Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids In The Hall, Complete Season 1
Here's what's in this collection: (I changed a few of the titles so that fans can recognize them better)
Call Girls, The Eradicator! plays squash, Ballet, Crushing Your Head, Cause of Cancer, The Pear Dream, Kathie and the Blues Guy, Crushing Your Head 2
30 Helens, Sketch Comedy, 30 Helens 2, Cabbage head, Restaurant, Tractor, Sarcastic guy, Buddy's Better, 30...
Published on March 19, 2004 by valeska_

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars give it a try
used to watch this all the time. you have to give it a try because some of it is just ok, but some of it is super funny.
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids In The Hall, Complete Season 1, March 19, 2004
By 
"valeska_" (The Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Kids in the Hall - Complete Season 1 (1989-1990) (DVD)
Here's what's in this collection: (I changed a few of the titles so that fans can recognize them better)
Call Girls, The Eradicator! plays squash, Ballet, Crushing Your Head, Cause of Cancer, The Pear Dream, Kathie and the Blues Guy, Crushing Your Head 2
30 Helens, Sketch Comedy, 30 Helens 2, Cabbage head, Restaurant, Tractor, Sarcastic guy, Buddy's Better, 30 Helens, Womyn
Gunslinger2, Gorilla, Hey Man, Citizen Kane, Hey Man2, Salty Ham, Hey Man3
Deja Vu, A**hole, The Daves I Know (a musical), Menstruation, House Rules, The Dinner, Sick of the Swiss, Country Doctor
Indian Drum, Geralds, Crushing Disco, Good Grampa (Grandpa gets over constipation), Exploring Scott, Are Extraterrestrials Dull?, If Elvis were my landlord, Crushing Disco2
30 Helens, Bored Robber, Running Fagg*t (a musical), 29 Helens, Flogging, The Trucker, Can I Keep Him?
Disk2
Hotel La Rut, Plummet, Hotel La Rut2, Bobby's First Poem, Fletcher Christian, Hotel La Rut3, Joymakers
Ping Pong, The Vacation, Ping Pong2, Chain Gang, The Banker Doesn't Like Us, Dinosaurs, Ping Pong, Tony Comes to Dinner, The Banker Doesn't Like Us2
A Place to Die (Dave wants to die in the house where he was born), Secretaries, A Place to Die2, Preacher, Weston, A Place to Die3, Teddy Bears Picnic (Bruce is a dad who tells his skeptical son (Scott) the Teddy Bear's Picnic Story).
Hoopla, McGuillicutty and Green, Wake Up!, MacIntyre Name, One Step at a Time, Nobody Likes Us: (The two pathetic guys who couldn't get a loan in the last episode take a bus ride), McGuillicutty and Kurosawa, 3 For the Moon
Night of the Living Dead, Can Never go Home, 30 Helens: Coleslaw, Under Control, Gunslinger, Star Crossed Lovers, 30 Helens: Hawaii, Barbershop
Turning Over, Mood Swing, Billy Dreamer, Folk Music, Who's Gay in Hollywood?, Billy Dreamer2, Skorra! (The Gentle Shark)
Signs of Loneliness, Networking, Lopez1, Fat Hitch-Hiker, Lopez2, The Donut Shop, The Lamp, Lopez3, Indian Woman, Lopez4
Disk3
Editors Intro, Editors (Go for a walk), Bobby breaks up with his girlfriend, I Lied, Dull near-death experience guy, I'm a Cat, My Routine, Schoolroom, Editors Finale
Death Row, White Guy, Crazy Love, Buddy's Island, Captain Alan, Mechanic (Kevin plays an unconvention grease-monkey, with beautiful golden locks), Baby (A childless couple go baby hunting)
The Floater, Is He?, 30 Helens, Pens, Manny Coon (A true artist (Scott) is asked to give advice to graduating art students), 30 Helens:Great Minds, Bass Player, Compensation, 30 Helens:Disagree, Power of My C*ck
Boo!, Dracula (Mark plays a vampire who takes a guy (Scott) to a Leaf game, and then brings him home), Kevin's sketch with just a middle, Crushing Girlfriend (The Head-Crusher invites his girlfirend Misha over), Conversation with a Mass Murderer (Dave), B&K, Beautiful Women (Christian Renoir discusses his new line of clothes for ugly women on the Darcy Pennell show)
Love Me, Stinky Pink, Premise Beach, Crouton (Bruce is a guy who tells a story of the world's largest crouton to some little kids), Olympics, Premise Beach2, Sh*tty Soup, She's Gone
Hey Baby!, Island Boys, Can't Kill Rock, Tarantula, Cat's Away, Mutilated, Car Ride (Go for a ride in Bruce's 300 dollar car, just don't make fun of it!), Pyromaniac Secretary
Fat Man (a musical), How We Met, 30 Helens: Photos, Bank People (Bruce is a hip guy complaining about his job at the bank) Double Date, Buddy is Canadian, Buddy Holly, 30 Helens:Helens, Dr. Seuss Bible.
The fourth disk contains the bonus features of fan favorite sketches (from season 1) like: Romeo (Bruce is a guy who hits on his mother's elderly friends) Cabbage Head (A different one then on the first disk) and Reg, plus sketches from the rare pilot episode, audio commentary, cast bios, an oral history featuring new interviews with the Kids! and Lorne Micheals and 30 minutes of live performances at the Rivoli Theater.
Manny Coon, Bank People, My Routine, Car Ride and Dr. Seuss Bible are hilarious, don't miss them. Excellent price.. KITH is brilliant, the funniest sketch comedy I've seen and definitely the most innovative. I love the Kids! Thanks to the A&E channel, Broadway Video and persistent fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, F the bank!!, June 18, 2004
By 
Jeff B (Buffalo, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Kids in the Hall - Complete Season 1 (1989-1990) (DVD)
Man, this is easily the best set of DVD`s I have in my house. My wife and I stay up late almost every night and watch them and find ourselves laughing out loud! We first started watching it back in the 80`s when it was on HBO and loved it. We would occasionally watch it on comedy central but it just wasn`t the same with all the editing. The best part is that you can watch any skit you like and skip the ones that you don`t.
It was interesting to get some history on the kids from the bonus material disc and hear how they got along with each other. It must`ve been a blast on that set.
All in all, this was the best money I`ve spent in quite a while and I can`t wait for season 2. Go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST buy (if you are a KITH fan), April 17, 2004
This review is from: The Kids in the Hall - Complete Season 1 (1989-1990) (DVD)
If this sells well they will release more seasons. Oh I HOPE they release more seasons!
The first three discs contain all the episodes from the first season and the fourth disc is a special features disc. I won't spoil the fun but it does contain the pilot episode which is right on par with their regular stuff. I will say this much, remember the last KITH episode? Remember the sketch where Bruce is onstage and he watches part of a sketch with all the Kids sitting around a campfire? Well that sketch is from the pilot episode and this is probably the only way you will ever see it! (unless you could download it somehow... hmmm gives me an idea)
