Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Last Keepers
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Lori Mckenna Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 7, 2013
This is a nice little coming of age movie about a girl and her family who have special gifts. I happen to like all the stars in the movie and the premise of a heritage of gifts of the spirit was a good movie to curl up to on a cold and cloudy day.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2013
Surprised this got a PG-13 rating. Watched with my daughters (9 and 12), and we all really enjoyed it. There's a scene with some teenagers drinking, but that's about it. Terrific cast, interesting story, and really good message. Definitely would recommend it.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
This movie is meant for young teens or tweens but I'm a grown woman and I loved it! The lead actress is so great. Definitely something the whole family can watch together.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 15, 2013
This is not a B movie. Filming, audio and acting are all first rate.

This is a coming of age movie for a young Wiccan girl that is foretold in a prophecy. That is as much of a spoiler as you will get.

This movie is nice, well done and has a peaceful tone to it. I liked all the actors especially the young girl that is the lead actress. She does a fantastic job and seems so perfect for the role.

If you are expecting a bunch of magic and spells, you will be disappointed. There is some magic but it creeps into the young girl's life slowly, It is also about family, young romance, growing up.

Family friendliness: Family friendly as long as the subject matter is ok with your family. There is one animal death scene that I found a bit unsettling. It is brief and may be too much for younger kids. If you want to know where the scene is located, go to the comment section.

Overall, I was pleased with the rental and it kept my interest the entire time. A rating of 3 for this type of movie is a very good rating from me.
66 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2013
I loved this movie. It's one of those movies that the whole family can sit down and enjoy and not just the kids. The writing was great and the actors did a very good job with it. There are a lot of books and movies in this genre, but this one stands above those mostly because it goes beyond the superficial and lets you really get to know the characters and their struggles.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
When a young girl discovers that she has special magical powers, her family knows that she will be the special one to carry on the magic of their past generations. But does the young girl actually want to be one of "The Last Keepers?" A+ cast and a wonderful story for the entire family!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
A wonderful, magical, coming-of-age story.
Zosia Mamet plays an artistic girl who wears her art and is ostracized at school for being different. She is in fact quite special. Her Mother and Grandmother try to point out how special she is, but that just makes her feel worse. A supportive young man befriends her. He respects her artistic nature, and gives her room to develop her skills, without hiding. Eventually, she matures and is able to accept her unusual talent, re-uniting with her artistic family.

If your pre-teen or young teen is a fan of the Catching Fire series - this is a non-violent coming of age story that will please you both.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2014
A young girl, an outcast, discovers that she has "extraordinary abilities" that cause her confusion and when she finds out who she is, she rebels. Watching her put the events of her life in order (dreams, visions and finally miraculous acts that she can produce without explanation, at first) is wondrous.

Eventually, her mother and grandmother tell her about her heritage, specifically, her maternal lineage. We get to feel her subsequent reaction to the news as she walks the audience through what she's feeling.

The acting is alright, nothing spectacular, mind you, but it's good enough. In the final analysis, this movie is quite beautiful in a quiet and gentle sort of way, and I'd watch it again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
This is such a fabulous film--I never heard of it before but someone recently mentioned watching it on netflix and because I'm all about all things magical, I had to get it. And I was not disappointed. I don't understand why it wasn't more well-known. If you like films like: Beautiful Creatures, Harry Potter, Twilight, Practical Magic, Mysts of Avalon or TV shows like Charmed, Ghost Whisperer, Medium, Eastwick or The Witches of East End, then you'll LOVE this!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2013
GREAT! Great movie! True representation of school conditions, adolescent search for self, and the various aspects of the Wiccan religion.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.99
$4.99
$4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.