Customer Reviews


242 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, BAD Quality
Just about everyone who orders this title has seen it before. So this is in regards to Video quality. If you must own the movie fine then by all means purchase it but be warned the DVD movie quality is atrocious. I must have about 100 movies now and of course you do expect some dropouts and scratches on older titles but this one really takes the cake in my opinion. This...
Published on April 22, 2003 by M. DelaPena

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Corny!
Michael Douglas & Kathleen Turner's first movie "Romancing the Stone" was the best! This one is to slapstick, corny, just wasn't for me.
Published 1 month ago by Joan Ehrgott


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, BAD Quality, April 22, 2003
By 
M. DelaPena "mannyCAM" (Tampa, florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (DVD)
Just about everyone who orders this title has seen it before. So this is in regards to Video quality. If you must own the movie fine then by all means purchase it but be warned the DVD movie quality is atrocious. I must have about 100 movies now and of course you do expect some dropouts and scratches on older titles but this one really takes the cake in my opinion. This copy is littered with dropouts " small white specs" , scratches and well just a plain dirty rendition of a superb movie. I have no clue why a DVD production house would allow something this bad to go into mass production unless they just believe that Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner fans will buy anything with them in it. I was beginning to believe that when you purchased a DVD you were getting the absolute best that these companies could offer. NOT SO, It appears that the bottom line is still about making a profit. Sadly enough its the consumer that ends up flipping the bill. The intros and menus are top notch superb DVD quality. And it starts out ok but gets prgressively worse. Honestly guys this movie could have been mastered from a better copy instead... well for us Douglas Turner fans a complete and sad letdown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic on the perfect format, January 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great classic Michael Douglas film. It looks the best it ever has on the blu ray format. The picture quality isn't as good as other blu ray movies from the same era, but it is much better than the dvd version. So if you are a fan of this movie definitely pick up this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Velveeta at its finest!, April 2, 2005
By 
Guilty Pleasure (Chilliwack, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (DVD)
I blinked and missed the eighties, too busy working and raising kids. So I picked this up, along with "Romancing the Stone," in the nineties, and caught up!
A cheezy, but classy, brace of time capsules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sequel that mostly makes the grade, April 20, 2004
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (DVD)
Rarely does a sequel to a smash movie rise to the same level as its predecessor - but perhaps Jewel of the Nile is the exception (along with some of the Indiana Jones follow-ups).
This sequel to Romancing the Stone, a rip-snorter adventure/romance with Kathleen Turner and Michael Douglas, set the stage for this 2nd one. They've been together since the end of the 1st movie, living on his yacht. She is on assignment in the Middle East when she's abducted, and it's up to Douglas and of course Danny DeVito, to rescue her.
Good stuff, but not quite 5-star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jewel of the nile, February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (Special Edition) (DVD)
The material arrived in good shape and in a timely manner. I have started a collection of classic movies and in my opinion, this movie ranks as one of the best. Funny is always funny and I guffaw each and every time I watch this classic. I recommend this classic for every movie buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Corny!, June 6, 2014
By 
Joan Ehrgott (CUDDEBACKVILLE, NY, US) - See all my reviews
Michael Douglas & Kathleen Turner's first movie "Romancing the Stone" was the best! This one is to slapstick, corny, just wasn't for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor attampt as a squel to Romancing the Stone, June 5, 2014
I love the actors and actresses in this movie, but the script was absonlutely cliche and terrible. Couldn't finish watching it, so sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romancing The Stone 2: The Jewel Of The Nile, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (Special Edition) (DVD)
Okay, now I have no doubt that this is going to annoy some people and seem petty but the title of this one really annoys me as a collector. Putting this in alphabetical order in my collection really throws it off. Putting it alphabetically where it goes is no less annoying. It should have been called, "Romancing The Stone 2: The Jewel Of The Nile" but wasn't. Douglas and Turner are super in the characters, the story isn't a bad one and DeVito is always a thrill to watch. But it just does not compare to the original film. In this one Turner's character is invited to join the future leader of his people after having a fallout with her beau. But Douglas' Jack must come to the rescue when tales of the Jewel Of The Nile and fear of his lady come into play. DeVito and Douglas must make an uneasy truce in hopes of recovering the jewel and rescuing the lady. If you own the first you might want this one, just put it under "R".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 1/2 stars for a lame sequel, November 28, 2011
By 
Following the footsteps of "Romancing the Stone" which I thoroughly enjoyed, it's easy to understand why the series stopped here. In the previous film, lightweight though it may be, there is no question that the chemistry between Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner helps make it fun to watch. Not so here. This is essentially a lame attempt at comedy with some ludicrous adventure thrown in. Poorly written it doesn't work very well. I can't totally dismiss it, because of Douglas and Turner but come on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different kind of desert storm, May 14, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Jewel of the Nile (Special Edition) (DVD)
It's been six months since we last saw Jack T. Colton (Michael Douglas) and Joan Wilder (Kathleen Turner), who in the interim have been making their leisurely way around the world on the sailing yacht Jack bought with the money he got from selling the giant emerald El Corazon. Unfortunately familiarity has begun to breed, if not contempt, at least frustration, which isn't helped by the fact that Joan is suffering severe writer's block; apparently living a romance isn't conducive to writing one. When a flamboyant Arab (Spiros Focas) invites her to write his biography, she leaps at the chance--not only is he attractive, but she thinks it may be time for her to move on to more serious efforts. But Omar turns out not to be what she thinks, and Jack, joined by their rather inept nemesis Ralph (Danny DeVito) from Colombia, sets out to rescue her. Meanwhile Joan has discovered that the "jewel of the Nile" that everyone (including Ralph and, to an extent, Jack) is looking for is in fact a desert holy man (Avner Eisenberg) who is also a prisoner of Omar's, and the two of them have contrived an escape. With plenty of humor and wild action, and a great turn by the Flying Karamazov Brothers as five Sufi warriors, this is a fun variation on both romance and action movies that owes at least a tip of its hat to Indiana Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Jewel of the Nile (Special Edition)
The Jewel of the Nile (Special Edition) by Lewis Teague (DVD - 2006)
$9.98 $5.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.