Customer Reviews


258 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


367 of 377 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RSV SCE is Excellent!
I am an ardent lover of the RSV bible. It has been my bible of choice for nearly 30 years. With the second Catholic edition, archaic language has been removed, and thus the RSV SCE is an excellent alternative for Catholics to the NAB and NRSV. I give the RSV SCE 5 stars.

I very much like that the designation, "Only Son," has been replaced by "Only Begotten Son"...
Published on October 18, 2006 by Lance E. Goldsberry

versus
191 of 211 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not perfect!
I was very excited when the RSV-CE second edition was published a few years back. It seemed like it would be the perfect Bible for Catholics, however I must say that I found myself not completely satisfied.

The Good Points:
1) The translation has been updated and altered slightly, in particular the removal of the "thees" and "thous". They also made good...
Published on March 31, 2008 by Timothy Mccormick


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

367 of 377 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RSV SCE is Excellent!, October 18, 2006
By 
Lance E. Goldsberry (Minneapolis, Minnesota United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am an ardent lover of the RSV bible. It has been my bible of choice for nearly 30 years. With the second Catholic edition, archaic language has been removed, and thus the RSV SCE is an excellent alternative for Catholics to the NAB and NRSV. I give the RSV SCE 5 stars.

I very much like that the designation, "Only Son," has been replaced by "Only Begotten Son" in John's gospel. This conforms more closely to our Nicene Heritage. I don't like the translation, "Only Son," as most modern versions have, even though that translation has merit.

The RSV SCE offers some welcome concessions to the Catholic understanding of the text. I mention two: 1) The Angel's greeting to Mary in Luke 1:28 is rendered as "hail, full of grace,the Lord is with you" rather than "Hail, O favored one, the Lord is with you!" as in the original RSV. 2) Isaiah 7:14 uses the word "Virgin" rather than "young women" as in the original RSV. This change is legitimate, even though the Hebrew simply has "young woman." The Bible of the ancient Christian community was the Greek Septuagint, which was considered inspired in its own right. The Septuagint uses the word "virgin (parthenos)" in Isaiah 7:14.

One might hope that eventually, the RSV SCE will replace the New American Bible in all Enlish language Catholic liturgies, both here and abroad. Some Churches are already taking advantage of the RSV SCE. The new RSV SCE Lectionary has been approved for use in the Roman Rite by the Antilles Bishops Conference. The new Ukrainian Catholic Divine Liturgy Service provides New Testament quotes from the Revised Standard Version, Second Catholic Edition. The RSV SCE is literal, literary, and reliable.

For me, as a Byzantine Catholic, the best bibles to use are:

-The RSV SCE
-The Douay Rheims version
-The Confraternity New Testament
-The Orthodox New Testament (by Holy Apostles Convent)
-The New Testament by Ronald Knox
-The Third Millennium Bible (a recent update of the KJV, which only updates the most obscure language, and includes the Deutero-Canon/Apocrypha, and is based on the Byzantine Text)
-The Orthodox Study Bible (which uses the NKJV; wish they would have used the original KJV or the RSV) by Conciliar Press

All of these versions with the exception of the Confraternity Bible should be available on line. The Confraternity Version is available from Scepter Press.

The fact that the original RSV has spawned three major revisions - the NRSV, the RSV SCE, and the ESV- is a testimony to this great bible. Originally scorned by some conservative Christians (very unjustly, in my mind), it has aged well, and ironically has come into favor with many traditional Catholics and conservative Protestants. And now this new edition of the RSV SCE will help ensure the legacy of the RSV.

I recommend the RSV SCE heartily to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


181 of 184 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very much improved, March 27, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been using the old edition of the Ignatius RSV for two years. I love the text, but the format was horrible. When I heard this one was coming out, I was hoping for a good improvement over the last one. And it didn't disappoint me!

--Better-quality paper

--The asterisk notes are on the bottom of the page, not at the end of the Old/New Testament

--The margins are wider and perfect

--The font is more appealing

--Section headings

--Nicer cover design and better cover material

--Ribbon to mark page

--Each book starts on a new page

--Color maps at end of Bible

They also changed "thou" to "you," but the rest of the text is exactly the same as the beautiful RSV first Catholic edition. Definitely worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


191 of 211 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not perfect!, March 31, 2008
This review is from: Catholic Bible-RSV (Paperback)
I was very excited when the RSV-CE second edition was published a few years back. It seemed like it would be the perfect Bible for Catholics, however I must say that I found myself not completely satisfied.

The Good Points:
1) The translation has been updated and altered slightly, in particular the removal of the "thees" and "thous". They also made good alterations to such passages in Matthew 16 and Isaiah 7.

2) The cover is beautiful.

3) The inclusion of maps at the back is much needed.

4) They added chapter headings.

The Bad Points:
1) Depending on the lighting of the room, I find the paper and page lay-out to be difficult to read. (BTW, I am not old nor do I wear glasses)

2) There is no information provided to tell the reader which changes were made to the text.

3) I am surprised that there are not any editional study helps, like a concise concordance or Mass Readings or Dei Verbum.

Ultimately, is this edition better than the older editions of the RSV-CE? Yes! But it is certainly not ideal in my mind, and could have used some additional study helps and a list of the Mass readings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Edition Marred by Unevenness, June 5, 2006
By 
The Revised Standard Version - Second Catholic Edition (RSV-2CE) is an updated version of the 1966 RSV-Catholic edition. Important changes from the original Catholic edition have been highlighted by some of the reviewers, but they generally fall into either of 2 principles: (i) removing archaisms, such as "morrow", "thees" and "thous", from the much of the text (except the Pater noster), or (ii) adjustments in favour of the Nova Vulgata as requested by Liturgiam authenticam.

The revision had great promise, but unfortunately the second principle was not followed consistently in my opinion. While they changed "cup" to "chalice" in the Last Supper narrative found in the three synoptic Gospels and in St. Paul's 1st Letter to the Corinthians (11:23-26), it retained "cup" in the other places where the word refers to the cup/chalice of the Eucharist (10:16 and 11:27-28), leaving the reader puzzled as to the difference in terms in these cases. Similarly, while it is laudable that the RSV-2CE made some changes to Sirach to follow the Nova Vulgata, such as the inclusion of 1:5, 1:7 in the main biblical text rather than in the footnotes, it left out many (if not most) of the other unique verses found in the Nova Vulgata that were not translated in the original RSV-CE. It appears that the RSV-2CE is faithful to the second principle only for texts that are used somewhere in the Lectionary; perhaps the editors of the work simply took changes made by Rome to their edition of the RSV Lectionary and pasted them wholesale into the biblical text. The excellence of the text is therefore uneven: better than the RSV-CE no doubt, but likely to leave readers who want a Bible translation that presents the fullness of the Latin biblical tradition unsatisfied and disappointed.

A more promising development may lie in the production of a new English Lectionary by an international committee chaired by Bishop Mark Coleridge (Australia) and Fr Henry Wansbrough (editor of New Jerusalem Bible) by revising the New Revised Standard Version so that it is faithful to Liturgiam authenticam. They intend to publish a complete edition of the Bible so corrected in the near future, and this might provide a version of the Bible that is accurate and reflective of the Latin biblical tradition.

This leatherette edition has crisp and clear printing that makes the Bible a pleasure to read and meditate, though the paper is a tad too glossy. The iconic cover of the Bible is an excellent welcome from the boring and uninspiring alternatives commonly used for Bibles, Catholic or Protestant. Overall I would still recommend this Bible for serious readers while awaiting a better version to come along. But if you have some version of the original RSV-CE, you won't gain much by this new edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Bible, November 10, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ignatius Bible: Revised Standard Version - Second Catholic Edition (Hardcover)
The hard cover is strong and durable. The cover with the icons is a beautiful artwork. The pages are thicker than the typical wafer-thin Bible pages, and this is excellent for highlighting, underlining, and writing in the margins. The notes are all on the same page as the words they apply to, so there is no flipping back and forth. There are no commentaries by Bible scholars, which is fine because I'm buying it for the Bible, not for the commentaries. This Bible is slightly bigger than a lot of Bibles, which is OK. I recommend this Bible. I like that Psalm 23 has me going through the "Valley of the Shadow of Death" instead of a "dark valley", and has me living in the House of the Lord "forever" instead of "for years to come" or "all the days of my life" (I expect to live there after I die, too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RSV2CE is a step forward, February 14, 2006
By 
vladimir998 "vladimir998" (Home town of a fine Lutheran synod) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Catholic Bible-RSV (Paperback)
An "Early" Online Review of the RSV Second Catholic Edition

These are the most preliminary of comments. I have yet to read the text to see what changes have been made if any. I assume that the changes to the text are in accordance with those made in the study edition of the RSVCE which is being published in fascicles by Ignatius Press.

Good Points and Bad Points:

1) The Bible is attractive. Although I only have the paperback I can imagine, based on the paperback's look and the photo at aquinasandmore.com, that the bonded leather version for $39.99 is quite beautiful. Each side of the burgundy colored cover has a Byzantine icon of Christ (in gold) holding the scriptures, and the symbols of the four evangelists in the corners. This is attractive on the paperback. I am sure it is a beautiful effect on the bonded leather version.

2) The pages are of a fine, cream colored paper. The printing is crisp and clear. The page size is a bit larger than the old Ignatius Bible. This means that note taking will be a bit easier. We all heard that the Bible was set to new type to make reading the text easier. I am not sure that that goal has been accomplished. The combination of cream colored paper, text lines that are actually now longer than before, and longer pages (i.e. pages with even more text) doesn't seem to make the text much easier to read than the old Ignatius Bible. So far the easiest to read RSVCE I've come across is Paul Thigpen's MY DAILY CATHOLIC BIBLE (which contains the entire RSVCE divided into 20 to 30 minute reading sections).

3) There have been several changes that will take some getting used to. The endnotes are now footnotes! That's a real plus. They're right there on the page for you. No paging to the end just to find a half line endnote. The downside is that the notes seem to be largely the same useless ones that were always in the RSVCE. We will have to wait - at this rate until we are all old and gray - for Ignatius to finish the study Bible version already in production for more than half a decade. Another change: Instead of "Daniel 3" as the heading at the top of the page you might find "Daniel 3, 4" because parts of those two chapters appear on that page. It's a bit odd to look at, but shouldn't be a problem for anyone.

