Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Readable translation, but...
There are 2 ways to comment on Stephen Mitchell's new translation of Homer's Iliad. One, is to comment on the technical aspect of his translation; and, two, is to comment on the readability of his translation in ordinary English language (by the way, this is one of the main points that Mitchel is making: that his translation is more contemporary and captures the current...
Published on November 14, 2011 by stephen liem

versus
112 of 122 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An abridged Iliad - good enough poetry, but hardly "The" Iliad
I love the Iliad. Over the past fifty years I have read it in many different translations. And there are many to choose from; a list of complete translations of the Iliad includes more than 70 versions. [...]

In college, I of course read Lattimore, which at the time was (and indeed still is) the gold standard for scholarship. A few years later, I re-read it...
Published on November 30, 2011 by Christopher H. Hodgkin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 122 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An abridged Iliad - good enough poetry, but hardly "The" Iliad, November 30, 2011
By 
Christopher H. Hodgkin "chodgkin" (Friday Harbor, Wa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Iliad: (The Stephen Mitchell Translation) (Hardcover)
I love the Iliad. Over the past fifty years I have read it in many different translations. And there are many to choose from; a list of complete translations of the Iliad includes more than 70 versions. [...]

In college, I of course read Lattimore, which at the time was (and indeed still is) the gold standard for scholarship. A few years later, I re-read it in the translation of Pope, initially a struggle, but once I got into the flow of it and of his somewhat archaic language, around the middle of book 2, magnificent. I have read most of the major modern translations as they came out. Robert Fitzgerald (I really like this translation and chose it to reread for a book discussion group a few years ago). Ian Johnson (an online translation, good for content and to my ear much as I think the original singers would have sounded, who as we know didn't repeat the poem word-for-word from memory but built it each time from stock phrases and filling in the gaps as they went, but not as smooth poetically as some other translations). Lombardo (I read about four books and skimmed the rest, finding his translation jarringly modernized with contemporary language and references that in my view seriously degraded the nobility of the original). Fagles (much celebrated, and enjoyable enough but not in my view as true to the feel of Homer as Lattimore and Fitzgerald). I have dipped into various other translations as they were available on line or as I visited university libraries that had these more obscure translations: Chapman, of course, because of Keats; Butler; and various others.

With more than 70 translations of the Iliad available, do we really need another one? The answer is that this isn't really another Iliad as we know it. This is, instead, an abridgement of the full Iliad based on the highly controversial work of Martin West, who claimed to have identified and excised substantial parts of the standard text which he argued were not in the original version, whatever that was, but were later additions. West's work has been well discussed both in scholarly circles and in a very accessible review in the November 7, 2011 edition of the New Yorker.

Mitchell's translation has been praised as fast moving, modern, highly accessible. From my reading of the first three books (as long as I could spend in the bookstore reading it) this is a fair comment, though I frankly don't find it any particular improvement over Fitzgerald or Fagles.

But my primary complaint is that it is deceptive in purporting to the first time or occasional reader to be "The Iliad," when in fact it is, when compared with every other translation available, an abridgment of the Iliad. There is nothing on the covers of the book to suggest to one who finds it in the bookstore or on line that this is not the same Iliad that every English student and past reader of the Iliad has known. There is nothing to suggest that substantial portions of what has for centuries been accepted as the Iliad are totally missing. There is nothing to suggest that a student who chooses this translation to read for a course in Homer will be missing substantial portions of the text that other students will be reading (and that the professor will presumably expect the students to have read and be prepared to discuss).

If a reader or purchaser is aware that this is an abridgment and that they will not be getting the full Iliad, and chooses to read it anyhow, that's fine. It is a perfectly acceptable translation, though in my view not any better than several other choices. But for the work to claim to be the Iliad when it simply is not is, I believe, deceptive and dishonest and cheats the reader who wants to read the same Iliad that his parents, his grandparents, and everyone who has read it before Mitchell has known and loved.

