Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


173 of 178 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keystone to Solving the Crime of the 20th Century
I cannot do much better than other reviewers of Fonzi's book. But I can add a few things -- perhaps even the last word. In passing, I must say I find it strange that there are so few reviews for this book. And yet, maybe it is not so strange.
Fonzi inherited the frustration of Jim Garrison ("On the Trail of Assassins") for discovering the ultimate lead...
Published on December 3, 2001 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Information
This book was impossible to wade through. As just a simple Average Joe who is interested in the Kennedy assassination, I found it very difficult to plod through Fonzi's explanations, examples and evidence of the who-what-why in the killing of Kennedy. I couldn't follow this book with a road map. I assumed the book would enlighten me about who was behind the assassination...
Published 12 months ago by Rebecca Knapp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

173 of 178 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keystone to Solving the Crime of the 20th Century, December 3, 2001
By 
Amazon Customer "jrbednorz" (Riverside, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Investigation (Paperback)
I cannot do much better than other reviewers of Fonzi's book. But I can add a few things -- perhaps even the last word. In passing, I must say I find it strange that there are so few reviews for this book. And yet, maybe it is not so strange.
Fonzi inherited the frustration of Jim Garrison ("On the Trail of Assassins") for discovering the ultimate lead to the mystery of Dealey Plaza. Both authors had conducted separate and independent investigations: Garrison in 1968 New Orleans, and Fonzi -- working for the House Select Committee on Assassinations between 1976 and 1978. Both investigations pointed ultimately toward a rogue faction within the CIA, but Fonzi, in pursuing events surrounding Oswald's appearance on Sylvia Odio's porch in September, 1963, went farther down that trail than anyone.
The other reviews do well to summarize Fonzi's book, so I leave the reader to explore those reviews. Instead, let's take a look at the history surrounding Fonzi's book itself. He had been constrained by a non-disclosure agreement with CIA from the time they began to suppress the HSCA's activities. This was also coincident with the landmark censorship court case over Vincent Marchetti's "The CIA and the Cult of Intelligence". It was not until after the passage of the 1992 JFK Records Collection Act and its implementation by William Jefferson Clinton that Fonzi was able to publish "Last Investigation".
Another author, investigating completely different events in history, supported Fonzi's findings, and that author was free of the constraints that bound Fonzi. Donald Freed published "Death in Washington: The Murder of Orlando Letelier" in 1980 on the heels of the infamous Sheridan Circle/Washington, DC car-bombing of Orlando Letelier and Ronni Moffitt. And what is most frightening is this: David Atlee Phillips, CIA case officer and handler of Lee Harvey Oswald, left a trail of blood and carnage throughout the Western Hemisphere in the wake of his involvement in the Kennedy assassination. As a master of propaganda science, he had purchased print and broadcast media in Chile, conducting a massive propaganda campaign which brought the Allende regime crashing down. Phillips' colleagues in the States were later arrested in the Watergate scandal, and they had previously burglarized the offices of Chilean Ambassador Orlando Letelier, providing a list of Allende supporters to the Nixon administration who passed it along through Phillips to the Pinochet regime. Everyone on that list was summarily "disappeared" in the infamous Santiago soccer stadium. Phillips later attempted to cover up the work of his next protege' after Oswald -- Michael Townley -- in the 1976 Letelier bombing.
All post-war history orbits around Dealey Plaza. All serious JFK research intent on getting at the Truth revolves around Fonzi's ground-breaking findings. And a significant part of assassination books after "Last Investigation" appear crafted to obscure the trail Fonzi uncovered.
Looking at the 1990s and the ARRB declassifications under Clinton, the average citizen has been exposed to TV documentaries such as Nigel Turner's "Men Who Killed Kennedy" and a series narrated by Roger Moore entitled "The KGB JFK Assassination Files". None of these, or any other video documentaries mention Fonzi or his key suspect who planned the coverup and sheepdipping of Oswald in every detail. While Turner's series points in the right direction, it still explores many false trails, and leaves too much to the viewer's discretionary conclusion.
Phillips, the Watergate boys and Maj. Gen. Ed Lansdale had all been involved in "Operation Zapata" -- the Bay of Pigs Invasion. Lansdale's focus (see Prouty, "JFK: The CIA, Vietnam and the Assassination of J__ F__ K__") had been psychological warfare; Phillips had been a propaganda specialist. One field of study and application is the subset of the other, and the involvement of these two men at the center of the plot -- between the yet-to-be-proven high-level participants and the triggermen -- should indicate to those interested at getting to the heart of the matter just how horrendously insidious and Evil the events surrounding Dealey Plaza really were.
The fact that the extensive TV documentaries steer clear of both Phillips and Lansdale can only indicate one thing: the coverup continues; its purpose is to deceive the American people; and the deceit is necessary because three major industries that had circled their wagons of interest and influence around CIA and Pentagon before 1963 have maintained their status quo all this time. Those industries are strategic minerals (oil), defense-aerospace, and the media itself. The involvement of the third leg of this industrial complex explains why Fonzi's book has been obscured; why the HSCA findings and their suppressed files only released in 1997 have received little notice in the media; and why so many books and films attempt to lead the reader in other directions: there is the "Diem-Nhu-Corsican Mob" theory, the "Mafia" Theory, the "Castro" and "KGB" theories, and of course, the "lone-nut" theory. It is in the interest of the powers-that-be that the American people ignore the Fonzi book and continue to search in all directions of the conspiracy compass -- into perpetuity. Books after Fonzi's -- such as Gus Russo's "Live By the Sword" -- are still spinning theories and resurrecting old cover stories that have been disproved by declassified documents. At the same time, the declassification of Oswald's CIA "201" file now validates and confirms every fact, assertion and premise of Fonzi's own book, and especially, the connection between James McCord (Watergate), David Atlee Phillips, and Lee Harvey Oswald.
