Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting real...
The first Karate Kid literally spoke to any kid who felt out of place and picked on. Strongly enough, it was a concept played out over and over again. But the evenhanded direction of Avildsen made it a triumph. So what do you do for a sequel? You get real. Not that the first one wasn't real. The threat to Daniels safety in the first movie was always there and fully...
Published on August 26, 2001 by J. Elmquist

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wax on, wax off won't get you far here
Part II picks up where the first one left off. Daniel has triumphed over the bullies of the Cobra Kai dojo, and finished high school. Mr. Miaghi has gotten word that his father in Okinawa is dying, so he and Daniel rush off to Asia to be at his side. While there Miaghi is confronted by a former friend / bitter enemy, revisiting a love triangle, and resolving a feud he...
Published on November 7, 2005 by MortensOrchid


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting real..., August 26, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Karate Kid II (DVD)
The first Karate Kid literally spoke to any kid who felt out of place and picked on. Strongly enough, it was a concept played out over and over again. But the evenhanded direction of Avildsen made it a triumph. So what do you do for a sequel? You get real. Not that the first one wasn't real. The threat to Daniels safety in the first movie was always there and fully realized. But take this student and mentor pair and send them to Okinawa, and you have a whole different ball game. The story centers more on Miagi and his journey home to see his dying father, and facing demons he left as a young man. Asian culture takes certain things much more seriously. Honor in this movie is a subject brought up constantly, and we see it from Daniels perspective; as an American who does not understand why these people do things they way they do in the name of honor. As Daniel comes to grips with this life code in the small village of Miagi's youth, he realizes that the bully who has targeted him this time does not hold back. He's ready to kill Daniel. He has no qualms about it either and feels it's justified. As Daniel swoons a beautiful Asian girl and finds he's getting in deeper with the affairs of Miagi's past, he holds his ground, and his good upbringing helps to hold his own honor in place. In the end, the climatic fight scene is what really makes the movie. The whole story builds up to that moment. The idea is that this fight is real, there is no competition, no points. This is not a tournament, this is not a spectacle. Daniel is fighting to stay alive. And it is more brutal then the rules laden tournament of the first movie. Morita and Maccio play off each other so well it's obvious these two have great chemistry. The teacher/student relationship is apparent from the first scene despite their polar opposite personalities. As in the first movie, each character gives the other what they are missing. Daniel gets a father figure/teacher, Miagi gets a son/student. This movie is just as good as the first in my opinion, just different. A different set of circumstances played similarly to the first one. It's as different as it can be while still holding the same values. I give it four stars only because of some very minor inconsistencies but overall, it is a very good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One step above the Crane technique... (Pt. 2 of 3), December 15, 2005
This review is from: The Karate Kid II (DVD)
You could tell from the ending of the first `Karate Kid' that this was only the beginning of the story. The continuing journey of Daniel LaRusso bursts wide open in 'The Karate Kid Part II' Mr. Miyagi must return to his home land of Okinawa to see his dying father, but he is also well aware that the scars of his past are still there waiting for him after all this time. Daniel learns of Mr. Miyagi's best friend Sato and how Miyagi broke the village tradition to ask for the hand of his best friend's betrothed wife. Daniel learns through his trip that karate is more than tournaments and trophies. He learns that it is about honor and pride. He soon understands that there are people who take honor very seriously that they will stop at nothing seek out the purity of honor if it has been disgraced. That means anything is possible, even a fight to the death. Only through the sacred rules and techniques of the Miyagi family karate can Daniel overcome the tremendous obstacles he will face at this step in his journey.

This movie is one of the fabled sequels that live up to its predecessor. The story is darker and Pat Morita's performance is his best by far. I am surprised that he didn't get nominated a second time for an academy award. The villains are just as evil as the Cobra Kais (who actually make a brief appearance in the film) and the final fight shows that karate is not about fancy moves and glory. The message learned from `Part II' is that when it comes to fighting the most powerful technique is the one that your opponent doesn't see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Miyagi's Personal Journey aka Karate Kid II, November 17, 2005
This review is from: The Karate Kid II (DVD)
Karate Kid II.