If you have not yet read the Iliad, skip this translation and get one of the quality translations of the full work -- my own recommendations are Lattimore, Fitzgerald, or Fagles. If you already know the Iliad and are interested in knowing what West and Mitchell have stripped from the standard text, then go ahead and read this abridgment and see whether you think they have improved the work or not. But don't buy this is you want to read the Iliad. Because it isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Readable translation, but..., November 14, 2011
By 
stephen liem (antioch, ca United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Iliad: (The Stephen Mitchell Translation) (Hardcover)
There are 2 ways to comment on Stephen Mitchell's new translation of Homer's Iliad. One, is to comment on the technical aspect of his translation; and, two, is to comment on the readability of his translation in ordinary English language (by the way, this is one of the main points that Mitchel is making: that his translation is more contemporary and captures the current way that we use the English language).

First, on the technical aspect of the translation. I will not say too much here since I am not a Homeric scholar and I am sure that there are many other experts out there who will debate this point. Nevertheless, it will be useful to give a background on how Mitchel came about translating this. His translation is based on Martin L West's edition of Homer's Iliad. It should be noted that West's edition is controversial because he made a distinction between "original" text as written by the author of Iliad ("Homer"), and subsequent additions to that original text. West has stipped away all text that are not "original" by his own standard and criteria. As a result, the entire Book X, for example, has been banished, and so have many lines, and phrases that are deemed "additonal". As I mentioned before, Micthel's translation also left out those "additional" text that are not "original". I can imagine that scholars can and undoubtedbly will, debate what is "original", and what is "addition" for a very long time. (By the way, Daniel Mandelshon in The New Yorker magazine Nov 7 2011, has a review of this book that explains just how silly the definition of "original" versus "addition" can be. Highly recommended to read.)

Second, now, on to the readability of his translation. Here, I was somewhat disappointed to discover that Mitchel's translation add nothing new to the readability of Homer's Iliad that has been done by other contemporary translators, notably Stanley Lombardo. In other words, if you are looking for a contemporary translation with readable and common English, Lombardo's work will do just fine. In fact Lombardo's translation adds something new with how he structured the similes, which in Iliad are everywhere. Of course if you are looking for poetic beauty, Fagles' translation is still the book to read.

Here is a comparison between Fagles, Lombardo and Mitchel:

- Fagles (Book 19, 254):
"You talk of food?
I have no taste for food - what I really crave
is slaughter and blood and the choking groan of men!"

- Lombardo (Book 19, 225):
"Nothing matters to me now
but killing, and blood, and men in agony."

- Mitchell (Book 19, 215):
"I cannot think about eating. All I can think of
is slaugther and bloodshed and the loud groans of the dying."

From a poetic perspective, Fagles is more dramatic ("crave", "choking"), but from readability perspective, Lombardo's is fine enough. Thus, I find Mitchel's translation sits in somewhere between Fagles and Lombardo: not as poetic as Fagles, but, not as innovative as Lombardo's either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ground is dark with blood, December 25, 2011
This review is from: The Iliad: (The Stephen Mitchell Translation) (Hardcover)
With many books, translations are negligible, with two obvious exceptions, one is the Bible, and surprisingly the other is The Iliad. Each translation can give a different insight and feel to the story. Everyone will have a favorite. I have several.

For example:

"Rage--Goddess, sing the rage of Peleus' son Achilles,
Murderous, doomed, that cost the Achaeans countless losses,
hurling down to the House of Death so many souls,
great fighters' souls. But made their bodies carrion,
feasts for dogs and birds,
and the will of Zeus was moving towards its end.
Begin, Muse, when the two first broke and clashed,
Agamemnon lord of men and brilliant Achilles."
-Translated by Robert Fagles, 1990

"Sing, O Goddess, the anger of Achilles, son of Peleus, that brought countless ills upon the Achaeans. Many a brave soul did it send hurrying down to Hades, and many a heroes did it yield a prey to dogs and vultures for so were the counsels of Zeus fulfilled from the day on which the son of Atreus, king of men, and great Achilles first fell out with one another."
-Translated by Samuel Butler, 1888

