Customer Reviews


206 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find the Keys...
Dr. Cress Welsing's book digs into the fabric of White Racism and Supremacy and gives the reader something to think about. Why does society work so hard to keep Black America down? Why do we as Blacks have so much self-hate in a land where we are not wanted and are being systematically destroyed? Why don't Whites give a real version of what has transpired in history...
Published on October 11, 1999

versus
88 of 104 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Envison all Angles on this Sphere
"The Isis Papers" does put a lot of what I have lived and still living in. But like one of the reviewers said, it is a theory(with many facts). Our caucasian brothers and sisters must realize that much of what Ms. Welsing wrote we live out everyday. Many of the negative reviews never wrote about the Reality of global domination by western imperialist capitialism and our...
Published on October 1, 2003 by Xavier Thornton


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find the Keys..., October 11, 1999
By A Customer
Dr. Cress Welsing's book digs into the fabric of White Racism and Supremacy and gives the reader something to think about. Why does society work so hard to keep Black America down? Why do we as Blacks have so much self-hate in a land where we are not wanted and are being systematically destroyed? Why don't Whites give a real version of what has transpired in history? The answer is simple: we must learn the keys to the colors and understand the symbolism that has us as Black people trapped in a quagmire of lies and deceptions that are destroying us as a people. You would not know that Blacks were the first people on the Earth building dams, roads, and ships by the way we act today. The youth are in a worse situation: teen pregnancy, black-on black crime, and unemployment will spell an untimely end for the world's oldest people if we do not learn and teach THE KEYS TO THE COLORS to our people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


