Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic stuff!, November 17, 2011
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
Short lazy bare bones review: This is the British import edition of "The Incal Classic Collection", containing the complete series by Moebius and Alejandro Jodorowsky. Like The Incal Classic Collection" this book uses the original colors, which are much better than the ones used in some other editions. This book is considered a classic in Continental Europe. Great art, and Jodorowsky's writing is funnier and more accessible than in some of his more... ahem.. rambling and slightly confusing works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, January 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
The Incal is a book that I've heard much about over the years, and it was thrilling to finally be able to read it in English, uncensored and with its original coloring. The story is a fun, lighthearted, romp--very European, very Heavy Metal--that never quite does the magnificent art justice. The book features no introduction or back matter, which is a little surprising, as some historical context for the story and its influence on sci-fi cinema would be welcome. Also, the trim size seems a bit small, and I think the wonderfully detailed art, as well as the lettering, could have benefitted from a larger size. Overall, a nice book, and if you're a fan of Moebius--a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UK edition has bookmark!, March 1, 2014
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
The text of this UK edition is apparently identical with the US edition, with the same translators, and a one-page intro by Brian Michael Bendis. I don't know if the US edition has one, but this UK edition has a sturdy woven ribbon-type bookmark bound in - it's golden yellow (at least in my copy). Very classy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, February 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
SUper good stuff! Moebius is a true genius. This book is the bomb in everyway possible. Read dis comic NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
Jodorowsky and Moebius are a unique team. The end result is both exotic and familiar. Plausible characters in fantastic situations make this a must have for any sci-fi or graphic novel fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, April 19, 2013
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
Can't recommend this more for fans of sci fi and/or space opera. It's a quirky, fast paced story that jumps from the fantastical to the baffling in a roller coaster ride of adventure and humour, and all illustrated by the master Moebius who creates another at once familiar and alien Universe. This is highly regarded as one of the greatest graphic novels ever and I can see why, it's just a great read and a great introduction to the work of both Moebius and Jodorowsky. This hardcover edition is awesome, printed on slick paper, well bound; for the price you can't go wrong! Just get it already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for the book, June 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
I have been curious to read this for awhile, I enjoyed it very much. Once again thanks for the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., December 5, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
Firstly, I'd like to apologise if this review sounds like total gibberish. I've just finished this book and had to take the time to review it. This work has affected me on a much deeper level than anything I've read in a long time. Wow! Just wow!

(Heavy Spoilers)

Wow. Wow. Wow.

At first, I thought this book was a crazy, trippy sci-fi adventure. And while it is that, it's so, so much more.

We start this story with our main character, John DiFool, coming into possession of the White Incal. It appears that everyone wants it because of the power it has. The next few chapters have him running from those who seek to possess the Incal.

The white Incal has an opposite - the black Incal, and when the two come together, they create an almighty, omnipotent entity that guides the main characters through the story. They create God, Allah (insert deity here). The unification of the black and white Incal is everything. Together they are the highest consciousness.

During the story, a darkness is spreading and the main characters are driven to fight it. There are seven main characters in total, but the POV character is the everyman John DiFool.

As the darkness spreads, it turns out that the only way to survive is for humanity to come together as one. To evolve into a collective consciousness. The way humanity can do this is to fall into a meditative state called the Theta Dream. With only 22 days to make it happen, John DiFool tries to escape and sate his base human desires for sex and intoxication, but his destiny is greater than that. Humanity's destiny is greater than that.

It's John who's tasked with going to a planet of 87 billion humans, that he spawned, to convince them to enter the Theta Dream. He's met with the scepticism of those detached from their own spirituality, possibly a representation of society as it is now. But he eventually persuades them.

Once the humans enter this meditative state, we see the seven main characters move to a higher spiritual plain that takes them into the darkness. Behind it is light. All of the characters, other than John, embrace the light and become one with it. Letting go of their temporary physical forms and giving themselves over to the eternal. They understand that their physical manifestation is not who they are. They see how interconnected everything is. John is the only one that resists. I see John as a representation of humanity, holding onto the physicality of his being through fear of losing his individuality, while the others see that loss of individuality as freedom. As evolution.

John meets with God and we see God reborn and returned as a baby. The representation of a new universe born out of the destruction of an old one. John is then sent back to earth with the order to remember his meeting with God. His higher purpose. To remember what humanity is capable of and where we will inevitably go.

I once heard the story of Adam and Eve described as humanity falling from their higher spiritual purpose. As Eve's eating of the forbidden fruit representing humanity succumbing to material and base desires rather than higher spiritual ones. Reading The Incal made me think of this interpretation. John DiFool is humanity out of touch with spirituality. John DiFool is Adam. The story in the Incal is one of human evolution. Of our inevitable evolution. Our inevitable awakening.

This book blew my mind. My only criticism is that it will make so many other works feel empty by comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really iconic piece - a relic of the 80s, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Incal (Hardcover)
This is an incredibly complex work to review - the art is masterful, while I could only read a little at a time as the story hurt my brain a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is far better than star wars, March 28, 2008
It is THE science finction comic. The best, and one that will be copied and referred to in many years from now. Hollywood is lazy. This is THE best sci-fi tale, and the most action packed one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Incal
The Incal by Alejandro Jodorowsky (Hardcover - October 1, 2011)
Used & New from: $1,995.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.