"Rage:
Sing, Goddess, Achilles' rage,
Black and murderous, that cost the Greeks
Incalculable pain pitched countless souls
Of heroes into Hades' dark,
And let their bodies rot as feasts
For dogs and birds, as Zeus' will was done.
Begin with the clash between Agamemnon--
The Greek Warlord--and godlike Achilles."
-Translated by Stanley Lombardo, 1997

"Anger be now your song, immortal one,
Akhilleus' anger, doomed and ruinous,
that caused the Akhaians loss on bitter loss
and crowded brave souls into the undergloom,
leaving so many dead men--carrion
for dogs and birds; and the will of Zeus was done.
Begin it when the two men first contending
broke with one another--
the Lord Marshal Agamémnon, Atreus' son, and Prince Akhilleus."
-Translated by Translated by Robert Fitzgerald, 1963

"Sing, goddess, the anger of Peleus' son of Achilleus and its devastation, which puts pains thousandfold upon the Achains,
hurled in the multitudes to the house of Hades strong souls of heroes, but gave their bodies to be the delicate feasting of dogs, of all birds, and the will of Zeus was accomplished since that time when first there stood the division of conflict Atrecus' son the lord of men and brilliant Achilleus."
-Translated by Richmond Lattimore, 1951

"Sing, goddess, of Peleus' son Achilles' anger, ruinous, that caused the Greeks untold ordeals, consigned to Hades countless valiant souls, heroes, and left their bodies prey for dogs or feast for vultures. Zeus's will was done from when those two first quarreled and split apart, the king, Agamemnon, and matchless Achilles."
-Translated by Herbert Jordan, 2008

"An angry man-there is my story: the bitter rancor of AchillÍs, prince of the house of Peleus, which brought a thousand troubles upon the Achaian host. Many a strong soul it sent down to HadÍs, and left the heroes themselves a prey to the dogs and carrion birds, while the will of God moved on to fulfillment."
-Translated and transliterated by W.H.D. Rouse, 1950

"Achilles' wrath, to Greece the direful spring
Of woes unnumber'd, heavenly goddess, sing!
That wrath which hurl'd to Pluto's gloomy reign
The souls of mighty chiefs untimely slain;
Whose limbs unburied on the naked shore,
Devouring dogs and hungry vultures tore.
Since great Achilles and Atrides strove,
Such was the sovereign doom,
and such the will of Jove!"
-Translated by Alexander Pope, 1720

"Achilles sing, O Goddess! Peleus' son;
His wrath pernicious, who ten thousand woes
Caused to Achaia's host, sent many a soul
Illustrious into Ades premature,
And Heroes gave (so stood the will of Jove)
To dogs and to all ravening fowls a prey,
When fierce dispute had separated once
The noble Chief Achilles from the son
Of Atreus, Agamemnon, King of men."
-Translated by William Cowper, London 1791

"Achilles' baneful wrath - resound, O goddess - that impos'd
Infinite sorrow on the Greeks, and the brave souls loos'd
From beasts heroic; sent them far, to that invisible cave*
That no light comforts; and their limbs to dogs and vultures gave:
To all which Jove's will give effect; from whom the first strife begun
Betwixt Atrides, king of men, and Thetis' godlike son*"
-Translated by George Chapman, 1616

"The Rage of Achilles--sing it now, goddess, sing through me
the deadly rage that caused the Achaeans such grief
and hurled down to Hades the souls of so many fighters,
leaving their naked flesh to be eaten by dogs
and carrion birds, as the will of Zeus was accomplished.
Begin at the time when bitter words first divided
that king of men, Agamemnon, and godlike Achilles."
-Translated by Stephen Mitchell

"Sing now, goddess, the wrath of Achilles the scion of Peleus,
ruinous rage which brought the Achaians uncounted afflictions;
many of the powerful souls it sent to the dwelling of Hades,
those of the heroes, and spoil for the dogs it made it their bodies,
plunder for the birds, and the purpose of Zeus was accomplished__"
-Translated by Rodney Merrill

