Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What to really expect from the DVD version
To correct the mistaken impression left by reviews of the Blu-Ray, the regular DVD version presents all of the episodes in their original 4:3 aspect ratio, in good quality on 4 separate discs. The alleged "motion artifacts" claimed by one reviewer are simply the hand-held camera work that is supposed to represent the point-of-view of the invisible protagonist.
Published on September 21, 2012 by George Fergus

versus
88 of 94 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An AWESOME Pilot--but a "so-so" series (also BEWARE of "Motion" Artifacts! UPDATE: 05/07/12)
THE INVISIBLE MAN (1975-76) comes to DVD! Starring David McCallum ("The Man From U.N.C.L.E"), Melinda Fee and Craig Stevens ("Peter Gunn"). Produced by the legendary Harve Bennett ("The Six Million Dollar Man", "Star Trek" Movies), featuring scripts by Steven Bochco, Leslie Stevens, Philip DeGuere and James D. Parriott.
EPISODES:
1) "THE INVISIBLE MAN" (90...
Published on December 19, 2011 by FRED


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 94 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An AWESOME Pilot--but a "so-so" series (also BEWARE of "Motion" Artifacts! UPDATE: 05/07/12), December 19, 2011
By 
FRED (Huntington Beach, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Man (Complete Series) (DVD)
THE INVISIBLE MAN (1975-76) comes to DVD! Starring David McCallum ("The Man From U.N.C.L.E"), Melinda Fee and Craig Stevens ("Peter Gunn"). Produced by the legendary Harve Bennett ("The Six Million Dollar Man", "Star Trek" Movies), featuring scripts by Steven Bochco, Leslie Stevens, Philip DeGuere and James D. Parriott.
EPISODES:
1) "THE INVISIBLE MAN" (90 minute pilot movie)--Guest Starring Jackie Cooper ("Superman"), Henry Darrow ("Harry-O")
2) "THE KLAE RESOURCE"--Guest Starring Robert Alda, Conrad Janis ("Mork & Mindy"), Barry Sullivan ("The Tall Man")
3) "THE FINE ART OF DIPLOMACY"--Guest Starring Ross Martin ("The Wild Wild West"), Michael Pataki, Vincent Beck
4) "MAN OF INFLUENCE"--Guest Starring John Vernon, Jack Colvin ("The Incredible Hulk"), Gene Raymond
5) "EYES ONLY"--Guest Starring Bobby Van, Barbara Anderson ("Mission: Impossible"), William Prince, John Kerr
6) "BARNARD WANTS OUT"--Guest Starring Nehemiah Persoff, Jane Actman, Paul Shenar ("Scarface")
7) "GO DIRECTLY TO JAIL"--Guest Starring James McEachin, Pat Harrington Jr., John Crawford ("The Powers of Matthew Star")
8) "STOP WHEN THE RED LIGHTS FLASH"--Guest Starring Roger C. Carmel, Scott Brady
9) "PIN MONEY"--Guest Starring Helen Kleeb, John Zee
10) "THE KLAE DYNASTY"--Guest Starring Nancy Kovack, Farley Granger, Peter Donat ("Time Trax"), George Murdock ("Battlestar Galactica")
11) "SIGHT UNSEEN"--Guest Starring Jaime Smith Jackson, David Opatoshu.
12) "POWER PLAY"--Guest Starring Monte Markham ("The Second Hundred Years")
UNAIRED EPISODE:
13) "AN ATTEMPT TO SAVE FACE"--Guest Starring Charles Aidman, Terry Kiser, Ina Balin.
***UPDATE (05/07/12) ***WHAT HAPPENED***? The Pilot Movie is FANTASTIC--it's dark, moody and mysterious--a first-class production all the way...but after that, THE INVISIBLE MAN goes downhill fast with episodes ranging from "so-so" to "moderately interesting"... ALSO (and most damningly!) several (but thankfully NOT all!) episodes in this DVD set suffer from HORRENDOUS "motion" artifacts--that is the picture has a "jerky" quality whenever people move and it looks very unnatural (check out Episode #2--"The Klae Resource"--the stop-and-go motion problems in this episode literally made me dizzy!). I'll say again that the Pilot Movie is 100% worth watching (thankfully it ISN'T plagued with the aforementioned "motion" artifacts) but the series itself is definitely a mixed bag. Due to the "motion" artifacts, I ended up returning this set to Amazon for a refund...it just wasn't worth it to keep a "flawed" DVD set like this one. If Netflix carries this release, I suggest renting it first to see if you think it's worth purchasing for your permanent DVD collection. I give this release 3 Stars--Amazon's definition of 3 Stars is "It's Okay"--which may be the best one can say about THE INVISIBLE MAN--it's okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The BluRay edition..., June 13, 2012
Prospective buyers be warned; for the BluRay release, the series has been butchered from it's original TV aspect ratio of 1.33:1 to a fake "widescreen" of 1.78:1 instead. It's also been done very crudely, so that the images frequently appear 'stretched'. If that's not enough to put you off, also consider that the entire series of thirteen episodes (twelve regular plus a double length pilot)has been crammed onto one single disc, so the bitrates are barely an improvement over standard DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray version is a disaster, June 20, 2012
By 
S. Phillips (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The blu-ray version should be avoided at all costs. All episodes are on one disc (and I guess I could live with that) but even worse is that this 1976 4X3 series has been cropped and/or stretched to fill 16 X 9 screens. The pilot appears to be streched while the other episodes are cropped. Why they thought any fan of a 1976 TV series would want see a butchered version like this is beyond me. A major error in judgement for a product marketed to classic TV fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What to really expect from the DVD version, September 21, 2012
This review is from: The Invisible Man (Complete Series) (DVD)
To correct the mistaken impression left by reviews of the Blu-Ray, the regular DVD version presents all of the episodes in their original 4:3 aspect ratio, in good quality on 4 separate discs. The alleged "motion artifacts" claimed by one reviewer are simply the hand-held camera work that is supposed to represent the point-of-view of the invisible protagonist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shame shame shame!, June 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It takes a really low bitrate to present this much video on a single blu-ray, and yet, the image quality is not as bad as one would imagine... The image is not great, but it's not bad. It is, however, unforgivable that some idiot decided that, rather than exhibit this series in it's original aspect ratio (4x3), it was a better idea to stretch it to fill a 16x9 frame. This is absolutely terrible! While one couldn't compare this to colorizing Citizen Cane, it does demonstrate the same kind of bad judgement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You really have to stretch your imagination, November 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Man (Complete Series) (DVD)
I used to watch this show when it was first on the air in 1975 and I was fourteen years old. I bought the series because I wanted to relive the memories of this short lived series. If you've never seen this series or know little about it, I think it's important to remember that it was made at a time when a research lab spending $2 million on a project was considered an enormous amount of money. Anyway, David McCalum stars as a scientist who manages to permanently make himself invisible so he has his surgeon friend create a 'mask' for his face and hands which is perfectly molded around his skin to look absolutely 'real' to everyone around him. Of course, this is what I mean by you really have to stretch your imagination. When you see the mask off his face it would never pass as anything close to his actual face. And it's amazing that the mask is so 'real' that it even allows you to see his teeth, inside of his mouth, tongue, etc. Wow, that is one 'realistic' mask!! And I also noticed in several episodes that he would remove the mask and hands as well as his clothes to become invisible but sometimes he doesn't always retrieve them, particularly the mask and gloves. There was an episode that showed that he apparently has extra masks and gloves but I suppose it's not a big deal if someone else finds his face left behind somewhere. Of course the series didn't last long enough for him to worry too much about it.
I know it sounds like I'm trashing the show but I'm really not. I just want to forewarn people who don't know the show that it does not play like a show made just a few years ago. It will probably be enjoyed more for its nostalgia than for anything else. I will admit that I couldn't remember any of the stories after all these years and overall I was not impressed with many of the story lines other than the pilot itself which was excellent. I suppose that may be why it was such a short lived series. But with all of its faults, I still enjoy watching this series because it brings back memories of my teenage years when I watched the NBC show religiously. So, if you are familiar with the series when it first aired, you'll probably enjoy it again 'for the first time'. If you don't know anything about the show and expect excellent special effects and great story lines, I think you had better pass on this one. As long as you watch the show keeping in mind that it was 1975 and way before CGI, you may indeed enjoy it as well. I know that I do. It's not a perfect series in any way but it's entertaining enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you wait long enough....., April 12, 2012
By 
B. Levin (Edison, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'll never really understand why it took so long to release this humble little series that was so much enjoyed by so many for such a short period of time. I only wish my Dad could have enjoyed it too but as I was saying....it took too long and he's gone now. It was innovative and futuristic for it's time and it still is and I assume that most people who will buy and watch these shows will remember them a bit from many years ago when they were first broadcast and seen. It will be a blast from the past!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CAREFUL WHEN YOU BUY THIS, April 20, 2013
It took them a while but VEI finally delivered . Avoid the dvd edition which has a glitch at 50 minutes on the pilot (unless this has been corrected with future pressings). Worst of all the dvd edition has an image problem . It's neither motion artifacts nor is it an intended POV look either . It definitely IS a technical error and many episodes appear to have skipped frames . Whatever the real issue is it means the dvd is best left alone . Make sure when you get the Bluray edition that you search out the 4:3 version . The 16:9 edition is cropped with parts of the image missing at all times although to make things worse several sections of the pilot are stretched ( where Weston has his face painted for one).The actual episodes only seem to have the opening shot of the Klae Corporation stretched . Despite all 13 episodes being on one disc the quality is actually very good but don't forget the effects scenes used a kind of green/ blue screen video filming technique so all these scenes are standard definition but the entirely filmed scenes look very nice . Not demo quality but much better than the dvd . VEI themselves list the release on Amazon Canada and USA and give you the choice of 16:9 or 4:3 . I would suggest this is the only way to make sure you get the version you want . Purchases from Amazon Canada state its 4:3 but I got it in 16:9 . Lovely little show that stands out from the other quest shows of the same era and its light years ahead of the reformatted version that became The Gemini Man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 70's Series now on Blu., July 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After months of waiting, the Invisible Man on Blu has now been received.
The quality of the Bluray picture and audio appears acceptable for a series of this vintage, despite being compressed onto a single B/R disc.
I can also report that while the Visual Entertainment Inc., Canada, packaging shows a (1) as a zone, this is a DVD rating, not a B/R rating, this Bluray disc works perfectly on my Pioneer Region (B) bluray player and can therefore be safely purchased by customers from Region B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Both DVD and blu-ray have problems., August 17, 2013
By 
Michael Rogers "Mego73" (Webster, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Man (Complete Series) (DVD)
I am a fan of this show so I got both formats, although I have heard about their shortcomings. Here is the low down on both versions:

