Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Inuksuk Book (Wow Canada! Collection)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
5 star
82%
4 star
0%
3 star
18%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 24, 2016
Have already made two and am gathering stones for more. The history is well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2015
Great lead-in to the book "Make Your Own Inuksuk" and helpful for children to understand the history and use of Inuksuk's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2014
This book contains a lot of interesting information about the Inuksuk that is difficult to find elsewhere. It also has lots of excellent pictures to go with the descriptions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2014
Where my eldest grandson attends school (kindergarten), a lesson in Inuksuk is taught. The class built one for the school raffle, and each child created his/her own. My grandson asked if we could build one in my backyard, and create a waterfall around it. Of course, I answered "yes". This book proved to be a valuable learning resource for both my grandson and me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2013
This book has some very nice artwork, but I found it had little to do with Inuksuk. It might be better titled as a young person's book on the Canadian Arctic. 'Very touchy-feely, with little hard information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
My son became intrigued with inuksuk when doing a report on Inuit culture for 5th grade social his social studies class. He was fascinated to see there were so many different kinds of inuksuk. The photos and explanations are really cool -- interesting to both me and my son. It was also really neat to see the inuit text. Just a great book overall.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2012
The description did not indicate that it was a children's/young person's publication, so I was somewhat disappointed. Nevertheless the book was quite informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2009
I learned of the Inuksuk when I visited the Canadian Rockies 2 years ago. They were the talk of the shopkeepers since they will be the next symbol for the 2010 Winter Olympics. They represent the markers that were used as landmarks to mark the way in this land of permafrost and snow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2005
The towering 'INUKSUK' (ee-nook-sook) pictured on the cover of Mary Wallace's book introduces readers to a world of earth-bound 'signposts' in the arctic - - and MUCH MORE! In their varied forms the inuksuk may be intended as markers for caches of food, to advise hunters of directions, or to symbolize persons being memorialized. The last is an idea that could be used by students who want to follow the author's instructions for building a personal inuksuk. Another structure is shown serving as a road map to a traveler's next destination. It is not only a potential life-saver but makes a beautiful statement in the barren landscape.

Living in the Arctic means acquiring techniques for survival. Outsiders must acclimate themselves in a short time and this can be unsettling! For many decades the U.S. War Dept. funded studies in climatology, resulting in proper clothing & more nutritious feeding of troops. One more way in which we have benefited from the insights of our neighbors to the north.

"The Inuksuk Book" has many striking silk paintings with a gorgeous rainbow of colors that reflect the beauty of the 'Northern Lights' (Aurora Boralis). These inspire an admiration for the mystery of the far north. Contemporary photographs and those from earlier years also enhance the text. Teachers often expand a study unit to include Eskimo/Inuit art. How fortunate the young people who become acquainted with the figures beautifully sculpted from walrus tusks and soapstone. Amazing artistry is evident in works created during the long winters north of Hudson's Bay.

REVIEWER mcHAIKU marvels at the skills & imagination of the Inuit people and cheers author Mary Wallace for sharing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2002
This gorgeously illustrated book is one of the most appealing books I have read about the Far North. It highlights the ingenuity of a people who live in a demanding environment.
One of the things about the book I really enjoyed was the use of the Inuit alphabet to caption the beautiful pictures. There is a dictionary of sounds and words in the back, which can be used for kids to write their own names in Inuit.
There is also a guide to making your own Inuksuk in the back.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.