Fonzi's book is an exciting and spell-binding reading experience. It is earnest research and sound conclusion. It is THE most important book to acquire for anyone seriously interested in the Truth about Dealey Plaza.
Buy it. Read it. Pursue its investigative leads. Tell every American and world citizen you know. And as you do so, "Last Investigation" will arm you with enough facts to convince yourself and everyone -- this is no theory. This is the light at the end of the tunnel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best works on the assassination of JFK, September 21, 1999
This review is from: The Last Investigation (Paperback)
Gaeton Fonzi, an investigator with the Senate and the House Select Committee on Assassinations, reveals the fruit of his extraordinary investigative efforts in addition to providing a penetrating critique of the conduct of the House investigation. His most significant work involves Cuban exiles Sylvia Odio and Antonio Veciana. Ms. Odio was visited in her Dallas home by two anti- Castro activists and Lee Harvey Oswald prior to the assassination of JFK. They approached her to solicit funds for their anti-Castro activities. Ms. Odio is certain that it was Lee Harvey Oswald who was present at that time. Antonio Veciana was the leader of the extremely militant anti-Castro organization known as Alpha-66. Mr. Veciana's CIA handler was "Maurice Bishop" who the author demonstrates was none other than David Atlee Phillips. When Mr. Veciana travelled to Dallas prior to the assassination of JFK to meet his CIA handler, he found Mr. Phillips in conversation with Lee Harvey Oswald, thereby demonstrating Oswald's link to U.S. intelligence. Mr. Fonzi also reveals another CIA handler of anti-Castro Cuban organizations and their operations inside Cuba, Mr. David Sanchez Morales. {Miami's CIA station handling the anti-Castro operations was run by David Sanchez Morales, Theodore Shackley, E. Howard Hunt and David Atlee Phillips}. Mr. Morales admitted to a life-long friend that "We [CIA] took care of that ... Kennedy", suggesting U.S. intelligence participation in the "hit" on JFK. Mr. Fonzi's personal interactions with Sylvia Odio, Antonio Veciana, David Atlee Phillips and others provides a human dimension to the information he reveals which sets his work apart from most other assassination literature. Mr. Fonzi's work provides readers with important, new information based upon his own personal investigative work in the field and is invaluable in its contribution toward uncovering the truth of the assassination of JFK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You Gaeton!, August 13, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Investigation (Paperback)
America owes a debt of gratitude to Gaeton Fonzi, former House Select Commitee on Assassinations investigator.
The HSCA was formed to give we the people the truth about the Asassination Conspiracy of President John F Kennedy, but instead, tons of HSCA documents are sealed away for decades to come!
What the HSCA didnt want to make too public, and what the media has totally hidden, is that the HSCA investigation proves once and for all that Lee Oswald was being framed for the assassination MONTHS before it happened!
Gaeton Fonzi is one of the few investigators for the HSCA who has gone against the grain, and who has come out to tell the American People the truth. He did so by writing this book.
One of the main points of Fonzi's book, is that CIA man "Maurice Bishop", was an alias used by David Atlee Phillips, former head of the CIA's Western Hemisphere division!
The identity of "Bishop" has long kept JFK assassination researchers interested because "Bishop" was seen with Lee Oswald in Dallas not long before the assassination, proving that the CIA had a link with Oswald, even though they said they didnt.
Couple this with the fact that Philips ("Bishop") did work for the CIA in Mexico City WHERE AN OSWALD IMPERSONATOR FRAMED HIM (Oswald) BEFORE THE ASSASSINATION, and the JFK murder mystery becomes much clearer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the three best books on the JFK assassination, November 17, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Investigation: A Former Federal Investigator Reveals the Man Behind the Conspiracy to Kill JFK (Hardcover)
Along with Dick Russell's The Man Who Knew Too Much and Garrison's On the Trail of the Assassins, Gaeton Fonzi's book The Last Investigation actually provides information that enables the reader to move a bit closer to understanding the truth about the conspiracy that killed JFK. The book contains noteworthy information about key suspects such as David Phillips and Orlando Bosch. On behalf of the House Select Committee on Assassinations, Gaeton Fonzi interviewed Bosch and was involved in assessing the possible role of Phillips as "Maurice Bishop" who was alleged to have met with Oswald prior to the assassination. The information in this book is a must for any objective reader to assess the liklihood that a conspiracy took place. One almost certainly did take place, and the information Fonzi covers is important to understand what actually happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the top 10 of JFK assassination books, December 8, 2010
By 
Michael Lane (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Investigation (Paperback)
I own probably about 40 JFK assassination books. This is one of the best and probably the best of the more modern period. Other reviews go into great depth and I don't have much to add, but I too am a bit surprised that this book hasn't got the attention it deserves. Thrilling, sober, well-written... from the man who was a huge part of the fatally flawed last investigation of our President's tragic murder. And the revelations of some of the villains that came from this book has over the years been corroborated and solidified. This book is a must for anyone who cares anything about what really happened concerning the assassination as well as the doomed history of the House Select Committee on Assassinations, and I consider Mr. Fonzi a real hero for his work as part of the HSCA and for writing this book.

