Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Justice
A fast paced book that starts off at a sprint and never slows down. This book leads the reader through familiar landmarks in Washington D.C. and New York, and through the unfamiliar arcanum of the Supreme Court and the Solicitor General's office, while drawing the reader deeper and deeper into the intrigue of who was behind the murders of six Supreme Court Justices...
Published on April 10, 2012 by en

versus
40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Welcome to Washington."
Jefferson McKenna is the thirty-eight year old Solicitor General of the United States in Anthony Franze's thriller, "The Last Justice." In a shocking prologue, an unknown gunman opens fire in the Supreme Court Building and escapes; when the shooting stops, six justices are dead. This horrible day will be known as Black Wednesday.

The story picks up six months...
Published on April 22, 2012 by E. Bukowsky


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Justice, April 10, 2012
This review is from: The Last Justice (Hardcover)
A fast paced book that starts off at a sprint and never slows down. This book leads the reader through familiar landmarks in Washington D.C. and New York, and through the unfamiliar arcanum of the Supreme Court and the Solicitor General's office, while drawing the reader deeper and deeper into the intrigue of who was behind the murders of six Supreme Court Justices. Recommended reading for anyone who enjoys legal thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Welcome to Washington.", April 22, 2012
This review is from: The Last Justice (Hardcover)
Jefferson McKenna is the thirty-eight year old Solicitor General of the United States in Anthony Franze's thriller, "The Last Justice." In a shocking prologue, an unknown gunman opens fire in the Supreme Court Building and escapes; when the shooting stops, six justices are dead. This horrible day will be known as Black Wednesday.

The story picks up six months later when NYPD Detectives Chase Assad and Emma Milstein grill McKenna about the murder of his former clerk, Parker Sinclair, who was left lying on a Manhattan street with "the front of his white button-down shirt soaked in blood." The authorities wonder if there is a connection between this case and the aforementioned massacre in the nation's highest court. Meanwhile, the President of the United States has to replace the six dead justices, a potential political nightmare. As if this weren't enough of a mess, someone is attempting to frame McKenna, forcing him to go on the run with his colleague and close friend, Kate Porter. Before long, the FBI enters the mix, with Deputy Director Frank Pacini taking over the investigation, ably assisted by Detectives Assad and Milstein.

"The Last Justice" has a provocative premise and McKenna is an appealing protagonist who is astute, handsome, and has had his share of tragedy. However, the plot is too hectic, with complicated machinations pertaining to cases before the court, a stereotypical psychopathic sadist on the rampage, and McKenna constantly being bruised and battered as he fights for his life. The identity of the mastermind will be obvious to most readers in spite of the abundance of red herrings. There is little character development but plenty of action and a high body count. When the dust settles, we are left with the impression that our most prestigious jurists may have feet of clay; there is enough corruption, adultery, and slaughter to fill three books. Suffice it to say that "The Last Justice" has promise, but the author's reliance on excitement rather than depth prevents it from earning a more enthusiastic recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put the book down . . ., February 7, 2012
This review is from: The Last Justice (Hardcover)
What an amazing book! I absolutely loved it and didn't want the story to end. It's fast-paced and kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. I highly recommend The Last Justice!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, May 22, 2012
This review is from: The Last Justice (Kindle Edition)
I have always been a fan of law thrillers, and this book has become one of my favorites. It has the right mix of action, suspense, and drama to make it a real page turner. If you are a fan of thrillers I would highly recommend reading "The Last Justice". It gives the reader an inside look into the supreme court and is very historically accurate. It also makes you think, what if these events really did take place? How would our country handle it? What if everyone on the supremem court had the same thought process, in what direction would our country move?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 24 + The Supreme Court = An Amazing Legal Thriller!!!, February 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Justice (Hardcover)
I'm not a fiction fan but I truly enjoyed Anthony Franze's The Last Justice. I read the book cover to cover in a matter of hours. Just like watching a season of 24, I literally could not put the book down. It's non-stop, action-packed, prose and story line keeps you guessing until the very end. The Last Justice is exciting, entertaining (I did laugh out loud), and dramatic (in the best way possible). The book is awesome, read it, and buy it for anyone that's interested in the Supreme Court. I look forward to reading many more legal thrillers by Anthony Franze in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down!, February 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Justice (Hardcover)
The Last Justice looks great on the outside and is even better on the inside. I tried to guess the ending but couldn't. This book is a great read and would make a great movie. This book was so good that I bought 10 copies for friends and family.

I'm looking forward to Franze's next thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost sleep!!, May 18, 2012
This review is from: The Last Justice (Hardcover)
What a great read. I just could not stop reading it! I wanted to find out how it ended so I stayed up all night and the ending was not let down! I will be looking forward to reading more from this author. Recommended it to my book club group and we acutally read the book for once!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!, April 10, 2012
This review is from: The Last Justice (Hardcover)
This is by far the best legal thriller that I have read. It kept my interest from start to finish, and the closer I got to the end, the harder time I had putting it down. The plot line is unique. The story is fast-paced. And the writing is well-crafted. Anthony Franze did a superb job creating an original and colorful cast of characters, and avoiding the cliches found in so many books of this genre. He is a gifted writer, and I look forward to his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll read it in one sitting!, April 9, 2012
This review is from: The Last Justice (Hardcover)
Franze's The Last Justice was a fun ride! I could not put the book down and I read it in one weekend. The book is fast paced with compelling characters and a great story line. The author also took great accuracy in his details, which adds to the credibility of the story. It's a fun, entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Justice by Anthony Franze, February 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Justice (Hardcover)
Loved this book, it is definately 5 stars! I was hooked from the first page all the way to the last! Franze is a master story teller with an eye for detail and a vibrant style that brings each scene and character to life and keeps you wanting more! This is a true talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Last Justice
The Last Justice by Anthony J. Franze
$3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.