical, creature, the thylacine (a Tasmanian tiger). He is, above all things, a hunter. M is solitary, efficient, and ruthless; lacking the social skills to interact with his kind with ease. This is the man of whose mind we inhabit in reading this book.

As the book is being told from the perspective of M, in fact, we are privy to his thoughts whether it runs to his awkwardness is social situation, his delight in setting up good traps, his pain, his secret wish...

"She is happy to see him. At of the sound of his car she has come out of the house to wait on the lawn, with one hand deep in her pocket and the other waving - feebly, it seems - in greeting. She's smiling that big smile. He manages to twinkle the fingers of one hand in response, thinking: What's this? A Welcoming committee?"

This was an interesting take to the story which opened the flaws of the character directly with the reader however because of this, we are missing other things that are outside of his mind and I felt this keenly. As with many other readers, M. is not a character you'd come to love so whilst I can definitely appreciate this bend of creativity, I can't fully enjoy it. It became just so very sad...

On the other hand, the setting of the book was not picturesque. Rather, it was wild unforgiving relentless yet daunting in its beauty (or maybe, it's the beauty of the words that I've been called to).

"This is no god's country, this is god-forsaken: it is perfect and precise. Perfect thousand-year-old trees, their lowest feathered branches almost tip-tipping; an open, soft and fragrant floor; the hard petals of each pine cone divisible by the golden mean. It is cold in here and dark, too, freckled with the faintest light."

A short novel with utterly flawed protagonists and powerful language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read!, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hunter (Paperback)
I bought the book after watching the movie (there were a number of plot discrepancies which was not surprising). While well written, I found the book a bit obscure in places. Nevertheless, good reading and well worth the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book., October 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hunter (Paperback)
One of the best books I have read. The movie was also good, the music soundtrack excellent :-) I will also buy from the seller again. Very fast service and the book was brand new as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Hunter, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hunter (Paperback)
Hunter - Saw the movie first and knew the book would be great. Haven't read it yet but the book arrived in great sondition. thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Hunter
The Hunter by Julia Leigh (Paperback - May 21, 2001)
Used & New from: $1.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.