Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Elizabeth Cook Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon April 13, 2004
Don Davis wanted to cash in on the public's fascination with Jeffery Dahmer. He wrote the first and best selling book about the serial killer. Unfortunately, it reads as if it was written by a high school student.
The matter-of-fact language used by Davis tries to demonstrate that he knows more than we think. There really is nothing revolutionary about the book. It as if he took a timeline of Dahmer's life and expanded on it with cheap metaphors. It is cheaped further by the fact that the author keeps repeating himself each time he starts a new chapter.
The other reviews of this book are accurate. It is not well written. Many facts are present, but they are poorly presented and hidden by frivilous information. As a result, this book has nothing to say. There must be better works on Dahmer's life than this.
0Comment|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2006
If you know nothing about Jeffrey Dahmer and want to know which crimes he commited and how he did it, this is the book for you. But if you have read other books about him, don't bother.

The facts presented in this book are accurate, but it's such a shame that you don't get to know who Jeffrey Dahmer really was, nothing new about why he did it, his psychology. Okay, maybe nobody knew who he really was, but the author could have at least tried to give us something new.

Although I believe that Milwaukee is interesting doesn't mean that I want to know its complete history! It just went on and on! After a while you know more about Milwaukee and Bath than Jeffrey Dahmer ever did.

I guess that books like this one are written because of the fascination for serial killers. Although nothing new is said, the author knows that people will buy his book. And that's a shame.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2002
I don't know what I was expecting from yet another 'true crime' book on a notorious serial killer but I walked away knowing the story of the crimes but not nearly enough about the person who committed the crimes. If you want just the facts you'll be satisfied but if you're looking for either an edge-of-your-seat read or insight into the mind of Dahmer, you won't find it here.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2001
This book is one of the weaker True Crime books I've come accross lately. What I found most irritating with this one is how diluted and padded this skimpy 300 pager is. The author pours in so many unnecessary generalized ingredients which lack detail and flavor. Without being too cruel, this book reminds me of a high school kid's padded report on Jeffrey Dahmer who didn't have all that much information to start with and STRETCHED it...
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2004
This book has a lot of information about Dahmer's childhood, his early adult life, and his life as a serial killer. It also describes in detail his apartment, where he commited most of his murders, as well as his mode of killing. There are very brief descriptions about each of his victims, and how Dahmer met them and killed them. These descriptions are boring, and perhaps that is somewhat to be expected since Dahmer's method was so formulaic.

However, I was surprised by how poorly written this book is. It is filled with repetitive descriptions, stupid metaphors, and generally awkward sentences. Also, I was surprised that there was not more of an attempt to understand the man and his motivations. There is an interview with a psychiatrist, but it barely scratched the surface of Dahmer's psyche, and also roamed quite far off topic.

In summary, I read plenty of information about the man and his crimes, but doing so was not a pleasure.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2000
I tried but could not read past the first half of this book. Pages and pages are dedicated to the history of the rubber industry, the creation of the beer industry, the childhoods of people who eventually had buildings or streets named after them... but very little about Dahmer's crimes. When the book finally starts discussing the killings, each victim gets about a paragraph of text. The writing is poor, and it reads more like a history paper and a discussion of current world events, with a few blurbs about the murders thrown in. This book is not recommended.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2004
The book jumped around a lot. It didn't give much detail on anything much except how Konarek Sinthasomphone was handed back over to Dahmer. I wanted to know more about what happened and how he grew up and how his mind works. I guess this book is good for those who don't want to know the bloody details.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2015
Ugh! This book... the author... everything. Not good. I feel like this book was written for 10 year olds. There are snide remarks and silly commentary through out this whole book. I would never buy a book by this author ever again! So. Bad.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
I would give this book zero stars if I could. I may have read a more poorly written book at some point, but it's tough to think of one. This book provides little to no information on Dahmer. If you've ever heard of Dahmer, you essentially know everything that this book will tell you. Every single account of each victim reads exactly the same way. "He met Dahmer down the street from his apartment. Dahmer offered him money to pose for pictures. They went back to his place, and Dahmer gave him a laced drink. When he passed out, Dahmer strangled him and cut up the body." Every. Single. Time. There is no actual information. If you know who Dahmer is, such that you would seek to buy a book about him for instance, you know all of this already. And in the process of giving the reader nothing about Dahmer, he goes on and on about completely irrelevant events. There are pages on Milwaukee geography and history, none of which ever becomes relevant. There are pages upon pages about current events, none of which ever becomes relevant and which the author actually says that Dahmer didn't know nor care about. Tthere's even an entire chapter in the middle of the book about OTHER serial killers, for no reason. I am avid reader, a lover of books, and I've read many true crime novels. And I've never hated a book as much as I hate this one. Don't buy this book. There has GOT to be a better book about Dahmer out there somewhere. My search for one continues.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2016
If you are in to true crime stories, this one is a must to read. It is a true account of one of the most publicized serial killer crimes in American history. The author of this book, Donald A. Davis, did an excellent job of bringing the true crime story of Jeffrey Dahmer to life. His style of writing reminds me of the famous true crime author, Ann Rule, as he delves not only into the actual specifics of the crime, but also into the psychological history of the serial killer himself. This book contains actual photographs of Jeffrey Dahmer and some of his victims. The photos are not graphic, so those of you who are squeamish need not be concerned. The author did an excellent job of describing the horrific details of the crimes committed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.