Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you care about integrity in leadership, read this book, November 15, 2006
By 
W. Brooks Cole (Point Reyes Station, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Leadership Integrity Challenge: Assessing and Facilitating Emotional Maturity, Expanded Second Edition (Paperback)
OK, that's a strong statement, but I'll back it up. My bookshelf is crowded with hundreds of business tomes relating to business strategy, innovation, leadership, trends, corporate psychology, marketing, finance, longtail, blue ocean, crowd wisdom, you name it... I am fascinated by new ideas and try to apply them where applicable in my enterprises and personal life. But most of them have a quality of intellectual fascination that is missing the primal emotional dynamic that is often at work in business relationships.

But this book is different. It deals directly and with unmistakeable authority with the most important factor in all business dealings: people and their levels of emotional maturity; and how to assess them and facilitate them to become valuable allies instead of impediments to success or worse. There is no fluff in this book. Morler's straight-ahead style and highly detailed charts cut through the usual business psychology fog and provides a simple toolkit for evaluating oneself and others through the X-Ray glasses of emotional maturity. It has changed the way I hire, lead, negotiate and sell. And most of all, it has given me considerably greater insight into human behavior and character, allowing me to avoid wasting time "fixing" people or relationships that are really wasting time and energy, and instead focusing energy on those who are prewired to take responsibility and help me succeed.

The Leadership Integrity Challenge is the single most valuable book I have read for years and I strongly recommend it to anyone who has to lead people, deal with people, or decide who is not worth dealing with. This book should be required reading for all politicians, all C-Level Execs, and anyone who is serious about building an integrity-based enterprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb: A Tough Love Approach to Leadership Integrity, January 27, 2013
By 
William Corsair "Will" (Leavenworth County, KS USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Leadership Integrity Challenge: Assessing and Facilitating Emotional Maturity, Expanded Second Edition (Paperback)
I've read and recommended dozens of leadership, ethics, and emotional intelligence books to students with whom I facilitate a leadership development curriculum at an agency of the Department of Defense. This is, by far, the most cogent, compelling, and truthful book I've read in quite some time.

Unlike "Executive EQ: Emotional Intelligence in Leadership and Organizations," which is also highly recommended, Morler's book takes much more of a tough love approach to values, integrity, ethics, and emotions. And, for some of the hard-bitten, battle-scarred (literally) students in my courses, Morler's book is easier to absorb.

One of Morler's more in-your-face approaches to integrity has to do with the emotional maturity of students/learners in organizations. His idea is that if students aren't at the level of emotional maturity required to ensure that the learning "sticks," then the training will be wasted--and much training in organizations is certainly wasted because of students who poison the well or are otherwise uncommitted. Morler says, "Unfortunately, there is often little correlation between who is selected for training and the selectee's level of emotional security," and "When maturity level is the primary--but not exclusive--consideration, management succeeds in developing well-rounded, responsible people providing a sound, long-term organizational foundation."

And lastly, Morler provides plenty of "how-to" and not just more hand-wringing about what the challenges are.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile and Highly Readable, April 27, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Leadership Integrity Challenge: Assessing and Facilitating Emotional Maturity, Expanded Second Edition (Paperback)
A wonderful, multifaceted book synthesizing leadership practices, psychology, interpersonal communications, wisdom, and common sense. It's that rare work that is deep, intuitive, and insightful while also being practical, easy to read, and descriptive. Value can be found for yourself, your loved ones, dealing with your professional colleagues, and even understanding your adversaries/enemies. Ed Morler is a good writer and good person. If you're struggling or stuck, this book will help; if you're already good with people and understanding yourself, this book will make you better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For anyone in charge of promoting employees to positions of power., May 6, 2008
This review is from: The Leadership Integrity Challenge: Assessing and Facilitating Emotional Maturity, Expanded Second Edition (Paperback)
The huge scandal involving Enron in the past decade led to a huge concern involving the integrity of America's corporate leadership. "The Leadership Integrity Challenge: Assessing and Facilitating Emotional Maturity" is an outline to measure the integrity and corporate maturity of potential big wigs of huge corporations using concepts such as psychology, organizational theory, religion, chaos theory, among other numerous factors in this through researched, informed and informative guide. "The Leadership Integrity Challenge: Assessing and Facilitating Emotional Maturity" is highly recommended for business shelves focusing on ethics and for anyone in charge of promoting employees to positions of power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fine Integration of Spirit and Integrity, November 29, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Leadership Integrity Challenge: Assessing and Facilitating Emotional Maturity, Expanded Second Edition (Paperback)
Ed Morler's Leadership Integrity Challenge not only is a fine integration of spirit and integrity and how these can be applied in the organizational setting, it is also a brilliant synthesis of the archetypal and developmental psychologies of maturity. Particularity impressive is his developmental schema of the stages of maturity, and an understanding of how this schema can be applied to facilitate the growth of true leaders. The Leadership Integrity Challenge challenges us and leads us forward. The book is simple, elegant and wise. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Leadership Integrity Challenge!!!, February 25, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Leadership Integrity Challenge: Assessing and Facilitating Emotional Maturity, Expanded Second Edition (Paperback)
THE LOST LINK!!!!
Dr. Morler connects the dots between Leadership and the Integrity needed in today's organizations, businesses, managers, and the leaders of tomorrow!
The content is very well organized and laid out in terms a beginner can relate to. I personally found, The Leadership Integrity Challenge, a journey of self discovery and education. I have already put Dr. Morler's truths to work and I have witnessed changes in behavior to those I come in contact with. Thank you for this gift of knowledge!!
United Airlines
Boeing 767 Captain
Vicki Rhode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book should become your constant leadership guide., November 20, 2006
By 
William Leider (Marina del Rey, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Leadership Integrity Challenge: Assessing and Facilitating Emotional Maturity, Expanded Second Edition (Paperback)
It's far more than good information, it's a constant reference source on emotionally sound, ethical leadership. Ed Morler gives us information and insights that create a context for contemplation. It's a how to guide that shows us how to examine ourselves, our cultures, our strategies and our behaviors with a depth, clarity and purpose that is rare in our society. If you can shape and lead your organization along the lines that Morler shows us, you'll have a more fulfilling, profitable life. Read it, study it and make it your constant leadership guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding! A Gutsy Contribution to Great Leadership, November 27, 2006
This review is from: The Leadership Integrity Challenge: Assessing and Facilitating Emotional Maturity, Expanded Second Edition (Paperback)
"Ed Morler digs into the underbelly of the true Leader and articulately defines the bottom line impact of presence, confidence and courage born of emotional maturity, not image. Leaders who are serious about making a positive, lasting impact in the world will find his book an essential resource for their own growth and that of their organization. Ed models the true Leader here in bringing to light what is so often un-named, and left to chance."

Kathy Eckles - Author of Yes! to the Journey of a Lifetime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading, November 25, 2006
By 
McJic (Cincinnati, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Leadership Integrity Challenge: Assessing and Facilitating Emotional Maturity, Expanded Second Edition (Paperback)
Ed Morler's remarkable book should be given to every executive, manager and employee. It should be studied as a condition of employment. The Leadership Integrity Challenge offers THE way to end corporate malfeasance, greed and any number of bone headed decisions that take place in business. Mr. Morler has hit upon the secret to a life of integrity and purpose. With this book as your guide you will have a long and successful career--and a higher quality life. But it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Business book of the year, January 3, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Leadership Integrity Challenge: Assessing and Facilitating Emotional Maturity, Expanded Second Edition (Paperback)
Something for everyone and especially those in business. Practical information and skills that support the growth and understanding of how to become a better leader in life!

Exceptionally presented with a way of identifying the levels of emotional maturity at any time, and how to impact self and others. A core book for our times! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Leadership Integrity Challenge: Assessing and Facilitating Emotional Maturity, Expanded Second Edition
$24.95 $23.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.