Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoy historical biographies, check this book out!, September 8, 2005
This review is from: The John Deere Story: A Biography of Plowmakers John and Charles Deere (Hardcover)
"The John Deere Story" tells a great tale. It focuses on John Deere's development of the modern plow, his successes and failures as a businessman and his business-minded son Charles' success in promoting what is now an international brand. But what also makes this story great is the insight into the 1800's modernization of agriculture and the development of a modern Midwestern city (Moline, Illinois). Because industrialization was still young, it was interesting to read about trademark rights, competition, sales, antitrust arguments and other modern business practices that were being established at the time the Deere family was beginning to make its mark.

There is a lot of detail in this book, so follow the names of the cast of characters closely. It's worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift Purchase, January 18, 2012
This review is from: The John Deere Story: A Biography of Plowmakers John and Charles Deere (Hardcover)
I purchased this item as a gift for my father. I, myself was not aware of the full history of John Deere and I found it very informational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, September 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The John Deere Story: A Biography of Plowmakers John and Charles Deere (Hardcover)
A great read on the early history of John Deere. Tells of the early success and failures of John Deere. Has a few old pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice, February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The John Deere Story: A Biography of Plowmakers John and Charles Deere (Hardcover)
Arrived on time, turned out to be a great gift for my brother-in-law, hes a John Deere employee and loves anything John Deere. perfect gift for the guy who has everything related to John Deere already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Book Well Worth Reading, April 25, 2014
This review is from: The John Deere Story: A Biography of Plowmakers John and Charles Deere (Hardcover)
If you are interested in U.S. history, biographies, economics, or business in general, this is a great book. The book is very well written, kept my interest from beginning to end. As you might expect, this covers the earlier days of the John Deere company, founded by John Deere and then run by his son, Charles. It is not a long book, the text runs to 178 pages, and the hardback is a little bit smaller than a full-size hardback. The authors do an excellent job of telling the story, there is a lot of information, but the story flows very well, it's a very readable book. This sort of book is right up my alley anyway, but I was still surprised at how much I enjoyed it. It puts a human face on a company that we have pretty much all at least heard of, and if you are in or from a rural area, I would be surprised if you weren't familiar with the name. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Facts Not so Organized, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The John Deere Story: A Biography of Plowmakers John and Charles Deere (Hardcover)
This is a VERY in depth book about John Deer and the history of American farming. We originally bought this book for a 11 year-old who needed to write a report about an American Icon and he had picked John Deere. Since there were no books about him in the school library, we bought this book. It was a little too in depth for him to get finished with the book for his project but he has really enjoyed learning about all of John Deere and American farming and has continued to read this book far past the project deadline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Deere - Backbone of America, December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The John Deere Story: A Biography of Plowmakers John and Charles Deere (Hardcover)
This is a story of the developement of a company through it's successes and failures. The founders had dreems for the future of their company and of the nation. A quality narative of the growth of the John Deere Company, of the effects of the labor movement and the developent of industrial America. Well worth the time to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present, December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The John Deere Story: A Biography of Plowmakers John and Charles Deere (Hardcover)
Bought this as a present for my Father in Law, who loves all things John Deere. Seems like a neat book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 16, 2014
This review is from: The John Deere Story: A Biography of Plowmakers John and Charles Deere (Hardcover)
Excellent, detailed and well written. Can be a bit dull sometimes, but a very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, February 8, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The John Deere Story: A Biography of Plowmakers John and Charles Deere (Hardcover)
Awesome story! Well written and interesting details. Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The John Deere Story: A Biography of Plowmakers John and Charles Deere
The John Deere Story: A Biography of Plowmakers John and Charles Deere by Neil Dahlstrom (Hardcover - March 31, 2005)
$26.50 $21.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.