Customer Reviews


314 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, BAD Quality
Just about everyone who orders this title has seen it before. So this is in regards to Video quality. If you must own the movie fine then by all means purchase it but be warned the DVD movie quality is atrocious. I must have about 100 movies now and of course you do expect some dropouts and scratches on older titles but this one really takes the cake in my opinion. This...
Published on April 22, 2003 by M. DelaPena

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 1/2 stars for a lame sequel
Following the footsteps of "Romancing the Stone" which I thoroughly enjoyed, it's easy to understand why the series stopped here. In the previous film, lightweight though it may be, there is no question that the chemistry between Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner helps make it fun to watch. Not so here. This is essentially a lame attempt at comedy with some ludicrous...
Published on November 28, 2011 by M. Oleson


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, BAD Quality, April 22, 2003
By 
M. DelaPena "mannyCAM" (Tampa, florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (DVD)
Just about everyone who orders this title has seen it before. So this is in regards to Video quality. If you must own the movie fine then by all means purchase it but be warned the DVD movie quality is atrocious. I must have about 100 movies now and of course you do expect some dropouts and scratches on older titles but this one really takes the cake in my opinion. This copy is littered with dropouts " small white specs" , scratches and well just a plain dirty rendition of a superb movie. I have no clue why a DVD production house would allow something this bad to go into mass production unless they just believe that Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner fans will buy anything with them in it. I was beginning to believe that when you purchased a DVD you were getting the absolute best that these companies could offer. NOT SO, It appears that the bottom line is still about making a profit. Sadly enough its the consumer that ends up flipping the bill. The intros and menus are top notch superb DVD quality. And it starts out ok but gets prgressively worse. Honestly guys this movie could have been mastered from a better copy instead... well for us Douglas Turner fans a complete and sad letdown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic on the perfect format, January 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great classic Michael Douglas film. It looks the best it ever has on the blu ray format. The picture quality isn't as good as other blu ray movies from the same era, but it is much better than the dvd version. So if you are a fan of this movie definitely pick up this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jewel of the nile, February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (Special Edition) (DVD)
The material arrived in good shape and in a timely manner. I have started a collection of classic movies and in my opinion, this movie ranks as one of the best. Funny is always funny and I guffaw each and every time I watch this classic. I recommend this classic for every movie buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sequel that mostly makes the grade, April 20, 2004
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (DVD)
Rarely does a sequel to a smash movie rise to the same level as its predecessor - but perhaps Jewel of the Nile is the exception (along with some of the Indiana Jones follow-ups).
This sequel to Romancing the Stone, a rip-snorter adventure/romance with Kathleen Turner and Michael Douglas, set the stage for this 2nd one. They've been together since the end of the 1st movie, living on his yacht. She is on assignment in the Middle East when she's abducted, and it's up to Douglas and of course Danny DeVito, to rescue her.
Good stuff, but not quite 5-star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 1/2 stars for a lame sequel, November 28, 2011
By 
Following the footsteps of "Romancing the Stone" which I thoroughly enjoyed, it's easy to understand why the series stopped here. In the previous film, lightweight though it may be, there is no question that the chemistry between Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner helps make it fun to watch. Not so here. This is essentially a lame attempt at comedy with some ludicrous adventure thrown in. Poorly written it doesn't work very well. I can't totally dismiss it, because of Douglas and Turner but come on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different kind of desert storm, May 14, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (Special Edition) (DVD)
It's been six months since we last saw Jack T. Colton (Michael Douglas) and Joan Wilder (Kathleen Turner), who in the interim have been making their leisurely way around the world on the sailing yacht Jack bought with the money he got from selling the giant emerald El Corazon. Unfortunately familiarity has begun to breed, if not contempt, at least frustration, which isn't helped by the fact that Joan is suffering severe writer's block; apparently living a romance isn't conducive to writing one. When a flamboyant Arab (Spiros Focas) invites her to write his biography, she leaps at the chance--not only is he attractive, but she thinks it may be time for her to move on to more serious efforts. But Omar turns out not to be what she thinks, and Jack, joined by their rather inept nemesis Ralph (Danny DeVito) from Colombia, sets out to rescue her. Meanwhile Joan has discovered that the "jewel of the Nile" that everyone (including Ralph and, to an extent, Jack) is looking for is in fact a desert holy man (Avner Eisenberg) who is also a prisoner of Omar's, and the two of them have contrived an escape. With plenty of humor and wild action, and a great turn by the Flying Karamazov Brothers as five Sufi warriors, this is a fun variation on both romance and action movies that owes at least a tip of its hat to Indiana Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jewel of the Nile, February 19, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (Special Edition) (DVD)
The two movies for a nice set. Romancing the Stone and Jewel of the Nile, in that order, are fun to watch. You don't need to be a super highbrow person to appreciate the fun and to have a very entertaining time watching these flicks. That is the real bottom line here. Are you going to be entertained and feel satisfied in the end and that is a yes. That IS the point to it ya' know. We don't need intellectual enlightenment to have a good time with a movie. That is not what these two movies offer. What you do get is a good time and that is worth the price. Pop your corn, settle in, cozy up, hit the start button and enjoy. The best part, you will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie., August 24, 2009
By 
S. C. Mcloy (Cozad, NE United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (Special Edition) (DVD)
"Jewel of the Nile" is a fun follow up to "Romancing the Stone". It is not nearly as good as the orginal, but worth watching on its own merit. Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner sparing, then romancing, are great to watch. The shooting locations, action and humor are icing on the cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Continuation, June 5, 2008
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (Special Edition) (DVD)
It's been a few months since Jack T. Colton (Michael Douglas) and Joan Wilder (Kathleen Turner) sailed off into the sunset (literally). They are now in the Greek isles. Jack loves their life of leisure living on their yacht, but Joan is getting board and is fighting a major case of writer's block. In fact, she can't seem to finish her latest book, which is already overdue to the publisher.