"Sing, goddess, the anger of Achilles, Peleus' son,
the accused anger which brought the Achaeans countless
agonies and hurled many mighty shades of heroes into Hades,
causing them to become the prey of dogs
and all kinds of birds; and the plan of Zeus was fulfilled."
-Translated by Anthony Verity

"Of Peleus' son, Achilles, sing, O Muse,
The vengeance, deep and deadly; whence to Greece
Unnumbered ills arose; which many a soul
Of mighty warriors to the viewless shades
Ultimately sent; they on the battle plain
Unburied lay, to rav'ning dogs,
And carrion birds; but had Jove decreed,"
-Translated by Edward Smith-Stanly 1862

"Sing, goddess, of the anger of Achileus, son of Peleus, the accrued anger which brought uncounted anguish on the Achaians and hurled down to Hades many mighty souls of heroes, making their bodies the prey to dogs and the birds' feasting: and this was the working of Zeus' will"
-Translated by Martin Hammond

"Sing, Goddess of the rage of Achilles, son of Peleus-
that murderous anger witch condemned Achaeans
to countless agonies and threw many warrior souls
deep into Hades, leaving their dead bodies
carrion food for dogs and birds-
all in the fulfillment of the will of Zeus"
- Translated by Professor Ian Johnston, British Columbia 2006

"The rage, sing O goddess, of Achilles, son of Peleus,
The destructive anger that brought ten-thousand pains to the
Achaeans and sent many brave souls of fighting men to the house
of Hades and made their bodies a feast for dogs
and all kinds of birds. For such was the will of Zeus."
- Translated by Barry B. Powell

"Sing, goddess, the wrath of Achilles Peleus' son, the ruinous wrath that brought on the Achaians woes innumerable, and hurled down into Hades many strong souls of heroes, and gave their bodies to be a prey to dogs and all winged fowls; and so the counsel of Zeus wrought out its accomplishment from the day when first strife parted Atreides king of men and noble Achilles."
- Translated by Andrew Lang, M.A., Walter Leaf, Litt.D., And Ernest Myers, M.A.
Books I. - IX. . . . . W. Leaf.
" X. - XVI. . . . . A. Lang.
" XVII. - XXIV. . . . . E. Myers.

Another translation is by Ennis Samuel Rees, Jr. (March 17, 1925 - March 24, 2009)

Greek Latin
----- -----
Zeus. Jupiter.
Hera. Juno.
(Pallas) Athene. Minerva.
Aphrodite. Venus.
Poseidon. Neptune.
Ares. Mars.
Hephaestus. Vulcan.

You will find that some translations are easier to read but others are easier to listen to on recordings, lectures, Kindle, and the like. If you do not see information on specific translators, it is still worth the speculation and purchase. Right after the translation readability and understanding, do not overlook the introduction which gives an inset to what you are about to read.

The Stephen Mitchell translation goes though each of the major characters so well that you think you know them before you starts reading. Other introductions explain the struggle between different types of power. Rodney Merrill's 28 page introduction focuses on singing.

The Oxford University Press Barry B. Powell has an extensive introduction with real "MAPS". Also there is information of the finder Schliemann. We even get annotation on the meaning being conveyed.

Our story takes place in the ninth year of the ongoing war. We get some introduction to the first nine years but they are just a background to this tale of pride, sorrow and revenge. The story will also end abruptly before the end of the war.

We have the wide conflict between the Trojans and Achaeans over a matter of pride; the gods get to take sides and many times direct spears and shields.

Although the more focused conflict is the power struggle between two different types of power. That of Achilles, son of Peleus and the greatest individual warrior and that of Agamemnon, lord of men, whose power comes form position.

We are treated to a blow by blow inside story as to what each is thinking and an unvarnished description of the perils of war and the search for ArÍte (to be more like Aries, God of War.)

