Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Learn more

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 6, 2011
Great, honest, raw and unbelievable events written on every page. Reading this book was like being on an adventure - so blunt and scary one minute and sad and emotional the next. What great insight into the complex ( and not so evident) world of addiction. This book was written wonderfully and I truly enjoyed all of it - I was hooked from the first paragraph ( no pun intended).
A must read for all - you WILL learn something!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2011
The author does an amazing job of telling her story by intertwining them with those of some of the interventions she has done. She has been through it all and has managed to turn it into something positive in her life and now helps countless others, not only addicts but their families as well. This book is a raw uncensored look at the disease of addiction and the havoc it reeks on the addict and those they come in contact with. Yes parts of this book are gut wrenching and sad, but from it comes an understanding of addiction and in a lot of cases the amazing and commendable accomplishment of overcoming the stranglehold of addiction. The author is brutally honest about her own story and holds nothing back, she really is an inspiration!
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2011
Addiction trumps everything. It's a bad habit that persists in the face of negative consequences, and no matter what happens to the addict, the disease will always fight to survive. As Joani Gammill says in "The Interventionist", "I loved my babies as much as any mom in this country; I would walk in front of a truck if it meant my life for theirs, and I still could not stop my addiction."

I've now read fifty-something books about or related to addiction, and "The Interventionist" is one of the the best books yet. Gammill recounts the tale of her own life as a middle class wife, mother, and RN who became severely addicted to the pharmaceutical drugs she was constantly around. Woven into her own story is her experiences as an interventionist after she recovered with the help of the Dr. Phil show.

Gammill became a professional doctor shopper and even underwent unneeded root canals in order to obtain narcotics. She finally started to recover after frantically e-mailing Dr. Phil one night, and a chain of events were set in motion that eventually allowed her most horrible experiences to become her most prized assets. As as interventionist, she's learned many things along the way, such as, 1) spouses cannot get sober alone as a general rule; the whole family has to be involved, 2) two things that deter people from getting well are wealth and youth, and 3) never fight denial; you will not win. An addict will not seek or accept treatment if he doesn't believe he has a problem.

The definition of an addict is much broader than most people realize. With an ever-growing, pharmaceutical abusing middle class, "The Interventionist" is a must read for anyone wanting to understand addiction better. This story exemplifies the Khaled Husseini quote that, "...true redemption is when guilt leads to good."

David Allan Reeves
Author of "Running Away From Me"
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2011
5 stars! Must read for anyone who has a loved one dealing with addiction. Gritty view of Gammill's road to addiction and her redemption.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2011
The Interventionist is a profoundly honest memoir that tells a story of the archetypal hero's journey. It is an account of overcoming tremendous adversity, which will resonate with the general reader as well as anyone with an interest in addiction and recovery. Gammill's clear-eyed history of her addiction is seamlessly interwoven with tales of her experience as an interventionist. Her stories of intervention are engrossing and her experience as an addict allows her to be sympathetic but forthright about the disease of addiction and its toll. She writes about addiction with humor and compassion, and without voyeurism. The Interventionist is also a compelling portrait of multi-generational addiction. For adult children of alcoholics and other dysfunctional families, it is a must-read that depicts the far-reaching effects of parental alcoholism on children and how that experience manifests in adulthood. Highly recommended!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2011
I could not put this remarkable book down! Desperately searching for answers and help for her young son, fearing it may be related to her own addictions and insecurities, Joani exposes herself on the nationally televised Dr. Phil Show. (OMG....that takes guts!!!)

This book takes us on a frightful journey of her self awareness and recovery through interventions she guides other addicts and their families. It was difficult for me to read some of these stories.
Listening to the intimate details of Joani's personal life of addiction was often times repulsive. Through her naked truth, and many "angels" along the way, she opens doors to spiritual awareness and her true life's work.

This book will save lives! Thank you Joani for your truth.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2011
I laughed, I cried, I related as a mother and a recovering junkie. I have read every recovery book out there and Joanie has the ability to capture the full spectrum of addiction, the pain and the joy recovery can bring. Thank you for your brutal honesty. Addiction is brutal and it ravages generation after generation. I think most of all I thank her for the grace and guts it took to share her private hell and her victory coming out on the other side. Here is someone who truly "gets it". Then she passes on what she has learned to people in pain and need. I humbly thank you for your piece of hope.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2011
Compelling, gripping, tear jerking, laughter making. Joani shares her own struggles with addictions and her heartfelt hope she is now able to share with others. Joani has renewed my sense of obligation to the still suffering addict. I literally could not stop reading until I was finished.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2012
I have read many books on addictions. My oldest son, 38, is a recovering alcoholic and my youngest sister is still in denial. I heard about this book on the Dr. Phil Show. The book is written from the heart of the author, from her life, living day by day as an addict.
It made it very clear to what goes on in the mind of an addict. Now I have a way to really talk to my son about his drinking and his detox. My heart broke, but my prayers were answered. If you, or anyone you know, has an addiction problem I really encourage you to read this book. It will open your eyes to new way of seeing the problem from inside them.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2011
A brutally honest and painful portrait of the disease of addiction. The heart wrenching struggles of addiction affect people in all walks of life. This is an important book you will want to share. The author's darkest moments and triumphs are skillfully interwoven with the interventions in which she has been involved. Gammill's journey highlights one of life's greatest lessons - helping others is therapeutic. Best wishes to the author and everyone who shared their story in this book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse