Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good rhymes, cute pug...and some poop
My 3 1/2 year-old son loves this book. It's a cute 2 minute read, with a pug who loves to juggle all kinds of things, who breaks mugs, tugs on curtains, has a friend named Doug, and who likes to poop on the rug. The town is up in arms and wants the pug out, but the pug only started the juggling act for hugs, so they all learn to live together in peace. Hugs are one thing...
Published on May 17, 2008 by Gloria Cavanaugh

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pug, you don't learn!
What kind of example or modeling is this for young children? One makes promises and doesn't try to keep them, but continues the same behavior? What's going on here?
Published on November 26, 2011 by Greta


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good rhymes, cute pug...and some poop, May 17, 2008
By 
Gloria Cavanaugh (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Juggling Pug (Hardcover)
My 3 1/2 year-old son loves this book. It's a cute 2 minute read, with a pug who loves to juggle all kinds of things, who breaks mugs, tugs on curtains, has a friend named Doug, and who likes to poop on the rug. The town is up in arms and wants the pug out, but the pug only started the juggling act for hugs, so they all learn to live together in peace. Hugs are one thing we all want more of! The poop thing, of course, is what sells my son on this one. That's his favorite part, for sure. We are a cat family, so he has no idea this actually happens -- what hilarity!! This is one we'll read daily, and it won't give me a headache any time soon. Very sweet, upbeat story with illustrations that match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from www.firrkids.com, November 24, 2008
This review is from: The Juggling Pug (Hardcover)
This is the sound of our test group reacting to this story: Ha ha ha ha ha! Bwa ha ha ha! Needless to say, the book was an immediate success. A terrific rhyming text and adorable illustrations combine to make this one heck of an irresistible book. Our kids were literally falling over themselves giggling at the pug's antics, and demanding a second read as soon as we had finished the first.

This strangely talented pug starts juggling just for a hug, and he quickly makes a name for himself. He will juggle anything he can get his paws on, from hamburgers to umbrellas to dollhouse furniture. The town becomes famous for their unusual pug. They love the attention so much that they excuse his bad behavior - breaking dishes, digging holes, interrupting dinner, and (gasp!) pooping on the rug. One day a girl decides enough is enough, and the pug agrees to change his ways. Er, some of his ways.

These illustrations are of laugh out loud caliber. The mischievous facial expressions of the pug alone are worth the price of the book. Even the town's souvenir cart is funny, stocked with pug head balloons, t-shirts and the classic snow globe. The book is consistently clever and engaging, and goes on to deliver a hilarious ending. This is an obvious winner that would very likely become a favorite of your children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fabulous!, July 26, 2008
By 
mrspugalot (Alexandria, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Juggling Pug (Hardcover)
For anyone who owns a pug (or two, like we do), this book is a must-have. From one page to the next, the antics of the juggling pug mimic those of our oldest pug to a "T". The author has created a funny, accurate, child-friendly book in "The Juggling Pug", one that continues to make my 4-year old niece laugh out loud every time she reads it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pug Juggler, March 15, 2010
This review is from: The Juggling Pug (Hardcover)
A genuinely delightful story with equally delightful pictures that feature curly tailed Doug, the juggling pug!

Readers and pug lovers of all ages will enjoy the fun rhymes and the misadventures our curly tailed hero finds himself getting into. Doug the juggling curly tailed pug is very funny and his antics will keep readers of all ages laughing uproariously.

Our curly tailed hero will juggle for a hug and from there, he extends his juggling prowess to include just about any object. He can juggle umbrellas, food, dollhouse furniture, cushions and books. He becomes famous in his community and people come from all over to see the curly tailed juggler.

Doug is not all pug hugs and pug cuddles. He is infamous for messing the rug; breaking some of the fragile things he juggles; barking at people during meal time and leaving holes in the yard. A young girl draws a line in the sand and tells Doug to mend those holes and his behavior or else.

Doug does some mending, but let's just say he remains Doug, the cuddly juggling pug who brings pug love to all who encounter him, mischief and all.

Whether or not you are a pug lover, you will certainly find plenty to smile about with Doug, the juggling pug!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute, September 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Juggling Pug (Hardcover)
It's a cute kids book. As a dad and a pug owner - well, it's just a hit in our house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The juggling pug, January 24, 2014
This review is from: The Juggling Pug (Kindle Edition)
I love this book! It is great! It was funny and my little sister loved it - it was for her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The pug juggles!, August 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Juggling Pug (Hardcover)
Tough to rhyme pug with much of anything, but this book does it well. perfer\ct for grnd children and me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Book, May 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Juggling Pug (Hardcover)
Santa bought this for my two year old daughter. She likes the pictures and the rhymes, Doug the Pug reminds me of our pug. Very cute book for little kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family of Pug Lovers, January 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Juggling Pug (Hardcover)
This book is silly and doesn't really teach anything,have a lesson or moral story and that's okay. Not everything has to and children love the silliness of the book. We have a pug so of course, my daughter loves this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, November 28, 2010
This review is from: The Juggling Pug (Hardcover)
Yet another fabulous book from Sean Bryan. It's one of my kids' favorites (along with a Gile and her Gator).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Juggling Pug
The Juggling Pug by Sean Bryan (Hardcover - April 2, 2008)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.