Customer Reviews


3,246 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,271)
4 star:
 (642)
3 star:
 (191)
2 star:
 (75)
1 star:
 (67)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,489 of 1,555 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for this beautiful tribute to Henrietta Lacks
Wow. This book should be required reading for scientists and students of life. The true story of Henrietta Lacks and her family has finally been told, beautifully, in this book. The book encompasses science, ethics, and the story of a family who was terribly wronged in the pursuit of scientific research. I could gush about this book for pages but I'll try first to hit the...
Published on February 5, 2010 by EJ

versus
295 of 337 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good try, but could have been better
I'm a big fan of science and medical non-fiction, so when I saw the rave reviews for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, I was excited to read it. It started off strong; I'd give the first half five stars. The oral history of the Lacks family was fascinating, and I loved reading about how the cells got their start in the lab. When the author introduced the adult...
Published on July 31, 2010 by 99 Effervescent Faces


‹ Previous | 1 2325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,489 of 1,555 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for this beautiful tribute to Henrietta Lacks, February 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wow. This book should be required reading for scientists and students of life. The true story of Henrietta Lacks and her family has finally been told, beautifully, in this book. The book encompasses science, ethics, and the story of a family who was terribly wronged in the pursuit of scientific research. I could gush about this book for pages but I'll try first to hit the main points of why this book is so remarkable in list form for the sake of brevity:

1. The author clearly developed a strong relationship with the Lacks family, which was absolutely critical to ensuring the story was told accurately and with the respect to Henrietta Lacks that was so deeply deserved.

2. The storytelling is amazingly moving despite the need to convey a lot of scientific information. It reads like fiction.

3. Ms. Skloot's research into the science is impeccable.

4. The book is FAIR. It presents the unvarnished truth, obtained DIRECTLY from as many prinicpal people involved in the story as is humanly possible. It would have been easier to simplify the story into heroes vs. villians, but Ms. Skloot deftly handles all sides of the story.

For some detail: I have worked with HeLa cells in the past, but did not know even the barest information about the story of Henrietta Lacks until a few years ago. It simply was not common knowledge, until a few less ethical folks released her name and medical records to the public. This obviously should not have been done without the express permission of the Lacks family, which Ms. Skloot obtained. In the past, others have not been as ethical. The book covers Ms. Lacks' early life, how her cells came to be harvested, and what happened to both the cells and her family afterward.

The contributions of HeLa cells to science are absolutely staggering and cannot be over-stated. The sections where the science was described were clear and accurate. With the story of Ms. Lacks' family interwoven, this book was fairly close to perfect. I found myself moved to tears several times because of the fate of the Lacks family and Henrietta's daughter's indomitable spirit. I do not think anyone but Ms. Skloot could have written this book. She worked with the family for over a decade in order to get the story right. This was critical, as the family had been wronged too many times in the past.

Thank you for this astounding work of art. I will be donating to the Henrietta Lacks foundation in honor of the entire family, and I hope many others will read the book and be similarly moved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


599 of 642 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, engrossing, fascinating, heartbreaking, englightening...ALL in one stellar book!, January 16, 2010
By 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is hand's down one of the best books I've read in years and I wish I could give it more stars. It is going to be difficult to capture exactly what makes this book so outstanding and so captivating, but I'm going to give it my best shot.

First of all I want to say I am STUNNED that this is the author's first book. She has poured ten years of her heart, soul, mind and her life in general in this book. What she has given birth to in that long period of labor is worthy of her sacrifice and honors Henrietta Lacks and her family.

Other reviews have given the outline of this amazing story. What I want to stress is that Ms. Skloot has navigated the difficult terrain of respecting Mrs. Lacks and her family, while still telling their story in a very intimate, thorough, factual manner. What readers may not know is that the Lacks family isn't just a "subject" that the author researched. This is a real family with real heartaches and real challenges whose lives she entered into for a very long season. The Lacks' family has truly benefitted from the author's involvement in their life and that is something I am very appreciative of. I believe that Ms. Skloot was able to give Henrietta's daughter, Deborah, a real sense of healing, deliverance, peace and identity that she had been searching for her whole life...that story alone would have made the book for me.