Things change when Joan gets an offer she thinks she can't refuse. Omar (Spiros Focas) is about to become King of his country in Africa, and he is a fan of Joan's work. He wants Joan to write his biography. She is delighted and jumps at the chance, even though Jack isn't interested, and the two split.

But things aren't as they seem. Joan soon learns that Omar isn't all he pretended to be and she must write only what he approves. Jack gets wind of the danger and set off to rescue her. Can he find her? Will they get away? And what is this jewel that everyone is trying to find?

Often time, sequels feel like retreads, going over the same ground as the original. Here, the movie truly feels like a continuation of Romancing the Stone, putting familiar characters in a completely new situation. I found the film just as funny, adventurous, and romantic as the first.

It does have a big flaw, however. Danny DeVito returns as Ralph, one of the bumbling bad guys from the first movie. While he give another fine performance, I found his inclusion highly unlikely. And his storyline went nowhere for most of the film as well. I think the film would have been stronger if they had left him out.

The first film had tons of foul language. This one continues the trend, although it seemed to be toned down some here. Still, parents will probably want to judge for themselves if it is appropriate for their child.

While I enjoy most sequels I see, I do notice they often aren't as good. This is a rare case where both films in the series are just as entertaining. So if you liked the first, don't hesitate to watch this one, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically Bad Cinema: Jewel of the Nile, November 1, 2008
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (Special Edition) (DVD)
I had forgotten about the movie "Jewel of the Nile" (1985) until I attended a small performing arts theater tucked into the wilderness of the Lake Region of Maine. There - in a theater that looked more like a barn than a stage -- I caught the rather amusing one-man show of Avner Eisenberg.

He did physical comedy, mostly complicated pratfalls. While perusing his biography in the program, I found this nugget: Eisenberg appeared in "The Jewel of the Nile" as the jewel.

What? I thought, is it even possible that I never watched the sequel to "Romancing the Stone" (1984)? But I had no memory of the movie -none. So when I got home, I rented it.

And it all came back to me - like a horrible nightmare.

"The Jewel of the Nile" is proof that you can't always return to the well. Because sometimes the well water turns into putrid sewage and if you drink it: you will die.

My first reaction was to track down Eisenberg and beat him with a rubber chicken.

"Jewel" is an epic disaster - a sequel so ill-thought out, poorly directed, horribly written, and featuring performances so lackluster one could argue that Michael Douglas wasn't even aware that he was in the movie. And I had seen it before - but had purged the memory from my brain.

I actually turned it off, but the next night, I was drawn back to it like a moth to a candle. The movie was so damn bad that I couldn't help myself. It's unfortunate because "Romancing the Stone" was such an unexpected pleasure. It brought a refresh to the old-fashioned romantic adventure - with some laughs thrown in.

What made "Romancing the Stone" a hit was the chemistry between Kathleen Turner's Joan Wilder and Douglas's Jack Colton. She was the repressed writer and he was the wild, roguish adventurer. The way the two actors played off each other made for a funny, delightful escape.

However, the success led to the rushed making of the sequel the very next year.

And sometimes speed kills.

The biggest problem with "Jewel" is the writing. The script is so improbable that it borders on the ridiculous. We're supposed to believe that Wilder - a bestselling romance novelist - would agree to write a biography about a Middle Eastern dictator she knows absolutely nothing about (he turns out to be a deranged tyrant).

Never mind the outrageous probability that said dictator, Prince Omar (played without irony by Spiros Focas), would even consider personally traveling halfway across the world to recruit a romance writer as his official biographer. The question viewers want answered is: "Why?" Unfortunately, there is no answer.

Then there's an attempt at a plot where Eisenberg - playing an oafish, but lovable religious leader - must be killed by the dictator so he can become the ultimate ruler of this fictional Middle Eastern kingdom before Eisenberg can be. Who this "Jewel" is and how he became a powerful religious icon is never explained. In fact, we're not quite sure what religion we're even talking about.

But forget all the plot holes and the lapses in reason that riddle the script. Hell, forget about the bloated budget and the unnecessary explosions and camel chases (but most of all forget about Danny DeVito, who delivers one of his worse performances ever).

The real problem with "Jewel" is that Douglas and Turner spend the majority of the movie separated.

Amazing, isn't it?

But how can that be, one might ask. Wasn't the success of the first movie the tit-for-tat exchanges between the actors? Wasn't it the super-charged romantic chemistry that ignited the screen the first time?

Apparently, the producers, director and writers forgot about that.

Like most of the movies we feature in Fantastically Bad Cinema - "The Jewel of the Nile" has to be seen to be believed. Just suspend any notion that you might be watching a real movie and dive into one of the most disappointing busts of the eighties.

Why not read some more literate blather at the Dark Party Review at http://darkpartyreview.blogspot.com/.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Jewel of the Nile (Special Edition)
The Jewel of the Nile (Special Edition) by Lewis Teague (DVD - 2006)
$9.98 $5.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.