Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two thirds of a trilogy, April 5, 2008
This review is from: The Kingdom - Series One and Two (DVD)
This set contains the first two seasons of "The Kingdom". Lars Von Triers made "The Kingdom" with the intention that it would be a trilogy of mini-series, but unfortunately, after the second season, both Ernst-Hugo Jaregard (Dr. Helmer) and Kirsten Rolffes (Mrs. Drusse), that is, the two main actors, died, putting a stop to Season Three (and to be perfectly honest, I wouldn't like to see a season without these actors). As a result of this, few of the story lines introduced in Season 1 are resolved in Season 2, and the ending comprises a number of cliff-hangers that Von Triers, presumably, intended to resolve in Season 3. Having said that, "The Kingdom" is an excellent series, and is one of the best TV series that I have ever seen.

"The Kingdom" is set in Denmark's top hospital, which is run by a group of arrogant doctors, who operate a secret society from the hospital's basement, and is haunted by an assortment of ghosts. Season one of "The Kingdom", which was later remade for American television as "Kingdom Hospital", centres around Mrs. Drusse (a Miss Marple-like old lady) and her quest to put to rest the ghost of a young girl who died at The Kingdom many years earlier. Sub-plots include Prof. Bondo's quest to obtain a rare sarcoma; a bizarre pregnancy; and Dr. Helmer's (possibly the most arrogant doctor to ever appear on television) attempts to avoid a malpractice lawsuit.

Season 2 starts off immediately following the end of Season 1. Highlights of this series include Dr. Hook turning into a patient-hating psychopath after a rather unpleasant incident (I found Hook to be smug and self-righteous in Season 1, so really enjoyed this change of character); the revelation of Aage Kruger's true nature; ambulance racing; and a greater presence of Bulder (a hospital orderly) and Mogge (a medical student). There is also a greater focus on the occult in this season, and I found this season to be both sillier and scarier than the previous season.

In my opinion Season 1 is the better of the two seasons, I found the first two episodes of Season 2 to be a bit tedious (I didn't like the sub-plot about Prof. Moesgaard seeking psychiatric help or the one about Judith and her baby, at all). However, the final two episodes more than make up for them, and by the end, I really did want to see more.

Fans of series such as "Twin Peaks" and "Kingdom Hospital" will definitely enjoy "The Kingdom", but don't go in expecting a satisfactory conclusion or you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, complex plot - eerily funny independent horror, December 15, 2008
By 
Moritz Hau (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kingdom - Series One and Two (DVD)
For any Twin Peaks fans out there - order this masterpiece right away. Has the same exact qualities as the David Lynch classic:

-Complex, addictive storyline
-Directed by one of the maverick masters of independent cinema
-Darkly funny and, when it comes down to it, not really scary most of the time
-Trademark cinematography - grainy and sepia Handycam effects
-Incomplete - this ends after 2 of what should have been 3 or 4 series

The last point sounds off-putting, but I haven't met anyone who hasn't thoroughly enjoyed this. When this was filmed, Lars von Trier was famous only in his native Denmark. The camerawork is a lot more easily digestible than in some of his later works, and his typical broodiness is balanced by dark Scandinavian humour - totally addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hospital Madness, August 20, 2009
This review is from: The Kingdom - Series One and Two (DVD)
Lars von Trier's TV show The Kingdom (Riget) is one of the best thing the Danish director has ever done. Funny. Exciting. Hilarious. Crazy. Scary.
If you have ever worked in a hospital you have to watch this show. The kingdom is not just the name of the hospital, but it is also all about the little kingdoms that exist within the walls of a hospital.
Since Twin Peaks there has never been a TV show that brilliantly mixes a ghost story and absurd comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So glad to finally own this!, June 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kingdom - Series One and Two (DVD)
I really love Lars von Trier's Danish TV miniseries. If you're into the world of the bizarre, RIGET (a.k.a. THE KINGDOM) is probably for you. This is NOT Stephen King's KINGDOM HOSPITAL miniseries, though SK did use chunks of the RIGET storyline in his rather blah "interpretation". My only caveat would be that Lars von Trier intended to have a third part and was unable to do this, due to the (real-life) deaths of two of the lead actors. So, you sort of have to enjoy what you get, and keep in mind that you don't really get a solid ending. As for me, even though I always wish for more, I'm quite happy to watch the goings-on at this otherworldly hospital that is packed to the brim with peculiar and fascinating characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of humor and terror, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kingdom - Series One and Two (DVD)
One of the best TV series,it has a lot of humor, comedy and terror. Excellent performance and direction.
Very good photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kingdom- Series One and Two, June 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kingdom - Series One and Two (DVD)
This is some twisted comedic horror. If that is your twist, ENJOY !!! P.S. If you don't like subtitles, avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good storyline, June 9, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kingdom - Series One and Two (DVD)
I really enjoyed watching the series and couldn't wait to see what happened next. I like the cinematography a lot it reminds me of silent hill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Black Comedy Horror Soap Opera, May 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kingdom - Series One and Two (DVD)
One of Von Trier's more earnest works. Simple and clean fun horror and smirking shock. A great DVD set. Wish the series was longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series; but . . ., January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kingdom - Series One and Two (DVD)
I like it, but seeing that some of the actors passed after Series Two, it left me hanging and wanting it all wrapped up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, June 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Kingdom - Series One and Two (DVD)
just feel lucky that I can watch this. really lucky.
I don't know for sure if it works on any other people, but it surely did on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Kingdom - Series One and Two
The Kingdom - Series One and Two by Lars von Trier (DVD - 2008)
$44.98 $40.48
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.