Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tips - Well Worth The Buy
Underscoring the importance of a college education as well as the fact that financing a college education is no joke, this book provides advice on how best to go about attaining scholarships for tertiary education. Another important point the writer makes is that students don't necessarily have to be straight A students, sports buffs or in the crème de la...
Published on June 17, 2012 by M.A.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars book
I have read a little bit of it and it is what I knew already but may be helpful to those who have Freshman and Sophomores in high school.
Published 10 months ago by Nancy DeFreitas


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tips - Well Worth The Buy, June 17, 2012
This review is from: The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride: Winning $500,000 of scholarships for college was easy, learn how (Paperback)
Underscoring the importance of a college education as well as the fact that financing a college education is no joke, this book provides advice on how best to go about attaining scholarships for tertiary education. Another important point the writer makes is that students don't necessarily have to be straight A students, sports buffs or in the crème de la crème category to earn scholarships. Sure it helps to have a few great accolades tucked under your belt when applying for a scholarship, but I think too many people use that silly myth to deter them from gaining much needed assistance.

This book is great because:

1. It provides life skills that will help readers beyond the process of scholarship applications.
2. It covers the full process of applying (Fasfa, applications, essays, interviews, post-scholarship) and includes secrets that have been vetted by current admission officers.
3. It provides tips to win a lot of money regardless of your current financial situation.

I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide to Free Ride, November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride: Winning $500,000 of scholarships for college was easy, learn how (Paperback)
Some good information in the book. But the real value of the book is the internet addresses given to use in lookin up information. I do not regret buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read if you want to go to college for free, June 28, 2012
This review is from: The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride: Winning $500,000 of scholarships for college was easy, learn how (Paperback)
There are countless books about scholarships online. However, thhis book is different.

What do you do in your freshmen, sophomore, junior, senior year to win a lot of scholarships? Check
How do you swift through the countless scholarships online? Check
Who do you recruit to help guide you throughout your scholarship search? Check
What to include in your story to make sure you stand out? Check
What other things can you do to make sure you stand out? Check

The book has countless other checks that you'll have to read. Hopefully, this review helps, but if not...go read the Preface online at the author's site.

Good luck in your search
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Resource, August 21, 2013
This review is from: The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride: Winning $500,000 of scholarships for college was easy, learn how (Paperback)
This book provides a comprehensive, step by step guide for success in procuring scholarships. The author does a great job of outlining the process for searching and applying to scholarships as well as providing helpful tips on how to differentiate yourself in the application process. In the age of rising tuition costs, This book is a must-have for parents and students who are committed to getting the best possible value for a college education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, July 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride: Winning $500,000 of scholarships for college was easy, learn how (Paperback)
VERY VERY INFORMATIVE ABOUT IT'S SUBJECT ANY STUDENT LOOKING TO GET LOANS AND GRANTS SHOULD GET THIS INFORMATIVE BOOK. I LOVE THIS BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Encouraging and Helpful Book, July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride: Winning $500,000 of scholarships for college was easy, learn how (Paperback)
I was very impressed with this book. As a mom of a son who is currently attending community college and will start at a 4 year university in 2014, the idea of paying full price for college is daunting. The idea of my son having lots of loans to repay after he graduates is even more distasteful. Thanks, Mr. Burns, for the encouraging book and great ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have book!!!, June 10, 2013
This review is from: The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride: Winning $500,000 of scholarships for college was easy, learn how (Paperback)
The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride is a wonderful book that provides invaluable knowledge about how to navigate the scholarship application process , FAFSA, and securing grants. As a college graduate I decided to purchase the book for my younger cousin, and found the information to be current and applicable to all types of students. The author describes how the scholarship process is about telling ones story, and how you don't have to be the straight A student, or the star athlete to win a scholarship. The key is being able to sell your story. What I found most useful was the sections that laid out what students should be doing each year of High School. I would definitely recommend this for individuals going into high school and those that are currently in high school. It is never to early to begin preparing for college, and this book provides an excellent framework for those looking to reduce the cost of a college education. I am very happy that I purchased this book!!!! This Christmas all of my younger cousins will be getting a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence Resource, December 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride: Winning $500,000 of scholarships for college was easy, learn how (Paperback)
The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride has been a great resource to us at The College Preparation Program (College Prep Atlanta). The book clearly and concisely outlines the, often misunderstood, process by which scholarships are awarded. The Insiders Guide breaks down what students and parents should expect when applying for scholarships, and how best to craft a competitive application. This book is not only required reading for the students and parents with whom we work, but it is also one we frequently recommend to schools and organizations looking to prepare students for college. An excellent resource for the college-bound high school student, or the parent attempting to pay for their child's college, The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride gets a perfect score from College Prep Atlanta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Help, October 30, 2012
This review is from: The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride: Winning $500,000 of scholarships for college was easy, learn how (Paperback)
I purchased this book to help find money for schlorships. Great easy read and also entertaining. Wish I found it earlier. Parents with kids in High School need to grab this book! Even though the book was geared more to HS, I did get alot of useful info out of the book. We have started our search and we are keeping our fingers crossed. Thanks Mr. Burns!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, encouraging, impact book that's right on target, June 16, 2012
This review is from: The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride: Winning $500,000 of scholarships for college was easy, learn how (Paperback)
Thank you so much for sharing your book. I have just completed section 4 and it is awesome. I wish we had this information last year when my son started doing essays for scholarships. What a lot of helpful information for the current scholarships that he is working on. This vital information is so much needed. Myself along with other parents are pulling our hair out daily trying to keep our children encouraged and to push them to hunt for scholarships. It has been a headache for me, and I am searching and networking to help my child and I can see him at times being discouraged looking for them. I pray that God will continue to keep his hands on you and keep your mind sharp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Insiders Guide to a Free Ride: Winning $500,000 of scholarships for college was easy, learn how
$14.99 $13.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.