It would have been very easy for the author to come across as condescending or patronizing or possibly as being exploitive as she wrote about a family that is poor and uneducated. Instead the story is infused with compassion and patience as she not only takes the family along with her on a journey to understand their current situation and the ancestor whose life was so rich in legacy but poor in compensation; she educates the family in the process. I get the sense that the author grew to genuinely love Henrietta and her family. I am in awe of this level of commitment.

The author has managed to explain the complex scientific information in a way that anyone can comprehend and be fascinated by. The author's telling of the science alone and the journey of Henrietta's immortal cells (HeLa) would have made the book a worthy read in itself. Ms. Skloot and Henrietta captured me from page one all the way to the final page of the book. I read it in one pass and I didn't want it to end.

The author manages to beautifully tell multiple stories and develops each of those stories so well that you can't help but be consumed by the book. This is the story of Henrietta. It is the story of her sweet and determined daughter, Deborah. It is the story of the extended Lacks family and their history. It is a story of race/poverty/ignorance and people who take advantage of that unfortunate trifecta. It is a story about science and ethics. It is a story that should make each of us reflect on the sacrifices made by individual humans and animals that have allowed us to benefit so much from "modern" medicine. It is a story about hope and perseverance. It is a story about love and healing.

I cannot imagine a single person I know who wouldn't love this book and benefit from reading it. I will be purchasing the final copy of the book and am looking forward to reading the book again.

I am counting the days til Ms. Skloot writes another book and can't wait to attend one of her upcoming lectures. A fan is born!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


423 of 465 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2010 Non-Fiction Award Winner?, January 8, 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
As I recall this book was categorized as CANCER, I believe it might be more aptly described as science based non-fiction. In the last two decades I've seen occasional news items alluding to human cells taken from a black woman in the 1950's that have been replicated millions of times. The cells are referred to as HeLa and on the face of it I wouldn't have thought there was much of a story behind the extraction of these cells and their use by the biomed industry. However, this book dispells that rather naive assumption completely and puts a name and a face, a family, and a story behind the contents of many petri dishes and slides. THE IMMORTAL LIFE OF HENRIETTA LACKS explains how the cells were obtained, replicated, distributed, and used without informed consent of the owner and family by John Hopkins and how they benefitted mankind w/o compensation to the family. Author Skloot tells the story of a family victimized by socioeconomic conditions and racism that can't get fundamental things like health coverage while these cells make a lot of money for the health establishment. It is a disturbing read that will stay with the reader long after the book is finished. It may also make the reader take a long hard look at the need for standardized health care in our society among many other things.
The one thing that I found fascinating about this book is how Skloot managed to take a generally dry topic that might have been addressed in a scientific textbook and humanized it on a very personal level by developing a close relationship with Henrietta's family. The input received from the family took this book to a higher level and made it a very personsl story. From my perspective, it was very hard not to get involved with the Lacks family and not feel their sense of betrayal and loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


295 of 337 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good try, but could have been better, July 31, 2010
By 
I'm a big fan of science and medical non-fiction, so when I saw the rave reviews for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, I was excited to read it. It started off strong; I'd give the first half five stars. The oral history of the Lacks family was fascinating, and I loved reading about how the cells got their start in the lab. When the author introduced the adult family (Deborah, et al), I felt a strong sympathy for them and what they'd been through. I was already recommending it to friends, anticipating that the second half would be as good.

