Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of one of the greatest Disco Queens Ever!
This album is a terrific compilation of Donna Summer's greatest hits. The album has primarily the disco songs that made her a smash success such as "Love To Love You Baby," "Hot Stuff," "Bad Girls," "Last Dance," and "Dim All The Lights." You also get her classic duet with Barbra Streisand, "No More Tears (Enough Is Enough);" and a group called Brooklyn Dreams helped...
Published on May 6, 2006 by Matthew G. Sherwin

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Edited versions ... again!
With the countless Donna Summer compilations around, you would think that Universal would opt for a compilation that would give fans something more than what they already have. This compilation once again features the heavily cut versions of songs. It's main attraction is the inclusion (on the Australian and UK edition only) of the hard to find single "Theme from the...
Published on February 11, 2006 by William


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of one of the greatest Disco Queens Ever!, May 6, 2006
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer (Audio CD)
This album is a terrific compilation of Donna Summer's greatest hits. The album has primarily the disco songs that made her a smash success such as "Love To Love You Baby," "Hot Stuff," "Bad Girls," "Last Dance," and "Dim All The Lights." You also get her classic duet with Barbra Streisand, "No More Tears (Enough Is Enough);" and a group called Brooklyn Dreams helped Donna out on background vocals for "Heaven Knows." There are twenty (yes, twenty) songs on this single CD, so you don't get many 12" extended versions of the songs. To compensate for that loss, however, there is a second bonus CD included inside the jewel case with remixes of some great songs including "Hot Stuff," "I Feel Love," and "You're So Beautiful."

The remastering work was well done; the sound quality is excellent in both my regular CD stereo at home as well as in my portable CD player. This highlights the richness, sexiness and electricity in Donna's voice. Her voice is exciting and always leaves the listener wanting more!

The liner notes are great. There's an extensive essay by Brian Chin, quite a few color photos of Donna, song credits and listings of where each song charted at its' peak of popularity after its' initial release. I also liked the excerpts from Donna's autobiography called Ordinary Girl: The Journey. The extra bonus CD comes inside the regular sized jewel case, however, so you need to carefully pull it out as to not break the plastic case. (They manufactured the CD jewel case this way to save a few bucks on production costs, no doubt.)

Summer fans also hear her great "crossover" songs into something that is more like mainstream pop. You get "She Works Hard For The Money" and "This Time I Know It's for Real." Donna performs a sublime rendition of "I Will Go With You" and there are two "new recordings" by Donna called "That's The Way" and "Dream-a-lot's Theme (I Will Live For Love)."

Overall, the songs Donna sings are the best and this CD is excellent proof of that. The melodies are catchy and the musical arrangements impressed me. Congratulations are due both to Donna for her outstanding accomplishments in the field of music over decades of time and to the other people who helped produce this electric album.

I highly recommend this album as an excellent starter album for people who want to get to be more familiar with Donna Summer's talent. This CD is also great for disco fans, pop fans and even fans of dance music in general.

This album is called "The Journey, The Very Best Of Donna Summer," as if they are somehow implying that Donna's work is done and this is some type of complete and final retrospective. However, I for one will bet that for Donna Summer, the journey to produce great exciting music is far from over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what made me a new fan..., August 21, 2004
By 
J. Ahern "jkahern" (Gainesville, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer (Audio CD)
....never really followed Donna until a few months ago. I'm more into current dance/house music. However, at a wedding reception, they played 'Last Dance'....well I began exploring her music a little further, and here is the newest release! I absolutely love it, but then I found the Anthology CD (1993) and it's much better- same material as this release but the edits are longer, plus there's even more of 'the very best' on the Anthology.

Anyhoo, not a bad buy for $12, I've bought four more albums since this one...Donna's awesome! This release is good for listeners who aren't too familiar with her (like I was)...it's a nice snapshot of her overall music career, and the liner notes and bio inside the cover pretty much give you a nice briefing. Her 70s music is much better than her 80s stuff....check out her albums "Love to Love You Baby" "Four Seasons of Love" and "Love Trilogy"....makes you want to envision disco balls and everyone packing the dancefloor in their platform shoes and big hair!

Buy it! I'm collecting everything the woman has done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Donna Summer ...Great Package!, September 30, 2003
This review is from: The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer (Audio CD)
This latest Greatest Hits package is a great overview of Summer's past and present. Universal has released this package as a great companion piece for Donna's new Autobiography "Ordinary Girl" The digitally remastered singles sounds better than ever.
Global pop music at its best.
Plus it is a 2 disc set, with great bonus tracks. The Amazon track listing is incorrect. this is the correct listing:
Disk 1:
Love To Love You Baby 3.22
Could It Be Magic 3.54
I Feel Love 3.46
I Love You 3.18
Last Dance 3.19
MacArthur Park 3.56
Heaven Knows 3.39
Hot Stuff 3.50
Bad Girls 3.57
Dim All The Lights 3.58
No More Tears (Enough Is Enough) Duet with Barbra Streisand 4.48
On The Radio 4.05
The Wanderer 3.46
Love Is In Control (Finger On The Trigger) 4.19
State Of Independence 4.25
She Works Hard For The Money 4.10
This Time I Know It's For Real 3.36
I Will Go With You (Con Te Partiro) 4.08
That's The Way 3.52 (new recording)
Dream-A-Lot's Theme (I Will Live For Love) 4.52 (new recording)
disk 2
I Feel Love 12" single remix (8:10)
Hot Stuff 12" single remix (6:40)
This Time I Know It's For Real 12" single extended remix (7:22)
Dream-A-Lot's Theme (I Will Live For Love) (D. Summer/N. DiGesare) 12" extended remix (Approximately 10 minutes) Remixed by Giorgio Moroder and Chris Cox, produced by Giorgio Moroder
You're So Beautiful (D. Summer/T. Moran/N. DiGesare) Ultimate Club mix (Approximately 10 minutes) Produced by Tony Moran and co-produced by Nathan DiGesare
The real big news here are the new Giorgio Moroder tracks and the underground club smash "(You Are) So Beautiful". "Beautiful" is already being played on KTU in NYC.
The Moroder tracks "Dream Alots Theme" and "Thats The Way" are even hotter. It makes you look forward to a full new CD from Summer in 2004. The CD is a great value and a great joy. This is for old and new fans. If you never owned a Donna Summer CD, check this one out and you will will want to buy her full CD's which contains the long versions of all of her classic hits.:) I just got my tickets for the Madison Square Garden show. :) I hope she does "Beautiful".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Edited versions ... again!, February 11, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer (Audio CD)
With the countless Donna Summer compilations around, you would think that Universal would opt for a compilation that would give fans something more than what they already have. This compilation once again features the heavily cut versions of songs. It's main attraction is the inclusion (on the Australian and UK edition only) of the hard to find single "Theme from the Deep". Overall, the best part of this CD is the second disc which includes the 12 inch version of "Love to Love You Baby" which is great to have. The other extended mixes on this disc are ok, although not sure why they included the patrick Cowley remix of "I feel love" over the original 12" mix.

