Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Will Change Your Life
This book is Bukowski at his brilliant best, talking straight from experience about the life of a bum alcoholic poet.
When I first read this book, I was eleven years old and had never heard of Bukowski or read anything of this sort, or any poetry. It was like the book cast a spell on me. I could not stop reading. I remember staying up all hours of the night,...
Published on August 6, 2000 by Joe Deveny

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Review on The Last Night of the Earth Poems
Great read, I finished this one up in two days. Downers is easily my favorite passage. I recommend this one for a short train ride.
Published 7 months ago by Renal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Review on The Last Night of the Earth Poems, May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great read, I finished this one up in two days. Downers is easily my favorite passage. I recommend this one for a short train ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bukowski through and Through, April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm always amazed when I read Bukowski poems. Only later in his life did they become recognized. I actually think they're better than his longer stories. Succinct but convey the " message".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Down and Out in LA, April 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For my taste, Bukowski is a better novelist than poet. Much the same territories are explored in the
poems with less skill.. Still, to one fascinated by accounts of life in various marginal groups (the beat
generation, organized crime, carnies, subway tunnel dwellers, hobos, etc.), these poems by a literate and
observant alcoholic writer were a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buk at his best, April 7, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Night of the Earth Poems (Paperback)
Fully developed, mature Bukowski; his voice is hear and he is not afraid of any topic. It doesn't get any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, February 12, 2014
By 
AlinaD (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Night of the Earth Poems (Paperback)
Collector's item. Lots to read and re-read, lots to inspire, lots to make you re-assess and ponder. Not professing to be a literary critic but it's good reading for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sly, funny and sad, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another great romp through the mind of a madman. Recommend this book of poems for Bukowski die-hards, poetry geeks and anyone looking for an unusual slice of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So beautiful, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Night of the Earth Poems (Paperback)
I love this book. It is like reading hundreds of short stories in tiny poem format. A masterpiece created towards the end of the life of a wild genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, October 15, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Night of the Earth Poems (Paperback)
I'm not a poetry fanatic, but I'm trying to get into it. This was one of two books by Bukowski that I bought to do so (the other being You Get So Alone at Times That It Just Makes Sense). I found both very enjoyable and have moved on to read some of his other works since then. These were the first enjoyable books of poetry I'd read in my life. I would recommend them for anyone who is trying to get into poetry as a hobby, especially if (like me) you are not an English major or aspiring poet, and thus are more able to take these for what they are, rather than evaluate their literary merit from established standards. In other words, I connected with this book on a personal level, not an academic level, and I encourage you to read it if you would like to do so too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ozymandius, September 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Want to be insightful about Buk's late work, but mostly want to have a drink or two with him. Am positive he would have hated this thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite poetry book, July 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Night of the Earth Poems (Paperback)
if you're looking for the legendary power of bukowski's words, this is it. the maturity of the writer at his best, pure gold. it is my bedside poetry book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Last Night of the Earth Poems
The Last Night of the Earth Poems by Charles Bukowski (Paperback - May 31, 2002)
$17.99 $15.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.