Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre Supernatural Thriller. Hide Your Women
Scorpion Releasing continues their Katarina's Nightmare Theater line with this (unfortunately bare bones) release, in the form of a forgotten supernatural thriller called The Incubus (not the Shatner flick).

As previously stated, the plot is rediculously simple (not to mention just plain rediculous). A rapist/murderer whom may or may not be of supernatural...
Published 22 months ago by Herbert West

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Painful Horror
Along with your precious time, this bottom-of-the-barrel Canadian production wastes the presence of John Cassavetes. Even John Ireland deserves better than exploitative rubbish. "The Incubus" (1982) is recommended only for the most indiscriminate horror fan.
Published on November 18, 2011 by Scott T. Rivers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre Supernatural Thriller. Hide Your Women, February 14, 2013
By 
Herbert West (The Rabbit Hole) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Incubus (Katarina's Nightmare Theater) (1982) (DVD)
Scorpion Releasing continues their Katarina's Nightmare Theater line with this (unfortunately bare bones) release, in the form of a forgotten supernatural thriller called The Incubus (not the Shatner flick).

As previously stated, the plot is rediculously simple (not to mention just plain rediculous). A rapist/murderer whom may or may not be of supernatural descent is running around raping and murdering women. None of this is shown on-screen of course otherwise we all would have heard of this bizarre lil' film. In fact, don't expect anything in the way of action or gore. The focus of this film is the hunt for the killer so there is dialogue-a-plenty. Mix in some corny occult references and the occasional flashback of some kind of ritualistic sacrifice, and you have yourself a daisy of a confusing film here. Katarina herself does her usual silly open and closing segments, but that is the only extras you will find here.

But really, does any of that matter? If you have been following Scorpion Releasing's genre offerings from the last year or so, you are well aware that their current focus is to dig up the most grimy, sleazy lost films they can. In that respect, they are doing just fine and I've been happy to see these crazy films which, while non of them winners or classics in their own right, are perfect for making your girlfriend question your taste in films.

The Incubus is another great late-night film and the ending was pretty clever, if not a bit abrupt. If you are a hardcore horror film aficionado and feel you have it all, this is a great title that will undoubtedly stand out in your collection. Just be forewarned, this is not really a horror film, no more than American Nightmare was. Thriller seems to fit the overall subject matter here.