303 of 346 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Isis Papers/The Keys to the Colors, March 22, 2000
I read many of the reviews and gave some thought to the level of anger voiced by many. Dr. Welsing's views seems reasonable in light of current history. White racism can be seen or witnessed worldwide by traveling or studying who controls the economic system throughout the world. Those interested can pick up any good history book and learn how the controls were instituted.
Those who question Dr. Welsing views should ask themselves some simple questions. If the origin of Europeans is Europe, how do you explain their domination worldwide? Are all other people inferior?
White America has known for years that African Americans have made major contribution to the founding and development of this country. The number of patents held by African Americans, particularly considering the enslavement period, is a testiment to their creativeness and humanity. Most of the information related to the contributions of African Americans is known, but America refuse to place this information within school's history books. Why?
If the Isis Papers claims of a worldwide system of white racism is unfounded, how do you explain the reality white global domination? Is it that whites are simply superior?
How do you explain that the recent images (particularly the last 800 years)of GOD are white? Is GOD white? Some of you might be familiar with some events in New Jersey where GOD was depicted as black. The town nearly exploded.
Africa is acknowledged to have the largest quantities of minerals resources, including gold, diamonds, uranium, coper, and many others. I believe all of them are under the control of colonial powers.
I hope the questions listed above help some of the reviewers to raise similar questions to themselves.
How do you explain that the indigenous population including America were nearly exterminated? Should I name South American, Australia, or any number of islands throughout the Carribean, and the world where the indigenous population no longer exist.
Americans or people who claim to be white have a difficult time whenever they are not in control of economies. Sometimes its funny listening to the denials of whites. In America's urban areas, often the majority population is black. Whites see nothing wrong or strange with the majority of the jobs (particularly the well paying jobs) being in the hands of whites. In whites communities blacks job holders are almost rare.
Hopefully, Americans will get to the place where they can confront themselves and their history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 145 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Miss The Forest For The Trees., February 10, 2000
By 
The Cress Theory of Color Confrontation is just that: Dr. Cress-Welsing's theory. Since her theory is unique and evolved, according to her, over many years, one has to read the book for an explanation of it. Briefly: The system of White Supremacy is global, pervassive and psychologically damaging, particularly to African-Americans. It is so pervasive that it's underlying imperative; White people's conscious & unconscious fear of genetic annihilation due to race-mixing, and their need to oppress people of color-- has become subconscious. This obsession w/ White genetic "purity" manifests itself in all aspects of society, especially in symbol form (*See Jung). SHE MAKES ENOUGH OF A CONVINCING POINT...ENOUGH OF A BREAK FROM SIMPLE EXPLANATIONS OF THE NATURE OF WHITE SUPREMACY...TO WARRANT A READ. In fact, everyone concerned about white supremacy, racism or prejudice should read this book. It isn't the end-all-and-be-all discussion of Black/White relations, but it is a damn good introduction to white supremacy/black inferiority. SHE MAKES HER POINT WELL, DESPITE SOME BASELESS STATEMENTS. Don't dismiss her deconstruction of Black/White relations because of the faults of the book. That would be simple on your part. DON'T SAY SHE DIDN'T BACK UP HER POINTS W/ RESEARCH...It is an ORIGINAL THEORY, backed by her own research/work with her patients. Those who dismiss it as "reverse racism" obviously missed the entire point of the book. BUY IT. READ IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 104 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Envison all Angles on this Sphere, October 1, 2003
By 
Xavier Thornton (Pass Christian, Mississippi United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"The Isis Papers" does put a lot of what I have lived and still living in. But like one of the reviewers said, it is a theory(with many facts). Our caucasian brothers and sisters must realize that much of what Ms. Welsing wrote we live out everyday. Many of the negative reviews never wrote about the Reality of global domination by western imperialist capitialism and our United Corporate State of America at the center of power(i suspect because it is in their best interest to be in control and not controlled-this is the gist of freedom vs oppression).
As we know, America got the jump on the rest of the world by having 400-450 years of free labor for men/women who they claimed to be close to beast-this is fact not theory. Slavery has evolved since the literal chain and whip. Subconscious control had to be implemented on a societal level to keep us as "happy" human products of commerce. "The Isis Papers" attemps to point out some of this abstract warfare of symbols. The destruction of the black male is up and running to full strength. Read and live more. Intermarriage between blacks and whites does make the child a brown baby. This has been a reason for the lynching of many black men yesterday and today. no fallacy.
Man of all races have dominated other men. The Strong survive. We live in a Nation within a Nation where the power structure is controlled by the white male elite complex that controls Energy, Communication, the value of Money, means of Production, "Education", and the Military. So please do not play "crazy" and act as if everything is equal after only 35 years of "legal" equality in America. It is fact that imperialism and colonialism have raped the culture and resources of all "colored" that it has come in contact with. And yes, we should not continue to seek a hand out from our oppressors-white supremacy in its past and current form of today's america-They(those who oppress) have to come to grips with themselves through the grace of GOD. Life is hard. Nothing is Free. I ask for no apology only insight into yourself for true growth.
Blacks are the "batteries" of this nation. We are the biggest consumers and workers of the service industry than any other group. Because we hold some offices, and have a lot of degrees in this cube of a nation, we still have no solidarity like Every other ethic group in america. All communities/cultures are based on well defined relationships of power on many levels. This need has been beaten out of us physically,mentally, and spiritally. If just to point out that white supremacy is in full effect shows that the book has some promise to it. No excuses though, I know the problem and live to correct it through educating and action with the next generation of our youth(of every culture).
All races should live out that no one culture is superior to another. But I do not fool myself to believe that all is right and just in this day in time. Africans in America have taken a step toward true freedom. This country continues to forge and make us stronger. I work with children so they can understand the value of connection of love for one another and true power of ourselves in GOD manifested in Action.
To the reviewer who stated that Welsing revised history on certain subjects as Joshua Ben Joseph/Jesus the Christ/Saviour the Messiah and the Israelites being black need to study more than pop culture. The yiddish and/or European Jews are of "recent" history. Look it up. They assimilated a lot of the customs of Hebrew they encountered after the dispersion of the Israelites from Israel in 7 A.D. This is not to infer "hate"(as the oppressive mind likes to call the oppressed when he/she points out a lie or injustice)but to bring truth to light.
The symbols of real truth must be made available for all. The Isis Papers is a good attempt to unlock the keys of this oppressive world. To dismiss her completely is unjust. Please understand the world that created her and her ancestors in this land we call the land of freedom. Many are blind because of the privilige that this system has fostered a reality of false supremacy and/or equality. Wake up.
Peace to all Mankind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars empowering, July 5, 2001
By 
Having grown up in a racist South Africa, we were made to belive that we are nothing and even pigs were treated better than us.This book empowered and reinforced in me the notion that it is only the ignorant who see black people as inferior and it is manily their insecurity that makes them so racist. This book is not about reinforcing racism, but rather about empowering the oppressed to know themselves much better. And most importantly help them cope with the pain of oppression.Frances openned my eyes to the most obvious and she must write more books of this kind. This is only the beggining of helping us the oppressed to look our fears in the eye by understanding the psychology of oppression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEAR & ESTEEM, October 2, 2008
As an African American woman who has been raised and inundated with the "historical facts" presented by my White Brothers and Sisters, I can empathize with those who are Eurocentric enough to want to believe that everyone and everything of importance emanated from the White race. Even conjecture that people of color might have had a larger role in the development of our world cultures, seems to be abhorrent. For African Americans who unquestioningly buy into the Eurocentric views of history, I am sure narratives such as this one are ludicrous.