And for what it's worth, the other books I consider indispensable of the more modern Kennedy books are "Crossfire" by Jim Marrs-- because it basically encompasses the lion's share of the research and the findings through the years, and "JFK and the Unspeakable" by James Douglass, which clearly articulates the "big picture" behind the assassination, as well as revealing even more new detail. Get those 2 books and this one and you will learn quite a lot of the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Investigation, March 20, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Investigation (Paperback)
Quite simply, this book is the most credible I have read on the subject. The author has pretty much confined his book to information he obtained through his own investigations into the case. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in learning something of the truth of this tragic event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, October 9, 2007
This review is from: The Last Investigation (Paperback)
What most attracted me about this book was the fact that its author, Gaeton Fonzi, is an investigator who can write not based on other researchers' data and conclusions, but on the evidence he himself gathered during the House Committee on Assassinations lifetime.
In this book you will learn about how the CIA planted a fake "communist" Lee Harvey Oswald in Mexico City in order to put the blame on Communists, specifically Fidel Castro. Fonzi greatly reinforced my conviction that the CIA was behind this coup d'etat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, August 30, 2013
By 
Dennis R. Wilkins "denniswilk" (San Bernardino, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Investigation: A Former Federal Investigator Reveals the Man Behind the Conspiracy to Kill JFK (Hardcover)
I came to the JFK Assassination genre late in the game. I only started reading in the late, late 1990s, well after the Oliver Stone movie JFK. The internet, after Al invested it, wasn't as good then as it is now. Getting ANY credible information on what was a good book vs. what was crap was impossible to know. This is how Gerald Posner's Case Closed was easily praised for so long: those who actually read it and knew it was lies couldn't get their voices out. Poor Bugliosi and his ReWriting (sic) History haven't faired as well, thanks to the truth filtering out through the intertubes. But not only did I NOT know about the HSCA, I never knew what a debacle it had been. Fortunately, Fonzi was there as an eyewitness to history to show how bad things were, and the bad agendas of so many key players. Mark Lane's recent (2012) Last Word has an excellent discussion of how and why the HSCA screwed up, lied and then covered their tracks. But he stands on the shoulders of great men, men like Gaeton Fonzi. Read this book - I promise you won't be disappointed. It is as relevant today as it was then. Fonzi was the guy who, as really the ONLY real "investigator" for the HSCA, was JUST ABOUT to interview George de Mohrenschildt, the right-wing white Russian with deep intelligence links who somehow befriended Oswald after he returned from the Soviet Union. What a left wing communist, intent on killing the US President and, earlier, intent of killing a US Army general, and a right-wing intelligence connected white Russian (stridently anti-communist) would have to talk about, one could never know. But George de Mohrenschildt got Oswald jobs and helped him out and all but drove to the TSBD with a Mannlicher Carcano rifle for Oswald, and the Warren Commission never even blinked. Yet when Fonzi got ready to talk to George, well, George suddenly decided that being a millionaire in this life was too stressful, and he put a shotgun in his mouth and blew his mind out. Huh.