From watching the episodes Comedy Central aired I was under the impression that 'The Kids' came up with their characters initially and kept them going throughout all of their seasons. Not true. After watching the first season this is abundantly clear. Here we get several sketches from Gordon and Fran, Bobby Terrance, The Headcrusher, Thirty Helens, and The-Nobody-Likes-Us-Guys but sadly have to do without Sid and Charisse, Simon and Heckubus, Chicken Lady, Gavin, Francesca Fiore and many other fan favorites. Mississippi Gary is merely introduced along with glimpses of Cathy and Kathy and of course Buddy Cole.
Overall this was an AWESOME walk down memory lane. There are a few sketches that were never aired on comedy central (censored) and that alone makes it worth purchasing for any die-hard fan. Plus there are a few snippets that Comedy Central just cut out for no apparent reason at all. For example, when Mark stands outside of a house and keeps yelling for Lopez there is a brief segment I never even knew existed. (he makes up a little song about how Lopez is lazy)
In conclusion, this is a wise purchase for the casual fan and a godsend to a diehard like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deja vu!, May 21, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Kids in the Hall - Complete Season 1 (1989-1990) (DVD)
For anyone who appreciates the madness of Monty Python, the Kids in The Hall are a great second-helping of sketch comedy that doesn't fall into the trap SNL did (of putting easily-accessible to a wider audience over subtle and intelligent). The five Canadians who are chronicled in this first season are fresh-faced young men who know what kind of comedy they want to achieve, even if the rest of the world's a bit unsure what to make of them.
I first came across the Kids in college, a few years back, when Comedy Central began airing reruns from their long-ended TV show. I may not be as devoted as some KITHers in terms of memorizing skits and catchphrases, but I am truly in the camp of people who think the Kids are fantastic.
This DVD set is much-analyzed in previous reviews, and i haven't fully enjoyed all the episodes, but from what I have been able to gleam in my four days of owning it I can say it's a fantastic buy. Not everything works, but the sketches that do are bar none some of the best-written and -acted material in all comedy.
The first few seasons were broadcast on HBO (before a network switch to CBS in the early Nineties, when I stumbled across them but didn't "get" them yet) and thus there's a lot of cursing that didn't make it onto the Comedy Central-aired eps. Ocasionally the proceedings get a bit more odd than funny, but anyone who appreciates the Kids knows that was part of their charm.
The bonus fourth disc features the interviews and voiceovers on certain sketches ("That's the one we bombed on Letterman"), and is a nice companion to the series.
Overall, I say this is an essential buy for anyone who loves the Kids, or is a Python nut but not familiar with them, or anyone who simply loves fantastic comedy. Lorne Michaels gave them their start, then wisely stepped back and let the Kids do their own thing. This is the ultimate sketch comedy show of the post-Python era, and a worthy successor (maybe I'm aking too much of the Python references, but it's my review. Go write your own, Python-free review and leave me alone). Go buy it now, you'll laugh your butt off guarenteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Inventive Sketch Comedy, July 19, 2004
By 
SandmanVI (Glen Allen, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Kids in the Hall - Complete Season 1 (1989-1990) (DVD)
The great thing about Kids in the Hall was that they shunned the topical, obvious humor so common within the ranks of SNL, MAD TV, In Living Color, Ben Stiller and so forth. KITH relished the subtle quirks of everyday existence: inanely busy businessmen, a mullet-headed slacker obsessed with his beat-up heap of a used car, or the morose "nobody likes us" outcasts who hang themselves just to make a point. Granted, all of these are not gems; truth be told, the Kids hadn't yet hit full stride as they would in later seasons. You may have to suffer through a few clunkers but it is all worth it. Personally I think the risk-reward is worth it for the edgy elements and oddball genius. If you want to be this creative and be truly landmark then you can't always grab the obvious punchline. Long live the Kids! can't wait for the stronger seasons to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tuesday is no good for the Eradicator!!!, May 16, 2004
This review is from: The Kids in the Hall - Complete Season 1 (1989-1990) (DVD)
As others have noted, the first season is a bit hit-and-miss: the first few episodes are great, the next ten episodes or so are sporadically funny at best, and the final five episodes foreshadow the brilliance that would become the hallmark of the Kids in later seasons. What's fascinating about these episodes is to see their evolution from stage troupe to television sketch comedy writers. The earlier episodes suffer slightly from an unsuccessful transference of material from stage to screen (though "Citizen Kane"--which seems like a stage piece--totally works). Later in the first season, they start taking advantage of TV gimmicks to make more successful bits (like "Mechanic" from Episode #15 or the "Premise Beach" sketches from Episode #18). I will select my five favorite sketches from each disc--
Disc One (Episodes 1-6)
The Eradicator (#1)
Cause of Cancer (#1)
Womyn (#2)
Citizen Kane (#3)
Elvis (#5)
Disc Two (Episodes 7-13)
Teddy Bears' Picnic (#9)
McGuillicutty and Green (#10)
Folk Music (#12)
Skoora! (#12)
Indian Woman (#13)
Disc Three (Episodes 14-20)
Manny Coon (#16)
Power of My C--k (#16)
She's Gone (#18)
Tarantula (#19)
Buddy Holly (#20)
The bonus disc features a nice documentary about the early years of the troupe as well as highlights from their pilot episode. The commentaries on the sketches are not particularly informative, and Scott Thomson is not present for much of the commentaries, which is a drawback. A must, obviously, for fans of "Kids in the Hall" as well as fans of subversive television sketch comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Facts. Simply the facts., August 26, 2004
By 
H. DeLeon (Litchfield Park, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kids in the Hall - Complete Season 1 (1989-1990) (DVD)
If you have never seen the "Salty Ham" sketch on Kids in the Hall, (on DVD 1 of this four DVD set) well, I hate to break it to you, but you do not know what Funny is.

