Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 19, 2008
Bob Davidoff's memorable photographs gain added power from the stories behind them, masterfully told by Linda Corley. His images are moving and memorable. Many will bring a smile to your face; others will leave a lump in your throat. It's no wonder so many of the photos are treasured by family members.

Because of Rose Kennedy's trust in Davidoff, he had unprecedented access to her and her entire family. The result, through words and pictures, is a journey through history. You'll see four generations of America's First Family at work and at play.

A beautiful volume, it includes some of the best shots I've ever seen of Jackie Kennedy, one of the most photographed public figures of the past half century.

This vast, long-stored-away collection of photographs is so personal you'll feel like you're prying into their "family album." While some will label this a "coffee table book," it is that -- and so much more. The Kennedy Family Album is one I surely will order for my family and close friends.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2008
I am a History and Art Book Lover, as well as someone who really appreciates biographies. What a gorgeous book with rich and colorful, wonderful photos. I really enjoyed seeing these pictures and reading the stories and anecdotes that describe them. I've never seen a lot of these photos and some are very poignant shots, like the last photo taken of JFK before he left Palm Beach to head off to Dallas. It really gives a new perspective on the Kennedy Family, during the Camelot years, while they spent time in Palm Beach. I definitely recommend this book for your personal library and it also is a wonderful gift book.
review image
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2008
An incredibly heartwarming look at America's first family. This book takes you back to a time when the hopes and dreams of a nation rested firmly on the shoulders of the Kennedy's. In a touching way, you see the "real side" of the family via photos that are eerily similar to those in my own family photo album. The author does a terrific job bringing all the photos to life, and wonderfully narrates you through all the life events.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2009
I WAS EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS BOOK....I EXPECTED TO SEE PICTURES OF THE KENNEDYS THAT WERE MORE INTIMATE; THEY SHOWED MORE OF THE ENTIRE KENNEDY RELATIVES THAN OF THE JOHN KENNEDY FAMILY ITSELF. THE TITLE IS MISLEADING. IT WAS MORE OF AN "AUTOBIOGRAPHY" OF THE PHOTOGRAPHER.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2009
Now,wouldn't you have expected this photo collection to be a huge, heavy coffee table book -- but it is not. Instead, famous photographer Bob Davidoff's widow, Babe Davidoff, and her family have created an intimate but powerful 9-inch by 10-inch book that is a delight to both one's lap and one's eyes. There are 200 photos, 40 of them in full-page color, but it is the black and white ones that haunt me. Photographer Davidoff's Kennedy shots are exhilarating and historic. They immediately get under your skin. And why are you suddenly crying? What was it about Davidoff that made the Kennedys look like a touching, regular American family? What also makes this book not a table-breaking coffee table work is the beautiful text by award-winning Linda Corley. There are 40 pages of her work here, delicately interspersed with the photos. The interweaving is done so softly that the writing itself seems like a transparency floating above the pictures. Or are the levitating words just the spirits of the Kennedy boys? Would that Corley had written another 150 pages, but then, where would one put Davidoff's heartwarming and heartwrenching photos? The interior design work by Lorie Pagnozzi is among the best I have ever seen in a photography book. And what are my two favorite photos among this feast? Of course they are in black and white and are smallish, sitting on back-to-back pages, one showing Ted Kennedy getting ready for a bike ride with his son, the other portraying Sarge Shriver hugging his son. I could use a hug like that every day. If you buy this book and let it linger in your lap and heart every day of your life, you will get lots of hugs, from the Kennedys, and, yes, from the Davidoff family.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2010
This seller delivered before expected and the books were new just like the description said.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2008
I think the Kennedy family even today has a certain mystique about them. Through tragedy and triumph they are still America's first family. Many books over the years have been written about them but none has captured the family in such a new and refreshing light. I opened this book one night and read it cover to cover without stopping. The combination of intimate photographs and superbly written stories behind them make this a must read book for anyone!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2008
This beautiful book offers a snapshot of one of the world's most famous families. The photgraphs become short stories with the well-written captions. I enjoyed every photo and every page that visited another time and the family-side of America's Camelot.
Chip duPont, FIIDA
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2009
The Kennedy Family Album is an outstanding book. The photographs are remarkable and the numerous captions as well as the story's were both funny and heart warming. The story's involving Rose Kennedy were especially good. The one heart breaker was the photo of President Kennedy leaving Palm Beach a few days before he went to Dallas. It was titled "The Last Photograph". There he was shaking hands with a friend, big smile. The date was 15 Nov 63.
Very enjoyable were the story's about the various Kennedy family children. Caroline and John of course and there many cousins. Especially good were the short stories about Maria Shriver.
There are also photos and story's about the Kennedy adults. As mentioned earlier Rose Kennedy, JFK, Jackie, Bobby, Ted and many more.
If you liked the Kennedy's this is a must have book. The star of this book is the man behind the camera, Bob Davidoff. He was chosen by Rose Kennedy to be the "official" photographer for the Kennedy's when they were in Palm Beach. He did a magnificent job. He held this position for many years. Yes, an outstanding book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
Another great book of the Kennedy Family that I just loved as much as the other books. When my husband & I went to Cape Cod some yrs. back, we walked along the beach up to the compound where all the Kennedy's spent many of their summers, but that was blocked off so you couldn't go any further. I relate so much to them in what is written in the books on the Kennedy's because I could remember so many things that happened in the era of the early 60's...........I buy many books on them but I also love these books that show all the pictures of the Camelot time period, both before & after his Presidency................I gave it a 5 star rating because I loved this book just as much as the others............
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse