Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!
In the 26 days I've owned this book, I've been bowled over 26 times by Rabbi Hammer's daily teachings. They have touched me personally and often educated me.

Jill Hammer, clearly very knowledgeable in Jewish texts and tradition, reveals how Judaism embraces perspectives on nature and women that we might not credit Judaism with.

I've always tried to...
Published on April 2, 2007 by J. Murphy

versus
0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book of Days
It is not what I wanted, it is the wrong Book of Days. The Book of Days I wanted was a calendar book.
Published on March 7, 2011 by sleepy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, April 2, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons (Hardcover)
In the 26 days I've owned this book, I've been bowled over 26 times by Rabbi Hammer's daily teachings. They have touched me personally and often educated me.

Jill Hammer, clearly very knowledgeable in Jewish texts and tradition, reveals how Judaism embraces perspectives on nature and women that we might not credit Judaism with.

I've always tried to keep track of the cycles of the moon and seasons at the same time I keep track of the Jewish year, but it took this insightful, well-educated woman to unite the two in a meaningful and Jewish way. Thank you, Rabbi Hammer!

The introductory sections of the book are informative, and each day, in addition to her own teaching, Rabbi Hammer includes one quote from Tanach (Bible) and one quote from Talmud, Rashi, or other Jewish texts. I expect to turn to this book daily for the next year (and probably years to come), to learn and to deepen my spiritual life.

I can't recommend this volume highly enough. BUY YOURSELF THIS BOOK!

(Just a note: it's bound well, and under the pretty dust-jacket, the brown and gold cover would look really nice next to any Metsudah siddurs or machzors you might own.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Earthy, Spiritual Masterpiece, October 5, 2010
This review is from: The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons (Hardcover)
Jill Hammer's "The Jewish Book of Days" has been my companion for the last two years. Rabbi Jill's scholarship has helped me learn more of my once hidden heritage. Perhaps more importantly, the fecund spiritual depth of this work has created a profound rhythm in my life which I have been able to share and celebrate with family and friends. You will find this book always at my bedside or in my backpack; this is a treasure too rich for any shelf. I have made personal notes in the margins as I have awakened to the truth and beauty in the text, planning to give my copy to my daughter when she is grown. The Jewish Book of Days is not to be read, but lived. It is a true masterpiece of Earth and Spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous blend of ancient wisdom and contemporary sensitivity, March 3, 2009
By 
Obadiah "Obadiah!" (denver, co United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons (Hardcover)
Just getting started in this book of daily readings from the Jewish tradition, but already its richness confirms this was a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful tool, December 18, 2007
By 
M. Buttersnaps (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons (Hardcover)
This book is just packed with useful information! I absolutely love it! As the previous poster said, it is also beautiful and well-bound. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars meditative and wonderfully thoughtful, June 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons (Hardcover)
I bought four copies of this book to give to friends who want to know more about Judaism, without being either too folksy or legalistic. This book is a fabulous way to introduce anyone into the many realms of Jewish thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, December 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons (Hardcover)
An extraordinary book! This is actually the second one we purchased. It was a gift for my wife's sister. This is an amazing book for those interested in Hebrew mysticism and how it relates to the Creator's Calendar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I read this book everyday!, May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons (Hardcover)
This is a soulful, thoughtful, educational and inspirational volume that provides great insights and guidance for each day and season of the year from a Jewish perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons, May 2, 2013
By 
Cherokee (Rockport, Maine United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons (Hardcover)
I bought this book about a month ago. The book is inspirational. It has a message for every day as well as a quote from the Bible. I plan to send a copy of this book to my daughter who has recently converted to Judaism. I know she will also love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, year after year, April 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons (Hardcover)
Though I don't read it consistently, it's always nice to have a guidebook to the Jewish calendar on my shelf, for any time I want to tune in to the spiritual energy of the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A daily reminder of Jewish heritage.a, March 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons (Hardcover)
A wonderful daily reminder of living a Jewish Life. I try to read each entry for each day. I am so glad to have the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons
The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons by Jill Hammer (Hardcover - September 1, 2006)
$30.00 $25.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.