Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good resource, but is lacking in instructions
This book is a great resource for a first time faster. I like the fact that it was published in 2007, so all the information given in this book should be pretty up to date. It tells you everything you need to know about the benefits of juice fasting, what to expect during the detoxing process, what fruits and vegetables are best for juice fasting and their health...
Published on January 11, 2008 by bmkd

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Enough Juice
I chose to give this book one star as it did not provide enough natural juice recipes. Most of the recipes require that you dilute them with something. This is not what I am looking for in a juicing book. The recipes seem like they were really outdated. The majority of the book was spent on trying to convince people to juice when by the time you've purchased the book...
Published 15 months ago by KGreenwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good resource, but is lacking in instructions, January 11, 2008
By 
bmkd (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Juice Fasting Bible: Discover the Power of an All-Juice Diet to Restore Good Health, Lose Weight and Increase Vitality (Paperback)
This book is a great resource for a first time faster. I like the fact that it was published in 2007, so all the information given in this book should be pretty up to date. It tells you everything you need to know about the benefits of juice fasting, what to expect during the detoxing process, what fruits and vegetables are best for juice fasting and their health benefits, juice fasting safety and preparation, what to expect psychologically during fasting, and I absolutely love the juice recipes. What this book is lacking are clear step-by-step instructions to take you through the fasting preparation, the fasting itself, and the breaking of fasting. It's all a bit vague and leaves you slightly confused. For this reason, I suggest this book in combination with Dr. Paavo Airola's "Juice Fasting: The Age-old way to a New you!", a great book with step-by-step instructions, and you should have all the resources you need for a successful fast.

Here is the table of contents:

1. Benefits of a Juice Fast
2. Detoxing for Greater Health
3. Best Fruits and Vegetables for Juicing
4. Juice Fasting Safety and Preparation
5. Choose a Program for Your Fast
6. Handling Your Fast Well
7. Glorious Juice Recipes
8. Ending Your Fast Properly
9. Testimonials
10. About the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lose Weight with Juice Fasting, February 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Juice Fasting Bible: Discover the Power of an All-Juice Diet to Restore Good Health, Lose Weight and Increase Vitality (Paperback)
"...there is no better way to improve your overall health..."

After being on a fast for three days and losing five pounds I'm a believer. Fasting does work to lose weight and it happens quickly! Once you get into your juice fast it is quite fun to experiment with different fruit and vegetable juice combinations.

"The Juice Fasting Bible" is mainly a book that promotes fasting in a very positive way. Sandra Cabot (an Australian author and doctor) has seen patients recover their health (some lost a lot of weight) after being on a juice fast and this is why she is so enthusiastic about the process.

While this book does contain recipes a lot of them included orange juice and garlic which I don't think is a good combination. I think of garlic being used more with vegetable juices, especially in combination with cayenne pepper. The recipes are given for various ailments including arthritis, gout, asthma, cancer, depression, anxiety, fibromyalgia, headaches, heart disease, fatty liver, inflammation, macular degeneration, osteoporosis, sinus problems and more. Juice fasting can also lower cholesterol levels.

The reason juice fasting works so well is because of the phytochemicals that help to prevent diseases. Like an orange has 170 phytochemicals.

Sandra Cabot includes some helpful juicing principles and some good advice like to keep the skin on apples to increase the mineral and antioxidant content of the juice. She also warns against using grapefruit juice in certain cases as it can interact with several medications. There is a short list of fruits and vegetables and why they are good for you. I don't know why she included bananas since they don't juice well. I did however like the idea of adding coconut milk to fruit juice combinations.

While this book is very helpful for the new juice faster it lacks a complete plan of action. You are basically left to figure things out for yourself and this can be confusing. The minimum amount of juice per day is discussed. For some reason most authors of juice fasting books don't tell you exactly how to organize your day. I think to be safe you should read this book but also read: Juice Fasting and Detoxification: Use the Healing Power of Fresh Juice to Feel Young and Look Great : The Fastest Way to Restore Your Health. This second book talks about a liquitarian regime that includes many other liquids so you are not just drinking fruit and vegetable juices but also almond milk, soy milk, protein powder drinks, herbal teas and broth. It also discusses taking psyllium husks Dr. Natura Colonix Intestinal Fiber (360g) is good and contains many ingredients for intestinal health - it is also easy to mix up in water just make sure you also drink more water after drinking the mixture as it expands. Really read up on this because you need to know what you are doing to be safe.)

Other things you might want to take during your juice fast include:

Nature's Way Dandelion Root Capsules, 100-Count- a natural diuretic
Beano Food Enzyme Dietary Supplement Tablets, 100-Count Bottles, (Pack of 2) - helpful for preventing gas from various vegetables so you don't feel bloated.
Source Naturals Garcinia Plus, 120 Tablets - a natural appetite suppressant
PB 8 120 vcaps- a pro-biotic

I also found this routine helpful when you are starting out and doing a fast of three
or more days:

Day 1

Start your fast at night. Make enough fruit juice for two servings. Drink one serving
and refrigerate the rest for breakfast the next morning. (I know they say fresh juice
is better but who wants to make lots of noise juicing in the morning?)

Day 2

Drink fruit juice you made the night before.
When you get hungry drink a cup of broth - you can buy a vegetable base and use a teaspoon per cup of water.
Later drink an herbal tea.
For lunch, make two servings of vegetable juice. Drink one and save the
other for dinner.
When you get hungry drink another cup of broth.
A few hours later drink a teaspoon of psyllium husks with water.
Drink more water until you feel full.
For Dinner drink your saved vegetable juice.
For Dessert later make two servings of fruit juice and save one for breakfast the next day.
(Keep water around all day and drink enough to keep you hydrated.)

Day 3: Repeat Day Two, etc.

I found this easy to stick to and felt less hunger when I included the broth. If I got really hungry I added a few tablespoons of Spirutein Tangerine Dream to the fruit juice. I did feel a little strange on day four like I needed to eat something so I broke my fast by eating something small and then decided to get right back on track again. This book tells you what to eat if this happens to you. You can eat tomato soup, fruit or vegetables. I broke my fast by eating a mango and was fine. This book tells you about a one-day fast, a two-day detox fast, a three-day rejuvenation fast and a seven day deep cleanse fast. For beginners I'd say go with one to three days until you get to really know what you are doing.

You will quickly learn how many fruits and vegetables to juice to make two servings. I basically pile up cut-up fruits and vegetables on a dinner plate. When the plate is full and will hold no more that is about two servings.

Last, but not least I found a great combination for vegetable juice that I feel the need to share. Juice the following: Two kale leaves, four carrots, one cucumber, two vine-ripened tomatoes, one orange bell pepper and four green onions - white part only. Then after you divide the juice into two servings sprinkle each with powdered garlic and cayenne pepper - stir in well. This made the juice taste so much better!

Happy Juicing! Please consult with your doctor before taking any advice in fasting books or this review. Also listen to your body. If your body is telling you to stop your fast don't ignore the warning signs.

You may also enjoy viewing: "Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead." It sure motivated me and is all about juice fasting.

~The Rebecca Review
I take no responsibility for your health if you follow the advice in this review. This
advice is based on my personal experience and I am not a doctor. You may need to drink
more than four glasses of juice a day. I just only like juicing twice a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is it Feast or Fast?, December 1, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Juice Fasting Bible: Discover the Power of an All-Juice Diet to Restore Good Health, Lose Weight and Increase Vitality (Paperback)
Although the author chose to call this book "Juice Fasting" I would have called it "Juice Feasting" as this is really about a temporary dietary session of only drinking highly nutritionally dense juices versus the traditional form of fasting.
This is really a detoxifying, nutrient rich approach to cleansing your body and giving it a digestive break at the same time. Allowing your body to flush toxins without the need for starvation and nutrient deprivation. The chapters are listed above in the first review. Anyone new to fasting might want to consider starting with this approach.
Some general comments on colonics, saunas, how to hold your fast are added as well as some basic recipes to guide you effortlessly (for the most part) into your juice "feast" fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Introduction To Juicing, July 8, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Juice Fasting Bible: Discover the Power of an All-Juice Diet to Restore Good Health, Lose Weight and Increase Vitality (Paperback)
I purchased a number of books on juicing after watching the movie "Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead". I chose to read this book first because it was written by a physician. I managed to read it over the course of two days and I wasn't disappointed in the content. I found this book to be succinct and informative without being too flakey. The author has great information about what each of the fruits and vegetables will do with respect to health benefits. And she has a number of juice combinations listed in the book to choose from. I will go back to this book from time to time as a reference book. Overall, highly recommended for the beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Recipes, April 8, 2010
By 
TJ Cole (MN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Juice Fasting Bible: Discover the Power of an All-Juice Diet to Restore Good Health, Lose Weight and Increase Vitality (Paperback)
After reading desriptions of many juice fasting books, I purchased this one mainly because it had a lot of juice recipes, which was what I was looking for. I skimmed the first half of the book, as the basic information about juice fasting provided seemed to be quite similar to what I've read elsewhere (if you are new to juice fasting, I think this book provides a great overview of how to do it and what to expect). There are two little reasons I didn't give this book 5 stars. First, the author's recommendations of the amount of juice to drink doesn't seem to be the same as what the juice recipes make--I had to double the recipes to make the amount she recommends. Second, many of the recipes contain oranges (the author says the oj makes the juices more palatable, especially for beginners), and I can't eat oranges. So now I am trying to experiment with replacements for the oranges. Overall, I am happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fasting, January 1, 2008
This review is from: The Juice Fasting Bible: Discover the Power of an All-Juice Diet to Restore Good Health, Lose Weight and Increase Vitality (Paperback)
Good book for reviewing reasons to fast including health benefits and side effects. Good recipes to follow, and if you are not going to juice, just eat the ingrediants in the recipes: carrots, apples, oranges, ginger, spinach. All great foods for your body. Good reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It has a lot of good info, April 3, 2014
By 
Mahal (La Quinta, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Juice Fasting Bible: Discover the Power of an All-Juice Diet to Restore Good Health, Lose Weight and Increase Vitality (Paperback)
It does state a lot of the obvious, but it does have a lot of other info that is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!!!, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Juice Fasting Bible: Discover the Power of an All-Juice Diet to Restore Good Health, Lose Weight and Increase Vitality (Paperback)
I purchase this book because I wanted to know more about fasting and the health benefits from fasting. An excellent book and I got a lot of helpful information out of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Enough Juice, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I chose to give this book one star as it did not provide enough natural juice recipes. Most of the recipes require that you dilute them with something. This is not what I am looking for in a juicing book. The recipes seem like they were really outdated. The majority of the book was spent on trying to convince people to juice when by the time you've purchased the book you're already convinced of the health benefits. I would not recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Juice Fast Bible, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Juice Fasting Bible: Discover the Power of an All-Juice Diet to Restore Good Health, Lose Weight and Increase Vitality (Paperback)
I bought this book after a friend recommended it. It's a great book if you are serious about cleaning up your body. It doesn'ttake care of it's self you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.