Troy - The Director's Cut [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your High School edition (or experience) of The Iliad, October 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Iliad: (The Stephen Mitchell Translation) (Hardcover)
If you have bad memories of struggling though Homer in High School, you're in for a real treat. The language in this new translation is so beautiful and so readable you won't be able to put it down. As you might imagine, I wasn't searching for a new edition of the Iliad when I learned about this new edition. I learned of it on the radio. I heard a fascinating interview of Steven Mitchell by Michael Krasny on KQED radio that I highly recommend you listen to, too: [...]. This interview inspired me to order the book. I was somewhat sheepish about ordering it as I knew there was a reasonable chance it would go unread. But order it I did and I am not sorry. After reading the first dozen pages, I called my husband into the room to share in my excitement. I began to read the first few pages and he sat down and suggested I continue reading. We finally stopped at the end of the first book and agreed to read the full book aloud. When was the last time you wanted to hear any book read aloud? Buy this book. Be delighted. Enjoy (finally) one of the greatest stories of all time. And don't miss that interview!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A cut version of Homer, June 4, 2012
This review is from: The Iliad: (The Stephen Mitchell Translation) (Hardcover)
Before spending your money on this translation, see the review by Edward Luttwak in the "London Review of Books" which may be read online. Luttwak points out the many omissions in Mitchell's translation and persuasively argues that they are mistaken cuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful reading, December 19, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Iliad: (The Stephen Mitchell Translation) (Hardcover)
This is a page-turner, a thrilling read. I think I've read all the translations of Homer from the past sixty years and have thoroughly enjoyed them all. This translation is notable for its speed. The introduction would lead you to believe that Mitchell dispenses with almost all the formulaic expressions that characterize translations that follow Homer more exactly, but there are enough of them to convey the flavor of the "antiqued" ancient Greek that no Greek actually spoke. My personal preference leans toward the Fagles translation from the 1990s. It is no less powerful, but takes a somewhat slower pace because it does include all those formulaic expressions. I think those expressions are part of the overall flavor of Homeric writing. That said, I would not discount the many pleasures of Mitchell's translation. It won't be leaving my library. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Eerie Experience, June 24, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Iliad (Paperback)
Trying to review the The Iliad is a presumptuous and probably futile exercise. It was created for purposes that have little to do with any modern notion of literary pleasure, and there is no standard to hold it to. Having just gone through it again after a thirty year interval from my first exposure, however, I was once again hypnotized from beginning to end, and now I can't get it out of my head. I'm hence writing not to review it so much as to help myself figure out what's really going on here. Why does the piece still have such uncanny power when there are so many odd things that make it confusing and unpalatable today?

First, though, what are the oddities and the sources of vexation? For one thing, as with the books of the Bible, nobody's quite sure who wrote it, or if "Homer", its purported author, even existed. From accounts I've read, the story and text were passed down via an ancient "oral tradition", meaning that it was recited or sung to music by generations of anonymous bards, who committed it to memory after learning it from earlier practitioners. Eventually it was transcribed into the characters used to represent the ancient Greek language and from there repeatedly re-transcribed and eventually translated into virtually every modern written language on our planet. The particular version that I experienced was an English translation done in 2011 by Brooklyn-born poet Stephen Mitchell, who worked from text compiled sometime earlier by British scholar Martin West, who in turn was amalgamating whatever sources he considered appropriate, apparently deleting much that he judged to be the result of latter-day embellishment. Finally, I didn't read The Illiad this time but listened to it as an audiotape performance by British actor Alfred Molina, who brought to bear on the material yet another independent influence.

Our contemporary vantage point on this convoluted process at least this gives us a useful term to describe it: The IIiad, in whatever form we get it today, is the result of "crowd sourcing" over the course of two and a half millennia or so. Countless people from radically diverse backgrounds made their individual contributions to the story that came to me through my earphones in 2013. All of them would have had talent, and some surely were brilliant, but none of them as individuals were likely to have been literary or philosophical geniuses. The thing is a stylistic mishmash, and it is impossible to know what relationship it has to whatever the original ancient source may have been.

