Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isabel and Sherman move on up to higher Nielsen ratings!
No changes within the cast yet. One highlight from this season was when Lionel Jefferson(Damon Evans) and Jenny Willis(Belinda Tolbert) became husband and wife. This episode first aired in December 1976. DE joined the Jeffersons cast in the summer of 1975 after Mike Evans,who played Lionel originally,left to produce another CBS sitcom,Good Times,which he had co-created...
Published on February 14, 2005 by andy8047

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars dvd good but not box it came in
Hi. The box was damaged, wasn't too happy about that when it was listed as new. When you pay for a new item, that's what you expect to get.
Published 18 months ago by Leah


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isabel and Sherman move on up to higher Nielsen ratings!, February 14, 2005
By 
andy8047 (Nokomis,Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Jeffersons - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
No changes within the cast yet. One highlight from this season was when Lionel Jefferson(Damon Evans) and Jenny Willis(Belinda Tolbert) became husband and wife. This episode first aired in December 1976. DE joined the Jeffersons cast in the summer of 1975 after Mike Evans,who played Lionel originally,left to produce another CBS sitcom,Good Times,which he had co-created. ME would return for the seventh season in 1980. Olivia Jefferson,George's mother still frequently visited George(Sherman Hemsley) and Louise(Isabel Sanford). Marla Gibbs is now officially a Jeffersons cast member as Florence Johnston,the Jeffersons' wise-cracking no-nonsense maid. She even guest-starred in the series premiere episode. We still hear "honky" and "zebra" coming out of George's mouth. The "honkies" are the Jeffersons' neighbor Tom Willis(Franklin Cover),their next door neighbor Harry Bentley(Paul Benedict),doorman Ralph Hart(Ned Wertimer in a recurring role) and bank President H.W. Whittendale who is also the Jeffersons',the Willises and Harry's landlord. The "zebra" is Jenny,who's half-caucasian on her father Tom's side and half-negro on her mother Helen's(Tom's wife played by the late Roxie Roker) side. Sadly,Sanford passed away on July 9,2004 at age 86 of complications from pneumonia. She was hospitalized five days earlier. Several months earlier,she received a star on the Hollywood Walk Of Fame. So I dedicate this item to the memory of Sanford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!!, September 30, 2005
This review is from: The Jeffersons - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
I just bought Season 3 of the "Jefferson's" this classic comedy is still so funny! Sherman Hemsley and Marla Gibbs (George and Florence) are so crazy! The 2 of them keep you in stiches! I will be ordering all 4 seasons on DVD. All the episodes are funny as hell!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oldies are better!!, September 20, 2006
By 
Kindle Customer (New Hampshire, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Jeffersons - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
I am very much enjoying the Season 3 of the Jeffersons. The assorted characters are so well chosen. I can't think of any current show that can compare with the Jeffersons. However, one drawback to this season is that Zara Cully barely makes an appearance. She's such a great character

but I realize her illness may have been the reason.

I especially enjoyed the episode where Bentley ends up in jail and is singing to himself in his jail cell.

Now I have become addicted and will have to see Season 4, of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I DON'T WANT TO WAIT IN VAIN FOR SEASON FOUR!!!!, May 7, 2005
This review is from: The Jeffersons - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
I can't believe how long Columbia took to release season three, considering the great response seasons one and two recieved. Needless to say I could hardly wait to add season three to my collection. It had some of the best episodes, like when Tom and Helen make an attempt to improve Louise and George's marriage. Sherman Hemsley's comedic timing was priceless! I just loved the way he would express his continued dislike toward the Willises, despite Lionel and Jenny being married. I'm sure alot of people would love to be able to openly insult their in-laws and get away with it!!!

Thank goodness the episodes are crisp and have excellent sound quality. My only complaint is there are no extras. It would have been nice to see an on camera tribute to Isabel Sanford from surviving cast members and Norman Lear. Oh well, I guess I should be greatful to finally get the dvd.

COLUMBIA TRISTAR PLEASE DONT TAKE TOO LONG RELEASING SEASON FOUR!!!! I'd like to see the episode when Gary Coleman guest stars as George's nefew from hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episodes, July 25, 2005
This review is from: The Jeffersons - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
1. George and the President

2. Louise gets her way

3. Louise Suspects

4. THe Lie Detector

5. George's Diploma

6. The Retirement Party

7. Lionels Pad

8. Tom the Hero

9. Jenny's Discovery

10. The Agreement

11. Florence in Love

12. The Christmas Wedding

13. Louise Forgets

14. Bentley's Problem

15. Jefferson Airplane

16. George's Guilt

17. A Case of Black and White

18. Louise vs. Jenny

19. THe Marriage Councelers

20. Louise's Friend

21. The Old Flame

22. Jenny's Oppertunity

23. George the Philanthrpist

24. Louse's Physical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome show season 3 come on!!!!!!!!, March 7, 2005
This review is from: The Jeffersons - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
I Already have seasons 1 and 2 cant wait for season 3 to come out this is one of my favorites shows of all time. (and on dvd)it has everything comedy real life drama all you need and want from a show!!all the cast was spectacular!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cant get enough of George and Weezy, March 12, 2006
By 
Whonu (Brooklyn, N.Y.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jeffersons - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
If you have the first two seasons , how can you not have this one also. Florence is given more involvent in the program and she is a riot. You can't stop laughing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Move on Up with the Jeffersons!, May 6, 2007
This review is from: The Jeffersons - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
The Jeffersons is one of those shows that just gets better with time. It's well-written, acted, and directed. The characters like George and Louise Jefferons are an African American couple who have lived in Harlem, Queens, and now on the upper East Side in New York City. Their friends and neighbors, Tom and Helen Willis, are an interracial couple whose daughter, Jenny, married Lionel Jefferon in an unforgettable Christmas episode at least in my opinion. The show's topics ranged all over the place in this season. it was probably the last season for Zara Cully who played Mother Jefferson. I loved Mother Jefferson and believed that her absence was plagued by health reasons. Regardless, this show kept going and just got better instead of getting worse. Characters like Ralph the Doorman and Mr. Bentley, the British next-door neighbor often added a touch of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally..More Marla!!!, April 13, 2005
This review is from: The Jeffersons - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Well, it took Sony Pictures Entertainment years to release this third season (why?) but it's definately a keeper. The big highlight: Florence the maid (Marla Gibbs) officially becomes a regular cast member. To this day, Florence remains one of the all-time great sitcom characters. As essayed by the wonderful Gibbs, Florence was sassy, sarcastic, achingly funny and a perfect comic foil for the loud and rambunctious Sherman Hemsley (George). Isabel Sanford, as Louise, was also terrific, but sadly passed away not long ago. This is a classic sitcom and a terrific season and deserves a place on your DVD shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movin on Up, April 17, 2005
This review is from: The Jeffersons - The Complete Third Season (DVD)
another must have Season from the Jeffersons. Marla Gibbs truly shines in this season.Florence brings the heat from the Kitchen.RIP to Isabelle Sanford. Weezy is timeless. George Jefferson is doing what He usually does.Helen&Tom&the whole cast Bring great moments.this is One of the Greatest TV shows Ever. George&Weezy are the Ultimate Couple of Tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Jeffersons - The Complete Third Season
$39.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.