Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Documentary
I picked up this DVD at Target for $5 on a whim and was thrilled with it's content. The personal testimonies from veterans were remarkable. All of those interviewed were in their 90s or 100s and each recounted vividly their rememberances of the war. It was startling and touching. I also found it fascinating to hear from the nurses and stretcher bearers; a perspective...
Published on July 5, 2011 by triplev

versus
34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great body of work, with one great flaw.
The on camera interviews with the surviving veterans as well as a few family members of those who did not survive and civilians who experienced the war is an invaluable historical resource. The camera work of the interviews is well done and the inclusion of photographs of the veterans as young men is a very nice touch. The documentary also makes good use of archival...
Published on February 12, 2012


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Documentary, July 5, 2011
This review is from: The Last Voices of WWI - A Generation Lost (DVD)
I picked up this DVD at Target for $5 on a whim and was thrilled with it's content. The personal testimonies from veterans were remarkable. All of those interviewed were in their 90s or 100s and each recounted vividly their rememberances of the war. It was startling and touching. I also found it fascinating to hear from the nurses and stretcher bearers; a perspective which is not often touched upon in books or other documentaries. I highly recommend this volume and it is more than worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent History!, May 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Voices of WWI - A Generation Lost (DVD)
This is a very well produced and valuable program that honors and preserves the history and sacrifice of British soldiers during World War One. Veterans, some well into 100+ years of age, were interviewed over a 15 year period. Harry Patch aged 111 and Henry Allingham aged 113 are featured as well as the Battles of the Somme, Arras and Ypres. The RFC/RNAS/RAF is nicely represented! The program has six episodes, slightly less than 4 hours of interviews, archival film footage and reenactments that complement the story. I particulary enjoyed watching and listening to how the veterans related their stories. This program is a must have for anyone with an interest in World War One! Other DVD programs that I recommend are The First World War - The Complete Series The Complete Story: World War I and World War I: The Great War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great body of work, with one great flaw., February 12, 2012
This review is from: The Last Voices of WWI - A Generation Lost (DVD)
The on camera interviews with the surviving veterans as well as a few family members of those who did not survive and civilians who experienced the war is an invaluable historical resource. The camera work of the interviews is well done and the inclusion of photographs of the veterans as young men is a very nice touch. The documentary also makes good use of archival motion picture footage of that period. Unfortunately the DVDs contain no close captioning.

People with hearing impairment will find the documentary quite disappointing and people with no hearing will find it useless. The interviewed veterans were quite long in years when the interviews were conducted so quite naturally many did not articulate clearly and some spoke with dialect accents which some viewers even with normal hearing will find difficult to understand. Given that this is a rather recent production I find the lack of CC to be quite surprising. I wish I could be able to give this documentary five stars, however as it exists now I can only give it three. I can only hope that someday it is re-edited and released with closed captioning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Documentary, June 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Voices of WWI - A Generation Lost (DVD)
This is a very well produced and very decently priced documentary, that covers the whole war from a personal, British, point of view. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality for the price, and these personal accounts by veterans, whom are no longer with us, are priceless. You will not be disappointed. You have accounts here from veterans who, in many cases, survived the whole war, from 1914 to 1918. There is a veteran who still felt patriotic about having served in the war and another who thought it was all an entire waste. You also have accounts by a nurse, recounting her experiences with the wounded and the dying. This will make a great addition to anyone's collection of The Great War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Voices of WWI - A Generation Lost (DVD), September 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Voices of WWI - A Generation Lost (DVD)
Only the British would have had the foresight of interviewing these men before they left us. Honest truth about their lives in the trenches, their thoughts on the war then and at the end of their lives. Not only a lesson on war, but real hitory from the real source. Narration is perfect for setting up the interviewee comments. 1914 to 1918 covered, different viewpoints revealed... a must have for any real WW1 history buff. Miss these guys and I never met them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Junked up by re-enactments, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Voices of WWI - A Generation Lost (DVD)
It's a pet peeve of mine and maybe a few others share it: Re-enactors. The documentary footage, the still photographs and, of course, the men interviewed make this very compelling. But throughout the narrative the producers spliced in endless footage of modern-day re-enactors. The sense of viewing the past is broken every time they did it and they did it a lot. Why do I want to watch some modern-day young guy dressed up it WWI kit and playing at war? I was very disappointed when I saw The History Channel had a hand in making this it became obvious, because the History Channel does exactly the same thing. That's why I never watch The History Channel. There is no shortage of film and still photography from the Great War. There was no reason to do this except someone must think if it isn't in color the audience will switch it off. That's nonsense, of course. I would gladly have given this five stars if they had just thrown all the re-enactor footage in the trash. So, bottom line: It's worth watching, absolutely. But they added elements that weren't needed. That drooped it down to three stars for me. Pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, February 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Voices of WWI - A Generation Lost (DVD)
You get to hear from some of the real WWI veterans. This is a British production and worth seeing. After all, the Brits did fight a lot longer than us Americans, a lot longer. ...Oscar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irreplaceable, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Voices of WWI - A Generation Lost (DVD)
A piece of very important history seen through the eyes of men who were there. These men are gone now, and this sort of record is priceless. For anyone you know who enjoys history, this is a one-of-a-kind gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First review, January 12, 2014
By 
Gregg Krumme (Faucett, MO United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Voices of WWI - A Generation Lost (DVD)
Even though I often read reviews before buying something on amazon, I have never felt compelled to write one until now. This documentary is very well done...easy to follow, poignant, and truly educational. It focuses on the experiences of individuals during war...although the narrator presents a well-scripted timeline and description of WWI, the focus isn't on policies or strategies, but on personal memories. We are fortunate that someone had the foresight to record their stories before they were lost forever, as so many others have been. If you are at all interested in learning more about personal experiences during war, or the character of the British people as a whole, this is a great film to watch.

For the few reviewers who criticized the lack of closed captioning and the difficulty in understanding some of the dialogue of those interviewed...buck up. If these fellows could go over the top, not just once, but many times, the least we can do as researchers is show a little bit of patience and perseverance in listening. Having said that, I found that only a few of those interviewed were in any way difficult to understand, and by no means impossible with a little bit of effort. Unlike so many dry, dusty books on WWI, I found the actual voices of these people who have lead full, rich lives only added to their insights into what it was like to live though the Great War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD watcher, March 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Voices of WWI - A Generation Lost (DVD)
I only gave it 4 stars (I would like to give it 4 1/2) because there were no subtitles, and I am a little hard of hearing. Otherwise I would have given this 5 stars for sure. This was a very interesting series of programs. I have read several books on the pilots who flew during WWI, but this was the first time I had heard stories from the men in the trenches. My brother-in-law teaches history and wants to borrow it for his class. The things these people had to endure...it's amazing anyone survived. And it's pretty amazing that most of the people interviewed lived to be 100 or more years old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Last Voices of WWI - A Generation Lost
$9.98 $5.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.