Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one book we need for our job ahead
We must all, each and every American, thank Penguin for assembling this great collection of historic American essays and speeches, above all the charter our President has made with our people.

President Barack Hussein Obama pledges: "We remain a young nation, but in the words of Scripture, the time has come to set aside childish things. The time has come to...
Published on February 5, 2009 by C. Scanlon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Edition is not the same as the Print version
The Kindle Edition of this text only contains President Obama's speech and not President Lincolns. This is not clear if you selected 'Kindle Edition' from the print version.
Published on December 2, 2011 by Yonteia


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one book we need for our job ahead, February 5, 2009
This review is from: The Inaugural Address, 2009: Together with Abraham Lincoln's First and Second Inaugural Addresses and The Gettysburg Address and Ralph Waldo Emerson's Self-Reliance (Hardcover)
We must all, each and every American, thank Penguin for assembling this great collection of historic American essays and speeches, above all the charter our President has made with our people.

President Barack Hussein Obama pledges: "We remain a young nation, but in the words of Scripture, the time has come to set aside childish things. The time has come to reaffirm our enduring spirit; to choose our better history; to carry forward that precious gift, that noble idea, passed on from generation to generation: the God-given promise that all are equal, all are free and all deserve a chance to pursue their full measure of happiness."

Thusly does our President set the difficult path we must walk in order to survive and to serve.

In this volume we may study carefully the brilliant words of our President, words each true American takes to heart, simple words from a brilliant leader. We find cornerstone phrases from past American leaders, in particular the Gettysburg Address, an earnest and simple cry for peace spoken by President Abraham Lincoln in the very heart of horrible war. We find here as well President Lincoln's First and Second Inaugural Addresses.

Above all we may here once more, and with renewed urgency, meditate the great essay by early American Transcendentalist philosopher and preacher, Ralph Waldo Emerson on Self-Reliance, an early indication of the heart and the spirit of America we do very well to restore, in order to restore our nation along the plan outlined in President Obama's great Inaugural Address.

We are fortunate therefore to find gathered under one cover these quintessentially American addresses, a collection which must grace each American hearth for daily reflection in these coming days.

Read this book. Every home in America must have this one book. Certainly we can watch President Obama's First Inaugural Address on the Internet, probably even on youtube, but we cannot hold it in our heart and hands as we can this book, with family and friends and loved ones gathered about us. We must read this book; we must read it together, and we must work together for the fulfillment of this dream for our survival in hope. As our President puts it so very well:

"With hope and virtue, let us brave once more the icy currents, and endure what storms may come. Let it be said by our children's children that when we were tested we refused to let this journey end, that we did not turn back nor did we falter; and with eyes fixed on the horizon and God's grace upon us, we carried forth that great gift of freedom and delivered it safely to future generations.

Thank you. God bless you. And God bless the United States of America."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading Material and Keepsake, April 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Inaugural Address, 2009: Together with Abraham Lincoln's First and Second Inaugural Addresses and The Gettysburg Address and Ralph Waldo Emerson's Self-Reliance (Hardcover)
This is a great book and it has become a part of my library. This book will always be christened and one in which I will not loan to anyone. I will save this book for my grandchildren and great grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barak Obama's Inaugural address etc, April 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Inaugural Address, 2009: Together with Abraham Lincoln's First and Second Inaugural Addresses and The Gettysburg Address and Ralph Waldo Emerson's Self-Reliance (Hardcover)
It is a wonderful keepsake to have for future generations. Small and compact. I am very satisfield with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Edition is not the same as the Print version, December 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Kindle Edition of this text only contains President Obama's speech and not President Lincolns. This is not clear if you selected 'Kindle Edition' from the print version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great time in history!, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Inaugural Address, 2009: Together with Abraham Lincoln's First and Second Inaugural Addresses and The Gettysburg Address and Ralph Waldo Emerson's Self-Reliance (Hardcover)
This represents a great time in history and therefore is worth being a keepsake. I will be handing this down to my grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of histry, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's wonderful to have these works of Lincoln and Obama combined for the appreciation of the public.
The Gettysburg address in particular is still a stirring speech.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History in the making, February 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Inaugural Address, 2009: Together with Abraham Lincoln's First and Second Inaugural Addresses and The Gettysburg Address and Ralph Waldo Emerson's Self-Reliance (Hardcover)
This little book is a great way to remember this historical election. After enjoying it myself, I will put it away for my grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For Sale?, March 9, 2009
My review is not so much about the 'book' as it is about selling yet more of the now President Obama's words. Is the money going to charity or a worthy cause? Seriously...one has to wonder what is not for sale anymore. This ought to be free, in fact, you would think he would demand it be free. After all, then everyone could 'equally' be free to acquire it if they so choose. i ind this gimmicky and cheesy to SELL his speech. Who does that? Oh yeah...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.