Another problem is the irritating temporal structure, undoubtedly resulting from the way the poem evolved. The narrative assumes the listener already knows the bizarre story of the mythological 10-year Trojan War, and other than through disjointed allusions, little attempt is made to clarify the history or the plotline. I once knew a fair amount about Greek mythology but have since forgotten much of it and had to do lot of Googling to keep things straight. The entire action takes place during a few weeks at the end of the long war, but the poem terminates abruptly before the end actually occurs or Troy falls. We know of course that a sequel is coming in the form of The Odyssey, but that's not much help for modern readers/listeners who might be expecting this piece to stand on its own normally with a crescendoing plot and satisfying climax.

Then there is the problem of values. It's been decades since I read any literary discussions of the Iliad, but I can only imagine what modern-day feminists have had to say about it. Helen is supposedly the central figure here, but she only makes a few brief appearances, generally moping around the Trojan royal palace and repeatedly describing herself as a "bitch" for having caused the War. She thus assumes blame for everything, even though the account directly ascribes to her no role other than that of victim to an abduction. Meanwhile, we're led to admire the hoards of testosterone-addled lunatics who have leapt happily into a ten-year bloodbath, obviously seizing on any old excuse to have at one another.

Along a parallel thread, another passive woman stands at the center of the main dramatic tension in the poem, which is the bitterness between King Agamemnon and the warrior prince Achilles. It seems that sometime earlier after conquering an Anatolian city, Achilles had claimed its leading princess as his prize but was forced to yield when Agamemnon demanded that the hapless damsel be handed over instead as his prize. Achilles lacks the political clout to countermand the king, but he seeks his revenge by taking to his tent for a sulk and withholding his allegiance from the impending siege of Troy. Eventually fearing that he might lose the war without the service of his most ferocious fighter, Agamemnon reconsiders and as an inducement attempts to hand the princess back to him, along with some cattle, some gold, and a few other captive women. Like a pouting brat, Achilles spurns the overture now, and only after hearing that his best friend has died in combat does Achilles re-enter the fray for revenge against the killers. Achilles, of course, is meant to be the story's shining star and the guy we look up to. The narrative gives no indication whatsoever about what the captive ladies think about him or any of the other fellows who have arrived to bring such grace into their lives. It doesn't seem to matter.

We, of course, also have to wade through the violence that pervades The Iliad. I have read a fair amount of military history and consider myself a fan of military fiction, but even I have rarely read anything exhibiting quite this degree of bloody intensity. One after another, long, extravagant passages overflow with medically explicit details of horrendous wounds and painful deaths. Swords pass in between ribs and out though gashes that let livers and other organs slither onto the ground. Spears sail through the air and splatter brains after severing tongues and crunching skull bones. Teeth and eyeballs keep popping out sockets. Yuch! The poem's other disagreeable features include it's proclivity for wondering off into long diversions only marginally connected to the plotline, or descending into mind-numbing minutia. The famous "catalogue of ships", for example, goes on forever and ever with the names, ethnicities, and family histories of all the invading Greek captains. There surely were a lot of them.

However much all of this grates against modern sensibilities, though, none of it seems to matter once you give yourself over to The Iliad's mesmerizing rhythm. This thing rises up and sucks you into itself, making you take off your editorial hat and accept the unacceptable. So looping back to my original question, what is the source of this inexplicable magic? The answer I think lies with the drive we all have, conscious or otherwise, to re-experience our roots. In a way that's not possible through a modern work of historical fiction that only tries to re-imagine the past, this poem satisfies that primal desire because it actually arises from the past. It's crowd-sourced origin offers the sensation of hearing our ancestors speak to us collectively, as from a hidden chorus. You start feeling the world, however dimly and fleetingly, the way the ancient Greeks must have felt it.

