Qty:1
  • List Price: $19.95
  • Save: $1.99 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Details
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
The Killer, Vol. 1 (v. 1) has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Max-n-Ryanns
Condition: Used: Very Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Killer, Vol. 1 (v. 1) Hardcover – July 21, 2009


Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$17.96
$13.55 $0.93
Showcase%20Weekly%20Deal

Frequently Bought Together

The Killer, Vol. 1 (v. 1) + The Killer Volume 4: Unfair Competition
Price for both: $32.83

One of these items ships sooner than the other.

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Boom Entertainment (July 21, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1932386440
  • ISBN-13: 978-1932386448
  • Product Dimensions: 10.4 x 7.3 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #536,638 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

A bestseller in Europe, Le Tueur has finally reached America. A French hit man has long been at the top of his game, but the psychic weight of his crimes is slowly catching up with him, and, after he botches one job and attracts a policeman determined to bring him down, he may be breaking down just when he needs his skills the most. The French have long been masters of moody noir films like Band of Outsiders or Le Samourai, so The Killer carries some heavy expectations. Fortunately, Jacamon's art is more than up to the task. His layouts are exciting, equally adept at choreographing brutal action, placing the camera for maximum suspense, and playing with panel borders to convey the protagonist's gradual mental breakdown. His figures are reminiscent of Darwyn Cooke's (The Spirit) cartoony realism, using deceptively simple lines and expressive faces to suggest far greater depth to the characters. Saturating panels with washed-out greens, blues and yellows, he changes palettes to establish shifts in location or flashbacks. The story is slight and a little disjointed, relying too heavily on self-consciously cool narration and abrupt flashbacks to pad out a by-the-numbers plot. Fans of Goddard or Melville should enjoy how well Jacamon captures their aesthetic on the page. (July)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

About the Author

In 1998, Matz’s hit series, The Killer, with artist Luc Jacamon, made its comic book debut. It became a bestseller that found its way onto the shelves of bookstores in many countries, all the way to the USA with Archaia. It was then optioned by Paramount for a movie that has drawn the interest of director David Fincher ("The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo"). Matz has also created a new line of comic books, Rivages/Casterman/Noir, which are adaptations of noir novels. But Matz’s day job for the last 15 years has been to write for the videogame industry, as he has been an employee at Ubisoft. Now in charge of the writing department, Matz has been involved with games such as “Splinter Cell,” “Ghost Recon,” “Rainbow Six,” “Prince of Persia,” and the “Assassin’s Creed” series.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Sam Quixote TOP 1000 REVIEWER on January 27, 2011
Format: Hardcover
A contract hitman on a job sits around for days waiting for his target to appear. While he waits he tells the story of how he came to be a hitman - a normal chap, he was paid by someone to beat up another stranger which he did, although he accidentally killed him. The client paid him more money for this and he ended up doing it more and more until it became his profession. After years of this and following a botched job he decides to retire to his Venezualan paradise - except retirement for hitmen isn't easy as taking the money and walking away. Soon he finds himself the target and is betrayed by people he thought were friends.

"The Killer" is a hitman story that's familiar and has been told numerous times before, both in literature and in film. It's an easy read and Matz knows how to tell a story, mixing in action amidst a lot of exposition. Luc Jacamon's artwork though is what sets this book apart from other crime books. Usually noir/crime comic books have a grimy feel to the artwork, a grittiness that manifests itself in drab colours and lots of shadows but Jacamon flips this concept and the pages are filled with glorious colours, helped in part by the script which calls for scenes in the Venezualan jungles and the Alps.

The overall effect of the book though is one of underwhelming expectations. Having been told how brilliant the book was by a couple of rabid comics fans I thought this was going to be taking the familiar hitman story and turn it around somehow. Unfortunately though, despite the artwork, the story never reaches high levels of comic greatness. It's a good read and I'd read the next volume in the series but only if it was a library book rather than paying another tenner for it. Good, not great.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful By John Sutherland on February 8, 2008
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Matz has written an amazingly deep, amazingly gripping thriller that deals with the inner conflicts of a fascinating character. This really stretches what can be done with character depth in a graphic novel. I'd rank this on the level of Frank Miller's Dark Knight and Alan Moore's Watchmen. It's amazing how much empathy I had for the assassin.

I know there are several more volumes in the original French already published. I'm tempted to get them from Amazon.fr and push my bad French, so I don't have to wait for the English translations to continue the story.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By A. Ross HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on January 19, 2013
Format: Hardcover
This acclaimed French graphic novel takes on a familiar figure in popular culture, the hit man, and attempts to tell a story from entirely within his perspective. Unfortunately, while the art is top notch, with the kind of beautiful, classic detail, lettering, and coloring I've come to expect from European comics, the story itself is rather weak. We meet the hit man in Paris as he waits for a target, one of what he hopes will be one of his final jobs before he has enough money to retire to his villa in Venezuela. As he waits, his mind drifts to his past, and we learn of his background (solidly middle class) how he got started on such a career path, and where it's led him. However, being inside the mind of a psychopath (or sociopath if you prefer), just isn't very interesting. The hit man has no use for other people (other than women for the obvious), completely cut himself off from his family, and generally has zero empathy at all. As he waits, he starts to crack up and question the point of his life.

Ah yes, shocking, I know -- a French crime story that veers sharply into existentialism. Without having studied the matter, I assume the existential themes in American noir fiction and film explain why it's been historically so well-received in France and recycled into French crime storytelling. Here, the hit man gives long rambling interior monologues about the hypocrisy of humanity, listing genocide after genocide from human history to make his point. Don't get me wrong, there is some action, as he is tailed after one messy job and has to deal with a French cop, and then figure out why his last job didn't go so well.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Adam Szabo on September 11, 2011
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Alexis "Matz" Nolent and Luc Jacamon did it really fine. The former has written thorough lines for the unnamed killer who is really amoral, a loner in every sense of the word ("I leave people alone. My only request is: Leave me alone too.") and the sentences which emphasize how he's losing it (remember the killing spree when he finally shoots down the target at the price of innocent men - witnesses cannot be stayed alive), is just great, there is no word for it. Jacamon illustrated this condition with great visuals and the allegory about the Orinoco Crocodile hits like hell. Starting as a gripping monodrama, a little crazy-cross between Blast of Silence and The Tenant, is the strongest part of Vol. 1., then The Killer becomes a fine "chiller" thriller with blasting twists and turns. Oh, and the suspense: if I only think about killing one of the traitors. Masterful introduction with words, with panels and bombastic conclusion with showing what happened. The French always were the Gods of hard boiled crime stories, they don't disappoint now either. Highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?