DVD: Good presentation of the pilot, the episodes all possess motion artifacts giving them all a staccato motion that shows up especially when there is a lot of movement in the scene. All episodes are 4:3 as they should be and except for the motion problems look good.

Blu-ray: Awful presentation of the pilot with it being stretched to fill the 16:9 ratio format. Unwatchable. The episodes are cropped to 16:9 which is terrible but without distortion. It is arguable if the episodes are true HD transfers, the pilot is certainly not. However the episodes overall look pretty good.

Like I said, I am not sure if the non pilot episodes got true blue HD transfers. Part of what throws you off is the fact that many of this shows invisible effects were done in video chroma key, which was later transferred to film. I am sure it was a faster way to do the effects and it even allowed them to be more ambitious about moving the camera while maintaining (well, not quite, there was still some jiggling between elements) alignment. This leaves those effects (and sometimes whole scenes or chunks of scenes they happen in) in 1970's broadcast video resolution even though they were put back on film. Of course, it all meshed together fine on the old TV sets of the day, not so much now.

Also, the blu ray carries all the episodes (a few minutes short of 11 hours) on one disc. I am thinking that these are HD transfers but at 1k and with it being spread over one disc sort of hover between great looking DVD and streaming HD quality (the non chroma key scenes, of course) that I am sure the bit rate approximates HD that you stream rather then the more robust bit rates of the usual blu ray.

If only the 4:3 ratio was kept it was be a fine presentation of a show that because if the source material would never exactly be reference quality.

As it is now, the pilot is watchable only in the DVD and for the shows themselves, you have to decide whether you are bugged more by motion artifacts or cropping. In my case, the motion artifacts bug me more and I defer to the blu ray cropped.

That will have to do unless this label or another (Region 1 or A I didn't have multi region capability) releases a more definitive version done right, which is unlikely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Invisible Man (Complete Series)
$24.98 $12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.