I'm looking forward to their next release, Human Experiments. Keep it up Scorpion Releasing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't deserve it's bad reputation!, July 16, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Incubus (DVD)
I just finished watching this movie on DVD and I simply don't understand why it has such so-so reviews. Cassavetes gives a fine performance(as usual), it's violent and gory, and the ending is nice and twisted. I miss horror films like this and wish more were made. Too many folks now have been spoonfed junk by the likes of Wes Craven and company for over the past 15 years, which has unfortunately caused some movie goers to expect flash, dumb characters, stupid stories and highly marketable villians. Of course I'm not saying that this film is high art or anything but it is highly creepy, has some nice camera work, good performances, and doesn't treat the audience like they were a four year old. If you haven't seen it then give it a look. You might like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Painful Horror, November 18, 2011
This review is from: The Incubus (DVD)
Along with your precious time, this bottom-of-the-barrel Canadian production wastes the presence of John Cassavetes. Even John Ireland deserves better than exploitative rubbish. "The Incubus" (1982) is recommended only for the most indiscriminate horror fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT PLOT., August 25, 2008
This review is from: The Incubus (VHS Tape)
I WATCHED THIS MOVIE IN THE THEATRE AND WAS VERY SATISFIED WITH IT.
THE PLOT RUNS GOOD.THIS MOVIE CAN KEEP YOU GUESSING...WHO IS THE INCUBUS.
A REMARKABLE FILM.FIVE STARS ALL THE WAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A great date movie . . . . . ., February 23, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Incubus (DVD)
Not really, unless you have some very strange dates. I first saw this movie on an afternoon horror/sci fi theater program on commercial television, and found it intriguing and also wondered what the movie actually was like without all the commercials and station breaks. After watching it, I am glad it is available on DVD. However, the movie has wooden acting, somewhat repetitious in the murders and the blood special effects are poor. The movie takes place in New England, but the car of the main character has Wisconsin license plates. A man shoots off his foot, but is thrown out the side of a building showing both feet intact. But, after all this is a B-movie and still enjoyable. There is obviously a red herring in the plot but you may or may not figure it out. I am not sorry I bought the DVD as it is a good example of movies of its type (for horror content and when made). I only wish it were a bit less costly. It is not a high budget movie and does not have Oscar quality acting, but then I didn't expect it to have anything different. A worthwhile addition for one who is collecting movies of its type. Certainly a cut above the rest for movies of its type made in the early 1980's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the Blair Witch Project !!!, December 9, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Incubus (DVD)
This early 80's indy horror classic holds up surprisingly well. Sure its pretty low budget but John Hough's brilliant direction and creative camera use makes the most out of a so so screenplay.The Incubus isnt shown until the end of the film and the Make up on it is pretty Cool looking. John Cassavette's performance is pretty solid and darkly brooding easily over shadowing the lesser acting talents here. I dont want to give away the cool twist ending but,they should have shown Cassavette's ripping some sh_t up after the revelation of the Incubus!!! That would have rocked...;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Thoroughly Repulsive Waste of Time, September 30, 2014
By 
Jack Shatter (Chicago, Illinois) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Incubus (Katarina's Nightmare Theater) (1982) (DVD)
I am fond of good and many not-so-good horror movies. I can honestly say, this movie should never have been made. The supernatural is a good source for scary material, but when you blend it with the subject of rape-murders, the result is very distasteful. Also, it is brainless, suggesting that witch hunts, and putting witches on torture racks, were events of a few decades ago. I squirmed to see the great John Cassavetes in this miserable slop. It was doubtlessly to fund his own filmmaking projects. There are many worthy horror pictures, do not see this stinker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good childhood, great times!, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Incubus (Katarina's Nightmare Theater) (1982) (DVD)
It brought me back to the 1980's.good times,&they don't make movies like they use to. .. and Facebook nor Twitter OMG...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Revelation. The Warning. My Review., February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Incubus (Katarina's Nightmare Theater) (1982) (DVD)
Women are being raped and murdered in the small town of Galen and Dr. Sam Cordell (John Cassavetes) is feverishly working to find out who is responsible. Director John Hough (The Legend Of Hell House, Twins Of Evil (Blu-ray/DVD Combo Pack)) is able to generate some decent suspense in the attack scenes and the haunted small town atmosphere definitely works in the film's favor. The score by Stanley Myers is also quite good, helping to build the anticipation and the dread. Speaking of music, Bruce Dickinson of Iron Maiden makes an appearance along with his old band Samson. Cassavetes is a bit unlikable as Dr. Cordell, coming across very gruff and at times, borderline hostile. That's not a deal breaker for me but some may be put off by the performance. Kerrie Keane as Laura Kincaid is a bit stiff. Her delivery of the line, "I don't like to be berated by Hank!" stands out as a particularly bad line delivery. One can sympathize, dear Laura, nobody likes to be berated by HANK! On a side note, the film also features Harvey Atkin, who some may remember as Morty in Meatballs. Thankfully his character is played straight. Erin Noble as Dr. Cordell's daughter Jenny is a bit flat too, but to be fair, she isn't given much to do in the film. Despite the false notes, I still liked this movie. It's not perfect but it does generate a few chills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not your average horror film., December 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Incubus (Katarina's Nightmare Theater) (1982) (DVD)
Nasty horror film about an ancient demon who sexually assaults and murders women. John Cassavetes stars as the person out to solve the case and stop the demon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Incubus (Katarina's Nightmare Theater) (1982)
Used & New from: $26.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.