However, once I got to the second half, it went downhill considerably. The writing was fairly tight in the beginning, keeping all of the stories woven together in a comprehensible way, but seemed to unravel as the book went on. When I read the introduction, I didn't understand why Skloot was so defensive about inserting herself into the book (in my experience, medical non-fiction authors do it all the time), but I soon realized why - because by the second half, the book becomes less about HeLa, science, history, and ethics, and instead turns exclusively into a memoir about Skloot's dealings with the family. And at this point, the family became unsympathetic and insufferable. The writing became repetitive, somewhat informal, and ridden with unnecessary details. One reviewer called this book "deftly written" and I'd have to disagree. The second half gets one star.

The book ended on a strong note, with the Afterward. The Afterward took us back to questions of bioethics. As I was reading it, I wondered why the Afterward was a separate part - couldn't it have been woven into the second half of the book?

In short, I thought this book was merely ok, but as the reviews show, a lot of people loved it. If you think that you're one of the people who will love it, read it. If you're looking for a book that's just outstanding, look somewhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, January 17, 2010
By 
Daffy Du (Del Mar, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Equal parts history, psychological drama, expose and character study, Rebecca Skloot's gripping debut is a deeply affecting tour de force that effortlessly bridges the gap between science and the mainstream.

Her subject is the multilayered drama behind one of the most important--and in many ways, problematic--advances of modern medicine. Captivated by the story of Henrietta Lacks, a poor African-American woman whose cervical cancer cells (dubbed HeLa) were the first immortalized cells grown in culture and became ubiquitous in laboratories around the world, Skloot set out to learn more about the person whose unwitting "donation" of the cells transformed biomedical research in the last century. Her research ultimately spanned a decade and found her navigating (and to some extent, mediating) more than 50 years of rage over the white scientific establishment's cavalier mistreatment and exploitation of the poor, especially African Americans.

Skloot deftly weaves together an account of Lacks's short life (she died at age 31) and torturous death from an extremely aggressive form of cancer; the parallel narrative concerning her cells; and the sometimes harrowing, sometimes amusing chronicle of Skloots's own interactions with Lacks's surviving (and initially hostile and uncooperative) family members. Moving comfortably back and forth in time, the richly textured story that emerges brings into stark relief the human cost of scientific progress and leaves the reader grappling with many unanswered questions about the ethics of the scientific endeavor, past and present. While the goals of biomedical research may be noble, how they are achieved is not always honorable, particularly where commercialization of new technologies is at stake. Skloot offers a clear-eyed perspective, highlighting the brutal irony of a family whose matriarch was a pivotal figure in everything from the development of Jonas Salk's polio vaccine to AIDS research to cancer drugs, yet cannot afford the very medical care their mother's cells helped facilitate, with predictable consequences.

The LA Times book review section named Skloot one of its four "Faces to Watch in 2010," an honor that, based on "The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks" is well-deserved.

Five stars--it was hard to put down this compelling, admirable and eminently readable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Initially hooked, ultimately unfulfilled, October 5, 2011
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks is a book whose content is riveting but whose delivery is, ironically, "lacking" (Lacks-ing?). Skloot deserves credit for doing what no one before her successfully had: creating a cohesive narrative spanning the decades from Henrietta's birth until the present, weaving in plot lines from the scientific and medical communities with more intimate stories about Lacks' family and even about the author's own internal processes. The book begins with titillating stories about Henrietta's childhood and what events transpired to lead her down the path to unwittingly surrendering HeLa cells to Johns Hopkins, and continues by discussing the story of HeLa cells' evolution both literally (genetically) and as a research phenomenon. She does a good job of simplifying potentially overwhelming material for readers of varied scientific backgrounds while still keeping things interesting enough for medical anthropology buffs.

