Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, astonishing, readable
I defy you to read this book without being amazed and impressed. When 8 whaling ships and about 300 men became trapped in the ice off the coast of Alaska in 1897, they were well and truly stuck. They couldn't tweet for help, they couldn't phone for reinforcements, they couldn't be flown out; food couldn't be dropped to them....would they be left to freeze or starve...
Published 21 months ago by M. Knapp

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting tale
I had not heard this story before and enjoyed reading about the rescue, especially about the reindeer and the generosity of the native people.
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, astonishing, readable, October 17, 2012
This review is from: The Impossible Rescue: The True Story of an Amazing Arctic Adventure (Hardcover)
I defy you to read this book without being amazed and impressed. When 8 whaling ships and about 300 men became trapped in the ice off the coast of Alaska in 1897, they were well and truly stuck. They couldn't tweet for help, they couldn't phone for reinforcements, they couldn't be flown out; food couldn't be dropped to them....would they be left to freeze or starve? Thanks to the Overland Relief Expedition and the bravery of men, women and animals, most of the men were saved. Author Martin Sandler tells a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat, giving full credit to the brave Americans and native people of Alaska, and not sidestepping the less-than-honorable way that a few of the men behaved. Dogs and reindeer also pay a dear price so that the men may safely return when the ice breaks up. Any young reader (and a surprising number of adults) will thrill to this story, accompanied by a great number of photographs taken by a member of the expedition. Sandler includes endnotes to tell what happened to some of the key players later in life, and includes source notes that make this an excellent teaching tool as well as a riveting story in its own right. Highly recommended for readers moved by Shackleton's icy adventures, those interested in the Iditarod, or anyone generally interested in survival stories.
About me: I'm a middle school/high school librarian
How I got this book: Sent to me by the publisher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an amazing photographic memorial to this amazing rescue attempt. For Teens and Adults!, November 7, 2012
This review is from: The Impossible Rescue: The True Story of an Amazing Arctic Adventure (Hardcover)
Reason for Reading: This book covers many of my interests; the time period, true tales of survival and life in the Arctic. I had not hear of this true story and it appealed to me.

When first setting eyes upon this book, the thing that strikes one is the coffee-table book appeal. The book is an over-sized square and illustrated on almost every page with contemporary photographs taken by one of the rescue members, Dr. Call, from start to finish. This is an amazing photographic memorial to this amazing rescue attempt. Nothing like it had ever been attempted before but public outcry at the dire strands these hundreds of whalers were caught up in prompted then President McKinley to form a rescue mission with objectives but no true sense of how these objectives were to be met. That was left up to the handful of men eventually left in charge of the overland rescue mission.

An enthralling story to read about, the whalers were often there own worst problem as the cold, hunger and lethargy left them with low morale and little sense of self-preservation. Sandler has presented the tale by using the rescuers' own words as much as possible. Culled from their own journals which they kept upon this journey. Sandler himself does not have exactly the most favourable voice for telling a story and the segues he's written connecting the contemporary voices can be a bit dry; but fortunately the rescuers do most of the story telling. An extremely harrowing journey and rescue which, in reality, had very little chance at success, yet due to the character and determination of those involved succeeded despite the odds. The publisher recommends for Gr. 5+, personally due to the writing style I would recommend most for Gr. 7+. However, it makes a fine read for history or adventure buffs of all ages interested in the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True adventure story at its best!, December 12, 2012
This review is from: The Impossible Rescue: The True Story of an Amazing Arctic Adventure (Hardcover)
This truly is an amazing story and a fascinating read! The story is told precisely and interestingly; I didn't want to put the book down. The layout is attractive, with wide margins and black and white photos which enhance the atmosphere of the arctic landscape. An excellent book for students who "need to read a non-fiction book as a prelude to a research project" (an actual assignment for the eigth grade in our town). It's the type of grand adventure book you want to curl up with on the couch, but it's too large and heavy to do that with--that's the only regrettable thing about this book. The maps are fascinating; I'd never heard a story like this before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great true story of determination and courage, July 9, 2014
By 
Andrew M Ebel (Milwaukee, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This book has some incredible pictures and tells a tale that is incredibly remarkable. You should read this book today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars we don't hear of this kind of story often enough, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great read about great people and a unbelievable trip in unbelievable weather conditions. Be sure to let others know of this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to put down, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gripping adventure story about the Arctic, told with attention to personalities, events, and politics. The author's awareness of the courage and hardships of native peoples is touching and informative. You can't imagine how these brave men can hope to accomplish the rescue--the obstacles of wind, weather, and ice just seem too great. The book teaches the reader a lot about the harsh Arctic climate and about, of course, the dogs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impossible but true adventure. Well written and insightful of the whaling life, April 30, 2014
By 
Lyle M. Forsberg (The Woodlands, TX USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
5 stars for historical accuracy and colorful descriptions of a time long gone. Shows the best side of man and weaker side that surfaces when confronted by daunting circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Puts our winter into perspective, February 24, 2014
This is another book that turned out to be geared towards kids. Adults shouldn’t let that keep them from reading it though. It’s an awe-inspiring, gripping, edge-of-your-seat read that practically demands a warm blankey and mug of cocoa to go with it. Suddenly our Chicagoland winter doesn’t seem nearly so bad by comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Edge-of-Your-Seat Story, December 28, 2013
By 
Julie (Los Olivos, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Impossible Rescue: The True Story of an Amazing Arctic Adventure (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my son, who absolutely loved it and recommended I read it too. It's an incredible story of survival and human spirit. The descriptive nature of Mr. Sandler's writing really makes you feel how desperate, cold, isolated and nearly hopeless the situation must have been. For kids today, it's a real chance to see how much the human spirit can muster when needed, especially in light of the lack of technological advances we have today. Well-done Mr. Sandler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Historic read, December 22, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Need 2 more words....LOL...I I enjoyed this book. Lots of history.. Learned Lot about the era and pro elms they encountered .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Impossible Rescue: The True Story of an Amazing Arctic Adventure
The Impossible Rescue: The True Story of an Amazing Arctic Adventure by Martin W. Sandler (Hardcover - September 11, 2012)
$22.99 $16.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.