Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to an already amazing game.
I'm going to make this short and sweet, if you were a fan of the original game, this is a must buy. Jumping back into the world of The Last of Us feels fantastic and Naughty Dog has created even more amazing story telling. It is a little short but the quality of the story and the game-play, in my opinion, completely justify the price point. If you've been dying to jump...
Published 4 months ago by GravyWeasel

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I dont like what they did to Ellie
I dont want to spoil anything, but i dont like what they did to Ellie, it changed how i see her forever.
Published 1 month ago by Andre


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to an already amazing game., February 14, 2014
This review is from: The Last of Us: Left Behind DLC - PS3 [Digital Code] (Software Download)
I'm going to make this short and sweet, if you were a fan of the original game, this is a must buy. Jumping back into the world of The Last of Us feels fantastic and Naughty Dog has created even more amazing story telling. It is a little short but the quality of the story and the game-play, in my opinion, completely justify the price point. If you've been dying to jump back into this world, don't skip this opportunity and experience it for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outing the Elephant in the Room (**NO SPOILERS**), March 6, 2014
This review is from: The Last of Us: Left Behind DLC - PS3 [Digital Code] (Software Download)
Ok so first things first. The length of this DLC is around the 2.5 - 3 hour mark, if you explore all there is you **might** stretch that to 4 hours and having said that, like the original, its cut-scene heavy.

With all that said, my opinion is that this DLC is worth every single penny. If you loved the original, then I cant help but feel you are doing yourself a disservice by not picking this up due to its slightly high price.

Whats in the DLC?
This DLC covers a small but important part of the original story that was missing, but it also covers some of Ellies back story. Not only do you have a very important piece of the original story filled in, but you also find out about Ellies pre-Joel life.

Quality
As good, if not better than the original game. Graphics are jaw-droppingly good, considering this is a last gen game, just WOW. The sound is as good as the original and then the acting / mo-cap is again, spot-on.

Should you buy?
Tough question. But if you are a fan of Naughty Dogs exquisite story telling, if you absolutely loved the original TLoU, I struggle to see why you wouldn't enjoy.

On the other hand, if you are looking for fast paced, shooter action, while the DLC does have this, its VERY story / cut scene heavy. If you even remotely put off by this possibility then I think you will struggle to justify the $15.

Bottom line
I am a huge fan of story telling, and for my money no one does this better than Naughty Dog. I loved the story in the original and this is not only more of that but a piece of the story I felt was missing. Yes its short but this is the perfect example of how DLC can be done right and be AAA+ quality start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing addition to one of the greatest games of all time, February 22, 2014
This review is from: The Last of Us: Left Behind DLC - PS3 [Digital Code] (Software Download)
First off , unless you just don't play online , it's a much better deal to spend the extra 5 bucks and get the season pass with all the DLC( 2 multiplayer map packs ) .

Here Naughty Dog does a few things :

Ellie gets some good character development , the DLC explains alot about her motivations , etc . Lets be clear , gameplay is NOT the focus with this DLC , this is for people who loved the story and want to see more of it . I brought the comics , the art book , and this was icing on the cake . Emotionally this DLC was almost too powerful . The story alone here is worth it( seriously buy the Season Pass! )

There are a few parts where the graphics are amazing , their are a few tricks done to accomplish this , but it's a nice preview of what next gen should look like .

Lastly , Ellie's gameplay is significantly different than Joel's , you should remember this from the main game , but you can't just run into a room and overpower enemies . I found this to be extremely fun as I was forced to think differently .

And yeah , an amazing add on to a game I already loved . Looking forward to Uncharted 4 on the PS4 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent add-on that is well worth the price, February 17, 2014
This review is from: The Last of Us: Left Behind DLC - PS3 [Digital Code] (Software Download)
While it was frustrating that this game is only available on PSN (requiring me to spend 20 bucks on an internet cable and waste tons of time downloading updates and the game itself), this experience was easily worthwhile. It's only got about 2-3 hours of gameplay (counting cutscenes and exploration), but I still find it to be worth the 14 dollar price tag. After all, that's the length of an average movie and people are willing to pay that price to get them on dvd or blu-ray all the time.

As most already know, this add on to the 2013 masterpiece features a major story between Ellie and Riley. Also turns it turns out that Ellie's adventure with Riley is only part of the game. The main part is a side quest that takes place after the university level in the original story. You play as Ellie as she searches for some first aid items to patch Joel up after he's injured. It doesn't add anything new to the plot, but it does provide a logical explanation of how Ellie was able to move a severely injured and totally incapacitated adult man all the way to to the Resort town on her own. It also makes Joel's decision to save Ellie at the end feel even more justified, seeing as it turns out she had to do even more crazy things for his sake when he was down for the count.

It's also interesting to contrast Ellie's style of gameplay to Joel. Ellie is much better when it comes to stealth, because she doesn't have to waste so much time chocking guys to death, and she can stealth kill from any angle. This makes smoke bombs way more useful because Ellie can easily kill 3 or 4 guys inside the smoke before it clears. Also clickers are practically helpless against her. She can just stealth walk right up to them and knife them to death, and there is nothing they can do about it.