My advice to anyone considering buying this, is to pass over this, and look at the more recent double CD titled "Donna Summer: Gold", it is truly amazing. It contains longer versions of most of the key singles, and features the correct single version of "love to love you baby". GOLD is worth every single penny ... and shows that record companies sometimes get it right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Journey!, September 30, 2003
By 
Emile Jumean (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer (Audio CD)
One may hesitate picking up this particular compilation, as there have been many, many Donna Summer compilations released in the past decade. "Why would I pick up this one," you may ask. "What's so special about this one?" Well, here are a couple reasons why you should.
The Journey is, overall, a wonderfully concise overview of Donna's body of work. Not as exhaustive as her 1993 Anthology, and not as skimpy as the 1998 Greatest Hits or 2003 20th Century Masters CDs. In a nutshell, it's basically a revamping of 1994's Endless Summer, now covering her earliest US hit, 1975's Love To Love You Baby, and her last, 1999's I Will Go With You. The songs, the majority of which are in their radio edit versions, are remastered beautifully, and have never sounded better.
One of the catches to this CD, are the two new tracks which reunites Donna with her long-time collaborator, Giorgio Moroder. The two last worked on 1992's Carry On, and before that, 1981's I'm A Rainbow album. Both of the new tracks, in my opinion, are in a word -- stunning.
I Will Live For Love is just so wonderfully over the top, terribly Hi-NRG, but just so much fun to listen to! Follows the classic Donna style -- a slow ballad intro, which then transforms into a pumping dance track, in the vein of Last Dance, Dim All The Lights and Melody Of Love.
That's The Way is one of Donna's best songs in quite some time. It's such an intriguing number, quite an unusual entry in the Donna Summer canon. Everything about the song works: the mid-tempo, plodding beat, the reggae-styled guitar and percussion, and of course, Donna's vocals -- very, very sexy vocals. Not to mention the rather playful spoken passage in the middle... wherein Donna does a little bit of self-promotion. "I wanna love you baby, like you know I'm Donna Summer". Indeed!
This first pressing of The Journey also comes with a bonus CD featuring five 12" mixes, including Hot Stuff, I Feel Love and This Time I Know It's For Real. All of which are basic extended versions. The real treat are the remaining two tracks on the disc.
I Will Live For Love appears a second time, in remixed form, a 9-minute remix done by Giorgio Moroder and Chris Cox. Speaking personally, I prefer this slightly more subdued remix than the perhaps a bit too over-busy original version.
Also making its public debut is the Ultimate Club Mix of You're So Beautiful. A song that made the rounds on bootlegs earlier in the year, it finally gets the public release it deserved. Rather similar to the original bootleg mix, cleaned up, slightly adulterated with more synths and effects, and lengthened by almost 2 minutes. Personally, I have issues with Donna's vocals being so buried in the mix, and I still find it much too hard a mix for my liking. Personally, I would love to hear a more poppier-sounding mix of Beautiful -- something in the vein of the Tommy Musto vocal mix of The Power Of One, for instance.
Overall, Donna's "The Journey" is a tremendous value, combining her classic tunes with some new ones with her old collaborator, Giorgio Moroder, bringing her full-circle. The addition of the bonus remix CD is yet another reason to pick this compilation up without delay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this updated collection--Summer at her best!!!!!, September 2, 2004
This review is from: The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer (Audio CD)
I have bought her other compilations and greatest hits--but this is the best and most comprehensive! As a longtime listener of Donna Summer since 1978, she made some unbelievable songs, not just for disco, but for other genres as well. All the hits, from Last Dance, to my favorite On the Radio, to Dim All The Lights to Bad Girls to Hot Stuff, to Hard For the Money, to This Time I Know It's For Real (yes I followed Donna in '89!) are on here. Donna and Giorgio Moroder were the Lennon/McCartney of the late '70s, an excellent pairing and an endless run of hits! And I love the two new songs she did in 2003. It shows her willingness to move forward as a singer. I like the new disco-based song that she did. I like that Donna moved forward when most of the other disco stars faded in the '80s. Would have liked one song from her '87 album (Dinner With Gershwin) on Geffen, but you can't get everybody. This is better than Endless Summer from 10 years ago, only more this time! I played this album this summer on the interstate in New Mexico on a road trip! And you need to have this album in your collection! Excellent dance floor music!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 cd set of hits and bonus remix cd!, October 10, 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer (Audio CD)
This is yet another collection from Donna Summer and you can not complain about the songs on here because they are all classics. The 2 cd Anthology is a better compilation than this but I defy you to find a bad song here at all. The main reason for me to own this collection is the 2 new songs that are on Disc 1 -"That's The Way" and "Dream-A-Lot's Theme(I Will Live For Love)" that reunite her with the legend that is Giorgio Moroder. The second disc also contains the 12" mixes for "Dream-A-Lot's Theme(I Will Live For Love)" (12"Extended Remix-9:16) and You're So Beautiful(The Ultimate Club Mix-10:50) that are sure to be classics as well. Hopefully Donna will try and put out a new cd of brand new material or if there is another compilation from Universal in the next few years then try and put out a box set of ALL(and I do mean ALL) the 12" dance mixes that Donna Summer has ever put out----I know I will buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REMASTERED tracks!, October 5, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer (Audio CD)
Although some fans may be dismayed at yet another Donna Summer compilation, this one is different. Universal has remastered the tracks for the best sounding compilation ever. The standard CD includes 2 new tracks, "That's The Way" and "I Will Live For Love". The limited edition release includes a bonus CD with remastered 12" versions of "I Feel Love" and "This Time I Know It's For Real", as well as a remix of "I Will Live For Love" and the underground hit "You're So Beautiful".
A word to those aforementioned "fans" who feel that they have been ripped off by Ms. Summer - the RECORD LABEL puts out the compilations, not the artist. This is the first time in a decade that Ms. Summer had anything to do with a compilation being released. Universal is to be commended for this remastered gem as well as the remastered Bad Girls which was released this summer. Universal also listened to the fans and included "You're So Beautiful" at the last minute. The success of these two releases will dictate whether Universal remasters the rest of Donna Summer's extensive catalog as well as whether they will re-sign her to a Universal label (she left Sony in the wake of the Mottola departure).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lady will be missed but never forgotten, May 17, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer (Audio CD)
It is amazing how the world was shaken today with the very sad announcement that Donna Summer died at the too young age of 63 from cancer. No matter what the musical preference of today's audience is - jazz, classical, blues, rock and roll, hip hop, new age - it is probable that many of us shared the magic of Donna Summer as she reigned as Queen of Disco in the 1970s. hearing of her passing brings back memories of that wild decade, the end of the Vietnam war, the rise of disco dancing and partying through the night to forget the state of the state of a world gone insane. She simply made us, if only for the duration of a song, forget the bad things and dance away to the good vibes.

