Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So thorough, it should be called "Encyclopedia of Smoking and Salt Curing"
The Joy of Smoking and Salt Curing is a pure joy to read and learn from! We've been considering purchasing or building a smoker and after reading this book, I'm convinced to accelerate this decision.

Chock full of advice, recipes, step-by-step illustrated instructions and a complete review of smoking and salt curing options and tools, this is an intense and...
Published on September 18, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars pretty bogus
To be sure, there are a number of recipes and some very important facts, but it didn't fit the bill for me. The author is so into pre-packaged ingredients and commercially advertised recipes, at times the book might be confused with a long brochure for Morton Salt or something. This book has the basics, and that's about that. Bummer.
Published 4 months ago by Sir Mitchery Glenneford Rothell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So thorough, it should be called "Encyclopedia of Smoking and Salt Curing", September 18, 2011
The Joy of Smoking and Salt Curing is a pure joy to read and learn from! We've been considering purchasing or building a smoker and after reading this book, I'm convinced to accelerate this decision.

Chock full of advice, recipes, step-by-step illustrated instructions and a complete review of smoking and salt curing options and tools, this is an intense and benficial guide.

Overall, a must-read for anyone interested in smoking or salt curing meats, fish, or wild game. I'm totally impressed with the design and content of this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick and Easy, February 9, 2013
By 
Piah Chuck "Tikegh Toketie Tatoosh" (Cordilleras, Luzon Philippines) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This introduction to smoking and curing is full of photos and some great basic information for the beginner. If you are interested in making your own bacon (super easy) or smoking a turkey (very tasty) this is a good place for you to get started.

It is not an in-depth study of smoking and curing, to be sure. Other books go deeper into the chemistry, processes, and different smoking/curing approaches. But they are aimed at serious hobbyists or people considering smoked/cured meats as a business venture. For the guy or gal that wants to step up the flavor of food they make, not food they buy, this is a great little intro to the equipment and procedures used by most home smokers.

I have both the hard copy and the kindle versions. Either works quite nicely and with Amazon's cloud reader, the less expensive Kindle version can work quite well if you don't mind reading it on your computer. I'll be using some of the recipes mentioned in the book.

It is not the one and only book you will want on the subject, but it is a fine starter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars pretty bogus, May 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
To be sure, there are a number of recipes and some very important facts, but it didn't fit the bill for me. The author is so into pre-packaged ingredients and commercially advertised recipes, at times the book might be confused with a long brochure for Morton Salt or something. This book has the basics, and that's about that. Bummer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Smoking and Salt Curing: The Complete Guide to Smoking and Curing Meat, Fish, Game, and More (The Joy of Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book, it covers all of the important aspects of curing and smoking that you need to know for home use without a lot of boring technical details that would only be important for commercial use, It's written in plain simple to understand English and is very easy to follow, it also has a lot of recipe's and pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smoking and Salt Curing, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Smoking and Salt Curing: The Complete Guide to Smoking and Curing Meat, Fish, Game, and More (The Joy of Series) (Kindle Edition)
A handy book to have for people living in the country or for fisher people to smoke or cure their catch, please remember that the meat still needs to be cooked after you have salted or smoked it. And the small is a nice way to tease the neighbours. A great book and I highly recommend you get it while it's still in print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring Joy to the Smoking/Salt Curing Experience, August 15, 2013
Length:: 2:28 Mins

As the title suggests, Monte Burch's book is a joyful introduction to the art of smoking and salt curing. Likely to inspire hobbyists, this book is idea for those who catch wild game or are interested in saving money at the grocery store. Chockfull of instructional color photos, this is a wonderful guide through the basic procedures for smoking and curing.

I found the photos particularly integral to the book, so please check out the visual component to this review. If you have been dreaming of trying your hand at this art, pick up a copy of The Joy of Smoking and Salt Curing and you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good information, December 5, 2012
By 
William (KEARNEY, NE, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Smoking and Salt Curing: The Complete Guide to Smoking and Curing Meat, Fish, Game, and More (The Joy of Series) (Kindle Edition)
New to the idea of curing meats and this book was a good intro, especially at the price. Not really planning on doing a lot of curing, just some for fun. This book is likely all I will buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Fluff and Not Enough How To Info, January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Smoking and Salt Curing: The Complete Guide to Smoking and Curing Meat, Fish, Game, and More (The Joy of Series) (Kindle Edition)
There was more fluff than meat to the book. It would be more beneficial to the reader if most of the history was dropped and more information on the "how to" was included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great primer, August 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Smoking and Salt Curing: The Complete Guide to Smoking and Curing Meat, Fish, Game, and More (The Joy of Series) (Kindle Edition)
If you're interested in discovering more about taking control of your food and making it at home, you want this book. With the cost of proteins going up and the quality more often questionable than good, it makes great sense to buy good stuff in bulk, and butcher, cure, and preserve your own at home. It's not only pretty easy, it's a blast, and the tastes you'll build are night and day from store bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I have not the opportunity yet to put into practice ..., July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Smoking and Salt Curing: The Complete Guide to Smoking and Curing Meat, Fish, Game, and More (The Joy of Series) (Kindle Edition)
I have not the opportunity yet to put into practice al that I have read but I did get a few new ideas. I will definitely put some of them into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.