As many other reviewers in the 1-3 star range have noted, it is at this point that the book's quality begins to decline. To be sure, this is in part due to the abrupt shift in content, as the book becomes a familial biography after 150 pages of medical non-fiction. But my personal discomfort reading the latter half of the book grew chiefly out of Skloot's infantilization of the Lacks children (Henrietta's four living children at the time of the book's writing). Skloot issues a caveat early on, which is that errors in grammar/syntax of the dialogue in the book are preserved in order to lend authenticity to the voices of those being interviewed. At first, this made sense to me. There are certainly noticeable differences in speech between north and south, educated and non-educated, rich and poor, and from culture to culture, and all these come to light in The Immortal Life's cataloguing of quotations from the family members. I even appreciated that she had made efforts not to correct the Lacks' manner of speaking, as this would only repeat the disrespects done to them in previous decades, ones it seemed Skloot was hoping to rectify or at least counter with her earnest portrayal of the story.

But I began to feel, after a certain amount of pages of dialogue, as if her sprinkling of broken phrases and malaprops had become gratuitous. It was as if she were beating the reader over the head with a mallet, pounding in, "these people are so poor and messed up they can barely speak English!" A more seasoned reporter with a more sensitive approach might not have felt so compelled. I struggled with the possibility that perhaps, had Skloot *not* constantly relied upon dialogue to make her point, that I wouldn't have understood the utter poverty and destitution of the Lacks. But I believe that descriptions would have better served her purposes, and would have paid more respect not only to the subjects but the reader too -- Skloot should have substituted her weak dialogue with better-written prose paraphrasing conversations, with occasional examples.

Additionally, Skloot depicts herself as the translator between the Lacks and the greater world. She is apparently the one to first explain the meaning of the term "cell," she is the first white person to come into their world as a benevolent force. In her effort to honestly insert her own experience into the writing, Skloot ends up idealizing herself as "Miss Rebecca" without disclosing the irony of these interactions. She describes how Deborah, Lacks' daughter, excitedly dresses all in black so as to resemble Skloot's look for their reporting adventures. She describes how one of the Lacks men cooks her a charred and fat-laden pork chop and trumpets the fact that she ate it to be polite. I believe that I would have felt more comfortable with Skloot's second half of the book if she had admitted and explored her own significance as another white researcher barreling into Clover, VA for self-serving purposes. Her beat-around-the-bush style is frustrating, and makes this reader wish that someone more direct like Joan Didion had edited the book for succinctness. Oh well.

If you are interested in HeLa and its origins, read the book. Just keep your expectations low and consider skimming the last part of the book. As a final thought, I might add to that the reason I give Skloot 3 stars is because I think the book's writing quality is rather fair (so, 2 stars) but her reporting efforts and her willingness to tread on thin ice for many years around the Lacks family are commendable. And also, she has managed to air some dirty laundry that many would not have read about, had the book been marketed too much as a scientific or medical read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 78 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two different books, August 25, 2010
By 
Thomas (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed the first half of the book. It was informative and educational. The second half - not so much. It took a bad turn with the introduction of Deborah and their trip together. The author depicted her as a woman who has the mind of a hyperactive 5 year old with ADD. "Oh my god. . . . I did this to her?" Maybe. Maybe not. The book went from the scientific and factual to the land of superstition and sensationalism I was left with the impression the book was a collage of facts and embellished observations. It's a good idea to leave your readers for a desire for more. I was left with a desire for less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An astonishing scientific, sociological, racial exploration--and an engrossing work of art, December 28, 2009
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Rebecca Skloot's story of Henrietta Lacks and her cancerous HeLa cells is both a fascinating history and an engrossing work of art. The book combines sharp science writing with some of the best creative nonfiction techniques and a heartbreaking story. The result is a stunning portrayal of twentieth century medicine, science, race, and class like nothing I've ever read before.

Skloot skillfully interweaves the saga of a poor young black mother and her children with an elucidation of the almost primitive-seeming medical practices that were once customary, and the culturing and dissemination of the woman's cancer cells (unbeknownst to her or her relatives) around the world. This was a period when even paying patients were seldom if ever asked for consent and frequently experimented on without their knowledge. Skloot brings to life not only Henrietta's tragedy but also her own quest with Henrietta's daughter to find the woman behind the HeLa cells and the incredible accomplishments those cells have made possible. Just about all of us on the planet have benefited, while medical corporations have made billions and Henrietta's children received not one cent.