This is a MUST HAVE book for anyone even vaguely interested in the JFK assassination. It is well written, and it is excellent because it shows a very dark period in history, and it is clear that dark period never really went away. Gaeton Fonzi died in 2012. I hope that, when he died, he did so with the satisfaction that the scholarship he created has not only NOT died with him, but is flourishing still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best JFK assassination books, July 30, 2011
This review is from: The Last Investigation (Paperback)
Having seen the JFK movie several months ago, it put me on a spin of finding out the truth of what happened. I emailed an experienced researcher who sent me a list of the best books to read. And so I have read many books, about 15 at this point. Of these I consider this to be in the top three.

What I have learned is that there are many books that reach into levels of fantasy, or are uncorroborated, and make incorrect inferences about the facts, and are written by authors who may have uncovered interesting facts or witnesses, but then fall down with their own limited reasoning skills, confusing fact with opinion.

What separates Fonzi's book from the herd, is that he was an actual investigator with the House Select Committee on Assassinations, formerly working with Senator Schweiker on the Church Committee, and hunted down leads and interviewed actual witnesses, and people who may have participated wittingly or unwittingly in the assassination of President Kennedy.

His investigation skills are impeccable, his frustration with the HSCA understandable, his disillusionment with the bureacracy and stonewalling tactics appreciable.

As you probably know, the Warren Commission concluded that President Kennedy was assassinated by a lone gunman acting alone firing three shots.

The HSCA concluded partially relying on acoustic analysis that four shots were fired, indicating a 'limited' conspiracy.

If you were to read this book you would discover that Gaeton Fonzi not only is a good writer and investigator, but a true quester for truth, and you would learn about some characters, some familiar, some new. Some key players include witness Antonio Veciana, a Cuban revolutionary part of the CIA sponsored Alpha 66, one of many anti Castro groups with intelligence links, his handler the mysterious Maurice Bishop, who bears a striking resemblance to David Atlee Phillips of the CIA, who was the head of the CIA in Mexico at the time of Oswald's visit. Veciana claims to have met Oswald with Bishop prior to the assassination.