However, women have been standing up to the version of "his"tory that exists, because women are either ignored or subjugated in one form or another. It seems reasonable to me that if White male historians omitted or subjugated women in their version of "his"tory, why would it be so unseemly that those same White men would omit and subjugate the role of Africans in the origins and development of the world. Especially since one major blemish on Eurocentrism is the deplorable practice of slavery. In order to keep Africans and African-descended peoples in their places (beneath the place of "decent White people"), I presume it would be necessary to blindly perpetuate the vulgar myth that Africans are ignorant, backward and worthy of enslavement; or at least, that they cannot possibly have been the original peoples of Egypt (Egypt is NOT an extension of the Middle East and was originally inhabited by dark-skinned people, just like the other indigenous peoples of Africa prior to the extensive European colonization that took place over the centuries.

I truly believe that if the tables were turned, more individuals would be willing to ignore the status quo and the accepted myths of our current culture, and would be interested in learning whether or not accepted "his"tory is really plausible. If Eurocentric people were conditioned to believe that they were not as important as African-descendants and that all of literature, education, art, language, religion, science, history and civilization in general was acquired through the brilliance of the Africans and that Whites were only good for being chattel, there would likely be serious investigations into the "truth."

Bear in mind that even in Eurocentric "his"tory, when one culture conquered another, most of the remnants of the previous culture were destroyed. To me, it makes sense that when the Greeks decided to conquer Egypt, they would especially want to destroy anything that would attribute brilliance or intelligence to such "dark savages." And, thus, just as Eurocentric people who believed in justice, freedom and uniting for the common good, those very people nearly exterminated the Native peoples of what we call the United States. Native peoples were driven from their own lands and their holy places were desecrated and used for Eurocentric purposes (for instance, Mt. Rushmore). To me, this is an example of how Eurocentrism operates and I don't believe it started first in the New World. I believe that same fear, dread and dislike of others who are different has prevailed over centuries and cost Native Americans, Mayans, Africans, and other cultures much pain and degradation.

Rather than following in the footsteps of those "who protest too much" as the great writer suggested, why not be mature enough to consider the mindsets of those who came before: people who were fearful of being over-run, people who were attempting to build their own self-esteem by putting down others who didn't look enough like them. Prejudice and racism will ALWAYS exist as long as White is Right and everyone else is wrong! Rather than focusing on how you can "tolerate" others who don't look exactly like you, why not consider that maybe White people don't know everything! Maybe the self-esteem of my White Brothers and Sisters doesn't have to be built upon negating, denigrating and exterminating people of color, and in this instance, Africans and African descendants. Especially because we are not the ignorant, talentless, chattel the Eurocentric believe us to be.

How can I possibly be sure of this? Look at how Africans were stolen from their homeland, sent to various parts of the world, stacked like sardines in a can in the bowels of ships where they involuntarily urinated and defecated upon those below them, tossed overboard if diseased, sick or "defective" in any way, separated from fellow tribesmen, fellow villagers, family members, and those with a common language, sold on auction blocks (whether men, women, or children}, raped, forced to "mate" with strangers so that they would produce brawny slave stock, denied decent food, wages, respect and even common decency, were beaten, tortured, murdered, burned with huge audiences as though it was a picnic (there are postcards that prove this!), denied the benefits of the majority culture in this country, segregated into unfunded schools, neighborhoods, denied jobs, clean water fountains, hospitals and public restrooms, lynched, burned on crosses, terrorized, secretly experimented upon, you name it.

More recently, the racism is more underground and shows up in movie stereotypes, the disproportional number of Black men in prison and on death row, denial of decent jobs, harassment at work and by the police, denial of appropriate housing and medical care. Yet, like Maya Angelou says in her poem, "Yet, still I rise." We must be a very special people to be able to withstand such torment. We do have our own fair share of problems, some of which involve institutional racism: deny us jobs, force us to live in squalor, and then, call us "dirty" and "smelly." Denying us medical care is akin to slow extermination.

I urge you to keep reading and challenge the status quo. You may find that there may be more truth to this book and many others that American culture is blind to. Take college courses, talk to African Americans and Africans, read between the lines when you read a news story about African Americans, you might just be amazed and fascinated by the caliber of this strong, spiritual people. I know I am and I am proud and grateful that Black scholars and, gratefully, Eurocentric scholars are beginning to discover things that have been kept hidden for many, many ages. Think outside the box and have an open mind: you might be surprised by what you learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Power marginalizes opposition, October 19, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Isis Papers: The Keys to the Colors (Paperback)
It's quite interesting that some say that the material within this book is "absurd." Actually, this should be expected. I understand this dynamic because under the system of white supremacy, usually, the non-whites, when discussing race, are perceived as to always be complaining about their condition, for which many whites believe, is ultimately their own fault. Power always marginalizes opposition. This is why many of the books on race, if written by non-whites, aren't really given any degree of accreditation.If whites give their blessing, then an analysis, sush as The Isis Papers, is perceived to be okay.