You've met Funny. Sometimes Funny nods at you when you pass him on the street. At times, Funny has even gone so far as to hit the breaks on his car slightly earlier, so he doesn't splash you with muddy rain water when Funny is speeding by with his supermodel girlfriend in his Audi. And once, you caught a glimpse of Funny and his friends waiting for a table at Morton's, while you and your half-brother and his wife were rushing to The Olive Garden for half-price stuffed mushrooms. You thought that Funny might have noticed you, in the second row of that gray and blue Aerostar van, but you're not really sure. And when you had that summer party recently, you invited Funny, but he didn't show up. You had heard rumors that he was at your friend Jim's house, grilling bratwurst and wearing an apron that said I'm With Stupid, but again, you can't be quite sure.

However, were you to see the sketch, "Salty Ham", Funny would be calling you every hour on the hour, would be e-mailing you to the point of intrusion, and might even be the friend to pick you up when the tire on your 1995 Mitsubishi Scoupe blows out, again.

y'all know what you have to do. Buy the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 Helens Agree ...., January 28, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Kids in the Hall - Complete Season 1 (1989-1990) (DVD)
The Kids in the Hall was that comedy troupe for those wanting something a bit more realistic and adult than "Saturday Night Live", while also catering to that audience that felt that "the State" was a bit too overwhelming. So, The Kids in the Hall found the niche, and they exploited it in the most original and entertaining way possible. The created skits that not just reflected the absurdities of everyday life, but also released some of the most vivid characters ever to cross the small screen. Scott Thompson, Kevin McDonald, Dave Foley, Mark McKinney, and Bruce McCulloch created some of the funniest bits of comedy and on just their first season out.