Such division in the views on this movie. Chalk me up as one who loved this one. I'll go as far to give it a notch up on Karate Kid I.

Several reasons for my views on this. One - Additional depth of the characters. I love that Mr. Miyagi is the center of the story. The movie gave him a back story and explained him much more. It humanized him. Second - It isn't all about Laruso. Don't get me wrong I enjoyed the first film and its themes. It was brillance on the part of the writers make Laruso a secondary character to Miyagi in this one. Third - the themes are intact and expanded upon (honor, loyality, love etc) others have mentioned it. I whole heartidly agree.

On the sappy front I love Daniel's relationship with Kumiko. It was touching and felt much more honest and real opposed to Daniel's love intrest in I. Too bad Kumiko didn't return for III. Could've been some nice development there.

In regards to the acting - Its very good contary to some others opinons expressed here. The only exception being Miyagi's father's death scene. I thought the "death" was the only weak acting point. The scene is good, just the actor who played Miyagi's father I think overplayed the death. Other actors peform well.

Overall, this film avoids the cliches and trappings of sequels. It develops the characters and shows you new sides to them. It also keeps the themes intact of the original.

This film still holds up well. Its a bit different in that it doesn't play the bullying card the way the first movie does. It isn't just about Daniel and winning respect. This one is about support and love to a friend and mentor in his time of need.

A wonderful sequel that has earned its spot next to I.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an oversight by the editors..., January 5, 2001
By 
steve sperry (Deland, Fl United States) - See all my reviews
Karate Kid II is not only the best of the series, it is a premier movie of the eighties. In the beginning it was only made to build upon the successful sequel theory, but this film was part of a greater movement; Kid II was instrumental in the popular acceptance of "Eastern" culture. For Asian-American children, it provided a springboard into popular white society and created a mystique and awe about anything Asian. For some, respect grew from the disciplined culture that was eloquently protrayed throughout Kid II. For many others, Asians were again equivocated with martial arts and respected for an element of the eyes. No matter what the initial reasonings for acceptance or respect, it did lead to a general perception that Asian culture was something to be admired and that if cross-bred with American culture, there could be a tremendously successful result. Karate Kid II plays on all the emotions of American capacity and is both sad and inspiring. If an editor chooses to dismiss any piece as only "for kids," then unfortunately his narrow sightedness will never allow him to write an article worth reading. Buy it. Watch it. Take it to heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 80's tradition comes back, August 19, 2004
By 
B. Inoue "MiyagiSenpai" (Renton, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Karate Kid II (DVD)
I should be considered an expert on this film but I'm not going to claim it. Right now I'm in Kyoto Japan and I am Japanese-American. So this movie has a very special meaning to me. I saw it when I was very little and loved every minute of it. I was always asking my mom if certain things were correct or if the Japanese was correct.

Albeit now the Japanese Slang is a bit old and the issues are a bit ancient (not to also mention most of the movie was filmed in Pat Morita's home state of Hawaii). This movie still speaks to me.

I like it better than the first and truthfully I think whether it's better or not is just a state of opinion not actual quality. I just think the second one speaks to me more than the first. I wasn't the skinny outcast being picked on in high school.

However, I recommend seeing both the first and second not only because of the messages relayed within about honor, respect, love, and the bond between an aged fisherman and a kid from New Jersey, but also because these movies have some of the greatest one liners ever!

"Daniel-san nobody perfect."

Check them out and see what I mean. Relive the 80's and come back to the depressing reality TV era.