What some people don't realize, however, is that many of the concepts, as asserted by Dr. Welsing, are also expressed in many books by "white" authors. Here are a few that either directly or indirectly express the fear of genetic annihilation as asserted by the Isis Papers:

1) The Passing of the Great Race, or the Racial Basis for European History (Madison Grant)

2) The Rising Tide of Color Against White World Supremacy (Lothrop Stoddard)

3) TAKE YOUR CHOICE: Separation or Mongrelization (Theodore G. Bilbo)

4) White America: The American Racial Problem as Seen in a Worldwide Perspective (Earnest Sevier Cox)

5) Mein Kampf (Adolf Hitler)

These few books, in a addition to others, talks, specifically, about the so-called dangers of mixing blood and the governmental policies that should help to prevent such activity. Many of these books, in addition, also talk about how non-white immigration will bring genetic destruction to the so-called white race. Understanding the fear of genetic annihilation should help to explain why there were once laws "against" the marriage of a white person with "ANY" non-white, the argument against the abortion of "white" babies, but virtually ignoring the fact that 80% of all abortion clinics are in predominately non-white neighborhoods, and why so many are ARDENTLY against "non-white" immigration. There's all types of material on this stuff. Pat Buchanan has similar ideas, although his are more subtle. Instead of talking about the "rising tide of color," he simply says that the "West,"--for which he means the "white" west--is experiencing dying populations. This is the same reason why many white european governments are offering incentives for their (white) citizens to have babies.

Simply put this is a good read. Although the basic understanding of the concepts therein are interesting, non-whites SHOULD NOT DWELL ON THEM. Why? Because white supremacy still exists. Dwelling on the "why" will not help to replace white supremacy with justice. Non-whites need to change what they do in response to racism (white supremacy). Therefore, to supplement this, i would suggest Neely Fuller's, "United Independent Compmensatory Concept."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth hurts some people., February 22, 2000
By A Customer
The author is thoughtful and very powerful. She takes on white supremacy by it's horns, chops it to pieces and has it for breakfast.
This explains why some people get so upset over this book. All I can say to them is now you see how it feels to have your existence, history, and thought patterns analyzed in an unflattering way.
Keep up the good work Frances. Your work is desperately needed to counter the Shockleys, Dukes, Turner Diaries, etc of this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, not all agreeable, interesting., October 16, 1999
By 
TJ (Tallahassee, FL) - See all my reviews
Wow! I only heard about the Isis Papers because a white friend told me about her neighbors who got so angry over it. I decided this is worth a read for me. I read the book. I don't agree with all of it but it is thought-provoking. What I find sad, humorous and predictable are some of the angry and hateful comments from the readers on AMAZON.COM. To them I say, "Now you see how it feels to be examined and ridiculed as an individual and as a population group! You've gotten a tiny, short taste of it. Black people have been going through this for centuries up to the present. Difference is that our lives were taken." To this day, negative propaganda against Blacks and other non-whites continue, especially in White so-called Christian churches of all places.
What's more, those who oppose Francis are the same ones who believe Jesus Christ is caucasian, Elvis lives, Marilyn Monroe is the Joan of Arc of Hollywood, UFO's only land in the suburbs, Jurassic Park is really worth resurrecting, etc. On a more serious note, most of you still worship Hitler, Stalin, Satan (yes, the one in the Bible), etc.
If you dislike or disagree with the Isis Papers, you are only the pot calling the kettle black, literally and figuratively. Keep writing, Francis, and don't let such people intimidate you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Frances Cress Welsing is POWERFUL!!!!!, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dr. Welsing is so On-Point in this book, that it's hard to put down!!!!! I am CONSTANTLY referring to this book as reference, as to why a lot of what's going on wrong, today...in our nation, is being overlooked by everyone in this country. Dr. Welsing breaks things down to the point that...each and every one of us could point a finger @ the next person and would be correct in pointing them out, but the hardest look would be each of us looking back @ ourselves, in the mirror, and asking...what are you doing to help? Dr. Welsing points out the problems and offers solutions to a great many of the problems that the Black Culture, in our nation is facing. And yes...the problems that effect us...effects others too. If we are a great nation...then we need to start acting like a great nation and fix our own problems. Get and read the book...it'll help you to begin to..."See what I see."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Isis Papers: The Keys to the Colors
The Isis Papers: The Keys to the Colors by Frances Cress Welsing (Paperback - Dec. 2004)
Used & New from: $13.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.