Normally, when you pick up the first season of any television program it sometimes carries that feeling of old or out-dated. That is completely not the case with this first season of Kids in the Hall. These five comedians have created skits that have lasted the test of time and still remain relevantly funny today. Their views on business, the family dynamics, the gay community, and everything else in between is strangely parallel to our culture today (and this was made in 1989-1990). To demonstrate the craftiness of their humor, I found myself rewinding some of the episodes to laugh again and again. While there were some amazing ones scattered throughout the first season that I just fell in love with, the final episode on the third disc is by far my favorite ever. It felt as if they had broken their hypothetic shell, and really took charge of their craft. Another great element to this season is that you get all of these guys uncensored, so the comedy comes to you firsthand. I guess from watching them on Comedy Central, you don't really see their darker side (as often), but in this uncensored season it comes full force and in style.

Overall, I was extremely impressed with this debut season. These guys are hysterical, imaginative, bold, creative, and has a ear to the pulse of society. While it seems that in the long run their humor was not appreciated as much and it is hard to find these guys doing powerful work today, they will always have a place in my home in my DVD player. For anyone who loves to laugh, especially at yourself, this is the perfect season for you! I was very impressed!

Grade: ***** out of *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars These Are the Kids I Know I Know, May 7, 2004
By 
R. M. Ettinger "rme1963" (Cleveland Heights, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kids in the Hall - Complete Season 1 (1989-1990) (DVD)
Scott Thompson was recently quoted as saying he couldn't believe they ever got past a first season. I can see his point, on many levels.
When the skits were good - they were great. When they weren't, they were still ok (unlike, say SNL). But in massive doses (like in a multi-disk set), the mediocre ones seem painful sometimes.
BUT - the first season contains the best Buddy Cole sketch ever. Plus the Daves I Know, The Dr. Seuess Bible, 30 Helens Agree and a number of other great scenes.
The series did get better as they got experience - and looking forward to those releases. Great package for the fans - and a good one for anyone getting initiating to KITH (though a little pricey).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking sketch comedy..., July 28, 2005
This review is from: The Kids in the Hall - Complete Season 1 (1989-1990) (DVD)
Nominated for 3 Emmys and 18 Gemini Awards, including five straight for Best Comedy Series, The Kids In The Hall is a legendary sketch comedy troupe whose hilarious skits have achieved cult icon status among comedy aficionados. Named after famed comedian Jack Benny's penchant for beginning a joke by saying, "I got this from the kids in the hall" (a line referring to amateur comedians outside his office), The Kids In The Hall formed in Canada in 1984. However, the group parted for a short time when members Bruce McCulloch and Mark McKinney were hired as writers for the NBC show Saturday Night Live. When the group reunited, SNL producer Lorne Michaels attended a Kids In The Hall performance and loved what he saw. He had an instant vision of the group in its own sketch comedy series, and in 1988, The Kids In The Hall premiered on HBO...

The Kids In The Hall took full bloom in the late-1980s/early-1990s when the success of Saturday Night Live made sketch comedy a hot commodity. In this atmosphere, new series like In Living Color, MADtv, and The Kids In The Hall, were ripe for breakout success. Sporting a small regular cast of five (with extensive experience working together), The Kids In The Hall quickly gained a loyal and devoted audience. Cast members Dave Foley (later of Newsradio), Bruce McCulloch, Kevin McDonald, Mark McKinney, and Scott Thompson, for the most part, wrote their own material and performed their own sketches, providing the show with edge in creativity in regard to its contemporaries. This synergy between cast members and writers earned three Emmy nominations for Outstanding Individual Achievement in Writing in a Variety or Music Program (whew! that's a long award title) and garnered The Kids In The Hall the credit and respect it deserves as one of the premiere sketch comedy shows in television history...

The Kids In The Hall (Season 1) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the series premiere in which the cast perform a number of skits such as Call Girls, The Eradicator, Ballet, The Head Crusher, and even one sketch which reveals the true cause of cancer... Other notable episodes from Season 1 include "#108" with such skits as Ping Pong, The Vacation, Chain Gang, and Dinosaurs, and "#115" with such skits as Death Row, Man Guy, Crazy Love, Buddy's Island, and Mechanics...

The DVD Report
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Kids in the Hall - Complete Season 1 (1989-1990)
$19.95 $9.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.