On the downside, she's not very good at open combat, mainly because she can't melee fight effectively or use bricks as melee weapons. Any enemy that gets close is going to inflict a ton of damage or death. This can be a problem because some parts of the game require open combat, especially the last battle which basically throw you into the worst tactical situation a human could possibly be in. It's a really cheap ploy that feels forced (enemies seems to appear out of nowhere, coming from areas you have already cleared), but it sure provides one heck of a challenge.

However, the coolest new feature of the game is certain areas that have both infected and hostile humans present at the same time. It's so fun to play both sides against each other. A simple brick toss between them can start a small war between both sides, and you can use molotovs while they are mixed together to mop up any survivors. I'm now praying they make a sequel so we can get this aspect into a full game.

Also as far as I know, the saga of Riley and Ellie is the only time in video game history that the main focus of a story has been on the relationship between two teenage girls. It's brilliantly depicted and simply explaining it in a review won't do it justice. You really need to check this out for yourself. It's a must-have for any Last of Us fan. That being said, it does feel like the story between them ends prematurely. We don't actually get to see what they go through after they are bitten, which I feel had a ton a story potential. I can just imagine watching in horror as the reality of their situation sets in, perhaps ending with Ellie having to kill Riley herself and fight her way back to the Boston QZ alone. There was simply endless potential for drama here and it's a shame this wasn't taken advantage of. Perhaps we'll get to see this in a future DLC.

But altogether I'd say the game is very worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us: Left Behind DLC - PS3 [Digital Code] (Software Download)
Great Dynamic Theme and great story! Im not going to write any spoilers but to keep it short it was great. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I dont like what they did to Ellie, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us: Left Behind DLC - PS3 [Digital Code] (Software Download)
I dont want to spoil anything, but i dont like what they did to Ellie, it changed how i see her forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the price, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us: Left Behind DLC - PS3 [Digital Code] (Software Download)
Loved The Last of Us. It's a good game that doesn't get boring. There's a good mix of exploring, thinking, and shooting. I was hoping that the DLC would be the same, but its about 60% cutscenes, 30% running to get somewhere else, and the rest is actual game time. I was pretty disappointed with Left Behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough to it. **SPOILERS**, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us: Left Behind DLC - PS3 [Digital Code] (Software Download)
Albeit the graphics are amazing, though it seems like during production they rushed through at the end, because there ARE some choppy parts. The story is just as compelling as The Last of Us. As for gameplay, with the $15 price tag you'd expect a bit more time involved I ran through it in a few short hours, this involves collecting most of the collectables, there is little replay value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler free (but short) review!, February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us: Left Behind DLC - PS3 [Digital Code] (Software Download)
Downloaded my TLoU Left Behind and finished it today!

The gameplay hasn't changed much (thank God). The Last of Us couldn't really top their gameplay very much, as I think it's near perfection. What we are offered here is 1:30-3:00 hours of extra story. This DLC shows some of what happened in between one section of the original game, then flashes back to bits of Ellie's backstory. I won't say anything more about that.

Gameplaywise, there isn't much new in way of weapons (molotovs, bombs, etc). However, there is one fun new thing you can do if you want to...it has to do with your enemies!
There's also a (in my opinion) strange section of the game where you have to hit a bunch of buttons at the right time. It did not feel at all like TLoU's regular gameplay, but it's not enough to ruin the game( it just wasn't very fun, is all). There's also a few tricks and twists as well as the regular problem solving stuff. Just good old gameplay, overall. Worth it for those who want to relive the original, but need a new environment to do it in.

Is the DLC worth $15? When you think about how much the original game cost, no it isn't worth it. The problem for me is that I am a die-hard fan and would have paid $20-$25 for more TLoU, just because I love the story so much and want to know everything I can about it. Also would have been awesome to have a physical copy, but whatever. I don't feel like I wasted my money on this, but I can understand how some buyers feel a bit ripped off. It is a short add on, but in my opinion, is absolutely worth it.

I'll leave you with the fact that the story just keeps getting better...and that I hope for a sequel (or a prequel!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great,but slightly too short supplement to TLOU., March 7, 2014
This review is from: The Last of Us: Left Behind DLC - PS3 [Digital Code] (Software Download)
I bought this DLC game from SONY. It was a long,slow download,but otherwise trouble free.
The gameplay style & control scheme will be familiar to anyone who has played TLOU,& the game world is recognizable.
The game jumps from Ellie & her best school friend exploring an abandoned Boston area Mall,where they very believably share typical teenage girl bonding moments together,then to Ellie,@ a later date,trying to navigate another abandoned Mall,this time in Colorado,in order to find medical supplies to help the gravely injured Joel.She encounters legions of the infected & squads of paramilitary survivors who want to kill her & Joel.
Although there is some exciting action aspects in Left Behind,the main focus is on relationships,love & loss.
I wish the adventure had lasted just a bit further in the story,but I still loved it & am confidant that the vast majority of those who enjoyed the original TLOU game will be thrilled to have an opportunity to visit this game world again.
Recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.