A disturbing and even haunting aspect of the situation is that the 'Immortal Life' involved here is not that of Henrietta's cells alone but rather of her cells overcome and transformed by the terribly aggressive cancer that killed her. That is what has lived on and been used in thousands of experiments and inadvertently contaminated other cells lines around the world, replicating so much times that one scientist estimated all the HeLa produced (laid end to end) could circle the earth more than five times.

As the author states in her opening, the history of Henrietta Lacks, her cells, and the way the medical establishment treated her family raises critical questions about scientific research, ethics, race, and class. It's also a supremely engrossing story and one that taught me more about race in America, medical ethics, science, and what makes writing matter than anything I've read in years. Original in scope and presentation, personal, thought provoking, and even profound, this is the kind of nonfiction that rarely comes along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


263 of 326 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 star story, February 17, 2010
Just so id doesn't sound like I damn this book with faint praise, let me say that this was an excellent story told well (for the most part). I'll save the synopsis for others. Needless to say, Henrietta Lacks' story is just as gripping as the science that was done with her cells. You will most likely enjoy her story (as I did).

My criticisms:

The author spends a rather substantial portion of the book describing her own efforts. It didn't add to Henrietta's story and leaving it out would have made for a better, more concise narrative.

Black people were treated inhumanely to say the least (go look up the Tuskeegee Syphilis Study, for example). At the risk of sounding callous, this is well trod ground and some of it could also have been omitted for the sake of brevity without losing any of the story's impact.

Lastly, there is an implicit condemnation of the doctors that took her cells (the author does say that this was "common practice" at the time). I can tell you that as a former cancer patient who has been biopsied more times than I care to remember, once a doctor removes something from you, it's gone. They are not going to pay you for it.

Those criticism aside, this is a worthy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suffers from "authorized biography" syndrome, but good, May 18, 2010
As I write this, I am the 210th reviewer, so I'll spare you the plot. I will say that the author gave herself several assignments:

Bring Henrietta Lacks to life as a person, not just the unwitting contributor to scientific research

Frame HeLa cells so that the non-scientist will understand, and the scientist will not get ticked off

Show that the family was hurt by the harvest of HeLa cells, and that they deserve monetary compensation for all the cells continue to do

Show the story of the author's (good lord!) ten years of research

Henrietta was a tragic figure with or without HeLa cells. Her inbred, uneducated family was in crisis before even she was born. While the author tells a good story about her life, anybody's life, well-told, is interesting. Because she would lose cooperation if she criticized them, Skloot had to tread with care. So there's not a whisper of anger about Day (her 19 year old cousin) impregnating 14-year-old Henrietta, giving her multiple STDs, or the violence in the family (some of it even from Henrietta). Did Day rape her? While the law may have been different long ago, there is no state in the US where the age of consent is as young as 14, and age differences between partners affect the seriousness of the crime. (Similarly, the fact that "stalking" didn't even have a definition until recently did not make it ethically right before there was a law against it.) Day was 5 years older than Henrietta.. In addition, it later was part of her medical record that Henrietta disliked sex. Yes, Day raped his cousin.

The author's doggedness in her research is impressive, and the trust she engenders is, as well. Even if not a penny of the book comes to the family, Skloot has done them a favor by giving answers they not only would not have found, but would not think to ask.

Skloot succeeds unevenly. I'm just not convinced the family is entitled to anything. Do Jenner's descendents get money from people who didn't die of smallpox? Or from those who sold smallpox vaccinations? And Jenner was even aware of what he was doing. The Lacks family had no knowledge and very little interest in the good HeLa cells could do, even toward the end seemingly more interested in whether Henrietta could be thought of as immortal because of the cells than in the difference they could make.

But it's a good story. You care about the family by the end. And the science is well-told. A good book that makes me think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot (Audio CD - February 2, 2010)
$35.00 $23.05
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.