Cognitive psychologists have theorized that the brains of ancient peoples were actually wired differently from ours, giving them an interior reality that would have been entirely foreign to us. The Iliad tugs at our modern neurological wiring and seems to be trying to reconnect some of the old lost circuits. It's scary. Religion is a major force here, and the Greeks experienced religion in a more immediate way than most of us can. They may quite literally in their heads have heard the voices of their gods, in much the way that schizophrenics hear voices. Part of the experience of reading The Iliad is entering into the Greeks' polytheism. It's always been a conceit of modernism that contemporary religious doctrines or intellectual fashions supersede everything that came before, rendering it childlike and foolish. A close reading of The Illiad can't help but give one a new respect for the power of ancient cosmology.

Believers in any of the modern monotheistic religions have, or perhaps should have, a hard time understanding war. Why does God allow it, and whose side is He on? Beset by continuous warfare as they were, the ancient Greeks developed an ingenious framework for coming to grips with these questions: The various gods from their pantheon were aligned on opposite sides! As an ancient Greek, you can start sorting out the violent chaos around you once you accept that remarkable premise. In The Iliad we see the gods repeatedly intervening in combat on one side or the other, albeit in disguise, and on a couple of occasions actually suffering wounds. But then later on we see them all gathered together on Olympus, arguing about the day's events in relative repose, as if over cocktails and cheese. They themselves are immortal, and it's all a game to them.

The Greek gods were often jealous, underhanded, cruel, and petty, while at other times they could be wise, compassionate, and fair. In short, they were like humans, except with superpowers and infinite life expectancies. Even the supposedly omnipotent Zeus struggles against his personal flaws and limitations. He tries to maintain an even hand in the war while his divine underlings squabble like adolescents on a play-yard. He's unable to control even his devoted and generally loyal wife Hera, who at one point gussies herself up and seduces her husband to distract him long enough for the Achaeans, whom she favors, to gain a temporary upper hand in the fighting. When Zeus comes to his senses and sees the trick, he erupts in fury and threatens to send her tumbling into Hades, although nothing of the sort in fact happens. The old king's bark is often worse than his bite.

Listening to this passage, I could not restrain myself from laughing out loud. And it's in thinking back to this moment in the narrative that I believe I can begin to discern the elusive secret to The Iliad's power. Crowd-sourced and thus representing a collective reality, the poem intermeshes the darkest of tragedy with the most sublime comedy. The two blend seamlessly into an experience that resonates so deeply because it captures something that is core to our being.

The Iliad is neither an easy nor a pleasant read, but for anyone willing to put up with all the unpleasantness discussed above, this strange classic is worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A crisp, clear and powerful translation, December 27, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Iliad (Paperback)
I had been looking for a translation of the Iliad, having never read it. When I discovered that Stephen Mitchell had created one, I was very excited because his translation of Rilke's "Letters to a Young Poet" has been a touchstone in my life, a bible of sorts. His translation of the Iliad is fresh, forceful and funny. You get a sense of the blood flowing beneath the text. Stephen Mitchell- if you read this- please start working on the Odyssey for us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Iliad, April 27, 2012
This review is from: The Iliad (Audio CD)
Story:
I've actually read The Iliad once before-made it my summer camping at the beach read one year. Admittedly, I thought it was good but not "Oh my gosh, this book is awesome" good.
The actual story of the Trojan War is what makes this such an interesting book, but most especially, the way that it is written as an account of who was there and and their ties to the fighting. I like that fact that Homer gives such detail to the characters of the book and their personal histories. Usually I do not like books to have a lot of character history, but it is done so well in The Iliad and necessary that one can not help but be drawn in.

The Iliad is definitely one of the most epic books I have ever read, as well, as one of the bloodiest books because Homer does not hold anything back from his descriptions of the pains of war and all the mess involved in one. While the descriptions of the battle could be graphic at times-with the death wounds dealt-the story does not linger on those scenes. Rather it is more of a dry report of how a certain character died, yet still perhaps a little too violent for some.

The Iliad is one of those books were the characters are not ones that I could necessarily love. While I may not think to fondly of the characters and their actions, I do think that each of their stories are quite captivating as they struggle for what they want in their world against the "gods" who meddle in day to day life.
The characters for me, are just that...characters. The one thing that really made them interesting was that they were all extremely flawed, from Paris and his cowardice, to Achilles and his refusal to fight because he was offended by the loss of his prize (a girl); as for the gods themselves, I really cannot think of anything good to say about them. For me, they were an annoyance in their pettiness, but ya'll can see more of why I don't like them below.

