Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Idea...
I enjoyed this film, I picked it up last year in 2009 at a horror con in Chicago from the filmmakers. I feel that it is not meant to be true horror film but rather a horror comedy type of flick. The main character in the film is rather funny from the way he does things. Some dude has these demonic things living in one of his apartments that he has somewhat became buddies...
Published on April 24, 2010 by **Movie Reviewer**

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but very poor production values
This was a fun movie. Great concept about (potential spoiler) a landlord who is a slave to a couple of demons and ensures a steady stream of tenants who can double as food for the demons. Its a fun tongue-in-cheek style horror, obviously much more focused on comic elements than achieving actual scares. While I very much enjoyed the concept, the production values were...
Published on May 26, 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but very poor production values, May 26, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Landlord (DVD)
This was a fun movie. Great concept about (potential spoiler) a landlord who is a slave to a couple of demons and ensures a steady stream of tenants who can double as food for the demons. Its a fun tongue-in-cheek style horror, obviously much more focused on comic elements than achieving actual scares. While I very much enjoyed the concept, the production values were just awful. For example, the demon shown on the DVD cover art is a character in the movie. Its a normal guy (not CG) who carries a ton of makeup to look like the demon, not a mask or any other special effect. The problem is that the makeup is very unevenly applied, and changes in every shot. In some cases, especially side shots, you can see clearly where the makeup artist got tired and just gave up. I know this is low budget and meant to be low budget, and there is a certain kitch-yness to low budget horror, but that got a bit distracting after a while. Also, there's scenes shot outdoors where individuals clearly not extras accidentally ended up being part of the shot merely by virtue of their observing the filming. Very amateurish. Also, while the story was clearly fun, there were a lot of extraneous elements that just confused the matter. There's an affair that just doesn't quite add any value to the story, a separate group of different breed monsters/demons that also add no particular value. In short, it tried to achieve too many plot elements that ended up distracting and not adding value to the story. Again, it was a cute movie that could have been better, but clearly is very worthy of at least a rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Idea..., April 24, 2010
This review is from: The Landlord (DVD)
I enjoyed this film, I picked it up last year in 2009 at a horror con in Chicago from the filmmakers. I feel that it is not meant to be true horror film but rather a horror comedy type of flick. The main character in the film is rather funny from the way he does things. Some dude has these demonic things living in one of his apartments that he has somewhat became buddies with. The demonic creatures kills the tenets before the owner can collect the months payment...I like it when the cops come to investigate as they are just waiting for the landlord to slip up and make a mistake...the landlord always gets stuck cleaning up the mess that the demons leave behind (most of the time). I would recommend this film as I have seen nothing like it before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon got to get better movie for its prime members, November 20, 2014
This was a very weak horror movie. I could not even put myself in the position to even sit through the entire thing. Amazon got to get better movie for its prime members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious horror comedy!, March 8, 2010
This review is from: The Landlord (DVD)
Too many low-budget films are too ambitious for their own good. What's wrong with making a genuinely entertaining film on the budget you have to work with? The makers of "The Landlord" clearly had this in mind, and the result is a low-budget film that almost completely avoids most of the pitfalls that detract from the entertainment value of many low-budget films regardless of genre. Lead actor Derek Dziak is excellent and endearing as Tyler, young landlord of a three-flat where the top floor is inhabited by a pair of demonic entities with a bad habit of eating new tenants as soon as they move in. Meanwhile, Tyler's policewoman sister Amy (Michelle Courvais) and her partner try to keep the city's supernatural forces from spilling out into everyday life while skimming a little off the top for themselves. The film moves at a good clip, with strong performances across the board, and while the special effects aren't the center of attention they get the job done-- you'll probably be having too much fun to care. One of the best independent horror films I've seen in ages, definitely recommended for horror fans looking for something fun and unique!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money, July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Landlord (DVD)
I usually like campy movies but this one was just plain stupid. I would not recommend this at all. Very bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ugh..., December 1, 2014
In a world of cheesy bad horror, this one manages to take it to a whole nother level!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, November 24, 2014
This movie sucks.....bad actors low budget just bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Landlord a real campy movie, August 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Landlord (DVD)
I had expected The Landlord to be scary, and in many ways it is. It is also rather campy.
I had never thought a bunch of demons to be so funny and in many ways stupid. And that goes for the landlord himself as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars other people might like it!, November 7, 2014
Didnt watch 20 min it was not what i was looking for. I am looking movies with true facts and real witchcraft .other people might like it !!! Thanks for reading my review!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, November 4, 2014
Awful movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Landlord
The Landlord by Emil Hyde (DVD - 2010)
Used & New from: $6.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.