Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Reference Bood For Catholic Art Lovers
This is a beautifully illustrated reference book. It was exactly what I was expecting by seeing it on Amazon. Anyone, like me, who loves Renaissance art, will enjoy reading up on the Catholic Saints. However, this being a recently written reference book, there are also modern saints covered, such as Mother Teresa of Calcutta.

Those who are searching for a...
Published on December 15, 2009 by M. Hill

versus
16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Had to return
I had to return this order because the author referred to St. Lucy's restoration of sign as "magical" instead of "miraculous". In another part of the book it said that "...anyone might be redeemed through devotion." If you are a Catholic and looking for a good sound Saints book this is not the one. The pictures were beautiful and the number of...
Published 24 months ago by SA


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Reference Bood For Catholic Art Lovers, December 15, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated World Encyclopedia of Saints (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully illustrated reference book. It was exactly what I was expecting by seeing it on Amazon. Anyone, like me, who loves Renaissance art, will enjoy reading up on the Catholic Saints. However, this being a recently written reference book, there are also modern saints covered, such as Mother Teresa of Calcutta.

Those who are searching for a reference book covering a larger number of saints, I would recommend "Our Sunday Visitor's Encyclopedia of Saints" Our Sunday Visitor's Encyclopedia of Saints This product briefly covers about 10,000 saints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, March 15, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated World Encyclopedia of Saints (Hardcover)
I bought this wanting to brush up on some of the saints I'm familiar with and learn more about popular saints. This is a great book with just the right amount of info and beautiful pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sainthood never looked so sexy!, April 14, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Staten Island, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated World Encyclopedia of Saints (Hardcover)
I'll keep this short and sweet. Practically anything you want to know about saints (modern-day and days-of-old) is packed into this book. From The Archangel Michael to Mother Teresa, it's all here. The art brings you right to each individual saints era. It stangely provides a sense of nostalgia...

My Ebert and Roeper are pointed to the sky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive book: good introduction to various topics, great images, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated World Encyclopedia of Saints (Hardcover)
This book has great summaries on various Saint related topics. It begins with detailed description on what is a Saint, canonization process, holy relics; important feast days, etc. Throughout the book there are occasional pages dedicated to other topics: The stigmata, Apostles, child saints, religious orders, incorruptibles, etc. Great facts associated to each individual Saint listed in the Directory. It is not a comprehensive list of Saints, but the presentation is impressive. My 14 year old daughter could not put it down for two weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you would like to know about Saints, May 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated World Encyclopedia of Saints (Hardcover)
This is a great book for anyone wanting to learn more about our beloved Saints.
The illustrations are wonderful the kind of art you would see if you visited Rome. We keep it handy and find we both read it weekly. Its something you can pick up whether you have 5 minutes or an hour. It is very captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There are a variety of Saints in this book, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated World Encyclopedia of Saints (Hardcover)
I enjoyed reading short stories about the saints in this book. It did not mention any of the current saints and that did bother me a bit. They have been saints in the church for some time. Still the book is interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb reference work...and beautifully done, April 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated World Encyclopedia of Saints (Hardcover)
It's remarkably thorough, yet concise. It's also beautifully illustrated and printed. It will be just as useful on a coffee table as on a reference library's shelf. WELL worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAINTS, April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated World Encyclopedia of Saints (Hardcover)
GREAT PICTURES! VERY GOOD READING. A TREASURE TO HAVE. EXCELLENT DESCRIPTION OF MANY SAINTS. THIS IS A GREAT BOOK TO OWN!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, January 26, 2013
By 
Karen (California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated World Encyclopedia of Saints (Hardcover)
This is for someone who is even a little bit interested in the lives of the Saints. Beautifully illustrated, easy to read, informative. A great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Illustrated Book of Saints, February 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated World Encyclopedia of Saints (Hardcover)
Beauiful illustrated book of the Saints. A view into each Saint's life and death.
So nice, wish there were more saints featured!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Illustrated World Encyclopedia of Saints
The Illustrated World Encyclopedia of Saints by Tessa Paul (Hardcover - July 16, 2009)
$35.00 $28.04
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.