The one thing that really sticks out in my mind when I think back on The Iliad would have to be-well, at least this translation of it-is that I found myself thinking differently about a certain character which surprised me. After listening to the introduction by Stephen Mitchell, I found myself looking beyond my initial thoughts about Helen and the situation that she found herself in. And this time, I actually felt bad for her instead on contempt because while she did mess up in running off with Paris she tried near the end to gain back some of the her lost dignity by refusing him.
The first time through I just got hung-up on the whole she ran off with another man-not her husband- and caused the beginning of a war that lasted ten years.

The one thing I still do not like about The Iliad would have to be the gods and goddess of Olympus. My biggest gripe against the gods would have to be that they are selfish, petty, self-serving, manipulative, and a bunch of babies. Yeah, I do not think to highly of their characters in the book and that is most likely to never change. I could seriously go on and on about how annoyed they made me, but I am pretty sure that would get boring real fast for ya'll.

Narration:
While I was really interested in listening to the audio version of The Iliad, I was not all too sure that any one would be able to breath enough life into the book that would hold ones attention, Which is why I am happy to say that Alfred Molina did a fantastic job reading The Iliad. He absolutely astounded me with his ability to capture the story and the characters so perfectly.

What really made this a great listen was the reader, Alfred Molina. So if you think The Iliad is maybe not something you would be interested in reading, I would recommend listening to the audio because it will absolutely pull you in and leave you listening long after you should be asleep.

The only drawback to the audio, besides the length of time, would have to be the introduction. Its not the the information was not good-and useful for the book-it was just kind of dull...especially the way it was read. I am not trying to be mean, but the author, while doing an excellent job of adding depth the story, did not exactly have the best reading voice.
Final Verdict: The Iliad, definitely one epic listen or read.

The Iliad earns 4 out of 5 pineapples.

Review taken from my blog, The Haunting of Orchid Forsythia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The spirit of the epic, reinterpreted, April 6, 2013
This review is from: The Iliad (Paperback)
The last time I experienced the Iliad was when I had to read it as a freshman in high school. It was interesting to return to it with a more adult perspective, and to appreciate Homer's poetic imagery; the ancient ideals of heroic conduct; the timeless tragedy of war and human pride; and the way the ancient mind saw gods as capricious meddlers in human affairs, reaching down to bestir or chill the warrior's heart, or to guide a weapon towards or away from its target. To what extent Homer's audience really believed in the gods of his tale, or recognized them as dramatizations, is unclear to me. Yet, the genius of his story is that the audience can see it both ways. For generations of listeners, this tale must have stood like a Colossus with one foot in the real, solid world and one foot in the mists of myth.

Mitchell's translation aims to capture the way the Iliad was meant to be told: read aloud with feeling. He does so by stripping away a lot of the archaic phrasing and epithets that I remember from high school, leaving behind verse that's simple, tight, dynamic, and speaks directly to modern listeners. Some readers, of course, will be offended by his presumptuousness at "editing" a classic, but others will appreciate his efforts to make the passions of the story more accessible. A good litmus test is the scene where a soldier admonishes Paris as a "sissy" -- do you read that as a coarse, stinging insult (as was intended by the speaker), or a flagrant anachronism? (Most of the language isn't so "modern", but that was a more noticeable example.)

If you can roll with the "spirit of the work" interpretation, then Alfred Molina's masculine but sensitive audiobook performance is a great fit, capturing the frantic motion of combat, the smoldering resentment of Achilles, the feckless golden-boy attitude of Paris, and the anguish of Priam. No longer the dusty archetypes I remember from English class, the characters now come to life as human and flawed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Iliad: (The Stephen Mitchell Translation)
The Iliad: (The Stephen Mitchell Translation) by Homer (Hardcover - October 11, 2011)
$35.00 $25.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.