4) The maps are excellent and colorful. Not only are there the usual Old Testament and New Testament maps, but there is a modern map detailing Israel and the Occupied Territories.

5) The Introduction is STILL drawn from the 1966 edition. Why? Why not explain why this new edition was published? You would think that a new edition would warrant a new introduction wouldn't you?

6) It is clearly stated on the cover page that the new RSV2CE was revised according to Liturgiam Authenticam (2002).

7) There is no appendix to detail what textual changes have been made! No hint at all. If you want to know about the textual changes in previous RSVs see the appendix to Morrison's AN ANALYTICAL CONCORDANCE TO THE REVISED STANDARD VERSION OF THE NEW TESTAMENT (1979). I hope that Ignatius places such an appendix in the study bible -- whenever that is FINALLY done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Edition of the RSV, April 16, 2006
This is the most beautiful Bible that I own!
This version is not the "New" Revised Standard Version, but neither is it the "Old" Revised Standard Version, but rather a new version of the RSV that is in conformity with Liturgiam Authenticum (a Vatican document on accurate translations for use in the Mass), I notice another commentor has an issue with this. One of the principle qualities of this new Bible is that the "thee's and thou's" are gone from the translation of the Psalms. I bought the beautiful leather cover version on Amazon at a steal for $25.00 (half the retail price). When I received it and handled it in my hands, I couldn't believe that was all I paid for it. Besides the beautiful leather cover with gold stampted iconography of the Jesus Pantocrater and the Four Gospels, the text is printed on non-glare paper, nice line letting and it opens nicely in the palm of your hand.

I am the author of The How-To Book of the Mass: Everything You Need to Know but No One Ever Taught You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine edition, very portable, April 14, 2006
By 
Andrew Guidroz (Opelousas, LA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The print is very sharp and clear. The book is obviously of very high quality and small enough to carry around with you ... with the leather cover, it's about 6.5" by 9.5" by a little over 1".

Matthew 6:9 has just enough Thy old styled English to make the prayer beautiful. Isaih refers to a "virgin" rather than a "young woman". It makes for a nice translation.

I couldn't wait for it to become available here and finally bought it at a local book store. Amazon definitely has the best listed price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 65 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Version Is Poorly Formatted, January 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thank God for the hardcover version - the Kindle version, though eminently portable, is distractingly formatted - different lines with different sized fonts (in the Psalms, at least... didn't get the chance to read the whole thing before I returned it :) Anyhow, it was a supreme disappointment. Please fix! I will repurchase if you A) ensure readability in all books on Kindle, and B) dramatically improve Table Of Contents navigation to book/chapter. Amazon was prompt and helpful with refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What have they changed from the first edition?, May 26, 2006
By 
Charles R. Williams (Akron, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a lovely Bible. It would be nice if the paper were a little less glossy but most of us are interested in what they changed from the first edition.

As Ignatius Press says, they dropped the thees and thous which the old RSV used to address God. They have also changed some of the archaic words. "Smite" becomes "strike." "Hearken" becomes "listen." They have made some other changes that improve some awkward wording. "Bloodguiltiness" become "blooguilt." (Psalm 51) "Steadfast love" used in every verse of Psalm 136 becomes "mercy."

What other changes have been made? In many instances they have switched an alternate reading from the footnotes when the alternate reading is more traditional or more Catholic. A good example here is Matt 16:18, "gates of Hades."

In some places, notably the Psalms, they have retranslated the RSV to make it follow the official Latin Nova Vulgata closely. Let me give two examples of liturgically important psalms. Psalm 110.3, used in Sunday Vespers, has been retranslated in accordance with the Latin tradition. The Hebrew original is very unclear so any translation of this verse is a hypothesis. Psalm 95 is used to begin the Liturgy of the Hours every day. Psalm 95:10 now reads "For forty years I was wearied of that generation," replacing "For forty years I loathed that generation." Here the editors are following the Nova Vulgata.

Another example is Psalm 2:12 where "kiss his feet" goes to a footnote and is replaced by "rejoice." Here again the original is unclear and the editors choose to follow the Nova Vulgata.

I have heard that the editors have followed the Vulgate tradition more closely in establishing the original text for the Deuterocanonical books.

It should be noted that the editors, for the most part, do not address the issues that conservative Protestant scholars have with the RSV. For example, Genesis 12:3 is unchanged.

What is at stake in this whole effort is the choice of a Bible for the Lectionary once Liturgicam Authenticam is implemented. It would be very desirable for the lectionary to be taken directly from a Catholic Bible without having to rewrite every selection. Unfortunately, this is a serious issue with the "inclusivized" NAB Bible which must currently be modified for the Lectionary. The editors of the second edition RSV have made every effort to eliminate every possible objection to using the RSV as that Bible. I hope they succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Ignatius Bible: Revised Standard Version - Second Catholic Edition
$31.95 $18.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.