Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good as TV Crime Drama Gets
This is a MUST see for folks who like intense noir police shows with great acting & writing, a show made for an older or more book read crowd, no big shoot-outs, car chases, implanted bimbos or Ken Doll FBI Agents, this is a drama for the thinking viewer.

The case lasts for 20 days and each show represents a single day, this gives the show time to develop the...
Published on February 14, 2012 by R. Walker

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Quality on DVD
The voices on the tape did not match up with the movie, it is very distracting to watch. I was very unhappy with the quality of the DVD.
Published 7 months ago by Patricia Carrigan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good as TV Crime Drama Gets, February 14, 2012
By 
R. Walker "rw266" (Sussex, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Killing: The Complete Season 2 (Forbrydelsen) [Region 2] (DVD)
This is a MUST see for folks who like intense noir police shows with great acting & writing, a show made for an older or more book read crowd, no big shoot-outs, car chases, implanted bimbos or Ken Doll FBI Agents, this is a drama for the thinking viewer.

The case lasts for 20 days and each show represents a single day, this gives the show time to develop the story, characters, the plot & allows us to really get to know each character in minute detail, the impact of the crime on the family is heart wrenching stuff & so rarely shown on US TV where people get blown away & 5 minutes later it's like nothing important happened.

I hate to compare this show to any others as it's a true original but if you liked The Millennium Trilogy (The Girl With etc.....), Wallander, Harry Hole', early Prime Suspect, Homicide, Life on The Streets, "Spiral" ("Engrenages" a great little French sleeper too) you MUST see this show.

This Danish masterpiece was even a big hit on BBC TV with (English subs), & believe me that is tough crowd :)

BTW:
I must give credit to the English version shown on the AMC channel, it's still pretty good & for those who just can't watch anything with sub-titles, this may be the version for you, still a great story but watered down, incomplete, & over simplified from the Danish original but still light years ahead of what passes for Network crime drama nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah Lund is back!, March 26, 2012
Could the second series of a foreign drama with subtitles be any better than it's predecessor? Fans of The Killing - Complete Season 1 - 5-DVD Box Set ( Forbrydelsen (Forbrytelsen) ) ( The Killing - Complete Season One ) [ NON-USA FORMAT, PAL, Reg.2 Import - United Kingdom ] were given 20 hours with the Birk Larsen family, the charismatic Troels Hartmann and the one and only Sarah Lund. Back then we were to explore a host of characters and for the first time in a drama series we were given the opportunity to explore the grief of a family who had just lost a daughter. How could a second series improve on perfection?

Well in just a 10 hour series, DR (Danish Broadcasting Corporation) manages to equal if not surpass their strengths of series 1. Again we meet Sarah Lund played to absolute perfection by Sofie Gråbøl. This time Sarah is stationed at Gedser, southern Denmark checking passports. Lennart Brix (Morten Suurballe), Vibeke (Anne Marie Helger) and Mark Lund (Eske Forsting Hansen) are the only other three returning characters from series 1. Troels Hartmann and co are swapped for Thomas Buch and co. Copenhagen municipal politics has now become Danish politics on a national level involving the Prime Minister, Justice and Defence Ministries, alongside the Ministry of Integration, briefly. The Birk Larsens are replaced by the Rabens.

The second series has a much faster pace to it than the first and although there is less exploration of the characters as there was in series 1, this series is no worse for it. Sofie Gråbøl is once again supported by some of Denmark's finest acting talent. Nicolas Bro is outstanding as new Justice Minister Thomas Buch. Ken Vedsegaard is utterly convincing as Jens Peter Raben held in Herstedvester Prison. And as a new sidekick for Lund we have Ulrik Strange played by Mikael Birkkjær. Birkkjær also stars in DR's 2010 offering The Government: Season 1 (Ep. 1-10) along with a couple of other performers from the earlier series.

Watching a series with subtitles in a minor Scandinavian language does require concentration. Aided by excellent subtitling to help steer you around the twists and turns throughout the 10 episodes, this programme really is a joy to watch.

Why is it that a country of less than six million people can produce such fine quality TV whereas the UK comes up with nothing anywhere near this calibre? If Saturdays at 9pm in the fall on UK TV mean I'm a Celebrity, The X Factor or Casualty for you, then The Killing is probably not going to be your cup of tea. With episodes reaching over a million viewers, more than double that of the first series and beating any other foreign language programme by a long way, The Killing proves that decent quality compelling TV does not always originate from the USA or the UK. Episodes aren't 42 minutes long to enable countless ads to be squeezed in. Most episodes are just short of an hour. Each hour spent watching this set will fly by.

You may want to familiarise yourself with a couple of bridges whilst watching the series. The Great Belt Bridge connects two Danish islands Funen and Zealand. The Oresund Bridge connects Danish Zealand with Swedish Skane. Copenhagen, where the main drama unfolds is located on Zealand just over the water from Swedish Malmo on the other side of the Oresund Bridge.

Ever been questioned by the police while in the shower? Well one of the characters in The Killing 2 has Sarah Lund at her best while in the shower. What's a Danish wedding like and will all family members attend? Will Sarah open up to anybody? Find out in this fantastic boxset.

Also included in this boxset is a 19 minute bonus feature on the making of The Killing which has an interview with Sofie and producer Piv Bernth.

Thank you BBC4 for striking gold, Arrow Films for providing the DVD release, DR for making gold, and The Guardian for providing such a worthy accompanying blog to the series.

Enjoy!

Hope that BBC4 screens series 3 as soon as Denmark screen it in late 2012!

And if you need another fix of Sofie and Mikael, have a look at this December 2011 re-release of Aftermath in which they star as a married couple. Two other films I recommend for fans of Sofie and Mikael are Sofie's first ever film from 1986Wolf at the Door [VHS] and a 2005 film with Mikael in the lead role Springet, along with Værelse 304 from 2011. Worth a watch!

Ken Vedsegaard plays a main character in Better Times ( Krøniken ) ( Krönikan ) [ NON-USA FORMAT, PAL, Reg.0 Import - Denmark ] set in Copenhagen in the Fifties. Guest stars in the early episodes include Nicolas Bro and from Series 1, Lars Mikkelsen. Seen by around 2.5 million viewers weekly during its initial screening in January 2004. Vedsegaard also appears with Sofie in True Spirit ( Den Rette ånd ) [ NON-USA FORMAT, PAL, Reg.2 Import - Denmark ].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, March 24, 2012
By 
Jack Lieberman (San Anselmo, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This series is just about perfect. Don't waste your time on the English version - get used to the subtitles. It's worth it. Brilliant acting, fabulous photography, great writing. The best crime/political thriller I've ever seen. I was held in suspense until the very last episode. Can't wait for the next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique police thriller series 1&2, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Killing: The Complete Season 2 (Forbrydelsen) [Region 2] (DVD)
Just when you thought you've seen it all for crime thrillers, along comes Detective Sarah Lund a la Danish (she has started a "jumper" aka Faroe Isle sweater craze) surprisingly riveting take, especially since we Americans only associate Victor Borge-ish humor with the Danes. Deeper waters run through this Danish TV series which hooked me into figuring out the clues with Lund for all 40 episodes of Seasons One&Two. For Season One, I'm proud to say I fingered the murderer correctly by the second episode but wasn't ever certain until the end because the screenplay keeps you uncertain as does real-life investigating. . .as the series subtitle says, be careful who you trust. Season Two was harder to determine; however, for both, what amazed me was my constantly shifting judgments of who to trust or not trust. So be warned about mental gymnastics and compulsion to see the entire 2 seasons within a few days. I'm now awaiting the final Season Three to sell next year. BTW don't bother with the American lesser knock-off of this original Danish TV series also sold under Danish title "Forbrydelsen" (The Crime). I say always go for the original over imitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good as it Gets, July 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Killing: The Complete Season 2 (Forbrydelsen) [Region 2] (DVD)
What a terrific series this is. I was hooked from the very start and couldn`t wait to get to he final episodes to find out who the baddie was. In turn, I suspected just about everybody in the cast. so once or twice I was right but most of the time, completely wrong!

This time Sara Lund and her partner are investigating the killing of four innocent people by Danish troops in Afghanistan. Troops who were part of the group involved, are being killed. There is also a political component as it becomes clear that certain ministers knew, but no one did anything about an investigation. Everything was kept quiet.

The whole plot kept me on tenterhooks.

There is also an interesting documentary where the producer says that no-one except she,the director, and the writers, knew whodunnit, so it lead to lots of conversations between everyone involved from the stars onwards..

I really can`t praise this film enough. The standard is enormously high and the actors do a wonderful job breathing life into the complex characters they play. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, complex and captivating!, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Killing: The Complete Season 2 (Forbrydelsen) [Region 2] (DVD)
A most enjoyable series to watch with so many twists and turns I highly recommend watching this riveting mystery/thriller. The subtitles are great but you cannot take your eyes away from the TV!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definetly 5 Star Drama, June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Killing: The Complete Season 2 (Forbrydelsen) [Region 2] (DVD)
Recently purchased Season 1 and 2 after watching a few episodes on youtube. It is one of the best drama series I have seen, it is really the gold standard for a crime series particularly when compared to North American drama. It is creative, intelligent, complex with superb acting! Once you start watching you cant stop and then you are disappointed they have ended!
Fantastic drama, I highly recommend this series, particularly if you love Nordic Noir!
( I changed the region to 2 on my laptop in order to watch, worked fine)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Killing: The Complete Season 2 (Forbrydelsen) [Region 2] (DVD)
One of the really great detective murder mystery shows. Extremely well-written but it's the casting that makes it really extraordinary, starting with the wonderful Sofie Grobol as Det. Sarah Lund. A unique and intriquing performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!! The original Danish version right in my living room!, January 17, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Killing: The Complete Season 2 (Forbrydelsen) [Region 2] (DVD)
I've wanted to see this for a long time. Finally asked for the full season 1 and 2 for Christmas, along with an all-region dvd blu ray player. Watched the first episode last night. So great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why no North America format version?, September 15, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Killing: The Complete Season 2 (Forbrydelsen) [Region 2] (DVD)
I can't be the only one in North America who'd like to be able to see this without buying another DVD player. What gives? Help amazon! Someone is missing a potential profit center here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Killing: The Complete Season 2 (Forbrydelsen) [Region 2]
$54.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.