Though there are many collections of her music now available, this recording holds on to the many true golden hits she gave us: Last Dance, Hot Stuff, She Works Hard for the Money, Love to Love You Baby, On the Radio, Bad Girls, the great `No More Tears (Enough is Enough)', and no one will ever be able to erase the memories of her special disco version of MacArthur Park. And there are more of her goodies here, but the ones mentioned seem synonymous with that aspect of the 70s and 80s that made becoming adults a bit easier.

We are losing goddesses too frequently - Whitney Houston, Donna Summer et al. Will things ever be the same? Probably not, but Donna Summer left us with profoundly felt memories. Ave atque vale. Grady Harp, May 12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donna Summer: THE JOURNEY: THE VERY BEST OF DONNA SUMMER (2003), November 18, 2006
This review is from: The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer (Audio CD)
In September of 2003, Donna Summer released her twenty-seventh album entitled, THE JOURNEY: THE VERY BEST OF DONNA SUMMER. This is, yet, another great album by the Queen of Disco, despite the fact that it is missing a few tracks here, a few tracks there. But still a great compilation.

LOVE TO LOVE YOU BABY

From the album LOVE TO LOVE YOU BABY (1975). Still a great song.

COULD IT BE MAGIC

From the album A LOVE TRILOGY (1976). Just simply an amazing cover. It's a song that I could really dance to.

I FEEL LOVE

From the album I REMEMBER YESTERDAY (1977). An amazing song. I love it's Disco-vibe.

I LOVE YOU

From the album ONCE UPON A TIME...(1977). Great song.

LAST DANCE

From the original motion picture & motion picture soundtrack THANK GOD IT'S FRIDAY (1978). Still a classic after all of these years.

MacARTHUR PARK

From the single MacARTHUR PARK (1978). Great song. This is definitely a song that I could really dance to.

HEAVEN KNOWS

From the single HEAVEN KNOWS (1978). Another great Disco song.

HOT STUFF

From the album BAD GIRLS (1979). This is, yet, another great song, with it's Rock-Disco combination.

BAD GIRLS

From the album BAD GIRLS (1979). Awesome.

DIM ALL THE LIGHTS

From the album BAD GIRLS (1979). Great song.

NO MORE TEARS (ENOUGH IS ENOUGH) (performed by Barbra Streisand & Donna Summer)

Original version from Barbra Streisand's album WET (1979). Still the best Diva Duet in the history of music.

ON THE RADIO

From the album ON THE RADIO: GREATEST HITS VOLUMES I & II (1979). Awesome song. I could definitely tear up the dance floor with this track.

THE WANDERER

From the album THE WANDERER (1980). Another great song, with Donna Summer leaving Disco behind.

LOVE IS IN CONTROL (FINGER ON THE TRIGGER)

From the album DONNA SUMMER (1982). Awesome tune.

STATE OF INDEPENDENCE

From the album DONNA SUMMER (1982). Awesome tune.

SHE WORKS HARD FOR THE MONEY

From the album SHE WORKS HARD FOR THE MONEY (1983). Great song.

THIS TIME I KNOW IT'S FOR REAL

From the album ANOTHER PLACE AND TIME (1989). I'll never forget the day when I first heard this song. The minute I heard it, I instantly fell in love with it. This is one of Donna Summer's great dance tunes of the '80s.

I WILL GO WITH YOU (CON TE PARTIRO)

From the album VH1 PRESENTS DONNA SUMMER: LIVE AND MORE: ENCORE! (1999). An awesome song. I must have listened to this one at least ten times.

THAT'S THE WAY

Previously unreleased. Great.

DREAM-A-LOT'S THEME (I WILL LIVE FOR LOVE)

Previously unreleased. Great.

Even though I am asking myself, "How many 'Greatest Hits' compilations can someone have?", this compilation is still very amazing, even though the compilation is missing the following: "Spring Affair", "I Remember Yesterday", "Our Love", "Once Upon A Time", "Rumour Has It", "Sunset People", "Cold Love", "Unconditional Love" (performed by Donna Summer & Musical Youth), "There Goes My Baby", "Supernatural Love", "All Systems Go", "I Don't Want To Get Hurt", "Love's About To Change My Heart", "When Love Cries", "Friends Unknown", & "Carry On". But still a great compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer
The Journey: The Very Best of Donna Summer by Donna Summer (Audio CD - 2003)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.