Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff !!!
A real Innovator's Toolkit that should be in the backpack of anyone who fancies themself a facilitator or change agent. Chocker-block full of both well-known tools and as well as new ideas and concepts on how to apply them. The why (theory) and how (application/techniques) of each of the of the 50 tools is clearly explained step-by-step. A first-class extra for...
Published on August 28, 2009 by Rolf Smith

versus
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
This book presents many useful tools for Innovation with many of them focusing on the front end of innovation. However, one should have a broad understanding of the innovation process before applying these tools. For example, applying six-sigma to the front end of innovation would result in total failure as was noted by I believe it was GE.
This book is well...
Published on March 30, 2009 by Brian Glassman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, March 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Innovator's Toolkit: 50+ Techniques for Predictable and Sustainable Organic Growth (Hardcover)
This book presents many useful tools for Innovation with many of them focusing on the front end of innovation. However, one should have a broad understanding of the innovation process before applying these tools. For example, applying six-sigma to the front end of innovation would result in total failure as was noted by I believe it was GE.
This book is well organized by tool types, but again I would only recommend applying these tools if you have a firm and strong understanding of the innovation process, because I have came across in the book many occasions were they recommend a tool but I would not. I would recommend buying because it is a great reference!
Brian Glassman

Ph.D in Innovation management from Purdue
Innovation Management
Commercialization
Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff !!!, August 28, 2009
By 
Rolf Smith (Fredericksburg, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Innovator's Toolkit: 50+ Techniques for Predictable and Sustainable Organic Growth (Hardcover)
A real Innovator's Toolkit that should be in the backpack of anyone who fancies themself a facilitator or change agent. Chocker-block full of both well-known tools and as well as new ideas and concepts on how to apply them. The why (theory) and how (application/techniques) of each of the of the 50 tools is clearly explained step-by-step. A first-class extra for innovation practitioners and facilitators are the downloadable blank versions of forms for many of the tools at [...] The authors give some excellent models of how people solve problems by describing four "classes" of problems: (1) Well-defined problems; (2) Well-defined - but unclear and requiring exploration; (3) Solution clear but the problem is fuzzy -new applications for existing solutions; (4) problem and solutions both undefined - unknown territory. Taking how people PREFER to solve thoses classes of problems to the next level, the authors provide some insights into cognitive style in the context of both of individuals and teams. An overview of KAI (Kirton Adaption-Innovation) theory helps explain differences between more adpative and more innovative problem solving styles. Tools and techniques range from simple, easy to use to the more complex that require more time and skilled facilitation (i.e., deeper knowledge and understanding).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice overview of innovation tools, January 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Innovator's Toolkit: 50+ Techniques for Predictable and Sustainable Organic Growth (Hardcover)
I found the book useful as a general reference. It covers a lot of tools for innovation, but in a very general sense. If I need/want details, I can look up other refs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, poor execution, September 6, 2010
This review is from: The Innovator's Toolkit: 50+ Techniques for Predictable and Sustainable Organic Growth (Hardcover)
Innovation is a subject that attracts a lot of attention now that companies struggle to size a shrinking market and consumers with less buying power than previous years. The idea of a compendium of the Innovation tools and techniques is very interesting for people tasked with the creation of new sources of revenue. The book comes from that foundamental idea, but the content is too shallow to even support a deep exploration into any of the methdologies. No comparative analysis between methodologies or use case scenarios, no best fit or recommendations; just a simple description (and sometimes less than that). It would be close to impossible to achieve expert skills from a single book, but a guidanece for further exploration is not new for many subjects. Great idea, poor execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovator's Toolkit Review, December 22, 2008
By 
Rene Kapik (Mountain Top, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Innovator's Toolkit: 50+ Techniques for Predictable and Sustainable Organic Growth (Hardcover)
This is an excellent summary of innovation tools. I did feel that many of the tools were repackaged TRIZ concepts, but despite that it is an excellent introduction, as well as a great reference on how to perform many important tools. I did appreciate their comments on several tools where it would be best to have a expert facilitate using the tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally - an Actionable Innovation Book!, November 12, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Innovator's Toolkit: 50+ Techniques for Predictable and Sustainable Organic Growth (Hardcover)
The day after I received "The Innovator's Toolkit" I was already putting the concept of "Jobs to be Done" to good use while facilitating a team meeting. As the authors mention in the preface, there is a dearth of actionable Innovation books in the market and this book succeeds in filling that void. The Innovator's Toolkit, authored by the CEO and Chief Innovation Officer at Breakthrough Management Group, is yet another example of this consulting firm's track record of fulfilling the unmet needs of forward thinking leaders in the private and public sectors. I highly recommend "The Innovator's Toolkit".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More examples of using the technique, November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Innovator's Toolkit: 50+ Techniques for Predictable and Sustainable Organic Growth (Hardcover)
The techniques are ok, but sometimes I desired more details and more examples about the form of using the technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Practical and Challenging!, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Innovator's Toolkit: 50+ Techniques for Predictable and Sustainable Organic Growth (Hardcover)
This book is one of the best in terms of creativity and business innovation. The tools are explained briefly and synthetic, showing when to be used and the expected results. The authors don't use a lot of talk: they go straight to the point.

However, I felt that some tools were somewhat complex and its presentation only scratch the surface - which caused some misunderstandings. The literature sources could also be more numerous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource, May 28, 2013
This review is from: The Innovator's Toolkit: 50+ Techniques for Predictable and Sustainable Organic Growth (Hardcover)
If you are wanting to innovate then the Innovator's Toolkit book needs to be on your list. Clear, concise with great diagrams & illustrations, this book takes you through the key tools required for innovation. In addition to describing the latest innovation techniques, the authors describe why so many companies have problems innovating, where to look for creativity and how to go beyond the job to be done. It is good to be reminded that innovation is not something magical but is a process and should be the concern of everyone in the business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Resource, December 11, 2012
This review is from: The Innovator's Toolkit: 50+ Techniques for Predictable and Sustainable Organic Growth (Hardcover)
As a person whose job duties have transformed - more than once - to respond to my organization's needs in a shifting industry, the possibility of being an innovator has been seemed to be an opportunity just out of reach. What does it mean, after all, to be innovative? I've found most of the people I know have a variety of answers to that question. My own ideas on the subject have drifted with each input.

The Innovator's Toolkit provided me stability on the subject. It gives a sound perspective on what innovation is and should be for companies. The examples add depth and help my understanding of the subject.

The techniques - which fill the majority of the book - represent a great resource. It's like the toolbox I found in my great uncle's garage many years ago. There were tools that I recognized and some I had not seen much less used. The important thing is there were lots of tools.

The Innovator's Toolkit resembles that toolbox. There are tools familiar (Stakeholder Management is one this former PR manager recognized) and new (Morphological Matrix - wouldn't have thought of that one). The important thing is there are lots of tools.

I'd recommend this book to anyone looking for a fresh perspective on innovation as well as a resource of tools that can help in a variety of situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Innovator's Toolkit: 50+ Techniques for Predictable and Sustainable Organic Growth
Used & New from: $1.67
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.