BTW I'm reviewing the Japanese DVD. They just remade all the movies here on DVD for about $15 each. So I'm picking these up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Karate Kid Part II:The Return of Daniel LaRusso, October 5, 2002
By 
Mark Tatum (Roswell, Georgia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Karate Kid II (DVD)
This was the best sequel in the series. This had a lot of Action and Drama. This takes place right where the first left off, Daniel(Ralph Macchio) won the tournament and he and Mr. Miyagi(Pat Morita) are about to go home until they see Kreese(Martin Kove) looking very furious at Johnny(William Zabka) for loosing the tournament. Mr. Miyagi stops Kreese and humiliates him as well. SIX MONTHS LATER, Daniel finds out that Ali(Elisabeth Shue, but she is only in the first) dumped him for someone else. He also learns that he gets to stay with Mr. Miyagi for the Summer! Mr. Miyagi then gets a note from Okinawa and finds out that his father is very sick. So Daniel and Mr. Miyagi travel to Okinawa and runs into Sato(Danny Kamekona), Miyagi's childhood enemy. Sato challenges Miyagi to a fight but Miyagi refuses. Daniel has also made a new enemy, Chozen(Yuji Okumoto) who is Sato's nephew. Miyagi also find his old girlfriend Yukie(Nobu McCarthy) and Daniel finds Yukie's niece Kumiko(Tamilyn Tomita). Sato threatens to tear Miyagi's old town down if he won't fight him and Daniel must also fight Chozen for honor, too. This was also another good Drama and I'll say it again, It had a lot of Action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than the first!, September 2, 2003
This was a lot better than the first. I thought this installment had a better plot than the first. Martial arts master Miyagi and his student Daniel return in director John G. Avildsen's sequel to to the popular "The Karate Kid". After their triumphant victory, Daniel and Miyagi continue their training focusing on the honor and disclipine of karate and the deeper powers of meditation. When Miyagi receives news that his father is near death, he and Daniel take off to the Island of Okinawa where Miyagi's family lives. Upon Miyagi's return to his homeland, he is reunited with his long- last childhood love Yukie. Despite their youthful love for one another, Yukie was forced to marry Miyagi's rival, Sato in an arranged marriage causing Miyagi to flee Okinawa instead of fighting for the woman that he loved. Now that his rival is a powerful karate expert and a rich, embittered landowner who demands a final grudge match with the wise and elderly Miyagi. As Sato threatens Miyagi and his family, his nephew, Chozen is out to fight Daniel in a battle of young wills. Both teacher and student are forced to stand up to their rivals in an action-packed climax. The final fight aganist Daniel and Chozen is awesome. The emotionally charged adventures of Daniel and Miyagi are set aganist the beauty and honor of old world Japan, instilling a rich sense of history into their mastery and understanding of the ancient art of karate. The rousing soundtrack includes the Oscar- winning hit, "Glory Of Love" by Peter Cetera. This is an excellent film which is worth seeing more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's a reason...., December 20, 2005
This review is from: The Karate Kid II (DVD)
There's a reason why this movie made more at the box office then the first one did and it's because this one got real. Daniel is no longer fighting for a title but for his life in this awesome squeal. This is my favorite out of the entire series cause it gets real and honest and has Daniel fighting for his life as his mentor prepares to fight for his. In this movie Daniel is left to find his own way basically as his mentor has some problems of his own this time around and this makes for a very interesting spin as Daniel suddenly finds that his mentor is not made of stone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good sequel to one of the best movies, December 20, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Karate Kid Part II (VHS Tape)
Karate Kid II somewhat completes the first. It completes the first by showing us a little more of Mr. Miyagi life, his origins and his land, and also giving us a closer look at the origins of Karate. The film has a very good atmosphere, and a somewhat more oriental aspect than the first (no wonder, it happens in Okinawa). If you like martial arts, especially Karate, and want to see some great scenes of Okinawa (where it all began), watch this movie. The final fighting scene is very good, and this time Daniel fights for his life, not for points, this time he learns that this form of art was created for self-defence, not for winning a tournament. A great film if you want to explore more of Karate and Japanese tradition. I wonder if Macchio already practiced Karate. He seems to be right in every detail about it, and also isn't Miyagi the name of one of the founders of Goju-Ryu style Karate? A great film, you'll love it, especially the second time you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does not embarrass uncle, November 30, 2002
By 
Albert Michael (Fairfax, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Karate Kid II (DVD)
The best of the Karate Kid movies. Despite all that stuff Mr. Miyagi's always saying about not using karate to defend plastic metal trophy, in this one, Daniel doesn't, which is what makes it the most meaningful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Karate Kid II
The Karate Kid II by John G. Avildsen (DVD - 2001)
$9.99 $6.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.