Two characters that Fonzi was about to interview committed suicide shortly before he interviewed them, one being George de Mohrenschildt who worked with the CIA, and befriended Oswald on his arrival in Dallas from Russia.

He interviewed Silvia Odio, whose testimony of meeting Oswald with two Cubans, introduced the troubling element of conspiracy, which the Warren Commission had to deal with, and the FBI fabricated a different person as being one of the people she met. This was later denied by the actual person.

We meet Marita Florenz, one time time mistress of Castro, who was part of a poison pill plot to kill Castro. We meet Frank Sturgis aka Fiorini, another anti Castro Cuban, Johnny Roselli, and David Morales yet another CIA guy. As someone says, the fingerprints of the intelligence community are all over this case.

Another theme of the book is how the HSCA investigation went off track, and his differences with committee head G Robert Blakey, an organised crime expert who claimed organised crime did it. This is a fascinating read in istelf.

We may never know the true facts of what happened that day, we may never be able to prove a conspiracy or who did it, and yet we may never come closer to the truth than we do through reading this book.

Other books I recommend:

Joachim Joesten: Oswald: Assassin or Fall Guy?, written in 1964 before the publication of the Warren report. Very incisive questioning of the facts, and the first really good book on the subject.

Jim Garrison: On the Trail of the Assassins: My Investigation and Prosecution of the Murder of President Kennedy. The investigation by the New Orleans District Attorney which led to the only prosecution resulting from the Kennedy Assassination. Compared to Fonzi's book this deals with characters on the periphery of the conspiracy, Guy Bannister, Clay Shaw, and David Ferrie, nevertheless it was interesting to see how the CIA totally infiltrated the investigation, and the sabotage of the actual trial with the star wtiness who fingerprinted his own daughter was quite genius. I consider Fonzi's book better.

Vincent Bugliosi: Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy. Written by a well known prosecutor, this massively detailed book runs to a staggering benchpressing 1600 pages. Although it follows the lone gunman narrative, it enabled me to understand for example how the official investigators interpreted the Zapruder movie, and helped to houseclean some of the more ludicrous theories out there. To get to the truth you need books thazt support the opposite idea to get a balanced perspective.

Mark LaneRush to Judgment: A Critique of the Warren Commission's Inquiry into the Murders of President John F. Kennedy, Officer J. D. Tippit and Lee Harvey Oswald:. Written by an attorney, who Bugliosi credits as having almost single handedly created the conspiracy community, this is a straight out rebuttal of the Warren report.

I highly recommend this book, and if you cannot get it on Amazon try your local library. I hope this review was helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, February 2, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Investigation (Paperback)
Out of all the JFK Assasination books I have read (read dozens of them) I have to say this is the book that mostly sticks the evidence. Other books I have read are mostly bs some of them saying the kgb or the mafia planned the hit. If you read this book you see the evidence Gaeton presents all leads only down one road, right to the CIA. This is a guy who was a investigator for the church committee and the house select committe on Assasinations. He had access to all the evidence and he says in the book the only viable evidence lead to the CIA and CIA sponsored anti castro cubans. He also points out the CIA stalled the investigation after the investigation got too close to recovering evidence of Anti Castro sponsored CIA links. The main thing I like about the book is this guy was a investigator on both committees and he saw all the evidence. The one thing I did'nt like was Gaeton did'nt mention the episode of Robert Tannenbaum viewing a film (discoverd in Georgtown University Libary) of major CIA operatives training along side anti castro cubans in the Everglades. Tannenbaum has mentioned the film to the Assasinations Review Board in a interview in '96 and even mentions it in his fiction novel Corruption of Blood. though in the novel he does say oswald was seen in the film with bannister, shaw, ferrie and cubans training, that book is fiction. He refused to name names in the ARRB interview of who was in the film except to say it was major players in the CIA and Anti Castro Cuban movement. I was disappointed that Fonzi did'nt even make a mention of the film in his book as since he was on both committees he must have seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.