Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on August 28, 2009
A real Innovator's Toolkit that should be in the backpack of anyone who fancies themself a facilitator or change agent. Chocker-block full of both well-known tools and as well as new ideas and concepts on how to apply them. The why (theory) and how (application/techniques) of each of the of the 50 tools is clearly explained step-by-step. A first-class extra for innovation practitioners and facilitators are the downloadable blank versions of forms for many of the tools at [...] The authors give some excellent models of how people solve problems by describing four "classes" of problems: (1) Well-defined problems; (2) Well-defined - but unclear and requiring exploration; (3) Solution clear but the problem is fuzzy -new applications for existing solutions; (4) problem and solutions both undefined - unknown territory. Taking how people PREFER to solve thoses classes of problems to the next level, the authors provide some insights into cognitive style in the context of both of individuals and teams. An overview of KAI (Kirton Adaption-Innovation) theory helps explain differences between more adpative and more innovative problem solving styles. Tools and techniques range from simple, easy to use to the more complex that require more time and skilled facilitation (i.e., deeper knowledge and understanding).
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2011
I have many books on Innovation and product development and this one has many great tools that guide you down the path of creating a great new product or service. Many of the tools are not new, but they are presented in a logical format that helps keep you on track. I use this a reference in some of the classes that I teach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
As a person whose job duties have transformed - more than once - to respond to my organization's needs in a shifting industry, the possibility of being an innovator has been seemed to be an opportunity just out of reach. What does it mean, after all, to be innovative? I've found most of the people I know have a variety of answers to that question. My own ideas on the subject have drifted with each input.

The Innovator's Toolkit provided me stability on the subject. It gives a sound perspective on what innovation is and should be for companies. The examples add depth and help my understanding of the subject.

The techniques - which fill the majority of the book - represent a great resource. It's like the toolbox I found in my great uncle's garage many years ago. There were tools that I recognized and some I had not seen much less used. The important thing is there were lots of tools.

The Innovator's Toolkit resembles that toolbox. There are tools familiar (Stakeholder Management is one this former PR manager recognized) and new (Morphological Matrix - wouldn't have thought of that one). The important thing is there are lots of tools.

I'd recommend this book to anyone looking for a fresh perspective on innovation as well as a resource of tools that can help in a variety of situations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2008
The day after I received "The Innovator's Toolkit" I was already putting the concept of "Jobs to be Done" to good use while facilitating a team meeting. As the authors mention in the preface, there is a dearth of actionable Innovation books in the market and this book succeeds in filling that void. The Innovator's Toolkit, authored by the CEO and Chief Innovation Officer at Breakthrough Management Group, is yet another example of this consulting firm's track record of fulfilling the unmet needs of forward thinking leaders in the private and public sectors. I highly recommend "The Innovator's Toolkit".
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
If you are wanting to innovate then the Innovator's Toolkit book needs to be on your list. Clear, concise with great diagrams & illustrations, this book takes you through the key tools required for innovation. In addition to describing the latest innovation techniques, the authors describe why so many companies have problems innovating, where to look for creativity and how to go beyond the job to be done. It is good to be reminded that innovation is not something magical but is a process and should be the concern of everyone in the business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2008
This is an excellent summary of innovation tools. I did feel that many of the tools were repackaged TRIZ concepts, but despite that it is an excellent introduction, as well as a great reference on how to perform many important tools. I did appreciate their comments on several tools where it would be best to have a expert facilitate using the tool.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2011
The book describes many techniques that are instantly applicable to many businesses. I found it quite helpful. The book starts paying dividends from the first chapter on "Job To Be Done."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2008
Having previously worked in an highly competitive industry with low margins and very little difference between the main players, I value innovation as the key component of sustaining a business over the long haul.

The difficulty of pursuing innovation is how to share knowledge across an employee base that may have little appetite for concepts that require them to think differently. This is a strong point of the book; Innovator's Toolkit breaks concepts down into digestible pieces that should resonate with almost anyone. Furthermore, Toolkit provides the ability for nearly immediate results with its "How To" format, thereby reinforcing the benefits of innovation out of the starting gate.

The Innovator's Toolkit should be an excellent business gift where the recipient will actually read it and use it as a working tool instead of just weighing down their bookshelf. I give it two big thumbs up and five stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2009
I have read a handful of books on innovation, and I have found that they are invariably heavy on theory and light on real life techniques and tools. What I wanted was more of a "how to" book, which is what this book is. It is a great resource for both people who work full time in the field of innovation, as well as a novice to the field who just wants to learn some tools to find innovative solutions to every day problems one might encounter. I am unaware of any other book that provides easy to understand instruction on the tools related to innovation. This book will help virtually anyone become better at what they do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2009
Many consider Innovation as something that just "magically happens". That's just not true, innovation is a process! This book demonstrates that anyone can be an innovator, provided they have the right tools. The presentation of over 50 methods for innovation assures that you can find something that will work for your organization. This book is highly recommended not only for product, process, and software designers, but also anyone interested in fresh ways to look at old problems. What is stopping your organization from applying these tools to drive organic growth?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse