The King's Hounds (The King's Hounds series Book 1) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $14.95
  • Save: $3.97 (27%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
The King's Hounds (The Ki... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Stored and shipped by Amazon. Former library book with associated stamps/stickers/markings. Cover and binding show some wear. Good copy.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The King's Hounds (The King's Hounds series) Paperback – October 29, 2013


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$10.98
$8.21 $6.96

Paris Time Capsule
Paris Time Capsule
Cat Jordan inherits a perfectly preserved Belle Époque apartment in the ninth arrondissement of Paris from a perfect stranger … or was she? Romance follows in her travels as she seeks answers. Learn more about the author, Ella Carey
$10.98 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The King's Hounds (The King's Hounds series) + Oathbreaker (The King's Hounds series) + Season of the Raven: A Servant of the Crown Mystery (Volume 1)
Price for all three: $30.81

Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Fans of historicals looking for something different will find much to savor in Jensen's first book to be translated into English, a mystery set in 11th-century England. Winston, a former novice monk who's become an illuminator of manuscripts, receives his most high-profile assignment yet when the consort of Cnut of Denmark, who recently conquered England, asks him to paint the king's portrait. On the way to Oxford, where Cnut holds court, Winston joins forces with Halfdan, a roguish half-Dane, who rescues him from thieves and serves as the tale's charming narrator. Once they reach Oxford, Cnut asks the pair to solve the murder of a Saxon named Osfrid, whose widow accuses the king of being her husband's killer. With Cnut's hold on power fragile, he hopes that the team of investigators from different backgrounds will not only solve the case but keep the political peace. Readers will want to see more of the astute Winston. (Oct.)

Review

“Winston’s intellectuality plays off of Halfdan’s womanizing rogue…the casual brutality of the time as well as the politics are aptly portrayed, and the suspects plentiful.” —Historical Novels Review
If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $0.99 (Save 80%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: The King's Hounds series
  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: AmazonCrossingEnglish (October 29, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1477807268
  • ISBN-13: 978-1477807262
  • Product Dimensions: 0.8 x 6 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (317 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #601,194 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Bestselling Danish novelist Martin Jensen was born in 1946 and worked as a teacher and a headmaster in Sweden and Denmark before becoming a full-time writer in 1996. The author of twenty-one novels, he has been honored by the Danish Crime Academy twice and was awarded the Royal Library's Prize for his medieval novel Soldiers' Whore. He and his wife are botany enthusiasts who also enjoy bird-watching and gathering mushrooms.

Customer Reviews

I read the book in one sitting.
Amazon Customer
After reading other novels similar to this, Cornwell, etc., I found this story to be very slow moving and without much originality.
Capt T
It's a brilliant mystery, with clever humour, well developped characters and a very good ending.
Nadia @ Eu e o Bam

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

84 of 87 people found the following review helpful By Mohe on October 16, 2013
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
This is basically an old school country house mystery in the vein of Agatha Christie and Dorothy Sayers, but instead of being set at an estate over a long weekend, a tour group, or a train, the setting is a political gathering in late Anglo-Saxon England. Our two protagonists, one a manuscript illuminator and the other a déclassé half Danish nobleman, stumble across a murder with significant political overtones early in the reign of King Canute. Canute promptly sets our heroes to work, and they begin trying to track down and interview a wide range of suspects. It is quite a fun outing, and while I sort of guessed the solution very early, I was not sure until more than two thirds through the book. There was no cheating.

The history is basically fine, the atmosphere is very good, and it is fun to see this all from a Scandinavian perspective since the book is translated from Danish. The ethnic conflict and relationships between the three main groups, Anglo-Saxons, Danes living in England for centuries, and Viking adventurers is very elegantly handled.

One interesting aspect is that at the end several loose ends in the investigation are left; this is lamp-shaded by on of the characters who suggest that sometimes it is very awkward to get to the bottom of everything, a suitably Nordic medieval sentiment, but I would have enjoyed the whole puzzle more if they had been addressed.

The translation is solid, better than some other Amazon Crossings tiles, with a good command of the two languages. It does not feel like a translation.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
53 of 57 people found the following review helpful By Vermeer fan VINE VOICE on October 13, 2013
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
England, 1018. Invasions of Angles, Saxons, Danes and others are stripping the country of food, livestock and whatever peace the local villagers can wring behind their palisades. Cnut of Denmark wants to bury the hatchet between all the warring factions and requisitions the talents of Winston, the bookish ex monk who has come to illuminate Cnut's sterling qualities in a rich book for Cnut's wife. Instead Winston and his traveling companion Halfdan,a disenfranchised nobleman, are set to solve a murder in Oxford, where Cnut has convened the Saxon witan,a local council of elders, and demanded that the heregeld, a tax on the losers paid to him, be sent. With the blessing of the witan and the dispersal of the heregeld to Cnut's army as pay, Cnut's position as king will be solidified.

However one of Cnut's future subjects, a local Saxon chief, turns up dead in Oxford during the gathering after confronting Cnut in public. With Winston, a Saxon, and Halfdan, a Dane, on the investigation, both sides of Cnut's kingdom can be satisfied a clean investigation will result. Halfdan woos the female population to weasel out information and provides a strong sword arm when they are attacked while Winston flexes the mental skills he's acquired in using the smaller details to paint the overall picture of this, and the ensuing murders, and uncover the final plot.

These books are translated from the original Danish and it was interesting to get a take on the history of that unsettled time from somewhere other than the usual Anglo-American point of view. The ability to pick up numerous languages, Danish, Saxon and other dialects is emphasized as England was a polyglot society. The rudimentary detective skills displayed (by today's standards) is entertaining and the epilogue promises more adventures as a series. Recommended for fans of Oliver Potzsch Hangman's Daughter series without much of the buffoonery of his more recent books.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful By Cass, Mildura, Australia on January 4, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Prior to writing this I read some of the other reviews and was amazed that so few readers thought it worthy of 5 stars.

I LOVED THIS BOOK.... The main protagonists kept the the story light and enjoyable, whilst at the same time the author has recreated a little remembered part of English history. I noted one reviewer compared this novel to the likes of an Agatha Christie novel and she is probably right, but again I hark back to the historical content. The characters in this novel (with the exception of Halfdan and Winston of course) are real. This is a great read and we learned something along the way.
After you finish this novel check out King Cnut on the net. More great reading.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
32 of 36 people found the following review helpful By Boxplayer on January 18, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is well-researched and, as another reviewer observed, makes the polyglot, multi-cultural society of England in Cnut's time vivid and realistic. However, the mystery itself is weakly constructed. As the two unlikely partners (who meet in the beginning of the book and are compelled by Cnut to find the nobleman's killer) blunder around Oxford, most of their incorrect suspicions seem to exist only to display the many different peoples that had gathered there -- Dane, Saxon, Viking. The solution to the mystery was less than dramatic.

The main problem I had with the story, however, is apparently the fault of the translator. The book is filled with anachronisms that jar the ear -- modern terms that make the story seem less authentic than it is. A few examples: partner Halfdane "scarfed down" some food -- a term that originated in the 1960s. Winston (the other partner) suggests that he is offering the nobleman's widow a "worst-case scenario." Another character refers to someone's "buddy" -- a term that did not exist until the 19th century. Winston later tells a soldier that he had "better listen up." There are many more such as these. Cnut, in his unification speech to the gathered multi-nationals, sounds more like a Silicon Valley CEO than an 11th century monarch. It made the story less enjoyable, much as I liked the setting and the historical authenticity.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The King's Hounds (The King's Hounds series)
This item: The King's Hounds (The King's Hounds series)
Price: $10.98
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?